DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to a newly filed application in which claims 1-18 of the instant application are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yin (US 2021/0211738).
As to claim 13, Yin teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a bitstream associated with a video sequence, the bitstream comprising:
one or more coded syntax elements used for reconstructing a chroma coding block; and a variable used for determining an inverse chroma scaling factor associated with the chroma coding block, wherein the bitstream, when decoded by a computer processor, causes the processor to perform (see [0163], [0167]-[0178], and [0185]-[0196] for a chroma residual scaling factor that is determined and then used in chroma residual scaling operations in an encoder and a decoder):
reconstructing the chroma coding block based on the one or more coded syntax elements ([0174], [0189]-[0190], and [0365]-[0378] starting with 8.5.5.1.2 Picture Reconstruction with Mapping Process for Chroma Sample Value; the disclosure in [0365]-[0378] shows varScale to be used in the calculation of recSamples corresponding to the reconstructed chroma sample array),
determining the inverse chroma scaling factor based on the variable and a bit depth of the reconstructed chroma coding block (see [0095]-[0100] and TABLE 4 and [0307]-[0324] where it is shown that OrgCW is dependent on BitDepth.sub.Y, binCW is dependent on BitDepth.sub.Y, and ChromaScaleCoef[i] is dependent on OrgCq and BinCW; see [0178] where it is shown that a chroma residual scaling factor variable is from cScaleInv[binIdx]; see [0371]-[0374] where it is shown that a chroma residual scaling factoring variable varScale is equal to ChromaScaleCoef[idxYInv]),
and performing inverse chroma residual scaling of the reconstructed chroma coding block using the inverse chroma scaling factor (see [0163], [0167]-[0178], and [0185]-[0196] for a chroma residual scaling factor that is determined and then used in chroma residual scaling operations in an encoder and a decoder).
As to claim 1, the aforementioned claim is rejected similarly as claim 13.
As to claim 7, Yin teaches a method of encoding a video sequence into a bitstream, the method comprising:
encoding, in the bitstream, a variable for performing chroma scaling of a target chroma coding block (see [0163], [0167]-[0178], and [0185]-[0196] for a chroma residual scaling factor that is determined and then used in chroma residual scaling operations in an encoder and a decoder);
determining a chroma scaling factor based on the variable and a bit width of the target chroma coding block (see [0095]-[0100] and TABLE 4 and [0307]-[0324] where it is shown that OrgCW is dependent on BitDepth.sub.Y, binCW is dependent on BitDepth.sub.Y, and ChromaScaleCoef[i] is dependent on OrgCq and BinCW; see [0178] where it is shown that a chroma residual scaling factor variable is from cScaleInv[binIdx]; see [0371]-[0374] where it is shown that a chroma residual scaling factoring variable varScale is equal to ChromaScaleCoef[idxYInv]);
performing chroma residual scaling of the target chroma coding block using the chroma scaling factor; and encoding, in the bitstream, one or more syntax elements signaling the scaled target chroma coding block (see [0163], [0167]-[0178], and [0185]-[0196] for a chroma residual scaling factor that is determined and then used in chroma residual scaling operations in an encoder and a decoder).
As to claims 2 and 14, Yin further teaches wherein the reconstructed chroma coding block belongs to a tile group, and applying the inverse chroma scaling factor to inverse scale all chroma coding blocks in the tile group ([0305]-[0324] and [0365]-[0378] for tile groups).
As to claim 8, Yin further teaches wherein the target chroma coding block belongs to a tile group, and applying the chroma scaling factor to all chroma coding blocks in the tile group ([0305]-[0324] and [0365]-[0378] for tile groups).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin view of Zhao-II (US 2022/0116615).
As to claims 3 and 15, Yin does not explicitly teach wherein the reconstructed chroma coding block belongs to a slice, and applying the inverse chroma scaling factor to inverse scale all chroma coding blocks in the slice.
However, Yin does teach wherein the reconstructed chroma coding block belongs to a tile group, and applying the inverse chroma scaling factor to inverse scale all chroma coding blocks in the tile group ([0305]-[0324] and [0365]-[0378] for tile groups). In addition, Zhao-II teaches wherein a tile group and slice can be interchangeable in video coding implementations ([0065], [0133], [0152], [0161], [0165], [0183]-[0188], and [0201]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yin’s system with Zhao’s system to show wherein the reconstructed chroma coding block belongs to a slice, and applying the inverse chroma scaling factor to inverse scale all chroma coding blocks in the slice in order to provide improved and more flexible video coding techniques.
