DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the each optical assembly of the plurality of optical assemblies comprising: an optical head having optics to direct a sample field-of-view (FOV) to a portion of a surface of the sample on the stage; a first external light source configured to illuminate the surface of the sample at a first oblique angle to the surface of the sample on the stage; a second external light source configured to illuminate the surface of the sample at a second oblique angle to the surface of the sample on the stage; and a focusing lens to focus a first optical image of the portion of the surface of the sample generated by the first external light source, and a second optical image of the portion of the surface of the sample generated by the second external light source onto a segment of the sensor; and a controller configured to: combine the first optical image and the second optical image generated by each optical assembly of the plurality of optical assemblies; and generate a map of point defects on the surface of the sample. must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
It appears the original disclosure shows a single optical assembly with two external light sources while claim 1 calls for a plurality of optical assemblies each of which comprise two distinct light sources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear how first and second oblique angles orthogonal to each other. According, to Merriam-Webster, orthogonal is defined as intersecting or lying at right angles. It is unclear how two angles are orthogonal to each other. In addition, it is understood that lines and planes can to orthogonal to each other. Clarification is needed to determine the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-9, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibata et al (US 20090059216).
Regarding claim 7, Shibata et al teach (Figs. 1-12) A method of pre-bonding inspection, comprising: illuminating a surface of a sample (1) by a first light source (5) at a first oblique angle to the surface of the sample and by a second light source (250) at a second oblique angle to the surface of the sample, the surface of the sample having a two dimensional (2D) periodic pattern and defects; acquiring a first optical image (via 210) generated by the first light source and a second optical image (via 200) generated by the second light source; and acquiring an optical image of point defects on the surface of the sample specifying locations ([0034]-map) of the point defects on the surface of the sample, by combining ([0033]-comparing, that is, combine mathematically is understood as adding a negative number) the first optical image and the second optical image.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected because they do not recite method steps which further limit the scope of claim 7.
Regarding claim 11, Shibata et al teach ([0057]) the first light source and the second light source each comprise a uni-directional or nearly uni-directional laser or light emitting diode (LED).
Regarding claim 12, Shibata et al teach ([0036]) the acquiring the first optical image and the second optical image comprises a time delay integration (TDI) scanning of the surface of the sample.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims are 1-6 and 13-21 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, prior art of record does not teach An optical inspection system for pre-bonding inspection, comprising: a stage having an upper surface on which a sample to be inspected is placed; a sensor; a plurality of optical assemblies, each optical assembly of the plurality of optical assemblies comprising: an optical head having optics to direct a sample field-of-view (FOV) to a portion of a surface of the sample on the stage; a first external light source configured to illuminate the surface of the sample at a first oblique angle to the surface of the sample on the stage; a second external light source configured to illuminate the surface of the sample at a second oblique angle to the surface of the sample on the stage; and a focusing lens to focus a first optical image of the portion of the surface of the sample generated by the first external light source, and a second optical image of the portion of the surface of the sample generated by the second external light source onto a segment of the sensor; and a controller configured to: combine the first optical image and the second optical image generated by each optical assembly of the plurality of optical assemblies; and generate a map of point defects on the surface of the sample.
Regarding claim 13, prior art of record does not teach performing a pre-bonding inspection process on a substrate die having metallic bond pads, and a chiplet having metallic bond pads, comprising: generating dual optical images of a surface of the substrate die by dual-directional illumination, wherein each optical image of the dual optical images are formed using a different directional illumination of the surface of the substrate die; generating a composite optical image of point defects on the surface of the substrate die by combining the dual optical images of the surface of the substrate die; generating dual optical images of a surface of the chiplet by dual-directional illumination, wherein each optical image of the dual optical images are formed using a different directional illumination of the surface of the chiplet; and generating a composite optical image of point defects on the surface of the chiplet by combining the dual optical images of the surface of the chiplet; and inspecting the generated composite optical images, wherein inspecting the generated composite optical images comprises at least one of: determining a location of at least one of the point defects on the surface of the substrate die based on the composite optical image of the point defects on the surface of the substrate die; and determining a location of at least one of the point defects on the surface of the chiplet based on the composite optical image of the point defects on the surface of the chiplet..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20200371046 is in related field of invention but it does not teach the specifics set forth by the current application.
/TONY KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878
TK