Remarks
After further consideration and searches, the notice of allowability sent on 6/11/2026 has been withdrawn. The prosecution of the current application has now reopened.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Yoshikawa (20210359418).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoshikawa (20210359418) discloses an antenna comprising:
M radiators (31, 32, 33, 34) configured to wirelessly access a set of first signals (paragraph [0087]); and
M feeding elements (51, 52, 53, 54) formed below the M radiators (paragraphs [0089], [0090]), connected to a processing circuit (controller 18 may include processor) (paragraph [0127]) and
configured to access a set of second signals corresponding to the set of first signals between the M feeding elements and the processing circuit (paragraphs [0087], [0090], [0093], [0120]);
wherein M is a positive integer larger than 3 (e.g. 4, see fig. 8 and paragraph [0087]);
the set of first signals have a wavelength (paragraphs [0090], [0093]);
two of the M radiators are separated by a distance (fig. 8 and paragraph [0093]); and
the distance is between 0.001 times the wavelength and 0.25 times the wavelength (“interval D1 is equal to or less than ¼ of the resonance wavelength of antenna”, paragraph [0093]).
Regarding Claim 9, Yoshikawa discloses an antenna comprising:
M radiators (31, 32, 33, 34) configured to wirelessly access a set of first signals (paragraph [0087]);
M feeding elements (51, 52, 53, 54) formed below the M radiators, connected to a processing circuit (controller 18 may include processor) (paragraph [0127]) and configured to access a set of second signals corresponding to the set of first signals between the M feeding elements and the processing circuit (paragraphs [0087], [0090], [0093] [0120]);
a ground plane (20) (paragraph [0059]) formed below the M radiators (31-34); and
M groups of conductive vias (through-hole conductor) (paragraph [0052], four feeding line holes, fig. 4), wherein an mth group of conductive vias is configured to support an mth radiator of the M radiators (each feed hole (51-54) feed power to each radiator (31-34) fig. 4), and each conductive via of the mth group of conductive vias comprises a first terminal connected to the mth radiator and a second terminal connected to the ground plane (20);
wherein M (4) is a positive integer larger than 3 (e.g. 4), m is an integer, and 0 < m (4) ≤ M (4).
Regarding Claim 10, Yoshikawa discloses the antenna of claim 9, wherein at least one conductive via of the mth group of conductive vias comprises:
a first part (51) perpendicular to the mth radiator (31, 41);
a second part (52) perpendicular to the mth radiator (32, 42); and
a third part (74, 75) having a non-linear shape (L-shape) and comprising a first terminal connected to the first part, and a second terminal connected to the second part (fig. 3).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (20210359418) in view of Chiang et al. (2021/0013610).
Regarding Claim 12, Yoshikawa discloses the antenna of claim 9, wherein: the set of first signals have a wavelength (paragraph [0087]);
the M radiators (31-34) (fig. 2, 3, 8) are arranged on a conductor (62) configured to provide reference potential (reference potential) (paragraph [0057]) and a conductive via of the M groups of conductive vias (through-hole conductor) (paragraph [0052], four feeding line holes, fig. 4) ,M radiators are separated by a distance (fig. 8 and paragraph [0093]); and the distance is between 0.001 times the wavelength and 0.25 times the wavelength (“interval D1 is equal to or less than ¼ of the resonance wavelength of antenna”, paragraph [0093]) but does not explicitly disclose the radiators are arranged around a reference point.
However, Chiang discloses the M radiator (r[1] to r[4]) are arranged a reference point (the center point at the crossed point of feeding elements 701 and 702 of four radiators r(1) to r(4) on top of the vias) (see below) and a conductive via (the ends of feeding elements, paragraph [0080]) of the M groups of conductive vias and reference point are separated by a distance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arranged the radiators around the reference point (center of four radiators as shown in Chiang) and separating the vias (which is under the radiator) and reference point by a distance ¼ of resonance wavelength in Yoshikawa in order to obtain the advantageous multi-broadband and multi-polarization by positioning the radiators a shown in Fig. 7a, 7b as taught in Chiang (abstract).
Regarding Claim 13, Yoshikawa discloses the antenna of claim 9, wherein: the set of first signals have a wavelength (paragraph [0087]);
the M radiators (31-34) (fig. 2, 3, 8) are arranged on a conductor (62) configured to provide reference potential (reference potential) (paragraph [0057]) and a conductive via of the M groups of conductive vias (through-hole conductor) (paragraph [0052], four feeding line holes, fig. 4) ,M radiators are separated by a distance (fig. 8 and paragraph [0093]); and the distance is between 0.001 times the wavelength and 0.25 times the wavelength (“interval D1 is equal to or less than ¼ of the resonance wavelength of antenna”, paragraph [0093]) but does not explicitly disclose a first conductive via of a first group of conductive vias corresponding to a first radiator of the M radiators is separated from a second conductive via of a second group of conductive vias corresponding to a second radiator of the M radiators by a distance.
However, Chiang discloses a first conductive via (under the radiator r[1]) of a first group of conductive vias (the ends of feeding element 701, paragraph [0080]) of the 4 radiators is separated from a second conductive via (under the radiator r[2]) of a second group conductive vias (the ends of feeding element 702) corresponding to a second radiator (r[2]) by a distance (figs. 7a, 7b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have separated the first vias (which is under the radiator) and second conductive via by a distance ¼ of resonance wavelength in Yoshikawa in order to obtain the advantageous multi-broadband and multi-polarization by positioning the radiators a shown in Fig. 7a, 7b as taught in Chiang (abstract).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (20210359418).
