DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO et al. (US 20250150997 A1, hereinafter Guo) in view of YOSHIOKA et al. (EP 4509874 A1, hereinafter Yoshioka), YUE et al. (WO 2023212355 A1, hereinafter Yue) and TAKAHASHI et al. (US 20260046818 A1, hereinafter Takahashi)
Regarding Claim 32, Guo teaches
An apparatus comprising: a processor;
(Guo [0006, line 2] The apparatus may include a processor.)
And a memory storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to perform the following operations:
(Guo [0006, line 3] memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor.)
receiving, from a location management function (LMF) or a server user equipment (UE), a request identifying a specific time synchronization reference (SyncRef) to be used for sidelink (SL) positioning timing measurements, wherein the request includes a sidelink synchronization signal identifier (SLSS ID) associated with the specific SyncRef;
(Guo [0106] In general, synchronization sources for the first UE 115 may include a GNSS, a network entity 105 (e.g., eNB, gNB, or components of a network entity 105), a synchronization reference UE (also referred to as a SyncRef UE), or the like.
[0120, line 6] a SyncRef UE may transmit one or more SLSSs, such as one or more PSSs, SSSs, PSBCHs, or a combination thereof. The one or more SLSSs may include an SLSS ID.)
determining, for the positioning measurement window, whether the apparatus is able to follow the specific SyncRef identified by the SLSS ID;
(Guo [0116] In some cases, a device, such as a SyncRef UE, may operate as an independent synchronization source. Here, an independent synchronization source may synchronize with an internal clock (e.g., its own internal clock), and may transmit synchronization signals that enable other devices to synchronize with the timing of the independent synchronization source. [0120, line6] a SyncRef UE may transmit one or more SLSSs, such as one or more PSSs, SSSs, PSBCHs, or a combination thereof. The one or more SLSSs may include an SLSS ID and an incoverage indicator field (e.g., inCoverage). In some cases, the SLSS ID and inCoverage may be carried on a PSBCH, e.g., within a sidelink MIB or SSB transmission of the SyncRef UE.)
But Guo does not teach
receiving, from the LMF or the server UE, an indication of a positioning measurement window during which the specific SyncRef is valid for the SL positioning timing measurements;
transmitting, to the LMF or the server UE, a report including (i) the at least one SL- RTOA measurement, and (ii) an indication of whether the specific SyncRef was used for the at least one SL-RTOA measurement;
However, Yoshioka teaches
receiving, from the LMF or the server UE, an indication of a positioning measurement window during which the specific SyncRef is valid for the SL positioning timing measurements;
(Yoshioka [Col. 19, line 38] in a case where the UE-X and the UE-Y are synchronized based on the eNB, the gNB, or the SyncRefUE (UE serving as a synchronization source), a timing based on a synchronization timing of the UE-X itself may be set as the reference time. For example, the synchronization timing of the UE-X itself may be the SL synchronization timing based on the DL timing of the eNB or the gNB, or may be the SL synchronization timing based on the S-SSB reception.)
Yoshioka also teaches
transmitting, to the LMF or the server UE, a report including (i) the at least one SL- RTOA measurement, and (ii) an indication of whether the specific SyncRef was used for the at least one SL-RTOA measurement;
(Yoshioka [Col.9, line 18] Regarding the calculation of the UE position by DL-TDOA, the information indicated in the following 1) to 6) may be reported from the gNB to the LMF.
[Col. 19, line 22] The SL-RTOA in the UE-Y1 is from the reference time to the timing at which the UE-Y1 receives the SL-PRS. The SL-RTOA in the UE-Y2 is from the reference time to the timing at which the UE-Y2 receives the SL-PRS.).