As to claim 9, Yin does not explicitly teach wherein the target chroma coding block belongs to a slice, and applying the chroma scaling factor to all chroma coding blocks in the slice.
However, Yin does teach wherein the target chroma coding block belongs to a tile group, and applying the chroma scaling factor to all chroma coding blocks in the tile group ([0305]-[0324] and [0365]-[0378] for tile groups). In addition, Zhao-II teaches wherein a tile group and slice can be interchangeable in video coding implementations ([0065], [0133], [0152], [0161], [0165], [0183]-[0188], and [0201]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yin’s system with Zhao’s system to show wherein the target chroma coding block belongs to a slice, and applying the chroma scaling factor to all chroma coding blocks in the slice in order to provide improved and more flexible video coding techniques.
Claims 4-6, 10-12, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin view of Zhao (US 2022/0109859).
As to claims 4 and 16, Yin does not explicitly teach wherein the variable signaled in the bitstream is associated with a piece index of the reconstructed chroma coding block.
However, Zhao teaches wherein a variable signaled in a bitstream is associated with a piece index of a reconstructed chroma coding block ([0210]-[0214], [0282], [0313]-[0322], [0350], and [0393]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yin’s system with Zhao’s system to show wherein the variable signaled in the bitstream is associated with a piece index of the reconstructed chroma coding block in order to provide improved and more flexible video coding techniques. Accordingly, the complexity of a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) process may be reduced (Zhao; abstract).
As to claims 5 and 17, Yin does not explicitly teach wherein the variable signaled in the bitstream indicates a number of codewords used in a piecewise linear model.
However, Zhao teaches wherein a variable signaled in a bitstream indicates a number of codewords used in a piecewise linear model ([0210]-[0214], [0233]-[0234], [0256], [0282], and [0313]-[0322]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yin’s system with Zhao’s system to show wherein the variable signaled in the bitstream indicates a number of codewords used in a piecewise linear model in order to provide improved and more flexible video coding techniques. Accordingly, the complexity of a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) process may be reduced (Zhao; abstract).
As to claim 10, Yin does not explicitly teach wherein the variable signaled in the bitstream is associated with a piece index of the target chroma coding block.
However, Zhao teaches wherein a variable signaled in a bitstream is associated with a piece index of a target chroma coding block ([0210]-[0214], [0313]-[0322], [0350], and [0393]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yin’s system with Zhao’s system to show wherein the variable signaled in the bitstream is associated with a piece index of the reconstructed chroma coding block in order to provide improved and more flexible video coding techniques. Accordingly, the complexity of a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) process may be reduced (Zhao; abstract).
As to claim 11, Yin does not explicitly teach wherein the variable indicates a number of codewords used in a piecewise linear model.
However, Zhao teaches wherein a variable indicates a number of codewords used in a piecewise linear model ([0210]-[0214], [0233]-[0234], [0256], [0282], and [0313]-[0322]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yin’s system with Zhao’s system to show wherein the variable signaled in the bitstream is associated with a piece index of the target chroma coding block in order to provide improved and more flexible video coding techniques. Accordingly, the complexity of a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) process may be reduced (Zhao; abstract).
As to claims 6 and 18, Yin does not explicitly teach wherein the inverse chroma scaling factor is determined using a fixed-point approximation algorithm.
However, Zhao teaches wherein a chroma scaling factor is determined using a fixed-point approximation algorithm ([0213]-[0214], [0240]-[0244], [0255]-[0258], [0272]-[0274]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yin’s system with Zhao’s system to show wherein the inverse chroma scaling factor is determined using a fixed-point approximation algorithm in order to provide improved and more flexible video coding techniques. Accordingly, the complexity of a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) process may be reduced (Zhao; abstract).
As to claim 12, Yin does not explicitly teach wherein the chroma scaling factor is determined using a fixed-point approximation algorithm.
However, Zhao teaches wherein a chroma scaling factor is determined using a fixed-point approximation algorithm ([0213]-[0214], [0240]-[0244], [0255]-[0258], [0272]-[0274]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yin’s system with Zhao’s system to show wherein the chroma scaling factor is determined using a fixed-point approximation algorithm in order to provide improved and more flexible video coding techniques. Accordingly, the complexity of a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) process may be reduced (Zhao; abstract).
Conclusion
/ZHIHAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482