DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lacroix et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0256079 A1: hereinafter “Lacroix”).
Consider claims 1, 11, 17:
Lacroix teaches a refuse vehicle (Fig. 1 element 100, “…refuse collection trucks, bucket trucks, terminal tractors, dump trucks, cement mixer trucks, urban buses, and parcel delivery trucks…”), a refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis (e.g., refuse collection truck with chassis); an energy storage device supported by the chassis (Fig. 1 element 34, “…The electric energy storage device 34 may provide its stored energy through an electrical connection to the electrical motor-generator 32. A DC/AC electric motor controller 36 can be used to manage the energy flow between the electric energy storage device 34 and the electrical motor-generator 32…”) and configured to provide electrical power to a prime mover (See Lacroix, e.g., “…A DC/AC electric motor controller 36 can be used to manage the energy flow between the electric energy storage device 34 and the electrical motor-generator 32. The electrical motor-generator 32 is mechanically connected to the engine 14 through a mechanical interface 31. The mechanical interface 31 may be a power take-off on the transmission 16 or on the engine 14, or it may be a direct mechanical connection with the crankshaft of the engine 14. Optionally, the electrical motor-generator 32 may be positioned between the engine 14 and the transmission 16…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0097], Fig. 1 elements 10-100), wherein activation of the prime mover selectively drives the refuse vehicle (See Lacroix, e.g., “…The powertrain 10 may comprise an internal combustion engine (ICE) 14 and a transmission 16, together forming an engine-transmission assembly 18, and a driveshaft 12 connecting a wheel set 22 to the transmission 16…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0097], Fig. 1 elements 10-100); a receptacle for storing refuse therein supported by the chassis (Fig. 1 element 100, “…refuse collection trucks…”); an electric power take-off system positioned on the refuse vehicle (See Lacroix, e.g., “…the first auxiliary hydraulic system 24 and the second auxiliary hydraulic system 28 can be fed by the auxiliary hydraulic pump 26 driven by the engine 14 and/or by an electric/hydraulic assembly 50 by using the energy stored in energy storage device 34…the electric/hydraulic assembly 50 can provide pressure through the hydraulic connection line 55 to the auxiliary equipment when the engine 14 is off…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100), the electric power take-off system including a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power (See Lacroix, e.g., “…The electronic control module 38 controls the operation of the electric/hydraulic assembly 50…activates the electrical motor 56 when there is a demand…to operate the first auxiliary hydraulic system 24 and/or the second auxiliary hydraulic system 28 by providing a hydraulic fluid flow from the hydraulic pump 58 equivalent to the flow provided by auxiliary hydraulic pump 26…respond to increased hydraulic fluid flow demand from a high idle governor command by increasing proportionally the control speed of the electrical motor 56 driving the hydraulic pump 58…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100); a lifting system movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system (See Lacroix, e.g., “…The stop-start system may be installed on vocational vehicles such as refuse trucks or cement trucks…comprise at least one auxiliary hydraulic system 24…such as garbage compactor, hydraulic arm to lift a garbage can, rotary cement mixer or other hydraulically powered equipment…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100); a compactor positioned within the receptacle and movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system (See Lacroix, e.g., “…The stop-start system may be installed on vocational vehicles such as refuse trucks or cement trucks. Such vocational vehicles may further comprise at least one auxiliary hydraulic system 24, which may be any hydraulically powered piece of equipment, such as garbage compactor, hydraulic arm to lift a garbage can, rotary cement mixer or other hydraulically powered equipment…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100); and a disconnect positioned between the energy storage device and the electric power take-off system (See Lacroix, e.g., “…The electronic control module 38 controls the operation of the electric/hydraulic assembly 50…activates the electrical motor 56 when there is a demand…to operate the first auxiliary hydraulic system 24 and/or the second auxiliary hydraulic system 28 by providing a hydraulic fluid flow from the hydraulic pump 58 equivalent to the flow provided by auxiliary hydraulic pump 26…respond to increased hydraulic fluid flow demand from a high idle governor command by increasing proportionally the control speed of the electrical motor 56 driving the hydraulic pump 58…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100) and configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system and the motor from the energy storage device (See Lacroix, e.g., “…The electronic control module 38 controls the operation of the electric/hydraulic assembly 50…activates the electrical motor 56 when there is a demand…to operate the first auxiliary hydraulic system 24 and/or the second auxiliary hydraulic system 28 by providing a hydraulic fluid flow from the hydraulic pump 58 equivalent to the flow provided by auxiliary hydraulic pump 26…respond to increased hydraulic fluid flow demand from a high idle governor command by increasing proportionally the control speed of the electrical motor 56 driving the hydraulic pump 58…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100).
