DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CN on 8/17/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202322218673.1 and CN202311042633.4 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, 20-25 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites, “an outer periphery of each of the two first annular sealing portions is configured to have an outer peripheral portion proximate to in the second direction a middle of the heat transfer plate in the second direction”.
Claim 3 further requires “two first ports formed in the heat transfer plate on two opposite sides of the heat transfer plate in the second direction”; and
“two first annular sealing portions formed on the heat transfer plate around the two first ports”.
The limitations in the quotations above render the claim indefinite because of their contradicted locations. The outer peripheral portion, which is a part of outer periphery of each of the two first annular sealing portions and further around the two first ports, proximate to (in the second direction) a middle of the heat transfer plate in the second direction. However, the two first ports formed in the heat transfer plate on two opposite sides of the heat transfer plate in the second direction.
Further, the term “proximate” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “proximate” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For examination purposes, “an outer periphery of each of the two first annular sealing portions is configured to have an outer peripheral portion proximate to in the second direction a middle of the heat transfer plate in the second direction” in claim 3 is construed as --an outer periphery of each of the two first annular sealing portions is configured to have an outer peripheral portion at a middle of the heat transfer plate--.
Claim 3 further recites “wherein the fluid barrier structure comprises a first fluid barrier structure that is disposed in the first fluid channel on a side of the outer peripheral portion of the outer periphery of one of the two first annular sealing portions far away from the other one of the two first annular sealing portions in the second direction”.
Claim 5 also recites “far away”.
The term “far” in claims 3 and 5 is also a relative term which renders the claim indefinite, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For examination purposes, “far away” in claims 3 and 5 are construed as --away--.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the one of the two first annular sealing portions". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, claim 20 is construed as dependent from claim 3.
In claim 21, the limitation “the vertical direction” lacks antecedent basis.
For examination purposes, claim 21 is construed as --a vertical direction--.
Claim 22 is dependent from claim 1, and the limitations “the second direction”, “the vertical direction”, “the one of the two first annular sealing portions”, and “the outer periphery of the one of the two first annular sealing portions” lack antecedent basis.
For examination purposes, claim 22 is construed as dependent from claim 3, and “the vertical direction” is construed as --a vertical direction--.
Claim 23 and claim 32 are dependent from claim 1, and the limitation “the second direction” lacks antecedent basis.
For examination purposes, claim 23 and 32 are construed as --a second direction--.
Claim 24 is dependent from claim 1, and the limitations “the second direction”, “the vertical direction”, “the one of the two first annular sealing portions” and “the outer periphery of the one of the two first annular sealing portions” lack antecedent basis.
For examination purposes, the limitations in claim 24 are construed as --a second direction--, --a vertical direction--, -- one of two first annular sealing portions-- and --an outer periphery of the one of the two first annular sealing portions-- respectively.
Claim 25 is dependent from claim 1, the limitations “the second direction, “the side of the fluid barrier”, “the other one of the two first annular sealing portions” lack antecedent basis.
For examination purposes, claim 25 is construed as dependent from claim 3, and “the side of the fluid barrier” is construed as --a side of the fluid barrier--.
Claim 4 dependent from claim 3 is also rejected.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 15 is dependent from cancelled claim 14. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
For examination purposes, claim 15 is construed to be dependent from claim 3, and is construed as -- wherein
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 10, 18, 23, 27-29, 32 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawaguchi (WO 2022/215415 A1, see equivalent publication US PGPub No. 2024/0027137 for translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kawaguchi discloses a plate heat exchanger comprising:
a plurality of heat transfer plates (plates 62 and 70) stacked in a first direction (Z direction, Fig. 3); first (space between plates 62 and 70 for a refrigerant, from inlet 30 and outlet 31, Fig. 3) and second fluid channels (space between plates 62 and 70 for a refrigerant coolant, from inlet 40 and outlet 41, Fig. 4) formed between adjacent heat transfer plates and fluidly isolated from each other (the refrigerant and coolant are fluidly isolated and do not mix); and
fluid barrier structure (left inner wall 622 and right inner wall 623, Fig. 10, see also shaded areas in annotated Fig. 10 in claim 3 below), which forms an isolation area (an area of the left/right inner walls 622/623) in the first fluid channel (the area of the left/right inner walls 622/623 isolate the left and right side spaces between the plates 62 and 70) so that the isolation area of the first fluid channel is fluidly isolated from the remaining areas of the first fluid channel (the refrigerant is isolated from the area of the left/right inner walls 622/623 and passes through a remaining area of a refrigerant passage 81).