(ii) [Col. 19, line 39] in a case where the UE-X and the UE-Y are synchronized based on the eNB, the gNB, or the SyncRefUE (UE serving as a synchronization source), a timing based on a synchronization timing of the UE-X itself may be set as the reference time. For example, the synchronization timing of the UE-X itself may be the SL synchronization timing based on the DL timing of the eNB or the gNB, or may be the SL synchronization timing based on the S-SSB reception.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka for the apparatus to be able to receive a request identifying a specific time synchronization reference (SyncRef) to be used for sidelink (SL) positioning timing measurements. It also enables the apparatus to transmit relative time of arrival measurement information.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the apparatus for preparing a thorough and accurate sidelink positioning measurement.
But Guo and Yoshioka do not teach
based on determining that the apparatus is able to follow the specific SyncRef during the positioning measurement window, using the specific SyncRef only for a reception timing reference for receiving a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS);
wherein, during the positioning measurement window, the apparatus does not change the specific SyncRef used for the reception timing reference.
However, Yue teaches
based on determining that the apparatus is able to follow the specific SyncRef during the positioning measurement window, using the specific SyncRef only for a reception timing reference for receiving a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS);
(Yue [00159] Note that for positioning, the configuration and transmission of SL Pos-RS may not be limited to one type of SL Pos-RS. Multiple SL Pos-RS, such as S-SSB and SL PRS, can be configured and transmitted. [00162] Sidelink synchronization references, priorities, and hierarchy of SL positioning anchors is now discussed. In sidelink, there are four possible synchronization sources for a UE, and they include GNSS, a gNB/eNB, a synchronization reference (SyncRef) UE via S-SSB, and the UE’s own internal clock.)
Furthermore, Yue teaches
wherein, during the positioning measurement window, the apparatus does not change the specific SyncRef used for the reception timing reference.
(Yue [00219, line 5] The Sidelink Synchronization Signal ID (SLSSID) indicates the source of time reference (GNSS, gNB or another SL UE (SyncRef UE)), and therefore give an information of the accuracy of the time reference. Prior to start sending S-SSB 1900 a SL UE must select its own time reference and advertise it via SLSSID.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo and Yoshioka by incorporating Yue to enable the apparatus to use the time window of the SyncRef for receiving the Sidelink positioning reference signal.
The motivation of doing so would have further enabled the apparatus to measure position, distance based on signal timing.
But Guo, Yoshioka and Yue do not teach
performing at least one SL relative time-of-arrival (SL-RTOA) measurement of the SL PRS based on the reception timing reference; and
However, Takahashi teaches
performing at least one SL relative time-of-arrival (SL-RTOA) measurement of the SL PRS based on the reception timing reference;
(Takahashi [0362, line 7] The anchor UEs measure the SL-RTOA (and optionally SL-SRS-RSRP or SL-PRS-RSRP) of the received signals using assistance data received from the positioning server (or can be the target UE or can be one of the multiple anchor UEs), and the resulting measurements are used along with other configuration information to estimate the location of the target UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo, Yoshioka and Yue by incorporating Takahashi enabling the apparatus to measure relative time of arrival (RTOA) of the positioning reference signal based on the timing reference stipulated in the claim
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the apparatus for exact position determination based on signal timing.
Regarding Claim 33 and as applied to Claim 32, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The apparatus of claim 32, wherein the apparatus further comprises an anchor UE configured to perform the SL-RTOA measurement on a sidelink positioning reference signal transmitted by a target UE.
(Takahashi [0362, line 7] The anchor UEs measure the SL-RTOA (and optionally SL-SRS-RSRP or SL-PRS-RSRP) of the received signals using assistance data received from the positioning server (or can be the target UE or can be one of the multiple anchor UEs), and the resulting measurements are used along with other configuration information to estimate the location of the target UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo, Yoshioka and Yue by incorporating Takahashi to have an anchor UE to perform a RTOA measurement of SL PRS transmitted by a target UE.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system of sidelink measurement of position among various combination of devices, apparatus and entities more efficient and accurate.
Regarding Claim 34, Guo furthermore teaches
wherein the specific SyncRef corresponds to a sidelink synchronization signal transmitted by a server UE acting as a synchronization reference UE, wherein the SLSS ID identifies that server UE.
