DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Invention I (Claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 9/9/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uhlig (EP 3806142A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Uhlig et al discloses a power semiconductor module arrangement (Figure 3) comprising: a substrate (Figure 3, 11) arranged in or forming a ground surface of a housing (Figure 3, 7) , the housing comprising sidewalls (Figure 3, sidewalls of housing 7); at least one semiconductor body (Figure 3, 20) arranged on the substrate (Figure 3, 11); a first layer (Figure 3, 5) partly filling the housing (Figure 3, 7) and completely covering the substrate (Figure 3, 7) and at least one semiconductor body (Figure 3, 20) arranged thereon; and a second layer (Figure 3, 6) arranged adjacent to the first layer (Figure 3, 5) ; wherein the first layer (Figure 3, 5) is a liquid or gel-like layer (paragraph 22, silicone gel) , wherein the second layer (Figure 3, 6) is a solid or gel-like layer (paragraph 25, silicon rubber) , wherein the first layer (Figure 3, 5) is arranged between the substrate (Figure 3, 11) and the second layer (Figure 3, 6), and wherein the second layer is arranged distant from a top of the housing (Figure 3, 7) . See Figure 3 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 12-25 and 37-41.
With respect to Claim 2, and the limitation “wherein the second layer is configured to deform when the first layer expands or contracts during operation of the power semiconductor module arrangement”, the limitation is inherent as the same materials are disclosed by Uhlig .
With respect to Claim 3, and the limitation wherein a cavity (Figure 3, between 7 and 6) inside the housing between the second layer and the top of the housing is filled with air, and wherein the housing comprises an opening arranged to allow air to flow between the cavity and the outside of the housing, Uhlig discloses that the housing is not fully protected against protruding gases in paragraph 19.
With respect to Claim 4, Uhlig discloses wherein the first layer and the second layer each comprise a silicone material. See paragraph 22 (silicone gel) and paragraph 25 (silicone rubber).
With respect to Claim 5, Uhlig discloses wherein the second layer is a cured silicone layer. See paragraphs 25 (silicone rubber) and paragraph 37 of Uhlig.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uhlig (EP 3806142A1).
Uhlig et al is relied as discussed above. Moreover, Uhlig et al disclose wherein the housing comprises one or more protrusions attached to the one or more top surface of the housing and extending from the respective top wall into the second layer. See Figure 3, element 4 going through the top of the housing 7 and into the second layer 6; and paragraph 22.
However, Uhlig et al does not disclose wherein the housing comprises one or more protrusions attached to the one or more sidewalls of the housing and extending from the respective sidewall into the second layer.
With respect to Claim 7, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to extend the protrusion (terminal 4 in Figure 3) through a sidewall instead of a top wall of the housing 7, as rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In the present case, extending through a sidewall instead of the top wall would have been a rearrangement of parts, and in the absence of unobvious results, would have been an obvious modification depending on the space constraints.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uhlig (EP 3806142A1) as applied to claims 1-5 and 7 above, and further in view of Kusonoki et al (US 2017/0029571).
Uhlig et al is relied upon as discussed above.
However, Uhlig et al does not disclose the first layer further comprises a defined amount of heat stabilizer.
Kusonoki et al discloses the addition of heat stabilizers to silicone compositions in semiconductor packages. See paragraph 143.
With respect to Claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add heat stabilizer to the silicone first layer of Uhlig, for its known benefit in the art to provide heat stability to a semiconductor package as disclosed by Kusonoki et al. The use of a known component for its known benefit would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AGG
October 6, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812