DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
New 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections necessitated by amendment.
Regarding claim interpretation
Examiner notes that no arguments nor amendments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation are presented. The 112(f) claim interpretations previously set forth are maintained.
Regarding prior art
Applicant's arguments filed 06/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For example, applicant argues “the body mark BM is a separate image from “an image showing a cross section of the inside of the living body at the diagnostic image” (as recited in amended claim 1) and is merely a schematic representation of the diagnostic part (in this case, the cervical part). In other words, Miyachi merely displays the probe mark PM3 on the body mark BM, and does not have a configuration that displays the probe mark PM3 on “an image showing a cross section of the inside of the living body at the diagnostic image”. In contrast, independent claim 1 as amended in this Response requires the image generating unit to ‘superimpose the positional image onto an image showing a cross section of the inside of the living body at the diagnostic image’. Miyachi does not disclose this limitation. (REMARKS pg. 8-9). Examiner respectfully disagrees in that first it is noted that the positional image has been interpreted to be the combination of the probe mark PM3 and the body mark BM and that the positional image comprising both of these elements is explicitly disclosed/depicted as being superimposed on the ultrasound image (U) (see fig. 21) which is an image showing a cross section of the inside of the body at the diagnostic image as currently recited. Furthermore, even if the positional image were to be the probe mark alone, it is noted that the probe mark is still considered to be superimposed on the ultrasound image in fig. 21 and the ultrasound image is considered an image showing a cross section of the inside of the body at the diagnostic image. Applicant appears to completely avoid any mention of the body mark and probe mark on the ultrasound image (U) as cited in the previous office action. For at least these reasons applicant’s arguments against the teachings of Miyachi are not found persuasive.
Applicant further argues “Furthermore, in Fig. 21 of Miyachi, the probe mark PM3 is displayed as a relatively small point. In contrast, independent claim 1 is amended in this Response to require ‘a cursor including a horizontal line and a vertical line’ to ‘show[] a current position of the probe’. Miyachi does not discloses this limitation Nor does Dhatt or Laviola. The display area for a horizontal line and a vertical line can be wider than that of the relatively small point-shaped probe marks PM3 in Miyachi. This limitation brings about the advantageous effect of making it easier to recognize the position fo the probe compared to the configuration of Miyachi” (REMARKS pg. 9). Examiner notes that Miyachi is not relied upon to teach the feature of the cursor including a horizontal line and a vertical line as this feature is taught by Dhatt in [0040] which discloses the current position of the probe as an indication on the map of the membrane. The indication, for example, can be a dot, diamond, cross, probe icon, or any other marking indicating the current position of the probe. Examiner notes that a cross necessarily has a horizontal and vertical line. It is noted that when Dhatt (which teaches the positional image including a cursor) is modified by the teachings of Miyachi such that the positional image is superimposed on the image showing the cross section that the positional image would remain to include the cursor of Dhatt. Therefore, applicant’s arguments that Miyachi, Dhatt, nor Laviola teach this feature is not found persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The limitation “probe specifying unit” in claim 1 meets all 3 prongs of the analysis set forth in MPEP § 2181 (I). The limitation meets prong (A) because “unit” is a generic placeholder for “means”. The limitation meets prong (B) because the generic placeholder (the “unit”) is modified by functional language (“to specify a position of the probe and specify an inclination angle”). The limitation meets prong (C) because this claim element is not further modified by sufficient structure or material for performing the claimed function.
A review of the specification shows that a processor(s) ([0041]) for performing the functions as disclosed in at least [0084]-[0088] appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation.
The limitation “image generating unit” in claim 1 meets all 3 prongs of the analysis set forth in MPEP § 2181 (I). The limitation meets prong (A) because “unit” is a generic placeholder for “means”. The limitation meets prong (B) because the generic placeholder (the “unit”) is modified by functional language (“to generate a diagnostic image”). The limitation meets prong (C) because this claim element is not further modified by sufficient structure or material for performing the claimed function.