(Guo [0106] In general, synchronization sources for the first UE 115 may include a GNSS, a network entity 105 (e.g., eNB, gNB, or components of a network entity 105), a synchronization reference UE (also referred to as a SyncRef UE). [0010, line 9] In some examples, the synchronous source may select an SLSS ID.)
Regarding Claim 35 and as applied to Claim 34, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The apparatus of claim 34, wherein the positioning measurement window includes: a defined window starting time
(Yue [0018, line 15] The target UE can then select one or more anchor UEs. The target UE and the anchor UE can reserve time and frequency communication resources for signaling via opportunistic mechanisms or via assignment by a 5G network. A positioning request is then sent.)
a window duration, and
(Yue [0070] A resource pool 200 for sidelink can be configured in units of slots in the time domain and physical resource blocks (PRBs) or sub-channels in the frequency domain. A sub-channel comprises one or more PRBs. FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a resource pool 200 in the time frequency resource grid.)
a window periodicity, and
(Yoshioka [Col. 7, line 38] As illustrated in Fig. 3, the end of the slot to be transmitted from the UE#A to the UE#B is used for a transmission/reception switching period. A certain UE may perform transmission in a slot n and then may perform reception in a slot n+1. The transmission/reception switching period is defined for each slot.)
wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to perform the SL-RTOA measurement only within the defined window duration.
(Yoshioka [Col. 19, line 22] The SL-RTOA in the UE-Y1 is from the reference time to the timing at which the UE-Y1 receives the SL-PRS. The SL-RTOA in the UE-Y2 is from the reference time to the timing at which the UE-Y2 receives the SL-PRS.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Yue and Yoshioka for the apparatus to have a position measurement window which is well defined.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the apparatus to perform the necessary operation of position measurement within a well-defined time duration window.
Regarding Claim 36 and as applied to Claim 35, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The apparatus of claim 35, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to continue to use a different time synchronization reference for sidelink data communications transmission timing while using the specific SyncRef only for the reception timing reference of the SL PRS.
(Yue [00219, line5] The Sidelink Synchronization Signal ID (SLSSID) indicates the source of time reference (GNSS, gNB or another SL UE (SyncRef UE)), and therefore give an information of the accuracy of the time reference. Prior to start sending S-SSB 1900 a SL UE must select its own time reference and advertise it via SLSSID.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Yue for the apparatus to use different time reference for transmitting data while using a specific time reference of SyncRef for reception timing.
The motivation of doing so would have improved accuracy of positioning, flexibility of communication timing and performance in sidelink communication.
Regarding Claim 37 and as applied to Claim 36, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The apparatus of claim 36, wherein the specific SyncRef comprises a global navigation satellite system (GNSS)-based synchronization reference, and wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to maintain the GNSS-based synchronization reference throughout the entire positioning measurement window.
(Yue [00162, line 5] The SyncRef can be distinguished with the number of steps (hops) away from GNSS or a gNB/eNB. For example, the ones directly synchronized to GNSS or a gNB/eNB are 1 step away from GNSS or gNB/eNB.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Yue for the apparatus to use SyncRef to be a GNSS based synchronization reference.
The motivation of doing so would have improved accuracy of positioning, flexibility of communication timing and performance in sidelink communication.
Regarding Claim 38 and as applied to Claim 37, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The apparatus of claim 37, wherein the report is transmitted after expiration of the positioning measurement window, wherein the report includes an identifier of the positioning measurement window.
(Yue [00137, line 5] The target UE can perform a positioning measurement. The target UE then sends a measurement report to the serving anchor UE at step 1207.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Yue for the apparatus to have a report of the expiration of the position measurement window.
The motivation of doing so would have improved accuracy of position measurement through a thorough understanding of the timing of the position measurement window. This enhances efficiency in measurement process.
Regarding Claim 39 and as applied to Claim 38, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The apparatus of claim 38, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to refrain from switching to any synchronization reference having a higher legacy sidelink synchronization priority during the positioning measurement window.