Regarding Claim 17, Yoshikawa discloses an antenna comprising:
M radiators (31, 32, 33, 34) configured to wirelessly access a set of first signals (paragraph [0087]);
M feeding elements (51, 52, 53, 54) formed below the M radiators, connected to a processing circuit (controller 18 may include processor) (paragraph [0127]) and configured to access a set of second signals corresponding to the set of first signals between the M feeding elements and the processing circuit (feed signals, paragraphs [0035], [0036], [0091]);
a circuit board (circuit board 14, paragraph [0114]) comprising a plurality of conductive layers (figs. 3, 4, 5) configured to form the M radiators (31, 32, 33, 34) and the M feeding elements (51, 52, 53, 54);
an integrated circuit (Integrated circuit) comprising the processing circuit (controller 18 may include processor) (paragraph [0127]) and connected to the circuit board (circuit board 14) (paragraphs [0114], [0116]); and
wherein M (4) is a positive integer larger than 3 (e.g. 4, see fig. 8 and paragraph [0087]).
As discussed above, Yoshikawa essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose bonding interfaces on the circuit board. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided bonding interfaces such as soldering, wiring connection on the circuit board in order to conduct electricity. Bonding between electrical components merely involves routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 1-4, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al. (2021/0013610) in view of Yoshikawa (20210359418).
Regarding Claim 1, Chiang et al. (2021/0013610) discloses an antenna (100) comprising:
M (e.g. four) radiators (r[1], r[2], r[3], r[4], paragraph [0007], fig. 1b) configured to wirelessly (antenna 100 receives electromagnetic waves, paragraph [0076]) access a set of first signals (“antenna 100 may provide the signals M1+ and M1-…”, or “multi-band differential signals”, paragraph [0076]); and
M (e.g. four) feeding elements (four feed terminals, paragraph [0022], fig. 6b or 6c) formed below the M radiators (figs. 7a, 7b, 7c), connected to a processing circuit (transceiver, figs. 6a-c), and
configured to access a set of second signals (LB1, LB2, or “low-band signals”, paragraph [0022], figs. 6a-c) corresponding to the set of first signals (M1+, M1-, or multi-band differential signals, paragraph [0076]) between the M feeding elements (four feed terminals, paragraph [0022]) and the processing circuit (transceiver, figs. 6a-c); and
M (e.g. four) is a positive integer larger than 3 (i.e. four is larger than three).
Chiang discloses radiators generating signals (paragraph [0022]) and contribute to resonances at two or more non overlapping bands (abstract) that inherently contain frequency and wavelength and two of the M radiators (r[1], r[2]) are separated by a distance (gap between between) but does not explicitly disclose the set of first signals have a wavelength and the distance is between 0.001 times the wavelength and 0.25 times the wavelength.
However, Yoshikawa (2021/0359418) discloses the set of first signals have a wavelength (paragraphs [0090], [0093]) and the distance is between 0.001 times the wavelength and 0.25 times the wavelength (less than ¼ of the resonance wavelength).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arranged the distance is between 0.001 times the wavelength and 0.25 times the wavelength in Chiang to obtain desired resonant wavelength in order to match the system’s natural frequency and maximize energy absorption as taught by Yoshikawa.
Regarding Claim 2, Chiang discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein an mth feeding element (comprised of pillar, 701, pt1) (Fig. 7d) of the M feeding elements (with others such as 702, pt2) comprises:
a pillar (annotated below) formed beneath an mth radiator (e.g. r[3]) of the M radiators (r[1] to r[4]), and comprising a first terminal (first terminal of pillar, annotated below) and a second terminal (second terminal of pillar, annotated below), wherein the first terminal of the pillar (first terminal of pillar) is closer to the mth radiator (r[3]) than the second terminal of the pillar (second terminal of pillar, annotated below);
at least one bar (Bar 1, annotated below) nonparallel (perpendicular to) to the pillar (pillar, annotated below), each bar comprising a first terminal (First terminal of Bar 1, annotated below) connected to the first terminal of the pillar (First terminal of pillar, annotated below), and a second terminal (Second terminal of Bar 1, annotated below);
wherein m is an integer, and 0 < m (e.g. 3) ≤ M (e.g. 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Chiang discloses the antenna of claim 2, wherein the at least one bar comprises two bars forming an angle larger than zero degree (Bar 1 and Bar 2 form a right angle which is larger than zero degree, see annotated above).
Regarding Claim 4, Chiang discloses the antenna of claim 3, wherein the angle is a right angle (right angle, see annotated above).
Regarding Claim 18, Chiang discloses the antenna of claim 1, further comprising:
a plurality of conductive vertical elements (g[1]-g[4], since these elements are ground element they are conductive so that the current can be grounded) forming a cavity (cavity formed by a[1] to [4] and g[1] to g[4]) annotated below);
wherein the M radiators (r[1] to r[4] formed below a[1] to a[4] and within g[1] to g[4]) and the M feeding elements (formed at the end tip of the walls of g[1] to g[4]) are formed inside the cavity (annotated below) .
Regarding Claim 19, Chiang discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein at least one radiator of the M radiators has a slot at a non-edge location (the slot formed below a[2], or a[1], [3], [4]. See below annotated figure), and/or a notch on an edge.
Regarding Claim 20, Chiang discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein at least one radiator (r[3]) of the M (four) radiators comprises:
a first part (h[32]);
a second part (h[31]); and
a third part (the plane portion of the “V” shape portion) formed below the first part (h[32]) and the second part (h[31]) and connected to the first part (h[32]) and the second part (h[31]);
wherein the third part is corresponding to a recess (form a recess).
Allowable subject matter
Claims 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 15, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845