Consider claims 2, 12:
Lacroix teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 11. In addition, Lacroix teaches wherein when the disconnect decouples the electric power take-off system from the energy storage device (See Lacroix, e.g., “…The electronic control module 38 controls the operation of the electric/hydraulic assembly 50…activates the electrical motor 56 when there is a demand…to operate the first auxiliary hydraulic system 24 and/or the second auxiliary hydraulic system 28 by providing a hydraulic fluid flow from the hydraulic pump 58 equivalent to the flow provided by auxiliary hydraulic pump 26…respond to increased hydraulic fluid flow demand from a high idle governor command by increasing proportionally the control speed of the electrical motor 56 driving the hydraulic pump 58…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100), the motor is decoupled from the energy storage device and the hydraulic pump is disabled (See Lacroix, e.g., “…The electronic control module 38 controls the operation of the electric/hydraulic assembly 50…activates the electrical motor 56 when there is a demand…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100).
Consider claims 3, 14:
Lacroix teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 11. In addition, Lacroix teaches wherein in the disconnect comprises a manual switch configured to selectively decouple a first terminal from a second terminal on a common terminal bus (See Lacroix, e.g., “…A DC/AC electric motor controller 36 can be used to manage the energy flow between the electric energy storage device 34 and the electrical motor-generator 32. The electrical motor-generator 32 is mechanically connected to the engine 14 through a mechanical interface 31. The mechanical interface 31 may be a power take-off on the transmission 16 or on the engine 14, or it may be a direct mechanical connection with the crankshaft of the engine 14. Optionally, the electrical motor-generator 32 may be positioned between the engine 14 and the transmission 16…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100).
Consider claims 4, 15:
Lacroix teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 3, 14. In addition, Lacroix teaches wherein the common terminal bus is a positive terminal bus (See Lacroix, e.g., “…a controller that is responsive to one or more operating conditions to activate the motor that is coupled to the engine so as to restart the engine when it is stopped, and to engage the generator to recharge the electric energy storage device, and to subsequently stop the engine again when the electric energy storage device has reached a threshold level of charge…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100), the first terminal receives a first positive cable extending away from the energy storage device and the second terminal receives a second positive cable extending away from the electric power take-off system (See Lacroix, e.g., “…A DC/AC electric motor controller 36 can be used to manage the energy flow between the electric energy storage device 34 and the electrical motor-generator 32. The electrical motor-generator 32 is mechanically connected to the engine 14 through a mechanical interface 31. The mechanical interface 31 may be a power take-off on the transmission 16 or on the engine 14, or it may be a direct mechanical connection with the crankshaft of the engine 14…The electric energy storage device 34 may also be charged by an external source of electrical power through an electrical connection and/or by an electrical braking energy recovery system and/or by the engine 14…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100).
Consider claims 5, 16, and 18:
Lacroix teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 3, 15, and 17. In addition, Lacroix teaches wherein the manual switch is movable between an closed position electrically coupling the first terminal from the second terminal (See Lacroix, e.g., “…The electric energy storage device 34 may also be charged by an external source of electrical power through an electrical connection and/or by an electrical braking energy recovery system and/or by the engine 14…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100) and an open position electrically decouple the first terminal from the second terminal, the manual switch further configured to be locked in the open position (See Lacroix, e.g., “…A DC/AC electric motor controller 36 can be used to manage the energy flow between the electric energy storage device 34 and the electrical motor-generator 32. The electrical motor-generator 32 is mechanically connected to the engine 14 through a mechanical interface 31. The mechanical interface 31 may be a power take-off on the transmission 16 or on the engine 14, or it may be a direct mechanical connection with the crankshaft of the engine 14. Optionally, the electrical motor-generator 32 may be positioned between the engine 14 and the transmission 16…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100).
Consider claims 6, 19:
Lacroix teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 18. In addition, Lacroix teaches wherein the disconnect comprises an electrically operated switch configured to selectively decouple a first terminal from a second terminal on a common terminal bus (See Lacroix, e.g., “…a controller that is responsive to one or more operating conditions to activate the motor that is coupled to the engine so as to restart the engine when it is stopped, and to engage the generator to recharge the electric energy storage device, and to subsequently stop the engine again when the electric energy storage device has reached a threshold level of charge…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100).