Regarding claim 2, Kawaguchi in claim 1 further discloses wherein the fluid barrier structure is configured to surround the isolation area in the first fluid channel, or surround the isolation area in the first fluid channel together with an edge of the first fluid channel (the recesses 637 and 633 at least partially surround the area of the inner walls 622/623, or surround the area of the inner walls 622/623 with left or right ends of the space between the plates 62 and 70).
Regarding claim 9, Kawaguchi in claim 1 further discloses wherein the fluid barrier comprises a barrier strip (the recesses 637 and 633 at the edge of the left inner wall 622 and right inner wall 623 is a barrier strip across the plate between top and bottom side of the plate in Y direction) disposed between two adjacent heat transfer plates in the first fluid channel (between the plates 62 and 70).
Regarding claim 10, Kawaguchi in claim 1 further discloses wherein the fluid barrier comprises two strip-shaped protrusions (the protrusion faces at passages 629 and 636) that protrude towards each other from two adjacent heat transfer plates defining the first fluid channel, respectively (the protrusions have a protruding directions from respective left side of the plates 62 and 70 and right side of the plates 62 and 70, see annotated figure 10 below, the protruding directions point towards each other), and that are connected to each other (the protrusions faces are connected through the interior portions 620 of the plates 62 and 70).
Regarding claim 18, Kawaguchi in claim 10 further discloses wherein a top of the strip-shaped protrusion is configured to have a recess (a top of the protrusion at the passage 629 is a recess that allows a refrigerant flow in the passage).
Regarding claim 23, Kawaguchi in claim 1 further discloses:
a third fluid channel (passage 95) formed between the adjacent heat transfer plates (the passage 95 formed between the plates 62 and 70, see Fig. 3) and fluidly isolated from the first and second fluid channels (the passage 95 is isolated from the refrigerant and coolant spaces between plates 62 and 70);
two second ports (coolant inlet hole 101 and outlet hole 102) formed in the heat transfer plate on two opposite sides of the heat transfer plate in a second direction, respectively (formed on left and right sides spaced in the X direction, respectively), and fluidly communicated to the second fluid channel (the holes 101 and 102 supply or return refrigerant to or from the coolant passage 80); and
two third ports (refrigerant inlet hole 91 and outlet hole 92) formed in the heat transfer plate on two opposite sides of the heat transfer plate in a second direction, respectively (formed on left and right sides spaced in the X direction, respectively), and fluidly communicated to the third fluid channel (the holes 91 and 92 and the passage 95 have the same refrigerant fluid communication).
Regarding claim 27, Kawaguchi in claim 1 further discloses wherein the fluid barrier structure comprises a filling material (left inner wall 622 and right inner wall 623 have a wall material that fills up a space between the plates 62 and 70 and defines the refrigerant passage 81).
Regarding claim 28, Kawaguchi in claim 1 further discloses:
two strip-shaped recesses (recess 637 and another recess, see annotated figure above) that are recessed in a direction away from each other from two adjacent heat transfer plates defining the second fluid channel, respectively (recess 637 is recessed from interior portions 620 of the plates 62 and 70 towards the left side of the plates 62 and 70; the other recess is recessed from the left side of the plates 62 and 70 towards the interior portions 620 of the plates 62 and 70, see Fig. 10, the recess directions are opposite), and wherein the strip-shaped recesses of two adjacent heat transfer plates form a guiding channel (a guiding channel on the side of the coolant passage 80 between the recesses and left side of the plates 62 and 70 to guide the coolant).
