DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For Claims 25 and 32, “specific to a MCS” should probably be corrected to ---specific to a respective MCS---.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19, 23, 27, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (US 2024/0276224).
For Claims 19, 27, and 34, Wei teaches a method, means, and an apparatus comprising at least one processing core and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processing core (see paragraphs 28, 29), cause the apparatus at least to:
perform a performance test involving demodulation of input signals by a user equipment, the test comprising a sequence of consecutive time intervals and the test comprising providing to a first receive chain of the user equipment a first wireless input signal and providing to a second receive chain of the user equipment a second wireless input signal (see paragraphs 82, 84, 85), and
update the first and second wireless input signals for each time interval, the updating comprising updating a power level of the first and second wireless input signals and, responsive to a determination that a modulation and coding scheme, MCS, update condition is fulfilled, the updating also comprises updating the MCS of at least one of the first or the second wireless input signal (see paragraphs 82, 84, 85).
For Claim 23, Wei teaches the apparatus, further configured to provide the first wireless input signal at a higher power than the second wireless input signal (see paragraph 111).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 2024/0276224) as applied to claims 19 and 27 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0126733).
For Claims 20 and 28, Wei as applied above is not explicit as to, but Chen teaches the apparatus, wherein the MCS update condition comprises at least one of the following: a simulated reference signal received power level crosses a threshold level, or a simulated position of the user equipment in the test passes a threshold distance from a simulated fixed transmitter (see paragraphs 39, 43).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use a threshold comparison as in Chen when implementing the method of Wei. One of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of using a known method to adjust a known parameter.
Claim(s) 21 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 2024/0276224) as applied to claims 19 and 27 above, and further in view of Burchardt et al. (US 2014/0113644).
For Claims 21 and 29, Wei as applied above is not explicit as to, but Burchardt teaches the apparatus, further configured to update, for each time interval, a fading profile of the first and second wireless input signals (see paragraph 57, claim 13).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to update fading profiles as in Burchardt when implementing the method of Wei, the motivation would be to allow for optimizations in the next timeslot.
Claim(s) 22 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 2024/0276224) as applied to claims 19 and 27 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2013/0077655, hereinafter Chen ‘655).
For Claims 22 and 30, Wei as applied above is not explicit as to, but in a similar field of endeavor, Chen ‘655 teaches the apparatus, further configured to update, for each time interval, a transmission frequency of the first and second wireless input signals (see paragraphs 7, 9).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to update frequencies as in Chen ‘655 when implementing the method of Wei. The motivation would be to allow for optimization in the next timeslot.
Claim(s) 24 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 2024/0276224) as applied to claims 19 and 27 above, and further in view of Huber et al. (US 2010/0190451).
For Claims 24 and 31, Wei as applied above is not explicit as to, but Huber teaches the apparatus, further configured to include in the test of demodulation performance at least one simulated change of attachment of the user equipment from a first transmission reception point, TRP, to a second TRP (see paragraph 29).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to simulate handover as in Huber when employing the method of Wei. The motivation would be to determine device behaviors under known operating conditions.
Claim(s) 25 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 2024/0276224) as applied to claims 19 and 27 above, and further in view of Song et al. (US 2004/0264588).
For Claims 25 and 32, Wei as applied above is not explicit as to, but Song teaches the apparatus, further configured to determine whether the user equipment passes the test of demodulation performance based on comparing at least two achieved throughputs to at least two threshold throughputs, wherein each threshold throughput is specific to a MCS (see paragraphs 24, 32, 52, 64, 66).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use throughput as in Song when evaluating MCS as in Wei. One of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of optimizing parameters to ensure a desired performance.
Claim(s) 26, 33, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 2024/0276224) as applied to claims 19, 27, and 34 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US 2023/0055553).
For Claims 26, 33,and 35, Wei as applied above Is not explicit as to, but Jiang teaches the apparatus, wherein, for at least one of the time intervals, the apparatus is configured to provide the first wireless input signal with a different MCS than the second wireless input signal (see paragraphs 6, 36, 188).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to monitor multiple MCSs and channel properties as in Jiang when making determinations about parameters as in Wei. The motivation would be to determine parameters that improve device performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Venugopal et al. (US 2019/0334603) teaches a system for simultaneous monitoring of multiple beams. Breslin et al. (US 2015/0071335) teaches a system for monitoring multiple receive chains. Karri et al. (US 2015/0271755) teaches a method for a UE to adjust MCS for multiple receive chains.
/CASSANDRA L DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466