DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 8/8/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 20-28 are pending.
5. Claims 1-19 are currently cancelled prior to examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 20-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ge et al. US 20250024558 hereafter Ge.
As to Claim 20. (New) Ge discloses an apparatus [i.e. Network Element/NEF Device/MBSF Device] comprising [Title: MULTICAST/BROADCAST COMMUNICATION METHOD AND APPARATUS and Fig. 1]:
at least one processor [Processor-301], and at least one memory [Memory-303] comprising instructions of a network exposure function (NEF) or a multicast and broadcast service function (MBSF) [Section 0004: A fifth generation (5G) broadcast/groupcast architecture includes a network exposure function (NEF) network element or a multicast/broadcast service function (MBSF) network element (referred to NEF/MBSF network element for short) corresponding to an MBS session] wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least perform [Fig. 3, Sections 0177, 0182: The network element device (for example, NRF network element, or the MB-SMF network element) use a composition structure shown in FIG. 3; the communication apparatus-30 includes at least one processor-301, communication interface-304, and a memory-303. The memory 303 is configured to store computer-executable instructions for performing the solutions provided in embodiments of this application, and the processor 301 controls execution of the computer-executable instructions]:
receiving, from an application function (AF) [i.e. AF Network Element], a request to create a multicast and broadcast services (MBS) broadcast session, the request comprising an indication of a requested MBS service area [Sections 0025, 0107-0108, 0124: The method includes receiving a first request message from a first network element (i.e. AF element, see 0158), where the first request message includes information that includes a first identifier of a MBS session and information about MBS service area. An AF network element sends an MBS session identifier allocation request message-1 to an NEF/MBSF network element. The MBS session allocation request message may request to allocate MBS session identifier and to identify a to-be-created MBS session. Correspondingly, the NEF/MBSF network element receives the MBS session creation request message-1 from the AF network element];
based on determining that MBS broadcast transmission is not supported in a sub-area [i.e. Part or Cells (i.e. either cells 1-6) within area; Section 0225: MBS Service area may be a part or all MBS service area] of the requested MBS service area, sending a response to the request toward the AF, the response comprising an indication that MBS broadcast transmission is not supported in an entirety of the requested MBS service area [Sections 0025, 0149, 0210: The method includes: receiving a first request message from a first network element (i.e. AF) that includes information about an MBS service area; and sending a first response message to the first network element (i.e. AF) that includes information about not supporting the first identifier (i.e. first service area) or not supporting the MBS service area. The NEF/MBSF network element sends a response message of the MBS session creation request message-1 to the AF network element. The service area corresponding to the MB-SMF network element is an area that can be served and a group of cell identifiers; for example service area includes cells#1-6, and network element does not support MBS service area cell 4-6].
As to Claim 21. (New) Ge discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to at least perform [Fig. 3, Sections 0177, 0182]: retrieve [i.e. NEF/MBSF from Discovery Response Message], from a network repository function (NRF), profile information of at least one multicast and broadcast session management function (MB-SMF) [Sections 0103, 0113, 0169: After receiving the request message, the NRF network element select, an MB-SMF network element in a profile of a local MB-SMF; corresponding to a profile including the MBS session identifier as a selected MB-SMF network element. The NEF/MBSF network element determines the MB-SMF network element by using an NRF network element; for example, the NEF/MBSF network element sends a discovery request message to the NRF, and after receiving the discovery request message, the NRF determines candidate MB-SMF network elements based on policy and notifies the candidate MB-SMF network elements to the NEF/MBSF network element via a discovery response message. The NRF network element discover the target MB-SMF network element based on the information about the MBS service area, so that the target MB-SMF network element can serve the MBS service area],
the profile information comprising information about an area served by the MB-SMF in which MBS broadcast transmission is supported, wherein the determining is based on the profile information [Sections 0219, 0234, 0260: For example, the NRF network element discovers an MB-SMF network element supporting both the first identifier and the MBS service area. Determines an MB-SMF network element supporting the MBS service area as the target MB-SMF network element. It may be understood that the NRF network element add the first identifier to a session identifier range in the profile of the target MB-SMF network element].
As to Claim 22. (New) Ge discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to at least perform [Fig. 3, Sections 0177, 0182]: retrieve, from a network repository function (NRF), profile information of at least one multicast and broadcast session management function (MB-SMF) [Sections 0103, 0113, 0169: After receiving the request message, the NRF network element select, an MB-SMF network element in a profile of a local MB-SMF; corresponding to a profile including the MBS session identifier as a selected MB-SMF network element. The NEF/MBSF network element determines the MB-SMF network element by using an NRF network element; for example, the NEF/MBSF network element sends a discovery request message to the NRF, and after receiving the discovery request message, the NRF determines candidate MB-SMF network elements based on policy and notifies the candidate MB-SMF network elements to the NEF/MBSF network element via a discovery response message.
The NRF network element discover the target MB-SMF network element based on the information about the MBS service area, so that the target MB-SMF network element can serve the MBS service area],
the profile information comprising information about an area served by the MB-SMF in which MBS broadcast transmission is not supported, wherein the determining is based on the profile information [Sections 0103, 0219: After receiving the request message, the NRF network element select, an MB-SMF network element in a profile of a local MB-SMF. For example, the NRF network element discovers an MB-SMF network element not supporting the MBS service area].