Regarding claim 29, Kawaguchi in claim 10 further discloses: a strip-shaped recess (a recess 637) formed by the strip-shaped protrusion of the heat transfer plate in the second fluid channel (recessed from the protrusion faces at passages 629 of the plate 62 and having a side in the coolant passage 80), and wherein the strip-shaped recesses of two adjacent heat transfer plates form a guiding channel (see the recess 637 annotated Fig. 10 above having a guiding channel between the recess 637 and the left side of the plate 62 with a shorter width).
Regarding claim 32, Kawaguchi in claim 28 further discloses wherein the at least one portion of the guiding channel is at an angle of 80-90 degrees relative to a second direction (the guiding channel has the guiding channel on left side of the plate has an angle of 90 relative to a X direction).
Regarding claim 34, Kawaguchi in claim 28 further discloses wherein the strip-shaped recess is configured to have a plurality of portions with different widths (see the width portions of the guiding channel in the annotated figure above being different).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 15, 20-22, 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi (WO 2022/215415 A1, see equivalent publication US PGPub No. 2024/0027137 for translation) in view of Evans (US PGPub No. 2003/0201094).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Kawaguchi in claim 1 further discloses wherein the first fluid channel is configured to have two edge areas (left and right edges) opposite to each other in a second direction (X direction) perpendicular to the first direction (the X direction is perpendicular to the Z direction),
the plate heat exchanger further comprises:
two first ports (refrigerant inlet hole 91 and outlet hole 92) formed in the heat transfer plate on two opposite sides of the heat transfer plate in the second direction, respectively (formed on left and right sides spaced in the X direction, respectively), and fluidly communicated to the first fluid channel (the holes 91 and 92 supply or return refrigerant to or from the refrigerant passage 81); and
wherein the fluid barrier structure comprises a first fluid barrier structure (the left inner wall 622) that is disposed in the first fluid channel (in the space between plates 62 and 70 for the refrigerant).
Kawaguchi fails to explicitly disclose two first annular sealing portions formed on the heat transfer plate around the two first ports, and an outer periphery of each of the two first annular sealing portions is configured to have an outer peripheral portion at a middle of the heat transfer plate, and
wherein the fluid barrier structure comprises a first fluid barrier structure (the left inner wall 622) that is disposed in the first fluid channel on a side of the outer peripheral portion of the outer periphery of one of the two first annular sealing portions away from the other one of the two first annular sealing portions in the second direction so that a corresponding one of the two edge areas is formed as an isolation area.
Evans discloses two first annular sealing portions formed on the heat transfer plate (peripheries of openings 36 and 38 of plate 16 that connect annular support portions 46; and the annular support portions 46 of bosses 62 and 64 of plate 18, Figs. 1 and 4-6) around the two first ports (the peripheries are around the openings 36 and 38), and an outer periphery of each of the two first annular sealing portions (outer peripheries of openings 36 and 38 that connect to outer peripheries of the annular support portions 46 to seal a fluid within the openings 36 and 38 from a fluid space 54) is configured to have an outer peripheral portion (the outer peripheries all has a portion) at a middle of the heat transfer plate.
Therefore, sealing peripheries may be provided respectively around the holes 91 and 92 in the plate 62; and bosses 62 and 64 having annular support portions 46 may be provided respectively around the holes 91 and 92 in the plate 70 to seal the refrigerant from every coolant space 80 between the plates 62 and 70.
As a result, the modification in view of Evans discloses an outer periphery of each of the two first annular sealing portions (outer peripheries of openings 36 and 38 that connect to outer peripheries of the annular support portions 46 to seal a fluid within the openings 36 and 38 from a fluid space 54) is configured to have an outer peripheral portion (the outer peripheries all has a portion) at a middle of the heat transfer plate (at a middle of the plates 62 and 70 along a Y direction), and
wherein the fluid barrier structure comprises a first fluid barrier structure (the left inner wall 622) that is disposed in the first fluid channel on a side of the outer peripheral portion of the outer periphery of one of the two first annular sealing portions (the left inner wall 622 is disposed on left side of the outer sealing peripheries in the modified hole 91) away from the other one of the two first annular sealing portions in the second direction (the left inner wall 622 is disposed away from the modified hole 92 in the X direction) so that a corresponding one of the two edge areas is formed as an isolation area (the left side edge is formed as an isolation area of the refrigerant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided two first annular sealing portions formed on the heat transfer plate around the two first ports, and an outer periphery of each of the two first annular sealing portions is configured to have an outer peripheral portion at a middle of the heat transfer plate, and
wherein the fluid barrier structure comprises a first fluid barrier structure that is disposed in the first fluid channel on a side of the outer peripheral portion of the outer periphery of one of the two first annular sealing portions away from the other one of the two first annular sealing portions in the second direction so that a corresponding one of the two edge areas is formed as an isolation area in Kawaguchi as taught by Evans in order to seal the refrigerant from the coolant passage 80.
