Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al. (2021/0013610).
Regarding Claim 1, Chiang et al. (2021/0013610) discloses an antenna (100) comprising:
M (e.g. four) radiators (r[1], r[2], r[3], r[4], paragraph [0007], fig. 1b) configured to wirelessly (antenna 100 receives electromagnetic waves, paragraph [0076]) access a set of first signals (“antenna 100 may provide the signals M1+ and M1-…”, or “multi-band differential signals”, paragraph [0076]); and
M (e.g. four) feeding elements (four feed terminals, paragraph [0022], fig. 6b or 6c), connected to a processing circuit (transceiver, figs. 6a-c), and
configured to access a set of second signals (LB1, LB2, or “low-band signals”, paragraph [0022], figs. 6a-c) corresponding to the set of first signals (M1+, M1-, or multi-band differential signals, paragraph [0076]) between
the M feeding elements (four feed terminals, paragraph [0022]) and the processing circuit (transceiver, figs. 6a-c); and
M (e.g. four) is a positive integer larger than 3 (i.e. four is larger than three).
As discussed above, Chiang essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not graphically illustrate the M feeding element formed between the M radiators.
However, according to Figs. 1a-d, 2a, the antenna (100) and its radiators (r[1] to r[4]) are shown the top of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that all other elements (such as feeding terminal, ground plane, transceiver and other circuitry) would have been formed below the antenna and radiators in order to feed power through ground plane and prevent affecting and disturbing the wireless signal being transmitted/received at the antenna.
Regarding Claim 2, Chiang discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein an mth feeding element (comprised of pillar, 701, pt1) (Fig. 7d) of the M feeding elements (with others such as 702, pt2) comprises:
a pillar (annotated below) formed beneath an mth radiator (e.g. r[3]) of the M radiators (r[1] to r[4]), and comprising a first terminal (first terminal of pillar, annotated below) and a second terminal (second terminal of pillar, annotated below), wherein the first terminal of the pillar (first terminal of pillar) is closer to the mth radiator (r[3]) than the second terminal of the pillar (second terminal of pillar, annotated below);
at least one bar (Bar 1, annotated below) nonparallel (perpendicular to) to the pillar (pillar, annotated below), each bar comprising a first terminal (First terminal of Bar 1, annotated below) connected to the first terminal of the pillar (First terminal of pillar, annotated below), and a second terminal (Second terminal of Bar 1, annotated below);
wherein m is an integer, and 0 < m (e.g. 3) ≤ M (e.g. 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Chiang discloses the antenna of claim 2, wherein the at least one bar comprises two bars forming an angle larger than zero degree (Bar 1 and Bar 2 form a right angle which is larger than zero degree, see annotated above).
Regarding Claim 4, Chiang discloses the antenna of claim 3, wherein the angle is a right angle (right angle, see annotated above).
Regarding Claim 18, Chiang discloses the antenna of claim 1, further comprising:
a plurality of conductive vertical elements (g[1]-g[4], since these elements are ground element they are conductive so that the current can be grounded) forming a cavity (cavity formed by a[1] to [4] and g[1] to g[4]) annotated below);
wherein the M radiators (r[1] to r[4] formed below a[1] to a[4] and within g[1] to g[4]) and the M feeding elements (formed at the end tip of the walls of g[1] to g[4]) are formed inside the cavity (annotated below) .
Regarding Claim 19, Chiang discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein at least one radiator of the M radiators has a slot at a non-edge location (the slot formed below a[2], or a[1], [3], [4]. See below annotated figure), and/or a notch on an edge.
Regarding Claim 20, Chiang discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein at least one radiator (r[3]) of the M (four) radiators comprises:
a first part (h[32]);
a second part (h[31]); and
a third part (the plane portion of the “V” shape portion) formed below the first part (h[32]) and the second part (h[31]) and connected to the first part (h[32]) and the second part (h[31]);
wherein the third part is corresponding to a recess (form a recess).
Allowable subject matter
Claims 5-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844