A review of the specification shows that a processor(s)([0041]) for performing the functions as disclosed in at least [0080] and [0090]-[0097] appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “superimpose the positional image onto an image showing a cross section of the inside of the living body at the diagnostic image”. It is unclear if the image showing the cross section of the inside of the living body is the same as the diagnostic image or if this is a different image. In other words, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the diagnostic image may be an image showing a cross-section of the inside of the living body. If the image showing the cross section is different from the diagnostic image, it is unclear what the image is and how it is produced/generated especially since [0068] of applicant’s specification discloses that the image generating unit superimposes the position image on the diagnostic image. It is further unclear what is meant by the image showing the cross section of the inside of the living body at the diagnostic cross section. For examination purposes, it has been interpreted to mean that the diagnostic image is a cross section of the inside of the living body and the positional image is superimposed thereon, however, clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dhatt (US 20230043371 A1), hereinafter Dhatt in view of Miyachi (US 20200214680 A1) and Laviola et al. (US 20190261327 A1), hereinafter Laviola.
Regarding claim 1,
Dhatt teaches an ultrasound diagnostic device (at least fig. 1 (100) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0044]) comprising:
a sheet material (at least fig. 1 (120) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0027]) that is capable of being attached to a surface of a living body ([0027] which discloses membrane 120 can be placed on or attached to the body of a patient) and has a two-dimensional code (at least fig. 1 (121) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0035]) drawn on a surface thereof ([0035] which discloses for example, one or more markings 121 in the form of a pattern can be printed in ink (thus drawn) on an outside surface of the membrane 120), the two-dimensional code (121) representing a position within the surface of the sheet material (see fig. 2A);
an ultrasonic transducer (at least fig. 1 (122) and corresponding disclosure in at least [00 [0045]) configured to radiate an ultrasonic wave onto the living body through the sheet material, and receive an ultrasonic wave echo reflected inside the living body (([0015] which discloses probe can include one or more transducers 122 used to transmit and/or receive ultrasound waves to and from the body of the patient to be examined. See also least fig. 2A and [0028] which discloses The material can be selected to minimize and/or reduce disturbance of ultrasound imaging, and/or to permit acceptable ultrasound imaging therethrough, thus the transducer is configured to radiate an ultrasonic wave onto the living body through the sheet material);
a probe (at least fig. 1 (116) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0015]) that is movable on the surface of the living body having the sheet material attached thereto and is provided with the ultrasonic transducer ([0015] which discloses probe can include one or more transducers 122 used to transmit and/or receive ultrasound waves to and from the body of the patient to be examined);
an imaging device (at least fig. 1 (117) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0024]) that is provided to the probe (116) and is capable of imaging the two-dimensional code ([0036] which discloses One or more markings 121 can then be detected by image sensor 117);
an inclination angle sensor (at least fig. 1 (118) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0024] which discloses the inertial sensor can be an inertial measurement (IMU) that includes one or more of an accelerometer, a gyroscope magnetometer, and a compass. Examiner notes that such an IMU including these features is considered an inclination angle sensor in its broadest reasonable interpretation. See also [0037] which discloses in non-limiting embodiments, probe 116 can include an inertial sensor 118. The position, location, and/or orientation of the probe can, in part, be determined based on the use of the data produced by the inertial sensor. The data produced by the inertial sensor, for example, can include movement data related to the motion, speed, acceleration, or direction of probe 116.) provided to the probe (116);
