DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baribault et al (WO 2016/137692 A1 (US 2016/0255127 A1); hereinafter Baribault) in view of SIotznick (Patent No.: US 11,343,293 B1; using the provisional application filed on March 16, 2021; hereinafter SIotznick)
Consider claims 1, 10, and 16, Baribault clearly shows and discloses a system, a method, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising: generating a webinar for hosting a plurality of attendee client devices and one or more panelist client devices (webinar read on web service provides online meetings; Step 610 receives, at the join service, the participant information, the participant can provide a user name and a password or PIN ) (paragraphs: 0043, 0049-0050, fig. 4 for input information, and fig. 6, label 610); the webinar including a webinar mainstage and a webinar backstage (Once authenticated, the participant can be authorized against the pre-defined list that the organizer developed; the join service can utilize the participant information, such as the username or PIN, to cross- reference a list that describes the individual participants and their associated roles, the join service has ascertained the role associated with the participant) (paragraphs: 0040, 0050 and fig. 6, label 612); joining the one or more panelist client devices to the webinar backstage of the webinar (based on their role, can be routed/transmit to the appropriate client application to consume the meeting; participants on the event team can be routed to a meeting client/backstage such as Lync client. Likewise, participants who are not on the event team, such as the attendees, can be routed to a different client application such as a web client) (paragraphs: 0041, 0044, and 0050 and fig. 6, label 614); joining the plurality of attendee client devices to the webinar mainstage of the webinar (step 616 redirects the participant's computing device to a client application to enable them to consume the meeting; if the participant is a member of the attendees, their computing device can be redirected to a web client/mainstage to enable them to consume the meeting) (paragraphs: 0042, 0044, 0047, 0050 and 0062; and fig. 6, label 616); receiving, from a first panelist client device, a presentation indication (Media content stored on device 700 can include any type of audio, video, and/or image data. Device 700 includes one or more data inputs 706 via which any type of data, media content, and/or inputs can be received, such as user-selectable inputs, messages, music, television media content, recorded video content, and any other type of audio, video, and/or image data received from any content and/or data source) (paragraphs: 0038 0063 and fig. 7); and associating the first panelist client device with the webinar mainstage (if a participant is a member of the event team, their computing device can be redirected to a meeting client/backstage such as “inner meeting”) (paragraphs: 0038, 0050, 0052, and 0062, and fig. 6, label 616); however, Baribault does not disclose other example the webinar including a webinar mainstage and a webinar backstage.
In the same field of endeavor, SIotznick clearly specifically other example the webinar including a webinar mainstage and a webinar backstage (in FIG. 3F used by a private breakout room participant to access those closed captions created for the main session, is added to the program interface when the private breakout room participants also access the speaker view window for the main session) (fig. 3D, label 341 for “webinar mainstage” , fig. 3F, and fig. 9, label 903; fig. 3D, label 339 for “webinar backstage” and fig. 9, label 905; col. 18, lines 56-67and fig. 3C – fig. 3D, and fig. 3F).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of SIotznick into teaching of Baribault for the purpose of showing other illustrating for webinar mainstage and webinar backstage.
Consider claim 2, Baribault and SIotznick clearly show the method, further comprising assigning the first panelist client device to the webinar backstage (Baribault: paragraphs: 0041-0044).
Consider claim 3, Baribault and SIotznick clearly show the method, wherein the first panelist client device is assigned to the webinar backstage prior to the webinar commencing (Baribault: paragraphs: 0041-0044 and fig. 4).
Consider claim 4, Baribault and SIotznick clearly show the method, wherein the first panelist client device is assigned to the webinar backstage after the webinar has commenced (Baribault: paragraphs: 0040-0044 and 0054-0055).
Consider claim 5, Baribault and SIotznick clearly show the method, wherein joining the one or more panelist client devices to the webinar backstage is responsive to receiving a request from the first panelist client device to join the webinar, the request comprising identification of a participant corresponding to the first panelist client device and a specification of a role of the participant in the webinar Mainstage (Baribault: paragraphs: 0040, 0050 and fig. 6, label 612).
Consider claim 6, Baribault and SIotznick clearly show the method and the non-, wherein joining the one or more panelist client devices to the webinar backstage comprises: responsive to the identification of the participant, requesting participant authentication; and receiving, from a user identity provider, authentication information about the participant (Baribault: paragraphs: 0043, 0049-0050, fig. 4 for input information, and fig. 6, label 610).
Consider claims 7, 11 and 17, Baribault and SIotznick clearly show the method, the system, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein joining the one or more panelist client devices to the webinar backstage of the webinar comprises: outputting first access information to the one or more panelist client devices, comprising: first subscription information for one or more first multimedia streams associated with the webinar backstage; and first cryptographic keys to enable access to the one or more first multimedia streams associated with the webinar backstage (Baribault: paragraphs: paragraphs: 0040-0043, 0049-0050, fig. 4 for input information, and fig. 6, label 610).
