DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based upon an application filed in JAPAN on 09/06/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over US20160190395A1; Satoshi Shirahama; (hereinafter “Shirahama”).
Regarding Claim 1, Shirahama teaches a ceramic substrate ([0049]) comprising:
a base (#20/20B, Figure 10 of Shirahama annotated) having a first surface (#20bB), a second surface (#20aB) opposite to the first surface (#20bB), and a through hole (#21B) having a first opening diameter (#D1) at the first surface and a second opening diameter (#D2) at the second surface, the first opening diameter being larger than the second opening diameter (#D1 is greater than #D2);
at least one solid particle (#30aB) disposed in the through hole (#21B); and
an electrically-conductive member (#30bB) disposed in the through hole (#21), wherein
a thermal conductivity of the at least one solid particle is higher than a thermal conductivity of the electrically-conductive member ([0053-0056], core #30a/30aB comprises good electrical and thermal conductive material which effectively functions as heat dissipation path, while coating #30b/30bB comprises conductive material primarily for electrical connection, [0058-0059]), and
the electrically-conductive member (#30bB) is continuous between the first surface (#20bB) and the second surface (#20aB).
Regarding Claim 2, Shirahama teaches the ceramic substrate as described in claim 1, wherein Shirahama further teaches the second opening diameter (#D2, Figure 10 of Shirahama annotated) is smaller than an equivalent spherical diameter of the at least one solid particle (#30aB, [0097]).
Regarding Claim 4, Shirahama teaches the ceramic substrate as described in claim 1, wherein Shirahama further teaches a volume of the at least one solid particle is 25% or more of a volume of the through hole ([0052], diameter of the core is 50-95% of a diameter of through-hole #21).
Regarding Claim 5, Shirahama teaches the ceramic substrate as described in claim 1, wherein Shirahama further teaches the through hole (#21B, Figure 10 of Shirahama annotated) has an inner lateral surface (#22) that is continuous from the first surface (#20bB) to the second surface (#20aB), and the inner lateral surface is inclined at an angle of 80° or more and 89° or less with respect to the second surface (Figure 10 of Shirahama annotated, [0044]or [0097], lateral surface #22 can be substantially perpendicular to surface #20a/20aB or alternatively inclined at angle less than 90°).
Regarding Claim 6, Shirahama teaches the ceramic substrate as described in claim 1, wherein Shirahama further teaches an equivalent spherical diameter of the at least one solid particle is smaller than a thickness of the base ([0054], diameter of the core can be smaller than thickness of the substrate).
Regarding Claim 7, Shirahama teaches the ceramic substrate as described in claim 1, wherein Shirahama further teaches the at least one solid particle is embedded in the electrically-conductive member ([0051], the core can be entirely coated by the coating portion).
Regarding Claim 8, Shirahama teaches the ceramic substrate as described in claim 1, wherein Shirahama further teaches the at least one solid particle including at least one material selected from a group consisting of diamond, silicon carbide, boron nitride, nanocarbon, copper, and silver ([0056], the core comprises such as copper).
Regarding Claim 11, Shirahama teaches the ceramic substrate as described in claim 1, wherein Shirahama further teaches a light source device (#100B, Figure 10 of Shirahama annotated, [0097]) comprising:
the ceramic substrate of claim 1 (#20/20B, see rejection of claim 1); and
a light-emitting element (#10B) including an element electrode (#12pB/12nB),
wherein the electrically-conductive member (#30bB) of the ceramic substrate and the element electrode (#12pB/12nB) are electrically connected to each other ([0051]).
Regarding Claim 12, Shirahama teaches the ceramic substrate and the light source device as described in claim 11, wherein Shirahama further teaches the light-emitting element (#10B, Figure 10 of Shirahama annotated) is disposed on the second surface (#20aB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirahama in view of US20120250281A1; Kawai et al.; (hereinafter “Kawai”).
Regarding Claim 3, Shirahama teaches the ceramic substrate as described in claim 1.
Shirahama does not explicitly teach the at least one sold particle is a polyhedron.