a probe specifying unit (at least fig. 1 (111) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0016]) configured to specify a position of the probe on the surface of the living body based on the two-dimensional code imaged by the imaging device ([0036] which discloses based on the detected one or more markings 121, the ultrasound imaging system can estimate, determine, or derive the position, location, and/or orientation of the probe and [0031] which discloses based on the one or more markings 121 of membrane 120, the ultrasound system can determine a position of probe 116 and [0048] which discloses in one example, the ultrasound system combines data from image sensor 117, from inertial sensor 118, and ultrasound data from probe 116 to estimate the pose of probe 116, such as a six-degree-of-freedom orientation relative to the membrane 120, and therefore also relative to the skin surface, including translation and rotation about x, y, and z axes. In this way, the ultrasound system can give guidance to the user not only to move the probe N, S, E, or W, but also to rotate the probe counterclockwise or clockwise and to “fan” the probe tail up or tail down), and specify an inclination angle of the probe with respect to a vertical direction based on a detection result given by the inclination angle sensor ([0048] which discloses in one example, the ultrasound system combines data from image sensor 117, from inertial sensor 118, and ultrasound data from probe 116 to estimate the pose of probe 116, such as a six-degree-of-freedom orientation relative to the membrane 120, and therefore also relative to the skin surface, including translation and rotation about x, y, and z axes. In this way, the ultrasound system can give guidance to the user not only to move the probe N, S, E, or W, but also to rotate the probe counterclockwise or clockwise and to “fan” the probe tail up or tail down);
and an image generating unit (at least fig. 1 (111) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0045] configured to:
generate a diagnostic image (See at least fig. 3 diagnostic image generated by processor 111) indicating a result of ultrasound diagnostic of the living body based on the ultrasonic wave echo ([0045] which discloses apparatus 110 can then process the image data to output the image and/or indication on display 114. See at least fig. 2A depicting a diagnostic image which is ultimately generated indicating a result of ultrasound diagnostic of the living body based on the ultrasonic wave echo);
generate an area image corresponding to a range in which the sheet material is attached to the living body ([0040] which discloses in other examples, the display can include a map of the membrane. Where the map of the membrane necessarily corresponds with a range in which the sheet material is attached to the living body);
display an area in the area image in which the position of the probe has been derived based on the two-dimensional code different from an area in which the position of the probe has not been derived ([0040] which discloses the ultrasound system can denote the current position of the probe 116 as an indication on the map of the membrane. The indication for example, can be a dot, diamond, cross, probe icon, or any other marking indicating the current position of the probe. Examiner notes that marking the current position is an area in which the probe has been derived is different from an area in which the position of the probe has not been derived a point at which the current position is not marked);
generate a positional image showing a current position of the probe by a cursor including a horizontal line and a vertical line based on the position of the probe specified by the probe specifying unit ([0040] which discloses the ultrasound imaging system can render on display 114 an indication of the estimated position of the transducer 122 (and/or the position of probe 116) The ultrasound system can denote the current position of the probe 116 as an indication on the map of the membrane. The indication, for example, can be a dot, diamond, cross, probe icon, or any other marking indicating the current position of the probe. Examiner notes that a cross has a horizontal and vertical line see also [0033] which discloses crosses (e.g. a “plus” sign such a “+”)).
It is unclear if the image generating unit is further configured to superimpose the positional image onto an image showing a cross section of the inside of the living body at the diagnostic image.
Nonetheless, Miyachi, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, teaches wherein an image generating unit is further configured to generate a positional image (at least fig. 21 (BM/PM3) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0095]) showing a current position of a probe by a cursor based on a position of the probe specified by a probe specifying unit ([0095] which discloses the marking unit 28 can attach the probe mark along with the body mark based on the position of the ultrasound probe 2 detected by the probe detection unit 25), and superimpose the positional image onto an image showing a cross section of the inside of the living body at the diagnostic image (at least fig. 21 (U) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0095]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Dhatt to include superimposing the positional image on the diagnostic image as taught by Miyachi in order to allow a user to readily recognize where the probe is positioned when collecting the ultrasound data. Such a modification would allow a user to readily recognize the position while viewing the image data after the procedure to understand where the image data was taken or such that the user may understand the location during the procedure without having to physically look at the patient and may continue to view the diagnostic image.
Examiner notes that in the modified system the positional image would include the cross as taught by Dhatt and thus the cursor including the horizontal line and the vertical line.