(Yue [00161, line 4] the anchor UEs may have different location accuracies which depends on their sync signal/source that can be translated to a priority level based on the original source being global navigation satellite system (GNSS) or gNB/eNB. [00162, line 10] The synchronization preference orders are described in the following hierarchical priority levels, where lower number indicates higher priority Level 1. Either GNSS or eNB/gNB, according to (pre-)configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Yue for the apparatus to stay within a specific measurement procedure without switching it.
The motivation of doing so would have improved accuracy of position measurement through a thorough understanding of the specific measurement procedure. This enhances efficiency in measurement process.
Regarding Claim 40 and as applied to Claim 39, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the SL PRS is transmitted according to a network-centric sidelink PRS resource allocation scheme.
(Yue [0097, line 11] Study of sidelink reference signals for positioning purposes from physical layer perspective, including signal design, resource allocation, measurements, associated procedures, etc, reusing existing reference signals, procedures, etc from sidelink communication and from positioning as much as possible [RANI].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Yue for defining how side link positioning reference signal is being transmitted.
The motivation of doing so would have improved accuracy of position measurement through a thorough understanding of the specific measurement procedure and the signal transmitted. This enhances efficiency in measurement process.
Regarding Claim 41 and as applied to Claim 40, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The apparatus of claim 40, wherein the at least one SL-RTOA measurement comprises a measurement of a reception time difference between a reception timing of the SL PRS and a reference reception timing derived from the specific SyncRef identified by the SLSS ID.
(Takahashi [0366, line 9] The target UE measures the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement and SL-PRS-RSRP of the received signals using assistance data received from the single anchor UE (or can be positioning server), and the single anchor UE measures the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement (and optionally SL-PRS-RSRP of the received signals) using assistance data received from the target UE (or can be positioning server).)
(GUO [0106] In general, synchronization sources for the first UE 115 may include a GNSS, a network entity 105 (e.g., eNB, gNB, or components of a network entity 105), a synchronization reference UE (also referred to as a SyncRef UE), or the like. [0123] The SLSS ID may indicate a synchronization source of the SyncRef UE. For example, some SLSS IDs may be reserved for SyncRef UEs that are in GNSS coverage. Note: (anchor UE in the first reference is the SyncRef UE of the second reference.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Takahashi and Guo defining how side link relative time of arrival is being measured.
The motivation of doing so would have improved accuracy of position measurement through a thorough understanding of the specific measurement procedure and the signal transmitted. This enhances efficiency in measurement process.
Regarding Claim 42, Guo teaches
A method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: receiving, from a location management function (LMF) or a server user equipment (UE), a request identifying a specific time synchronization reference (SyncRef) to be used for sidelink (SL) positioning timing measurements, wherein the request includes a sidelink synchronization signal identifier (SLSS ID) associated with the specific SyncRef;
(Guo [0106] In general, synchronization sources for the first UE 115 may include a GNSS, a network entity 105 (e.g., eNB, gNB, or components of a network entity 105), a synchronization reference UE (also referred to as a SyncRef UE), or the like.
[0120, line 6] a SyncRef UE may transmit one or more SLSSs, such as one or more PSSs, SSSs, PSBCHs, or a combination thereof. The one or more SLSSs may include an SLSS ID.)
determining, for the positioning measurement window, whether the apparatus is able to follow the specific SyncRef identified by the SLSS ID;
(Guo [0116] In some cases, a device, such as a SyncRef UE, may operate as an independent synchronization source. Here, an independent synchronization source may synchronize with an internal clock (e.g., its own internal clock), and may transmit synchronization signals that enable other devices to synchronize with the timing of the independent synchronization source.)
