DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14 depends from a cancelled claim. Since the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be ascertained, the limitation is indefinite , the claim is rendered indefinite and determined to be an antecedent basis issue. For examination purposes, the has been interpreted to depend from claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3-6, 8, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Knapp et al. US 10,759,539 B2.
Re claim 3, Knapp et al. teach an aircraft having a fuel cell (130, 132) and one or more aircraft wings (fig 2, 114) comprising:
a coolant loop (138, 150, 142, 144) through which a coolant flows, wherein the coolant loop is a closed loop (fig 4),
wherein the closed coolant loop is arranged such that a first part of the closed coolant
loop (142, 144) is positioned adjacent the fuel cell to exchange heat with the fuel cell, and such that a second part of the closed coolant loop is formed within a body of the aircraft wing (150, fig 2); wherein the second part of the closed coolant loop formed within the body of the aircraft wing comprises a first coolant conduit (170a) and a second coolant conduit (170b); wherein the first coolant conduit and the second coolant conduit are located adjacent each other and close to or at a leading edge of the wing body (figs 2, 4); wherein hot coolant, which has become hot by performing its cooling function at the fuel cell, flows into the part of the closed coolant loop that forms the first coolant conduit, wherein the wing body performs heat exchange with the hot coolant, causing the wing body temperature to increase and the coolant temperature to decrease, and wherein the cooled coolant then returns along the wing body via the second coolant conduit (col 8).
Rew claim 4, Knapp et al. teach wherein the first coolant conduit and the second coolant conduit extend along the body of the aircraft wing for flow of the coolant therethrough (see the rejection of claim 3).
Rew claim 5, Knapp et al. teach the first coolant conduit and the second coolant conduit comprising: an inlet end of the first coolant conduit for flow of a hot coolant into the first coolant conduit; and an outlet end of the second coolant conduit for flow of a cooled coolant out
of the second coolant conduit after heat exchange between the hot coolant and the wing body (192, 194).
Re claim 6, Knapp et al. teach wherein the first coolant conduit and the second coolant conduit extend adjacent a leading edge of the aircraft wing (see the rejection of claim 3, figs).
Re claim 8, Knapp et al. teach wherein the one or more coolant conduits define a wavy or angled path relative to a leading edge of the aircraft wing (figs noting the U-turn of the path at the end).
Re claim 14, Knapp et al. teach wherein the coolant loop is arranged to cool components, machines and/or devices on the aircraft (136, 137, noting that a working pump generates heat and naturally the cooling flow is capable or removing heat from the pump).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knapp et al. in view of Allison US 4,505,445.
Re claim 7, Knapp et al. fail to explicitly teach conduit details.
Allison teach wherein the first conduit is closer to the leading edge than the second
coolant channel conduit (fig 3, col 3) to emit heat to the trailing edge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include conduit details as taught by Allison in the Knapp et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for heat removal efficiency in a aircraft wing cooling loop
Claim(s) 9-11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knapp et al. in view of Mehring US 10,618,636 B2.
Re claim 9, Knapp et al. fail to explicitly teach heat conductive members.
Mehring teach wherein the one or more aircraft wings further comprise further comprising: heat conductive members (annotated fig, 1476, 1474) extending across the body of the wing to conduct heat from the coolant across the wing (it is noted that the italicized limitation is a functional limitation which the reference is capable of performing) (para 135).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include heat conductive members as taught by Mehring in the Knapp et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for stability and improved heat exchange in operation.
Re claim 10, Mehring teach wherein the heat conductive members are ribs across the width of the wing body (see the rejection of claim 9, para 135).
Re claim 11, Mehring teach wherein the coolant loop is formed by spars along the aircraft wing (see the rejection of claim 9, para 135).
Additionally Re claim 14, Knapp et al. teach wherein the coolant loop is arranged to cool components, machines and/or devices on the aircraft ( noting that struts etc holding the conduits will increase heat due to heat exchange but also have heat taken away via the fluid in a conduit, see the rejection of claim 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues the claims dependent on the independent claim(s) are allowable based upon their dependence from an independent claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The arguments with respect to claim(s) 3 have been addressed above. Thus, the rejections are proper and remain.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GORDON A JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763