DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 17 February 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The new limitation is disclosed by at least Li, as detailed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-2, 6-10, 12-15, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2018/0304898) in view of Powers et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2015/0166072), and further in view of Li et al. (Chinese Patent Publication # 103413441).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 15, Yoshikawa discloses a system for determining road slipperiness, the system comprising:
a vehicle-mounted image sensor for a vehicle, the image sensor directed to a road surface of a first road (fig. 8, blk 12 and 13); and
a controller configured to:
receive an image of the road surface from the vehicle-mounted image sensor (fig. 8, blk 16);
estimate a level of slipperiness of the road surface by inputting the image of the road surface into an algorithm (figs. 2A, 2B, 3A and 3B; fig. 8, blk 32; fig. 9, blk S242 and S245; [0038], [0042], [0074]-[0075], [0100]-[0101]; [0086], [0049], [0051], [0053], [0055-0057], [0065-0071], [0085-0086], [0090-0094]: determines if road surface is frozen, wet, or dry, i.e. a level of slipperiness of the road surface, based on at least the smoothness/unevenness of the road surface); and
further in response to determining that the estimated level of slipperiness exceeds a predetermined threshold ([0004], [0005], [0049], [0051], [0053], [0055-0057], [0065-0071], [0085-0086], [0090-0094]: frozen, wet, and dry represent different predetermined thresholds for level of slipperiness; alternatively, the claimed level of slipperiness could also be mapped to one or more of the parameters used to determine if the road surface is frozen, wet, or dry, wherein the predetermined thresholds are applied to these parameters to determine if the road surface is frozen, wet, or dry), cause the vehicle to decelerate by actuating a braking system of the vehicle ([0003]-[0004]: brake vehicle based on whether the road surface is frozen, wet, or dry).
Yoshikawa does not teach that in response to determining that the estimated level of slipperiness exceeds a predetermined threshold, re-route the vehicle onto a different road having a lower level of estimated slipperiness.
In the same field of endeavor, Powers teaches that in response to determining that the estimated level of slipperiness exceeds a predetermined threshold, re-route the vehicle onto a different road having a lower level of estimated slipperiness (figs. 14-15, [0105]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoshikawa to re-route the vehicle, as taught by Powers, in order to improve the safety of the vehicle and driver by avoiding dangerous routes (figs. 14-15, [0105]).
Yoshikawa also does not teach estimating a level of slipperiness of the road surface by inputting the image of the road surface into a machine learning algorithm.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches estimating a level of slipperiness of the road surface by inputting the image of the road surface into a machine learning algorithm ([0014], [0034], claim 10, etc).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoshikawa to estimate the slipperiness by inputting the image of the road surface into a machine learning algorithm, as taught by Li, in order to improve the safety of the vehicle and driver by more accurately detecting slippery routes ([0014], [0034], claim 10, etc).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Yoshikawa further discloses that the controller is further configured to transmit a command to the image sensor to cause the image sensor to capture the image ([0008]).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Yoshikawa further discloses that the controller is further configured to: evaluate, using the image, a color feature of the road surface; and
estimate the level of slipperiness based upon the evaluation of the color feature ([0100]-[0101] color feature, i.e. lane markings).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Yoshikawa further discloses that the color feature comprises a color feature of snow (figs. 14-15, [0079], [0084]).
Regarding claims 8, 14, and 20, Yoshikawa further discloses that the controller is further configured to: evaluate, using the image, a reflectiveness feature; and
estimate the level of slipperiness based upon the evaluation of the reflectiveness feature ([0038], [0042], [0074]-[0075], [0005], [0032]).
4. Claims 3-5, 11, and 17-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2018/0304898) in view of Powers et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2015/0166072) and of Li et al. (Chinese Patent Publication # 103413441), and further in view of Breed et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2007/0152804).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 17, Yoshikawa fails to disclose that the controller is further configured to: further in response to the determining that the estimated level of slipperiness exceeds the predetermined threshold, cause the vehicle to decelerate by reducing a throttle.
However, in a related invention Breed teaches causing the vehicle to decelerate by reducing a throttle (fig. 5, blk 74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoshikawa with the teachings of Breed, as a way to avoid accidents (accident avoidance system for a host vehicle – Breed, abstract).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Yoshikawa fails to disclose that the image sensor is a laser camera.
However, in a related invention Breed teaches that the image sensor is a laser camera (fig. 17; [0232]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoshikawa with the teachings of Breed, as a way to improve the resolution of the camera and/or additionally acquire range data from the environment.
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Yoshikawa fails to disclose that the image sensor is configured to capture video.
However, in a related invention Breed teaches that the image sensor is configured to capture video (fig. 17; [0232]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoshikawa with the teachings of Breed, as a way to improve the accuracy of the evaluation and estimate by analyzing data from multiple frames over time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shelley Chen/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3665
May 2, 2026