As to Claim 23. (New) Ge discloses a method comprising [Title: MULTICAST BROADCAST COMMUNICATION METHOD AND APPARATUS and Fig. 1]:
receiving, at a network exposure function (NEF) or a multicast and broadcast service function (MBSF) [Section 0004: A fifth generation (5G) broadcast/groupcast architecture includes a network exposure function (NEF) network element or a multicast/broadcast service function (MBSF) network element (referred to NEF/MBSF network element for short) corresponding to an MBS session], a request, from an application function (AF) [i.e. AF Network Element], a request to create a multicast and broadcast services (MBS) broadcast session, the request comprising an indication of a requested MBS service area [Sections 0025, 0107-0108, 0124: The method includes receiving a first request message from a first network element (i.e. AF element, see 0158), where the first request message includes information that includes a first identifier of a MBS session and information about MBS service area. An AF network element sends an MBS session identifier allocation request message-1 to an NEF/MBSF network element. The MBS session allocation request message may request to allocate MBS session identifier and to identify a to-be-created MBS session. Correspondingly, the NEF/MBSF network element receives the MBS session creation request message-1 from the AF network element];
and based on determining, at the NEF that received the request or the MBSF that received the request, that MBS broadcast transmission is not supported in at least one sub-area [i.e. Part or Cells (i.e. either cells 1-6) within area; Section 0225: MBS Service area may be a part or all MBS service area] of a requested MBS service area, sending, by the NEF that received the request or MBSF that received the request, a response toward the AF, the response comprising an indication that MBS broadcast transmission is not supported in an entirety of the requested MBS service area [Sections 0025, 0149, 0210: The method includes: receiving a first request message from a first network element (i.e. AF) that includes information about an MBS service area; and sending a first response message to the first network element (i.e. AF) that includes information about not supporting the first identifier (i.e. first service area) or not supporting the MBS service area. The NEF/MBSF network element sends a response message of the MBS session creation request message-1 to the AF network element. The service area corresponding to the MB-SMF network element is an area that can be served and a group of cell identifiers; for example service area includes cells#1-6, and network element does not support MBS service area cell 4-6].
As to Claim 24. (New) The method of claim 23, further comprising: retrieving, by the NEF that received the request or MBSF that received the request, from a network repository function (NRF), profile information of at least one multicast and broadcast session management function (MB-SMF), the profile information comprising information about an area served by the MB-SMF in which MBS broadcast transmission is supported, wherein the determining is based on the retrieved profile information [See Claim 21 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore same rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 25. (New) The method of claim 23, further comprising: retrieving, by the NEF that received the request or MBSF that received the request, from a network repository function (NRF), profile information of at least one multicast and broadcast session management function (MB-SMF), the profile information comprising information about an area served by the MB-SMF in which MBS broadcast transmission is not supported, wherein the determining is based on the retrieved profile information [See Claim 22 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore same rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 26. (New) Ge discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [Memory-303] comprising instructions of a network exposure function (NEF) or a multicast and broadcast service function (MBSF) [Section 0004: A fifth generation (5G) broadcast groupcast architecture includes a network exposure function (NEF) network element or a multicast/broadcast service function (MBSF) network element (referred to NEF/MBSF network element for short) corresponding to an MBS session], wherein the instructions, when executed by at least one processor [Processor-301] of an apparatus, cause the apparatus to perform [Fig. 3, Sections 0177, 0182: The network element device (for example, NRF network element, or the MB-SMF network element) use a composition structure shown in FIG. 3; the communication apparatus-30 includes at least one processor-301, communication interface-304, and a memory-303. The memory 303 is configured to store computer-executable instructions for performing the solutions provided in embodiments of this application, and the processor 301 controls execution of the computer-executable instructions]:
receiving a request, from an application function (AF) [i.e. AF Network Element], to create a multicast and broadcast services (MBS) broadcast session, the request comprising an indication of a requested MBS service area [Sections 0025, 0107-0108, 0124: The method includes receiving a first request message from a first network element (i.e. AF element, see 0158), where the first request message includes information that includes a first identifier of a MBS session and information about MBS service area. An AF network element sends an MBS session identifier allocation request message-1 to an NEF/MBSF network element. The MBS session allocation request message may request to allocate MBS session identifier and to identify a to-be-created MBS session. Correspondingly, the NEF/MBSF network element receives the MBS session creation request message-1 from the AF network element];
and based on determining that MBS broadcast transmission is not supported in a sub-area [i.e. Part or Cells (i.e. either cells 1-6) within area; Section 0225: MBS Service area may be a part or all MBS service area] of the requested MBS service area, sending a response to the request toward the AF, the response comprising an indication that MBS broadcast transmission is not supported in an entirety of the requested MBS service area [Sections 0025, 0149, 0210: The method includes: receiving a first request message from a first network element (i.e. AF) that includes information about an MBS service area; and sending a first response message to the first network element (i.e. AF) that includes information about not supporting the first identifier (i.e. first service area) or not supporting the MBS service area. The NEF/MBSF network element sends a response message of the MBS session creation request message-1 to the AF network element. The service area corresponding to the MB-SMF network element is an area that can be served and a group of cell identifiers; for example service area includes cells#1-6, and network element does not support MBS service area cell 4-6].
As to Claim 27. (New) Ge discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 26, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to at least perform [Fig. 3, Sections 0177, 0182]:
retrieving, from a network repository function (NRF), profile information of at least one multicast and broadcast session management function (MB-SMF), the profile information comprising information about an area served by the MB-SMF in which MBS broadcast
transmission is supported, wherein the determining is based on the retrieved profile information [See Claim 21 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore same rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 28. (New) Ge discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 26, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to at least perform [Fig. 3, Sections 0177, 0182]:
retrieving, from a network repository function (NRF), profile information of at least one multicast and broadcast session management function (MB-SMF), the profile information comprising information about an area served by the MB-SMF in which MBS broadcast
transmission is not supported, wherein the determining is based on the retrieved profile information [See Claim 22 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore same rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ling et al. US 20250168600 in particular the title and Abstract.
July 30, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477