However, Kawai teaches a ceramic substrate ([0042]) comprising at least one sold particle is a polyhedron ([0039] & [0049], inorganic filler of filling material #15 in through-hole #16-18 can be a sphere or polyhedron).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shirahama with the teaching of Kawai as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (spherical core of Shirahama) for another (polyhedral filler of Kawai) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirahama in view of US20120134631A1; Chiang et al.; (hereinafter “Chiang”).
Regarding Claim 9, Shirahama teaches the ceramic substrate as described in claim 1.
Shirahama does not explicitly teach the at least one solid particle is a diamond particle; or a composite particle that includes the diamond particle and a plating layer covering the diamond particle.
However, Chiang teaches an interconnect device with thermal conductive support ([0007]), comprising at least one solid particle is a diamond particle; or a composite particle that includes the diamond particle and a plating layer covering the diamond particle ([0051], a material of thermal conductive element comprises such as diamond).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shirahama with the teaching of Chiang as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (core thermal conductive material of Shirahama) for another (thermal conductive element material of Chiang) to obtain predictable results (improving heat conductive effect). See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claims 10, 13-14,16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirahama in view of WO2011125874A1; Ushio Yoshihiro; (hereinafter “Yoshihiro”); see attached patent machine translation.
Regarding Claim 10, Shirahama teaches the ceramic substrate as described in claim 1, wherein Shirahama further teaches the electrically-conductive member including copper or silver ([0059]).
Shirahama does not explicitly teach the electrically-conductive member including sintered copper or sintered silver.
However, Yoshihiro teaches a ceramic substrate (pg. 3), wherein an electrically-conductive member includes sintered copper or sintered silver (Figure 2, pg. 35-37, via conductor #14 is formed by sintered copper paste #52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shirahama with the teaching of Yoshihiro as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (through-hole conductive material of Shirahama) for another (via conductor material of Chang) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 13, Shirahama teaches a method of manufacturing a ceramic substrate ([0049]), the method comprising:
preparing a base (#20B, Figure 10 of Shirahama annotated) having a first surface (#20bB), a second surface (#20aB) opposite to the first surface (#20bB), and a through hole (#21B) having a first opening diameter (#D2) at the first surface and a second opening diameter (#D2) at the second surface, the first opening diameter being larger than the second opening diameter (#D1 is greater than #D2);
disposing at least one solid particle (#30aB) in the through hole (#21B) from a first surface side (#20bB or #20b, see Figure 4, [0026]) of the base;
disposing an electrically-conductive paste in the through hole after the disposing of the at least one solid particle in the through hole (Figures 5-6, [0082] & [0089]); and
forming an electrically-conductive member (#30) that is continuous between the first surface (#20bB) and the second surface (#20aB);
a thermal conductivity of the at least one solid particle is higher than a thermal conductivity of the electrically-conductive member ([0053-0056], core #30a/30aB comprises good electrical and thermal conductive material which effectively functions as heat dissipation path, while coating #30b/30bB comprises conductive material primarily for electrical connection, [0058-0059]).
Shirahama does not explicitly teach forming the electrically-conductive member by sintering the electrically-conductive paste.
However, Yoshihiro teaches a method of manufacturing a mounting substrate (pg. 3), comprising forming an electrically-conductive member by sintering electrically-conductive paste (Figure 2, pg. 37, via conductor #14 is formed by sintering of conductive paste #52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shirahama with the teaching of Yoshihiro as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (heat melting method of Shirahama) for another (sintering method of Chang) to obtain predictable results (filling the via structure with conductive paste). See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 14, Shirahama in view of Yoshihiro teaches the method as described in claim 13, wherein Shirahama further teaches the second opening diameter (#D2, Figure 10 of Shirahama annotated) is smaller than an equivalent spherical diameter of the at least one solid particle (#30aB, [0097]).