Regarding claim 4, Kawaguchi as modified in claim 3 further discloses wherein the second direction is a vertical direction (the orientation in annotated Fig. 3 above) and the corresponding one of the two edge areas of the first fluid channel is a bottom or top area of the first fluid channel in a state where the plate heat exchanger is being used (when the heat exchanger in Fig. 10 is rotated 90 degrees, the X direction becomes vertical, and the left side and right edge areas become top and bottom edge areas, “in a state where the plate heat exchanger is being used” does not further structure to the heat exchanger itself).
Regarding claim 5, Kawaguchi as modified in claim 3 further discloses wherein the fluid barrier structure further comprises a second fluid barrier structure (the right inner wall 623) that is disposed in the first fluid channel on a side of the outer peripheral portion of the outer periphery of the other one of the two first annular sealing portions (the right inner wall 623 is disposed on right side of the outer sealing peripheries in the modified hole 92) away from the one of the two first annular sealing portions in the second direction (the right inner wall 623 is disposed away from the modified hole 91 in the X direction) so that the corresponding other one of the two edge areas is formed as an isolation area (the right side edge is formed as an isolation area of the refrigerant).
Regarding claim 15, Kawaguchi as modified in claim 3 further discloses wherein at least one portion of the fluid barrier is at an angle of 80-90 degrees relative to the second direction (a portion of the recess 637 is parallel to a Y direction which is in 90 degrees relative to the X direction).
Regarding claim 20, Kawaguchi as modified in claim 3 further discloses wherein the fluid barrier comprises a portion partially surrounding the one of the two first annular sealing portions (the left inner wall has a left side portion surrounding outer peripheries of the modified hole 91, see annotated Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 21, Kawaguchi as modified in claim 3 further discloses wherein the plate heat exchanger is positioned such that the second direction is a vertical direction (the orientation in annotated figure in claim 3 above), and an upper edge of the first fluid barrier structure is lower than a bottom outer peripheral portion of the outer periphery of the one of the two first annular sealing portions, or the upper edge of the first fluid barrier structure is aligned with the bottom outer peripheral portion of the outer periphery of the one of the two first annular sealing portions in the second direction (the upper edge of the left inner wall 622 is in a coaxial alignment with the bottom outer peripheral portion of the fluid seal around the modified hole 91, see annotated figure in claim 3 above, when the heat exchanger in Fig. 10 is rotated 90 degrees, the X direction becomes vertical, and the left side and right edge areas become top and bottom edge areas) in a state where the plate heat exchanger is being used (“in a state where the plate heat exchanger is being used” does not further structure to the heat exchanger itself).
Regarding claim 22, Kawaguchi as modified in claim 3 further discloses wherein the plate heat exchanger is positioned such that the second direction is a vertical direction, and the fluid barrier comprises a portion partially surrounding the one of the two first annular sealing portions (the left inner wall has a left side portion surrounding outer peripheries of the modified hole 91, see annotated Fig. 3 above) and a portion with an upper edge (see annotated Fig. 3 above) higher than the bottom outer peripheral portion of the outer periphery of the one of the two first annular sealing portions (the upper edge of the left inner wall 622 is higher than the bottom outer peripheral portion of the fluid seal around the modified hole 91) in a state where the plate heat exchanger is being used (in a state where the plate heat exchanger is being used” does not further structure to the heat exchanger itself).