Examiner notes that displaying the cross would appear to be in a color (i.e. the color of the cross) different from a display color of the area in which the position of the probe has not been derived (which does not have the same cross etc.), however, this is not made explicitly clear. Therefore, Dhatt fails to explicitly teach wherein the image generating unit is configured to display the area in the area image in which the position of the probe has been derived by hatching or by color filling in a color different from a display color of an area in which the position of the probe has not been derived.
Laviola, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, teaches wherein an image generating unit is configured to display an area in an area image by hatching or by color filling in a color different from a display color of an area in which the position of the probe has not been derived (see at least fig. 4 and [0056] which discloses in the updated visual representation 404C, a scanned area 410 that has been scanned by the ultrasound probe is depicted as a cross-hatched area. The scanned area 410 may also be indicated by a color change, shading or any other visual indicator to show which areas of the breast have been scanned by the ultrasound probe).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Dhatt to include hatching or color filling as taught by Laviola in order to show which areas have been scanned by the ultrasound probe (Laviola [0056]). Such a modification would provide guidance to a user as to which areas have already been scanned to help prevent duplicate data and allow a user to understand when the ultrasound scan is completed.
Examiner notes that in the modified system the areas that have been scanned as taught by Laviola would be or include an area in which the position of the probe has been derived based on the two-dimensional code accordingly.
Regarding claim 17,
Dhatt further teaches further comprising a storage unit (at least fig. 1 (112) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0015]-[0016]) configured to store in advance diagnostic reference information in which an allowable range of the position of the probe for diagnosing a specific organ in the living body and an allowable range of the inclination angle of the probe for diagnosing the specific organ are associated with each other ([0032] which discloses the indication can be based on one or more predetermined selections made by the user. The selections available to the user can be programmed into the ultrasound imaging system. For example, the one or more selections can relate to the one or more body parts the user intends to image…. For example, a user can turn on the ultrasound imaging system and choose a selection indicating that the user intends to image the liver of a patient. Based on this selection, the indication illustrated on the display can instruct a user on how to position and orient the probe to effectively image the liver of a patient. For instance, the indication can include a map, with a trace indicated by a numbered sequence of indicated locations, as described above. Such information related to the selection which provides an indication to instruct a user on how to position and orient the probe is considered to be diagnostic reference information in which an allowable range of the position of the probe and an allowable range of the inclination of the probe are associated with each other for diagnosing the specific organ which must be stored in advance in order for the indication to be presented upon selection of the body part),
Wherein the probe specifying unit is further configured to output a predetermined alarm in at least one of a case in which a current position of the probe is out of the allowable range of the position of the probe indicated by the diagnostic reference information and a case in which a current inclination angle of the probe is out of the allowable range of the inclination angle of the probe ([0044] which discloses For example, if a user begins imaging the heart of a patient, and ultrasound guidance system 100 receives information that the probe has been moved away from the heart, the system can provide the user with an indication or guidance to return to a proper location for imaging the heart. Such an indication or guidance is considered a predetermined alarm in at least a case in which the current position is out of the allowable range of the position of the probe indicated by the diagnostic reference information (i.e. information related to the heart. See also [0042] which discloses the indication can include guidance information can help the user of the ultrasound imaging system to navigate or move the probe on the skin of the patient or on the membrane. The guidance information can include textual instructions for the user to move the probe in an x, y, or z-plane or direction. For example, the guidance information can instruct the user to move the probe in a north-western direction. The textual instructions can also include a distance measurement associated with the recommended movement. For example, the display can instruct the user to move the probe 0.5 inches to the right in the x-plane or user to move the probe 0.5 inches in the east direction)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhatt, Miyachi, and Laviola, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Slayton et al. (US 20020087080 A1), hereinafter Slayton.