Regarding Claim 16, Shirahama in view of Yoshihiro teaches the method as described in claim 13, wherein Shirahama further teaches a method of manufacturing a light source device (#100B, Figure 10 of Shirahama annotated, [0097]), the method comprising:
preparing the ceramic substrate manufactured by the method of claim 13 (#20B, see rejection of claim 13); and
disposing a light-emitting element (#10B) including an element electrode (#12pB/12nB) on the ceramic substrate (#20B),
wherein, in the disposing of the light-emitting element, the electrically-conductive member (#30bB) and the element electrode (#12pB/12nB) are electrically connected to each other ([0051]).
Regarding Claim 18, Shirahama in view of Yoshihiro teaches the method as described in claim 13, wherein Shirahama further teaches a volume of the at least one solid particle is 25% or more of a volume of the through hole ([0052], diameter of the core is 50-95% of a diameter of through-hole #21).
Regarding Claim 19, Shirahama in view of Yoshihiro teaches the method as described in claim 13, wherein Shirahama further teaches the through hole (#21B, Figure 10 of Shirahama annotated) has an inner lateral surface (#22) that is continuous from the first surface (#20bB) to the second surface (#20aB), and the inner lateral surface is inclined at an angle of 80° or more and 89° or less with respect to the second surface (Figure 10 of Shirahama annotated, [0044] or [0097], lateral surface #22 can be substantially perpendicular to surface #20a/20aB or alternatively inclined at angle less than 90°).
Regarding Claim 20, Shirahama in view of Yoshihiro teaches the method as described in claim 13, wherein Shirahama further teaches an equivalent spherical diameter of the at least one solid particle is smaller than a thickness of the base ([0054], diameter of the core can be smaller than thickness of the substrate).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirahama in view of Yoshihiro, and further in view of US20130286610A1; Naohiro Nakagawa; (hereinafter “Nakagawa”).
Regarding Claim 15, Shirahama in view of Yoshihiro teaches the method as described in claim 13, wherein Shirahama further teaches a first opening (#O1, Figure 10 of Shirahama annotated) at a position overlapping the through hole (#21B), and a second opening (#O2) at a position overlapping the through hole (#21B); and
the disposing of the electrically-conductive paste includes disposing the electrically-conductive paste (#30bB) in the first opening (#O1) and the second opening (#O2).
Shirahama in view of Yoshihiro does not teach the preparing of the base includes preparing a first film attached to the first surface and having a first opening at a position overlapping the through hole, and a second film attached to the second surface and having a second opening at a position overlapping the through hole, and before the forming of the electrically-conductive member, the first film and the second film are peeled off.
However, Nakagawa teaches a method of manufacturing a ceramic substrate ([0004]), comprising preparing of a base (#211, Figure 6C, ceramic board) includes preparing a first film attached to a first surface and having a first opening at a position overlapping the through hole ([0087], mask #M1 forms on upper surface of board #211 with corresponding opening to through-hole #213/215), and a second film attached to the second surface and having a second opening at a position overlapping the through hole (mask #M2 forms on lower surface of board #211 with corresponding opening to through-hole #213/215), and before the forming of the electrically-conductive member, the first film and the second film are peeled off ([0087], masks #M1-M2 are removed before formation of electrodes #250-270).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shirahama in view of Yoshihiro with the teaching of Nakagawa that provide mask structures to assist formation of conductive structures in through-holes of the substrate according to Nakagawa, [0087-0088].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirahama in view of Yoshihiro, and further in view of Kawai.
Regarding Claim 17, Shirahama in view of Yoshihiro teaches the method as described in claim 13.
Shirahama in view of Yoshihiro does not explicitly teach the at least one sold particle is a polyhedron.
However, Kawai teaches a method for manufacturing a ceramic substrate ([0041-0042]) comprising at least one sold particle is a polyhedron ([0039] & [0049], inorganic filler of filling material #15 in through-hole #16-18 can be a sphere or polyhedron).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shirahama in view of Yoshihiro with the teaching of Kawai as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (spherical core of Shirahama) for another (polyhedral filler of Kawai) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20150208506A1 – Figures 1-6
US20070081340A1 – Figures 3-5, [0016]
JP2015111620A – Figures 3-5
/TIEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /EVREN SEVEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812