Consider claims 8, 12, and 19, Baribault and SIotznick clearly show the method, the system, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein associating the first panelist client device with the webinar mainstage comprises: outputting second access information to the first panelist client device comprising: second subscription information for one or more second multimedia streams associated with the webinar mainstage; and second cryptographic keys to enable access to the one or more second multimedia streams associated with the webinar mainstage (Baribault: paragraphs: 0043, 0049-0050, fig. 4 for input information, and fig. 6, label 610).
Consider claims 9, 13, and 20, Baribault and SIotznick clearly show the method, the system, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the first panelist client device is simultaneously joined to the webinar mainstage and the webinar backstage (Baribault: paragraphs: 0042, 0044, 0047, 0050 and 0062; and fig. 6, label 616).
Consider claim 14, Baribault and SIotznick clearly show the system, wherein joining the plurality of attendee client devices to the webinar mainstage of the webinar of the webinar comprises: outputting access information to the plurality of attendee client devices, comprising: subscription information for one or more multimedia streams associated with the webinar mainstage; and cryptographic keys to enable access to the one or more multimedia streams associated with the webinar mainstage (Baribault: paragraphs: 0043, 0049-0050, fig. 4 for input information, and fig. 6, label 610).
Consider claim 15, Baribault and SIotznick clearly show the system, wherein the presentation indication includes an indication that the first panelist client device is ready to present on the webinar mainstage (Baribault: paragraphs: 0040-0044).
Consider claim 18, Baribault and SIotznick clearly show the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the one or more first multimedia streams comprise multiplexed audio and video streams (SIotznick: col. 18, lines 56-67and fig. 3C – fig. 3D, and fig. 3F).
Response to Arguments
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on July 07, 2026. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the present application.
Applicant argues on the Applicant’s Response that Baribault and SIotznick fail to teach the limitation "generating a webinar for hosting a plurality of attendee client devices and one or more panelist client devices, the webinar including a webinar mainstage and a webinar backstage" and "receiving, from a first panelist client device, a presentation indication; and associating the first panelist client device with the webinar mainstage."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ arguments regarding claims 1, 10, and 16. The Original Specification states “A webinar backstage, also referred to as the "backstage," is a persistent space that allows panelists to check in, discuss topics with other panelists, and prepare to go live on the webinar mainstage in front of the webinar audience.” (paragraph 0016). Therefore the “backstage” read on ”inner meeting” can take place by way of a suitably-configured client application that permits communication amongst the event team (Baribault: paragraphs: 0041-0042) and the “backstage” read on private breakout room participant (SIotznick: fig. 3D, label 341 for “webinar mainstage” , fig. 3F, and fig. 9, label 903; fig. 3D, label 339 for “webinar backstage”);
Baribault teaches webinar read on web service provides online meetings; the web platform 106 is a platform that works in connection with content of the web, e.g. public content. A web platform 106 can include and make use of many different types of technologies such as, by way of example and not limitation, URLs, HTTP, REST, HTML, CSS, JavaScript, DOM, and the like. The web platform 106 can also work with a variety of data formats such as XML, JSON, and the like. Web platform 106 can include various web browsers, web applications (i.e. “web apps”), and the like (paragraphs: 0026 and 0028). Baribault teaches at step614, a redirection to an appropriate client application based on the meeting role. In the above example, if a participant is a member of the event team, their computing device can be redirected to a meeting client such as a Lync client. Alternately, if the participant is a member of the attendees, their computing device can be redirected to a web client to enable them to consume the meeting. Accordingly, step 616 redirects the participant's computing device to a client application to enable them to consume the meeting, participant roles can be dynamically modified in real time during the pendency of the meeting (paragraph 0053 and 0054). The inner meeting can take place by way of a suitably-configured client application that permits communication amongst the event team, Attendees are typically the general population of people who are attending an online meeting. In some instances, attendees can be considered to attend an “outer meeting” which is different from the “inner meeting.” The outer meeting is not privy to much if any of the communication that takes place in the inner meeting (paragraphs: 0041-0042). based on their role, can be routed/transmit to the appropriate client application to consume the meeting; participants on the event team can be routed to a meeting client/backstage such as Lync client. Likewise, participants who are not on the event team, such as the attendees, can be routed to a different client application such as a web client) (paragraphs: 0041, 0044, and 0050 and fig. 6, label 614). Moreover, SIotznick teaches the private breakout room participant to access those closed captions created for the main session, is added to the program interface when the private breakout room participants also access the speaker view window for the main session (fig. 3D, label 341 for “webinar mainstage” , fig. 3F, and fig. 9, label 903; fig. 3D, label 339 for “webinar backstage” and fig. 9, label 905; col. 18, lines 56-67and fig. 3C – fig. 3D, and fig. 3F). As a result, Baribault and SIotznick teach the above limitation as broadly claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMAL S ZENATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693