DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I (claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 17 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 2024-01-23. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 202410095413.6 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 6 (second drive mechanism, see specification paragraph [0018]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: There are several instances where the applicant uses the term “moping” instead of “mopping” and this appears to be a typographical error. One example is in paragraph [0018] of the specification where the applicant describes that “the cleaning device in the present application, can be a sweeping robot, a moping robot, or a machine…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first drive mechanism” in claim 1, “a transmission structure” in claim 1, “a second drive mechanism” in claim 1, “a driving member” in claim 3, “a rotating member” in claim 3, “a connecting member” in claim 7, “elevation mechanism” in claim 16, “an elastic member” in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deng et al., CN 220089389 U (see also English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Deng et al. disclose a cleaning device, comprising: a chassis (610), the chassis being recessed to form a trough (612, Figures 6-9); a first drive mechanism (first motor 260), the first drive mechanism being mounted on the chassis (not directly shown, see Figures 5-9 and English translation); a rotating plate (240) and a cleaning plate (220), the rotating plate being fitted to and mounted in the trough (not directly shown, best seen in Figures 7 and 9 as being part of the components positioned in the trough), the cleaning plate being eccentrically mounted to the rotating plate (cleaning plate can rotate about axial line L2, Figures 2 and 5, see English translation), the rotating plate being provided with a transmission structure (270), an input end of the transmission structure being in transmitting connection with the first drive mechanism (see English translation, “the rotating shaft of the first motor 260 is connected with the input end of the transmission mechanism 270…”), an output end of the transmission structure being in transmitting connection with the cleaning plate to drive the cleaning plate to rotate (see English translation and Figure 5); and a second drive mechanism (622), the second drive mechanism being connected with the rotating plate (via 430, best shown in Figure 7), wherein driven by the second drive mechanism, the rotating plate is caused to rotate about an axis of the rotating plate, so that the rotating plate drives, through rotation thereof, the cleaning plate to move for displacement (see English translation, the cleaning plate 220 swings outwards to a maximum position, maximum position of cleaning plate shown in Figures 8-9 at reference line L3).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al., CN 117357012 A (see also English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Sun et al. disclose a cleaning device, comprising: a chassis (100, Figure 8), the chassis being recessed to form a trough (300, Figure 11); a first drive mechanism (2, Figure 2), the first drive mechanism being mounted on the chassis (Figure 11); a rotating plate (3) and a cleaning plate (1), the rotating plate being fitted to and mounted in the trough (Figure 11), the cleaning plate being eccentrically mounted to the rotating plate (see English translation, rotating plate 3 is eccentrically driven about 6 which imparts eccentric motion to the cleaning plate, see Figure 6), the rotating plate being provided with a transmission structure (5, Figure 4), an input end of the transmission structure being in transmitting connection with the first drive mechanism (via 6, see English translation and Figures 2-4 and 6), an output end of the transmission structure being in transmitting connection with the cleaning plate to drive the cleaning plate to rotate (see English translation, transmitting connection with the cleaning plate via 52 and 303, Figures 5-6); and a second drive mechanism (4), the second drive mechanism being connected with the rotating plate (Figures 2-3, 5-6), wherein driven by the second drive mechanism, the rotating plate is caused to rotate about an axis of the rotating plate (about axis of 6 in Figure 5, also see unlabeled axis in Figure 11), so that the rotating plate drives, through rotation thereof, the cleaning plate to move for displacement (see English translation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art made of record discloses, teaches, or suggest the invention of claims 2-19. In particular regards to claim 2, neither Deng et al. or Sun et al. disclose that the rotating plate is in the form of a circular plate, the rotating plate formed with a receiving compartment, the transmission structure being mounted in the receiving compartment, the input end of the transmission structure being in transmitting connection with the first drive mechanism to form a first coupling end, the first coupling end being located on the axis of the rotating plate, the output end of the transmission structure being transmitting connection with the cleaning plate to form a second coupling end, the second coupling end being located between the axis of the rotating plate and the circumference of the rotating plate. Sun et al. do teach some of these aspects, but fail to disclose that the rotating plate is circular, and particularly teaches advantages of the rotating plate being strip-shaped to improve displacement distance and for low cost (see English translation).
In addition, neither Deng et al. or Sun et al. disclose an elevation mechanism, wherein the elevation mechanism is connected with the first drive mechanism and configured to drive the cleaning plate to ascend or descend, when the first drive mechanism performs transmission in a first direction with respect to the transmission structure, the elevation mechanism drives the cleaning plate to ascend, and when the first drive mechanism performs transmission in a second direction with respect to the transmission structure, the elevation mechanism drives the cleaning plate to descend, when the elevation mechanism drives the cleaning plate to descend to a lowest position, the cleaning plate is located in the trough. CN 114916868 A to Wang et al. disclose an example of a screw type lifting mechanism for a cleaning plate, but does not teach all of the limitations found within claim 16.
Conclusion
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
Lcg