Consider claims 7:
Lacroix teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 6. In addition, Lacroix teaches wherein the common terminal bus is a negative terminal bus (See Lacroix, e.g., “…a controller that is responsive to one or more operating conditions to activate the motor that is coupled to the engine so as to restart the engine when it is stopped, and to engage the generator to recharge the electric energy storage device, and to subsequently stop the engine again when the electric energy storage device has reached a threshold level of charge…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100), the first terminal receives a first negative cable extending away from the energy storage device and the second terminal receives a second negative cable extending away from the electric power take-off system (See Lacroix, e.g., “…A DC/AC electric motor controller 36 can be used to manage the energy flow between the electric energy storage device 34 and the electrical motor-generator 32. The electrical motor-generator 32 is mechanically connected to the engine 14 through a mechanical interface 31. The mechanical interface 31 may be a power take-off on the transmission 16 or on the engine 14, or it may be a direct mechanical connection with the crankshaft of the engine 14…The electric energy storage device 34 may also be charged by an external source of electrical power through an electrical connection and/or by an electrical braking energy recovery system and/or by the engine 14…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100).
Consider claim 8:
Lacroix teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Lacroix teaches wherein the disconnect comprises a first manual switch configured to selectively interrupt a first connection between the energy storage device (See Lacroix, e.g., “…a controller that is responsive to one or more operating conditions to activate the motor that is coupled to the engine so as to restart the engine when it is stopped, and to engage the generator to recharge the electric energy storage device, and to subsequently stop the engine again when the electric energy storage device has reached a threshold level of charge…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100) and the electric power take-off and an electrically operated switch configured to selectively interrupt a second connection between the energy storage device and the electric power take-off (See Lacroix, e.g., “…The electronic control module 38 controls the operation of the electric/hydraulic assembly 50…activates the electrical motor 56 when there is a demand…to operate the first auxiliary hydraulic system 24 and/or the second auxiliary hydraulic system 28 by providing a hydraulic fluid flow from the hydraulic pump 58 equivalent to the flow provided by auxiliary hydraulic pump 26…respond to increased hydraulic fluid flow demand from a high idle governor command by increasing proportionally the control speed of the electrical motor 56 driving the hydraulic pump 58…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100).
Consider claim 9:
Lacroix teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 8. In addition, Lacroix teaches wherein when the first manual switch is in a first open position interrupting the first connection (See Lacroix, e.g., “…A DC/AC electric motor controller 36 can be used to manage the energy flow between the electric energy storage device 34 and the electrical motor-generator 32. The electrical motor-generator 32 is mechanically connected to the engine 14 through a mechanical interface 31. The mechanical interface 31 may be a power take-off on the transmission 16 or on the engine 14, or it may be a direct mechanical connection with the crankshaft of the engine 14…The electric energy storage device 34 may also be charged by an external source of electrical power through an electrical connection and/or by an electrical braking energy recovery system and/or by the engine 14…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100) the electrically operated switch is controlled to a second open position interrupting the second connection (See Lacroix, e.g., “…a controller that is responsive to one or more operating conditions to activate the motor that is coupled to the engine so as to restart the engine when it is stopped, and to engage the generator to recharge the electric energy storage device, and to subsequently stop the engine again when the electric energy storage device has reached a threshold level of charge…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100).
Consider claims 10, 20:
Lacroix teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 8, 19. In addition, Lacroix teaches wherein when the first manual switch is in a first closed position completing the first connection the electrically operated switch is controlled to a second closed position completing the second connection (See Lacroix, e.g., “…a controller that is responsive to one or more operating conditions to activate the motor that is coupled to the engine so as to restart the engine when it is stopped, and to engage the generator to recharge the electric energy storage device, and to subsequently stop the engine again when the electric energy storage device has reached a threshold level of charge…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100).
Consider claim 13:
Lacroix teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 12. In addition, Lacroix teaches further comprising a lifting system movable relative to the storage compartment using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system (See Lacroix, e.g., “…A DC/AC electric motor controller 36 can be used to manage the energy flow between the electric energy storage device 34 and the electrical motor-generator 32. The electrical motor-generator 32 is mechanically connected to the engine 14 through a mechanical interface 31. The mechanical interface 31 may be a power take-off on the transmission 16 or on the engine 14, or it may be a direct mechanical connection with the crankshaft of the engine 14…The electric energy storage device 34 may also be charged by an external source of electrical power through an electrical connection and/or by an electrical braking energy recovery system and/or by the engine 14…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0073]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0092]-¶ [0100], Fig. 1 elements 10-100).
Obviousness Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12,084,276 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a nonprovisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have in fact been patented/issued, take an example of claims 1, 11, and 17 of the instant application and claims 1, 11, and 18 of the US Patent No. 12,084,276 B1 (Please see the Table below):
Claims of pending Application 18/798,053
Claims of US Pat. No. 12,084,276 B1 (hereinafter ‘276)
Reasoning
1. A refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a prime mover, wherein activation of the prime mover selectively drives the refuse vehicle; a body for storing refuse therein supported by the chassis; an electric power take-off system supported by the chassis, the electric power take-off system including a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; and a disconnect configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the energy storage device.