But Guo does not teach
receiving, from the LMF or the server UE, an indication of a positioning measurement window during which the specific SyncRef is valid for the SL positioning timing measurements;
transmitting, to the LMF or the server UE, a report including (i) the at least one SL- RTOA measurement, and (ii) an indication of whether the specific SyncRef was used for the at least one SL-RTOA measurement;
However, Yoshioka teaches
receiving, from the LMF or the server UE, an indication of a positioning measurement window during which the specific SyncRef is valid for the SL positioning timing measurements;
(Yoshioka [Col. 19, line 38] in a case where the UE-X and the UE-Y are synchronized based on the eNB, the gNB, or the SyncRefUE (UE serving as a synchronization source), a timing based on a synchronization timing of the UE-X itself may be set as the reference time. For example, the synchronization timing of the UE-X itself may be the SL synchronization timing based on the DL timing of the eNB or the gNB, or may be the SL synchronization timing based on the S-SSB reception.)
Yoshioka also teaches
transmitting, to the LMF or the server UE, a report including (i) the at least one SL- RTOA measurement, and (ii) an indication of whether the specific SyncRef was used for the at least one SL-RTOA measurement;
(Yoshioka [Col.9, line 18] Regarding the calculation of the UE position by DL-TDOA, the information indicated in the following 1) to 6) may be reported from the gNB to the LMF.
[Col. 19, line 22] The SL-RTOA in the UE-Y1 is from the reference time to the timing at which the UE-Y1 receives the SL-PRS. The SL-RTOA in the UE-Y2 is from the reference time to the timing at which the UE-Y2 receives the SL-PRS.).
(ii) [Col. 19, line 39] in a case where the UE-X and the UE-Y are synchronized based on the eNB, the gNB, or the SyncRefUE (UE serving as a synchronization source), a timing based on a synchronization timing of the UE-X itself may be set as the reference time. For example, the synchronization timing of the UE-X itself may be the SL synchronization timing based on the DL timing of the eNB or the gNB, or may be the SL synchronization timing based on the S-SSB reception.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka for the apparatus to be able to receive a request identifying a specific time synchronization reference (SyncRef) to be used for sidelink (SL) positioning timing measurements. It also enables the apparatus to transmit relative time of arrival measurement information.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the apparatus for preparing a thorough and accurate sidelink positioning measurement.
But Guo and Yoshioka do not teach
based on determining that the apparatus is able to follow the specific SyncRef during the positioning measurement window, using the specific SyncRef only for a reception timing reference for receiving a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS);
wherein, during the positioning measurement window, the apparatus does not change the specific SyncRef used for the reception timing reference.
However, Yue teaches
based on determining that the apparatus is able to follow the specific SyncRef during the positioning measurement window, using the specific SyncRef only for a reception timing reference for receiving a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS);
(Yue [00159] Note that for positioning, the configuration and transmission of SL Pos-RS may not be limited to one type of SL Pos-RS. Multiple SL Pos-RS, such as S-SSB and SL PRS, can be configured and transmitted. [00162] Sidelink synchronization references, priorities, and hierarchy of SL positioning anchors is now discussed. In sidelink, there are four possible synchronization sources for a UE, and they include GNSS, a gNB/eNB, a synchronization reference (SyncRef) UE via S-SSB, and the UE’s own internal clock.)
Furthermore, Yue teaches
wherein, during the positioning measurement window, the apparatus does not change the specific SyncRef used for the reception timing reference.
(Yue [00219, line 5] The Sidelink Synchronization Signal ID (SLSSID) indicates the source of time reference (GNSS, gNB or another SL UE (SyncRef UE)), and therefore give an information of the accuracy of the time reference. Prior to start sending S-SSB 1900 a SL UE must select its own time reference and advertise it via SLSSID.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo and Yoshioka by incorporating Yue to enable the apparatus to use the time window of the SyncRef for receiving the Sidelink positioning reference signal.
The motivation of doing so would have further enabled the apparatus to measure position, distance based on signal timing.
But Guo, Yoshioka and Yue do not teach
performing at least one SL relative time-of-arrival (SL-RTOA) measurement of the SL PRS based on the reception timing reference; and
However, Takahashi teaches
performing at least one SL relative time-of-arrival (SL-RTOA) measurement of the SL PRS based on the reception timing reference;
(Takahashi [0362, line 7] The anchor UEs measure the SL-RTOA (and optionally SL-SRS-RSRP or SL-PRS-RSRP) of the received signals using assistance data received from the positioning server (or can be the target UE or can be one of the multiple anchor UEs), and the resulting measurements are used along with other configuration information to estimate the location of the target UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo, Yoshioka and Yue by incorporating Takahashi enabling the apparatus to measure relative time of arrival (RTOA) of the positioning reference signal based on the timing reference stipulated in the claim
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the apparatus for exact position determination based on signal timing.