Regarding claim 24, as best understood, Kawaguchi in claim 1 further discloses:
a third fluid channel (passage 95) formed between the adjacent heat transfer plates (the passage 95 formed between the plates 62 and 70, see Fig. 3) and fluidly isolated from the first and second fluid channels (the passage 95 is isolated from the refrigerant and coolant spaces between plates 62 and 70);
two second ports (coolant inlet hole 101 and outlet hole 102) formed in the heat transfer plate on two opposite sides of the heat transfer plate in a second direction, respectively (formed on left and right sides spaced in the X direction, respectively), and fluidly communicated to the second fluid channel (the holes 101 and 102 supply or return refrigerant to or from the coolant passage 80);
two second annular sealing portions formed on the heat transfer plate around the two second ports (annular sealing portions of around the holes 101 and 102 when the left inner wall 622 and right inner wall 623 are brazed to corresponding holes of the plate 70, see paragraph 0054), respectively;
two third ports (refrigerant inlet hole 91 and outlet hole 92) formed in the heat transfer plate on two opposite sides of the heat transfer plate in a second direction, respectively (formed on left and right sides spaced in the X direction, respectively), and fluidly communicated to the third fluid channel (the holes 91 and 92 and the passage 95 have the same refrigerant fluid communication); and
wherein the plate heat exchanger is positioned such that the second direction is the vertical direction (the orientation in annotated figure in claim 3 above), and the fluid barrier comprises a portion partially surrounding one of two first annular sealing portions (a portion at recess 637 of the left inner wall 622 partially surrounding a shield wall 628 of two shield walls 628 and 635), a portion partially surrounding a corresponding one of the two second annular sealing portions (a portion at location of “622” of the left inner wall 622 partially surrounds the annular sealing portions of the hole 102), and a portion with an upper edge (“upper edge” see annotated Fig. 10 in claim 3 above) higher than a bottom outer peripheral portion of an outer periphery of the one of the two first annular sealing portions (the upper edge of the left inner wall 622 is higher than a bottom of an outer periphery of the shield wall 628) in a state where the plate heat exchanger is being used.
Kawaguchi fails to discloses two third annular sealing portions formed on the heat transfer plate around the two third ports, respectively; and
the fluid barrier comprises a portion partially surrounding a corresponding one of the two third annular sealing portions.
Evans discloses two annular sealing portions formed on the heat transfer plate (peripheries of openings 36 and 38 of plate 16 that connect annular support portions 46; and the annular support portions 46 of bosses 62 and 64 of plate 18, Figs. 1 and 4-6) around the two ports (the peripheries are around the openings 36 and 38) , respectively.
Therefore, sealing peripheries may be provided respectively around the holes 91 and 92 in the plate 62; and bosses 62 and 64 having annular support portions 46 may be provided respectively around the holes 91 and 92 in the plate 70 to seal the refrigerant from every coolant space 80 between the plates 62 and 70.
As a result, the modification in view of Evans discloses that the fluid barrier comprises a portion partially surrounding a corresponding one of the two third annular sealing portions (see “a portion” surrounds and below the outer periphery of the hole 91 in the annotated Fig. 10 in claim 3 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided two third annular sealing portions formed on the heat transfer plate around the two third ports, respectively; and
the fluid barrier comprises a portion partially surrounding a corresponding one of the two third annular sealing portions in Kawaguchi as taught by Evans in order to seal the refrigerant from the coolant passage 80.
Regarding claim 25, Kawaguchi as modified in claim 3 further discloses:
a discharge hole (passage 95) formed in the heat transfer plate in the second direction (the passage 95 is formed with a diameter in X direction) on a side of the fluid barrier (on a side of recess 633 of the right inner wall 623) away from the other one of the two first annular sealing portions (the passage 95 is away from an outer periphery of the hole 92 in Y direction) and being in fluid communication with the first fluid channel and fluid isolation from the second fluid channel (the passage 95 discharges refrigerant that is supplied from the refrigerant space between the plates 62 and 70, and isolated from the coolant space between the plates 62 and 70).
Conclusion
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763