Regarding claim 2,
Dhatt, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 1 as previously stated. Dhatt further teaches wherein the image generating unit is further configured to: associate a depth scale indicating a depth from the surface of the living body with one side of the diagnostic image corresponding to an irradiation direction of the ultrasonic wave (Examiner notes that the ultrasonic image would necessarily have a depth scale associated therewith indicating a depth from the surface of the living body with one side of the diagnostic image corresponding to an irradiation direction of the ultrasonic wave. In other words, the ultrasonic image would have a depth scale (i.e. the depth of the image corresponds with a scale));
Dhatt fails to explicitly teach wherein the image generating unit is configured to: set at least one of a value of the depth scale and a scale of the diagnostic image based on an inclination angle of the probe
Slayton, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, teaches wherein the image generating unit is configured to set a scale of a diagnostic image based on an inclination angle of the probe ([0060] which discloses with reference to fig. 10, as transducer is obtaining an ultrasonic image, a combined image displaying the position and orientation of transducer fused together with a suitably scaled ultrasonic image of patient 650 is provided and [0052] which discloses thus, as transducer 102 changes the angle of scan or otherwise the orientation with respect to the region of interest, the software within central processing unit 108 can suitably follow these changes in orientation and position. Accordingly, by knowing the orientation and geometry of transducer 102 with respect to the patient, positional and/or orientation information and ultrasonic imaging information can be suitably fused into a combined image. In addition, the respective positional and/or orientation information and ultrasonic imaging information can be suitably scaled by the software algorithm to provide an image similar to a cross-sectional view of transducer and treatment region, such as is illustrated in FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Dhatt to include scaling the diagnostic image as taught by Slayton in order to provide a suitably scaled image so as to provide a cross-sectional view of the patient and treatment region during operation of the transducer (Slayton [0041])
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhatt, Miyachi, and Laviola, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kiyose (US 20170027543 A1), hereinafter Kiyose.
Regarding claim 5,
Dhatt, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 1 as previously stated.
Dhatt further teaches wherein the probe specifying unit is configured to specify an orientation of the probe indicating an angle of the probe about an axis of a direction normal to the surface of a sheet material) based on the two-dimensional code ([0036] which discloses based on the detected one or more markings 121, the ultrasound imaging system can estimate, determine, or derive the position, location, and/or orientation of the probe and [0037] which discloses the rotational orientations of the physical features of the markings 121 can be used by the system to determine an orientation of the probe 116, and the location of the probe 116 can be based on which of the unique markings is detected)
Dhatt fails to explicitly teach wherein the image generating unit is further configured to generate, when the orientation of the probe exceeds a predetermined range, the diagnostic image inverted in a left-and-right direction in a plane direction along the surface of the sheet material in the diagnostic image.
Kiyose, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasonic imaging, teaches an image generating unit is configured to generate, when the orientation of a probe exceeds a predetermined range, a diagnostic image inverted in a left-and-right direction in a plane direction along the surface of an object in the diagnostic image (See at least figs. 11A-11C and [0119] which discloses here, in the example shown in FIGS. 11A through 11C, the attitude detection sensor 23 and the attitude detection circuit 454 detect the fact that the ultrasonic probe 2 is disposed on the upper surface of the measurement object with the hand part located on the back side, and then output the result to the control device 10. In this case, the image forming unit 142 performs a horizontally flipping process on the image (FIG. 11B) generated based on the ultrasonic received signal. Where such horizontal flipping (i.e. in inverted in a left-and-right direction in a plane direction along the object in the diagnostic image) is performed when the orientation of a probe exceeds a predetermined range (i.e. when the orientation is that shown in 11A which exceeds a predetermined range such as a range including the orientation shown in 7A) .
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Dhatt to include generating the diagnostic image inverted as taught by Kiyose in order for the image to become eye-friendly for the practitioner based on the attitude of the probe (Kiyose [0152]). Such a modification makes it possible to correct the image formed by the image forming section to the orientation easy for the practitioner to check irrespective of the orientation at the time of arrangement of the ultrasonic probe, and it is possible to assist the efficient operation (Kiyose [0030]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhatt, Miyachi, Laviola, and Slayton, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kiyose.
Regarding claim 6,
Dhatt, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 2 as previously stated.