Regarding Claim 43 and as applied to Claim 42, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The method of claim 42, wherein the apparatus further comprises an anchor UE configured to perform the SL-RTOA measurement on a sidelink positioning reference signal transmitted by a target UE.
(Takahashi [0362, line 7] The anchor UEs measure the SL-RTOA (and optionally SL-SRS-RSRP or SL-PRS-RSRP) of the received signals using assistance data received from the positioning server (or can be the target UE or can be one of the multiple anchor UEs), and the resulting measurements are used along with other configuration information to estimate the location of the target UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo, Yoshioka and Yue by incorporating Takahashi to have an anchor UE to perform a RTOA measurement of SL PRS transmitted by a target UE.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system of sidelink measurement of position among various combination of devices, apparatus and entities more efficient and accurate.
Regarding Claim 44, Guo furthermore teaches
wherein the specific SyncRef corresponds to a sidelink synchronization signal transmitted by a server UE acting as a synchronization reference UE, wherein the SLSS ID identifies that server UE.
(Guo [0106] In general, synchronization sources for the first UE 115 may include a GNSS, a network entity 105 (e.g., eNB, gNB, or components of a network entity 105), a synchronization reference UE (also referred to as a SyncRef UE). [0010, line 9] In some examples, the synchronous source may select an SLSS ID.)
Regarding Claim 45 and as applied to Claim 44, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The method of claim 44, wherein the positioning measurement window includes: a defined window starting time
(Yue [0018, line 15] The target UE can then select one or more anchor UEs. The target UE and the anchor UE can reserve time and frequency communication resources for signaling via opportunistic mechanisms or via assignment by a 5G network. A positioning request is then sent.)
a window duration, and
(Yue [0070] A resource pool 200 for sidelink can be configured in units of slots in the time domain and physical resource blocks (PRBs) or sub-channels in the frequency domain. A sub-channel comprises one or more PRBs. FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a resource pool 200 in the time frequency resource grid.)
a window periodicity, and
(Yoshioka [Col. 7, line 38] As illustrated in Fig. 3, the end of the slot to be transmitted from the UE#A to the UE#B is used for a transmission/reception switching period. A certain UE may perform transmission in a slot n and then may perform reception in a slot n+1. The transmission/reception switching period is defined for each slot.)
and wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to perform the SL-RTOA measurement only within the defined window duration.
(Yoshioka [Col. 19, line 22] The SL-RTOA in the UE-Y1 is from the reference time to the timing at which the UE-Y1 receives the SL-PRS. The SL-RTOA in the UE-Y2 is from the reference time to the timing at which the UE-Y2 receives the SL-PRS.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Yue and Yoshioka for the apparatus to have a position measurement window which is well defined.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the apparatus to perform the necessary operation of position measurement within a well-defined time duration window.
Regarding Claim 46 and as applied to Claim 45, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The method of claim 45, further comprising using a different time synchronization reference for sidelink data communications transmission timing while using the specific SyncRef only for the reception timing reference of the SL PRS.
(Yue [00219, line5] The Sidelink Synchronization Signal ID (SLSSID) indicates the source of time reference (GNSS, gNB or another SL UE (SyncRef UE)), and therefore give an information of the accuracy of the time reference. Prior to start sending S-SSB 1900 a SL UE must select its own time reference and advertise it via SLSSID.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Yue for the apparatus to use different time reference for transmitting data while using a specific time reference of SyncRef for reception timing.
The motivation of doing so would have improved accuracy of positioning, flexibility of communication timing and performance in sidelink communication.
