DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 03/20/2025 and 08/01/2025 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 08/07/2024, has been accepted for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (2009/0125242 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Choi discloses a high-resolution reflection tomographic imaging system/method is included in tomographic imaging system (figs. 1, 15, 18A-18B) with an objective lens objective lens(es) (26, 224), a tube lens tube lens 52, and a camera a detector 42 camera, comprising:
an illumination element (i.e. light source 12) configured to introduce temporally coherent and spatially incoherent light; and
a semi-reflective surface element a beamsplitter 18 configured to split the light into a sample (medium 25) through measurement 14 path and a reference beam through reference arm 16 path between the tube lens tube lens 52 and the camera detector 42 camera, such that a sample beam included in the measurement 14 path from the sample (medium 25) and the reference beam included in the reference arm 16 path cause interference for tomographic imaging [pars. 0037-42];
acquiring, by the camera detector 42 camera, a three-dimensional (3D) image for tomographic imaging based on interference caused by a sample beam from the sample included in the measurement 14 path and the reference beam included in the reference arm 16 path [pars. 0037-42] (see abstract) [pars. 0007, 0009,0011 and 0017] (claim 11).
For the purpose of clarity, the method claim 11 is taught/suggested by the functions shown/stated/set forth with regards to the apparatus/system claim 1 as rejected above as being anticipated by Choi.
As to claims 4-7, Choi further discloses a tomographic imaging system that is implemented using limitations such as, wherein the semi-reflective surface element a beamsplitter 18 is configured to couple to a camera sensor of the camera detector 42 camera (claim 4); wherein the semi-reflective surface element beamsplitter 18 is provided on a conjugate image plane between the tube lens tube lens 52 and the camera detector 42 camera [par. 0038] (claim 5); further comprising: relay lenses lens 230 provided between the semi-reflective surface element (i.e. 228) and the camera (229) [par. 0100] (claim 6); and wherein the semi-reflective surface element beamsplitter 18/228 is configured to generate the sample beam by providing a portion of the light as the sample and to generate the reference beam with the remainder of the light [pars. 0037-42], and the camera detector 42 camera is configured to acquire a three-dimensional (3D) image for the tomographic imaging based on the interference caused by the sample beam and the reference beam (see abstract) [pars. 0007, 0009,0011 and 0017] (claim 7);
As to claims 8, Choi discloses a high-resolution reflection tomographic imaging system is included in tomographic imaging system (figs. 1, 15, 18A-18B) comprising: a microscope device laser interferometric microscope comprising an objective lens objective lens(es) (26, 224) and a tube lens tube lens 52/TL/TL (figs. 1 and 15), and formed with a camera port detector 42/142 camera; and
a camera device detector 42/142 comprising a camera CCD/CMOS and attachable to the camera port, wherein the camera device CCD/CMOS [pars. 0086-88] further comprises:
an illumination element (12) configured to introduce temporally coherent and spatially incoherent light; and
a semi-reflective surface element a beamsplitter 18 configured to split the light into a sample and a reference beam between the tube lens tube lens 52 and the camera detector 42/142, such that a sample beam included in the measurement 14 path from the sample (medium 25) and the reference beam included in the reference arm 16 path cause interference for tomographic imaging [pars. 0037-42, 0086-88].
As to claims 9-10, Choi further discloses a tomographic imaging system that is implemented using limitations such as, wherein the semi-reflective surface element beamsplitter 18 is configured to couple to a camera sensor of the camera detector 42/142 camera, and the camera device detector 42/142 camera further comprises relay lenses provided between the tube lens tube lens 52/TL/TL (figs. 1 and 15) and the semi-reflective surface element beamsplitter 18 (claim 9); and
wherein the semi-reflective surface element beamsplitter 18 is provided on a conjugate image plane between the tube lens tube lens 52/TL/TL (figs. 1 and 15) and the camera detector 42/142 camera, and
the camera device detector 42/142 camera further comprises relay lenses tube lens 52/TL/TL (figs. 1 and 15) provided between the tube lens tube lens 52/TL/TL (figs. 1 and 15) and the semi-reflective surface element beamsplitter 18 and between the semi-reflective surface element beamsplitter 18 and the camera detector 42/142 camera (claim 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (2009/0125242 A1) in view Gelernt et al. (2013/0278922 A1).
As to claims 2-3, Choi teaches of the features of high-resolution reflection tomographic imaging system structure, as applied to claim 1, that is use in a method/system that is implementing limitations such as, wherein the illumination element (i.e. light source 12) comprises: a light source configured to generate the light divided into measurement 14 and reference arm 16 paths by a beamsplitter 18 [par. 0037]; and a beam splitter beamsplitter 18 configured to reflect the light from the light source toward the semi-reflective surface element.
Choi fail to explicitly specify the constructional change(s) of light source beam redirected using at least one of a mirror and/or so called re-direct mirror or bending mirror that bend light beam from light source (claim 2); and wherein the illumination element further comprises a wavefront shaper provided between the light source and the mirror or the beam splitter (claim 3), in the device/system of claim 1, as that claimed by Applicants claims 2-3.
However, even though, Choi fail to teach the constructional change(s) in the device/system of claim 1, as that claimed by Applicants claims 2-3, the constructional change(s) differences is/are considered obvious design variation of normal design procedure in the system/device of claim 1 which come within the scope of the customary practice followed by persons skilled in the art, in order to re-direct and/or bend light beam from light source, and in order to achieve optical focusing of light beam from light source.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi by redirect of the light source beam from the light source as desired appropriate, such as in the manner set forth in applicant's claims 2-3, since the modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component in order to make the system compact and enhance light beam focusing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi with the constructional change(s) of light source beam redirected using at least one of a mirror and/or so called re-direct mirror or bending mirror that bend light beam from light source, in order to make the system compact, and enhance and achieve optical focusing of light beam from light source.
In addition, using at least one of a mirror and/or so called re-direct mirror or bending mirror that bend and/or redirect light beam from light source is known in art, as evidence by Gelernt (Gelernt, [pars. 0040, 0078-79] teaches of light 15 is directed from the light source 10 to the target 85 by way of the beam splitter 70, mirror 50 (redirect light beam 15), as can be seen in depicted drawing (fig. 1)), and the use of condenser lens 311 in a direction generally indicated by a first arrow 370, between the light source and the mirror or the beam splitter Gelernt (Gelernt, [pars. 0073] (fig. 12)) in order to make the system compact and the redirect of the light source beam and enhance and achieve optical focusing of light beam from light source.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi with the constructional change(s) of light source beam redirected using at least one of a mirror and/or so called re-direct mirror or bending mirror that bend light beam from light source, in view the teachings of Gelernt in order to make the system compact and enhance and achieve optical focusing of light beam from light source, since the propose modification of the prior art would not change the principle of operation of the prior art invention being modified. In this case, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed in the attached form PTO-892 teach of other prior art high-resolution reflection tomographic imaging system/method.
Conclusion
/ISIAKA O AKANBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877