11. A vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis; a body defining a storage compartment supported by the chassis; an electric power take-off system supported by the chassis, the electric power take-off system including a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; and a disconnect configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the energy storage device.
17. A refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a prime mover, wherein activation of the prime mover selectively drives the refuse vehicle; a receptacle for storing refuse therein supported by the chassis; an electric power take-off system positioned on the refuse vehicle, the electric power take-off system including a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; a lifting system movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system; a compactor positioned within the receptacle and movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system; and a disconnect positioned between the energy storage device and the electric power take-off system and configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system and the motor from the energy storage device.
1. A refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a prime mover, wherein activation of the prime mover selectively drives the refuse vehicle; a body for storing refuse therein supported by the chassis; an electric power take-off system coupled to at least one of the body and the chassis, the electric power take-off system including a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; and a disconnect positioned between the energy storage device and the electric power take-off system and configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the energy storage device.
11. A vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a prime mover, wherein activation of the prime mover selectively drives the vehicle; a body defining a storage compartment supported by the chassis; an electric power take-off system coupled to at least one of the body and the chassis, the electric power take-off system including a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; and a disconnect positioned between the energy storage device and the electric power take-off system and configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the energy storage device.
18. A refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a prime mover, wherein activation of the prime mover selectively drives the refuse vehicle; a receptacle for storing refuse therein supported by the chassis; an electric power take-off system positioned on the refuse vehicle, the electric power take-off system including a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; a lifting system movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system; a compactor positioned within the receptacle and movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system; and a disconnect positioned between the energy storage device and the electric power take-off system and configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the energy storage device; wherein when the motor is decoupled from the energy storage device by the disconnect, the hydraulic pump is disabled.
Claims of ‘276 only differ from the instant application, in that the claims of ‘276 specify “…a disconnect positioned between the energy storage device and the electric power take-off system and configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the energy storage device…wherein when the motor is decoupled from the energy storage device by the disconnect, the hydraulic pump is disabled”. Nonetheless, the removal of said limitations from claims of the instant application made claims a broader version of claims of ‘276. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claims are not patentably distinct from claims of '276.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 11,136,187 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a nonprovisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have in fact been patented/issued, take an example of claims 1, 11, and 17 of the instant application and claims 1, 10, and 19 of the US Patent No. 11,136,187 B1 (Please see the Table below):
Claims of pending Application 18/798,053
Claims of US Pat. No. 11,136,187 B1 (hereinafter ‘187)
Reasoning
1. A refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a prime mover, wherein activation of the prime mover selectively drives the refuse vehicle; a body for storing refuse therein supported by the chassis; an electric power take-off system supported by the chassis, the electric power take-off system including a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; and a disconnect configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the energy storage device.
11. A vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis; a body defining a storage compartment supported by the chassis; an electric power take-off system supported by the chassis, the electric power take-off system including a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; and a disconnect configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the energy storage device.
17. A refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a prime mover, wherein activation of the prime mover selectively drives the refuse vehicle; a receptacle for storing refuse therein supported by the chassis; an electric power take-off system positioned on the refuse vehicle, the electric power take-off system including a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; a lifting system movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system; a compactor positioned within the receptacle and movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system; and a disconnect positioned between the energy storage device and the electric power take-off system and configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system and the motor from the energy storage device.
1. A refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis supporting a plurality of wheels; a battery supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a first motor, wherein rotation of the first motor selectively drives at least one of the plurality of wheels; a vehicle body supported by the chassis and defining a receptacle for storing refuse therein; an electric power take-off system coupled to the vehicle body, the electric power-take-off system including a second motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump to convert electrical power received from the battery into hydraulic power; a lifting system coupled to the vehicle body and movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system; and a disconnect positioned between the battery and the electric power take-off and configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the battery.
10. A refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis supporting a plurality of wheels; a battery supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a first motor, wherein rotation of the first motor selectively drives at least one of the plurality of wheels; a vehicle body supported by the chassis and defining a receptacle for storing refuse therein; an electric power take-off system coupled to the vehicle body, the electric power-take-off system including a second motor configured to convert electrical power received from the battery into hydraulic power; a compactor positioned within the receptacle and movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system; and a disconnect positioned between the battery and the electric power take-off and configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the battery.