Dhatt further teaches wherein the probe specifying unit is configured to specify an orientation of the probe indicating an angle of the probe about an axis of a direction normal to the surface of a sheet material) based on the two-dimensional code ([0036] which discloses based on the detected one or more markings 121, the ultrasound imaging system can estimate, determine, or derive the position, location, and/or orientation of the probe and [0037] which discloses the rotational orientations of the physical features of the markings 121 can be used by the system to determine an orientation of the probe 116, and the location of the probe 116 can be based on which of the unique markings is detected)
Dhatt fails to explicitly teach wherein the image generating unit is further configured to generate, when the orientation of the probe exceeds a predetermined range, the diagnostic image inverted in a left-and-right direction in a plane direction along the surface of the sheet material in the diagnostic image.
Kiyose, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasonic imaging, teaches an image generating unit is configured to generate, when the orientation of a probe exceeds a predetermined range, a diagnostic image inverted in a left-and-right direction in a plane direction along the surface of an object in the diagnostic image (See at least figs. 11A-11C and [0119] which discloses here, in the example shown in FIGS. 11A through 11C, the attitude detection sensor 23 and the attitude detection circuit 454 detect the fact that the ultrasonic probe 2 is disposed on the upper surface of the measurement object with the hand part located on the back side, and then output the result to the control device 10. In this case, the image forming unit 142 performs a horizontally flipping process on the image (FIG. 11B) generated based on the ultrasonic received signal. Where such horizontal flipping (i.e. in inverted in a left-and-right direction in a plane direction along the object in the diagnostic image) is performed when the orientation of a probe exceeds a predetermined range (i.e. when the orientation is that shown in 11A which exceeds a predetermined range such as a range including the orientation shown in 7A) .
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Dhatt to include generating the diagnostic image inverted as taught by Kiyose in order for the image to become eye-friendly for the practitioner based on the attitude of the probe (Kiyose [0152]). Such a modification makes it possible to correct the image formed by the image forming section to the orientation easy for the practitioner to check irrespective of the orientation at the time of arrangement of the ultrasonic probe, and it is possible to assist the efficient operation (Kiyose [0030]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhatt, Miyachi, and Laviola, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arai et al. (US 20090306504 A1), hereinafter Arai.
Regarding claim 18,
Dhatt teaches the elements of claim 1 as previously stated. Dhatt further teaches further comprising a magnetic sensor ([0025] which discloses additionally, probe 116 can include any other type of sensor, such as a magnetic sensor or a radiofrequency sensor), however, fails to explicitly teach that the magnetic sensor is an azimuth sensor configured to detect a posture of the probe, and wherein the probe specifying unit is further configured to specify, when an inclination angle of the inclination angle sensor exceeds an upper limit value of a detection range of the inclination angle sensor, the inclination angle of the probe with respect to the vertical direction based on a detection result given by the azimuth sensor.
Nonetheless, Arai, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, teaches further comprising an azimuth sensor configured to detect a posture of a probe, and wherein a probe specifying unit is further configured to specify the inclination angle of the probe with respect to the vertical direction based on a detection result given by the azimuth sensor [0069] which discloses the magnetic position sensor system has a magnetic field generator (not) shown that is attached to a bed or the like on which an object to be examined lies, a magnetic signal detector (magnetic sensor) 56 that is attached to the probe, and a positional data calculating unit 59 that calculates data (hereunder, referred to as ‘positional data’) representing the three-dimensional position or inclination or the like of the probe based on detection signals output from the magnetic sensor 53).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Dhatt to include an azimuth sensor as taught by Arai in order to provide additional positional data regarding the ultrasound probe. Such a modification would further enhance the determination of the position of the probe by providing additional sensors for providing such posture data which may be compared with or combined with the IMU and image sensor data for obtaining a more accurate position/posture of the probe.
Examiner notes that in the modified system the positional data representing the three-dimensional position or inclination or the like of the probe based on the detection result given by the azimuth sensor is specified by the probe specifying unit in any case including when an inclination angle of the inclination angle sensor exceeds an upper limit value of a detection range of the inclination angle sensor, thus functions accordingly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BROOKE LYN KLEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797