DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 7 and 10-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 9 of copending Application No. 18/796750 in view of Ogawa et al. (US 2016/0329419 A1).
Instant application
Copending application 18/796750
Difference
Claim 1
A laminate comprising
group 13 nitride single crystal substrate with an off-angle of 0.4° or more and 1.0° or less,
buffer layer,
channel layer with a thickness <=700nm,
barrier layer
Claim 1
group 13 nitride single crystal substrate with an off-angle of 0.4° or more and 1.0° or less
Claim 9/5
buffer layer
channel layer,
barrier layer
All limitations of claim 1 are disclosed in claims 1+5+9 of the reference application, except the channel layer thickness.
Claim 3
group 13 nitride single crystal substrate has a specific resistance at room temperature of 1×107 Ωcm or higher.
Claim 2
group 13 nitride single crystal substrate has a specific resistance at room temperature of 1×107 Ωcm or higher.
Substantially equal
Claim 7
said channel layer has a carbon concentration of 2×1016/cm3 or lower.
n/a
Carbon layer concentration not disclosed, and therefore implicitly includes carbon concentration of 0.
Claim 10
said first main face has said off-angle of 0.5° or more and 0.7° or less.
Claim 4
said off-angle of said first main face is 0.5° or more and 0.7° or less.
Substantially equal
Claim 11
group 13 nitride single crystal is produced by flux method.
Claim 3
group 13 nitride single crystal is produced by flux method.
Substantially equal
As noted above, the limitations recited in claims 1, 3, 7 and 10-11 are disclosed in claims 1-5 and 9 of the reference application, with the exception of the channel layer thickness. However, the channel layer thickness of group 13 nitride laminates is well-known in the field of semiconductor manufacturing. For example, Ogawa teaches a laminate (fig. 5) including a channel layer (1106) with a thickness of 700 nm or smaller (¶ 0119: 600 nm). Accordingly, claims 1, 3, 7 and 10-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 9 of copending Application No. 18/796750 in view of Ogawa.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichimura et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2018/0294336 A1) in view of Jiang (PG Pub. No. US 2021/0249252 A1) and Ogawa et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2016/0329419 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ichimura teaches a laminate comprising:
a group 13 nitride single crystal substrate comprising a group 13 nitride single crystal (¶ 0033: 1) and having a first main face and a second main face (fig. 1: top & bottom surfaces);
a buffer layer (¶ 0034: 2) provided on said first main face of said group 13 nitride single crystal substrate (fig. 1: 2 provided on top surface of 1);
a channel layer (¶ 0036: 3) provided on said buffer layer (fig. 1); and
a barrier layer (¶ 0037: 4) provided on said channel layer (fig. 1),
wherein said channel layer has a thickness of 5000 nm or smaller (¶ 0036).
Ichimura does not teach said channel layer has a thickness of 700 nm or smaller, or wherein said first main face of said group 13 nitride single crystal substrate has an off-angle of 0.4° or more and 1.0° or less.
Jiang teaches a single crystalline group 13 nitride substrate (¶ 0041: 101) with an off-angle of 0.4° or more and 1° or less (¶ 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the substrate of Ichimura with the off-angle of Jiang, as a means to avoid defects such as stresses and cracking (Jiang, ¶ 0037).
Ichimura in view of Jiang does not teach said channel layer has a thickness of 700 nm or smaller.
Ogawa teaches a laminate (fig. 5) including a channel layer (¶ 0104: 1106) with a thickness of 700 nm or smaller (¶ 0119: 600 nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the channel layer of Ichimura in view of Jiang with a thickness of less than 700 nm, as a means to optimize electrical properties of the channel layer, such as mobility and on-resistance (Ogawa, ¶¶ 0121-0136).
Furthermore, such a channel layer thickness modification would have involved a mere change in the size (thickness) of a component (channel layer of Ichimura). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 2, Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa teaches the laminate of claim 1, wherein said group 13 nitride single crystal contains one or more elements selected from the group consisting of zinc, manganese and iron as a dopant (Ichimura, ¶ 0019).
Regarding claim 4, Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa teaches the laminate of claim 1, wherein said channel layer has a thickness of 50 nm or larger (Ogawa, ¶ 0119).
Regarding claim 5, Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa teaches the laminate of claim 1, wherein said buffer layer comprises aluminum nitride or aluminum gallium nitride (Ichimura, ¶ 0034).
Regarding claim 7, Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa teaches the laminate of claim 1, wherein said channel layer has a carbon concentration of 2×1016/cm3 or lower (Ichimura is silent to the channel layer containing carbon, and therefore implicitly teaches carbon concentration of 0×1016/cm3, meeting the BRI of less than 2x1016/cm3).
Regarding claim 8, Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa teaches the laminate of claim 1, wherein said barrier layer comprises indium aluminum gallium nitride, indium aluminum nitride or aluminum gallium nitride (Ichimura, ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 9, Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa teaches the laminate of claim 1, wherein said channel layer comprises gallium nitride (Ichimura, ¶ 0038 and/or Ogawa, ¶ 0104).
Regarding claim 10, Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa teaches the laminate of claim 1, wherein said first main face has said off-angle of 0.5° or more and 0.7° or less (Jiang, ¶ 0041: 0.5°).
Regarding claim 11, Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa teaches the laminate of claim 1, wherein said group 13 nitride single crystal is produced by flux method (Ichimura, ¶ 0033).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Khalil et al. (PG Pub No. US 2021/0202408 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa teaches the laminate of claim 1, comprising a group 13 nitride single crystal substrate (Ichimura, 1).
Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa as applied to claim 1 fails to teach wherein said group 13 nitride single crystal substrate has a specific resistance at room temperature of 1×107 Ωcm or higher.
Khalil teaches a said group 13 nitride single crystal substrate (¶ 0050: 310) having a specific resistance at room temperature of 1×107 Ωcm or higher (¶ 0050: 310 has bulk resistivity up to 108 ohm-cm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the substrate of Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa with specific resistance at room temperature of 1×107 Ωcm or higher, as a means to enable various on-die circuitry to exhibit relatively low losses (Khalil, ¶ 0050).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yaita et al (PG Pub. No. US 2022/0013642 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa teaches the laminate of claim 1, wherein said buffer layer has a thickness of 1 nm or larger (Ichimura, ¶ 0034), and wherein said buffer layer comprises aluminum nitride or aluminum gallium nitride (Ichimura, ¶ 0034).
Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa does not teach said buffer layer has a thickness of 20 nm or smaller.
Yaita teaches a laminate (fig. 9) including a buffer layer (¶ 0045: 103), wherein said buffer layer has a thickness of 1 nm or larger and 20 nm or smaller (¶ 0045: 103 has a thickness of 5 nm to 20 nm), and wherein said buffer layer comprises aluminum nitride or aluminum gallium nitride (¶ 0045: 103 comprises AlGaN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further limit the buffer layer of Ichimura in view of Jiang and Ogawa to include a thickness of 20 nm or smaller, as a means to provide lattice matching to adjacent epitaxial layers, allowing for optimization of in-plane stress (Yaita, ¶ 0046), allowing for improved electrical characteristics such as mobility.
Furthermore, it has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the claimed range of 1 nm or larger and 20 nm or smaller lies inside or overlaps the ranges disclosed by Ichimura and/or Yaita.
Conclusion
/BRIAN TURNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818