DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al (US 20180073993).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao et al teach (Figs. 1-8) A method of pre-bonding inspection, comprising: illuminating a surface ([0043] – wafer) of a sample by a first light source (108a) at a first oblique angle to the surface of the sample and by a second light source (108b) at a second oblique angle to the surface of the sample, the surface of the sample having a two dimensional (2D) periodic pattern (claim 19, patterned wafer) and defects; acquiring a first optical image, of the surface of the sample, generated by the first light source and a second optical image, of the surface of the sample, generated by the second light source; and combining ([0044]) the first optical image and the second optical image, wherein a combined optical image generated from the first optical image and the second optical image specifies locations of the point defects ([0044]) on the surface of the sample.
Regarding claim 11, Zhao et al teach ([0046]) the first light source and the second light source each comprise a uni-directional or nearly uni-directional laser or light emitting diode.
Regarding claim 12, Zhao et al teach ([0033]) the acquiring the first optical image and the second optical image comprises a time delay integration (TDI) scanning of the surface of the sample.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 13-21 are allowed.
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, prior art of record does not teach the sample comprises metallic bond pads in a two dimensional (2D) periodic pattern formed on the surface of the sample.
Regarding claim 10, prior art of record does not teach the first oblique angle and the second oblique angle have azimuthal directions that are orthogonal to each other in a plane parallel to the surface of the sample.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONY KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878
TK