19. A refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis supporting a plurality of wheels; a battery supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a first motor, wherein rotation of the first motor selectively drives at least one of the plurality of wheels; a vehicle body supported by the chassis and defining a receptacle for storing refuse therein; an electric power take-off system coupled to the vehicle body, the electric power-take-off system including a second motor configured to convert electrical power received from the battery into hydraulic power; a lifting system coupled to the vehicle body and movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system; a compactor positioned within the receptacle and movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system; and a disconnect positioned between the battery and the electric power take-off and configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the battery to disable the lifting system and the compactor.
Claims of ‘187 only differ from the instant application, in that the claims of ‘187 specify “wherein rotation of the first motor selectively drives at least one of the plurality of wheels… a second motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump to convert electrical power received from the battery into hydraulic power…and a disconnect positioned between the battery and the electric power take-off and configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the battery to disable the lifting system and the compactor”. Nonetheless, the removal of said limitations from claims of the instant application made claims a broader version of claims of ‘187. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claims are not patentably distinct from claims of '187.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Co-pending application No.: 18/941,223. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented/issued, take an example of claims 1, 11, and 17 of the instant application and claims 1, 11, and 18 of the Co-pending application No.: 18/941,223 (Please see the Table below):
Claims of pending Application 18/798,053
Claims of co-pending Application 18/941,223
1. A refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a prime mover, wherein activation of the prime mover selectively drives the refuse vehicle; a body for storing refuse therein supported by the chassis; an electric power take-off system supported by the chassis, the electric power take-off system including a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; and a disconnect configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the energy storage device.
11. A vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis; a body defining a storage compartment supported by the chassis; an electric power take-off system supported by the chassis, the electric power take-off system including a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; and a disconnect configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system from the energy storage device.
17. A refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a prime mover, wherein activation of the prime mover selectively drives the refuse vehicle; a receptacle for storing refuse therein supported by the chassis; an electric power take-off system positioned on the refuse vehicle, the electric power take-off system including a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; a lifting system movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system; a compactor positioned within the receptacle and movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from the electric power take-off system; and a disconnect positioned between the energy storage device and the electric power take-off system and configured to selectively decouple the electric power take-off system and the motor from the energy storage device.
1. A refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a prime mover, wherein activation of the prime mover selectively drives the refuse vehicle; a body for storing refuse therein supported by the chassis; a plurality of electric power take-off systems each configured to convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power, at least one of the plurality of electric-power take-off systems coupled to at least one of the body or the chassis; and a disconnect positioned between the energy storage device and at least one of the plurality of electric power-take off systems and configured to selectively decouple the at least one electric power take-off system from the energy storage device.
11. A vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a prime mover, wherein activation of the prime mover selectively drives the vehicle; a body defining a storage compartment supported by the chassis; a first motor configured to drive a first hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; and a second motor configured to drive a second hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power.
18. A refuse vehicle comprising: a chassis; an energy storage device supported by the chassis and configured to provide electrical power to a prime mover, wherein activation of the prime mover selectively drives the refuse vehicle; a receptacle for storing refuse therein supported by the chassis; a plurality of electric power take-off systems, wherein each of the plurality of electric power take-off systems comprise: a motor configured to drive a hydraulic pump and thereby convert electrical power received from the energy storage device into hydraulic power; a lifting system movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from a first power take-off system of the plurality of electric power take-off systems; and a compactor positioned within the receptacle and movable relative to the receptacle using hydraulic power from a second power take-off system of the plurality of electric power take-off systems.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Whitfield et al. (US Pat. No.: 9,428,128 B2) teaches “A control mechanism for a refuse vehicle includes a first control valve that operates a first hydraulically controlled mechanism and a second control valve that operates a second hydraulically controlled mechanism. The control mechanism also includes a plurality of switches and a pneumatic control mechanism. The plurality of switches generates a valve select signal and a mode signal. The pneumatic control mechanism selectively controls the first control valve and the second control valve based on the valve select signal and the mode signal. An operator of the refuse vehicle actuates the plurality of switches while the operator is operating the pneumatic control mechanism.”
Laumer et al. (US Pat. No.: 8,191,363 B2) teaches “A system for controlling motion of a hydraulic actuator on a refuse collection vehicle. The system includes an operator input device configured to produce a proportional electrical signal that is proportional to the degree of motion of the operator input device. The system further includes a proportional pneumatic control valve that is configured to produce a pressurized air control signal in proportion to the proportional electrical signal, and a hydraulic control valve that is configured to selectively control flow of hydraulic fluid to a hydraulic actuator in response to the pressurized air control signal.”
/BABAR SARWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667