Regarding Claim 47 and as applied to Claim 46, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The method of claim 46, wherein the specific SyncRef comprises a global navigation satellite system (GNSS)-based synchronization reference, and wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to maintain the GNSS-based synchronization reference throughout the entire positioning measurement window.
(Yue [00162, line 5] The SyncRef can be distinguished with the number of steps (hops) away from GNSS or a gNB/eNB. For example, the ones directly synchronized to GNSS or a gNB/eNB are 1 step away from GNSS or gNB/eNB.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Yue for the apparatus to use SyncRef to be a GNSS based synchronization reference.
The motivation of doing so would have improved accuracy of positioning, flexibility of communication timing and performance in sidelink communication.
Regarding Claim 48 and as applied to Claim 47, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The method of claim 47, wherein the report is transmitted after expiration of the positioning measurement window, wherein the report includes an identifier of the positioning measurement window.
(Yue [00137, line 5] The target UE can perform a positioning measurement. The target UE then sends a measurement report to the serving anchor UE at step 1207.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Yue for the apparatus to have a report of the expiration of the position measurement window.
The motivation of doing so would have improved accuracy of position measurement through a thorough understanding of the timing of the position measurement window. This enhances efficiency in measurement process.
Regarding Claim 49 and as applied to Claim 48, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The method of claim 48, further comprising refraining from switching to any synchronization reference having a higher legacy sidelink synchronization priority during the positioning measurement window.
(Yue [00161, line 4] the anchor UEs may have different location accuracies which depends on their sync signal/source that can be translated to a priority level based on the original source being global navigation satellite system (GNSS) or gNB/eNB. [00162, line 10] The synchronization preference orders are described in the following hierarchical priority levels, where lower number indicates higher priority Level 1. Either GNSS or eNB/gNB, according to (pre-)configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Yue for the apparatus to stay within a specific measurement procedure without switching it.
The motivation of doing so would have improved accuracy of position measurement through a thorough understanding of the specific measurement procedure. This enhances efficiency in measurement process.
Regarding Claim 50 and as applied to Claim 49, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The method of claim 49, wherein the SL PRS is transmitted according to a network-centric sidelink PRS resource allocation scheme.
(Yue [0097, line 11] Study of sidelink reference signals for positioning purposes from physical layer perspective, including signal design, resource allocation, measurements, associated procedures, etc, reusing existing reference signals, procedures, etc from sidelink communication and from positioning as much as possible [RANI].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Yue for defining how side link positioning reference signal is being transmitted.
The motivation of doing so would have improved accuracy of position measurement through a thorough understanding of the specific measurement procedure and the signal transmitted. This enhances efficiency in measurement process.
Regarding Claim 51 and as applied to Claim 50, Guo, Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi furthermore teach
The method of claim 50, wherein the at least one SL-RTOA measurement comprises a measurement of a reception time difference between a reception timing of the SL PRS and a reference reception timing derived from the specific SyncRef identified by the SLSS ID.
(Takahashi [0366, line 9] The target UE measures the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement and SL-PRS-RSRP of the received signals using assistance data received from the single anchor UE (or can be positioning server), and the single anchor UE measures the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement (and optionally SL-PRS-RSRP of the received signals) using assistance data received from the target UE (or can be positioning server).)
(GUO [0106] In general, synchronization sources for the first UE 115 may include a GNSS, a network entity 105 (e.g., eNB, gNB, or components of a network entity 105), a synchronization reference UE (also referred to as a SyncRef UE), or the like. [0123] The SLSS ID may indicate a synchronization source of the SyncRef UE. For example, some SLSS IDs may be reserved for SyncRef UEs that are in GNSS coverage. Note: (anchor UE in the first reference is the SyncRef UE of the second reference.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Guo by incorporating Yoshioka, Yue and Takahashi and in further teachings of Takahashi and Guo defining how side link relative time of arrival is being measured.
The motivation of doing so would have improved accuracy of position measurement through a thorough understanding of the specific measurement procedure and the signal transmitted. This enhances efficiency in measurement process.
Conclusion
/RANA H MAHMUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644