Detailed Action
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 18/798,573 filed on August 08, 2024 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/08/2024 and 12/18/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(downhole wellbore borehole) SAME (transmitt$3 transmit$3 send$3 transceiv$3)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 17, the phrases “wherein a processor is configured to, process, based on a set of scaling weights, the response signal measured by each of the M receiver coils derived from the excitation signals emitted from each of the transmitter coils to create a processed response, wherein the set of scaling weights is unique to a radial depth of the wellbore tubular” is indefinite for the reason below. The Examiner cannot interpret if the how the scaling weight is used in junction with the receiver data to determine defects in a wellbore. It is not clear how using these items as well as the processor to determine defects as it seems the ending limitations only describing having depth information. The Examiner will interpret as having receiver data to help determine depth within a wellbore.
Appropriate correction is required. Claims 2-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are also rejected to as they depend on claims 1, 12, and 17 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (USPGPub 20200049850) in view of Sun et al (US Pat No 12092782).
Prior Art: Liu
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a downhole tool (105) to identify a defect in a wellbore tubular (60), the downhole tool comprising: a transmitter array (120) of N transmitter coils (par 45 discloses in ring formation. Therefore at least coils), wherein a moment of each of the N transmitter coils are to point in a different azimuthal direction (par 83 discloses transmitting beams in different azimuthal directions), wherein each of the N transmitter coils is configured to emit an excitation signal independent of the other N-1 transmitter coils (par 7 discloses transmitter element is individually controlled. Therefore the excitation signal is independent of one another); and a receiver array (130) of M receiver coils (par 45 discloses being ring elements), wherein a moment of each of the M receiver coils are to point in a different azimuthal direction (pars 9 and 83 discloses obtaining different azimuthal directions. Therefore the receiver points to different azimuthal direction) , wherein each of the M receiver coils is configured to measure a response signal derived from the excitation signal from each of the N transmitter coils (83 discloses obtaining different azimuthal directions), wherein a processor (110) is configured to, process, the response signal measured by each of the M receiver coils derived from the excitation signals emitted from each of the transmitter coils to create a processed response (par 119 discloses determining property of a wellbore and par 39 discloses determining potential defects).Liu does not fully disclose wherein a processor (110) is configured to, process, based on a set of scaling weights, wherein the set of scaling weights is unique to a radial depth of the wellbore tubular.
However, Sun discloses based on a set of scaling weights (col 6 lines 65- col 7 lines 30 discloses scalar weights determined by the users), wherein the set of scaling weights is unique (col 9 lines 53-65 discloses may be different. Therefore unique) to a radial depth of the wellbore tubular (claim 1 discloses using scalar weights and determining by a processor an arrival time and velocity of the wave. Therefore, this would be used to determine at least depth and a path for a drilling system).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu in view of Sun in order to determine the best method of dealing and finding defects within a borehole.
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses a method comprising: conveying a downhole tool (105) into a wellbore having a wellbore tubular (60), the downhole tool having a transmitter array (120) of N transmitter coils (par 45 discloses in ring formation. Therefore at least coils) and a receiver array (130) of M receiver coils (par 45 discloses being ring elements), wherein a moment of each of the N transmitter coils points in a different azimuthal direction (par 83 discloses transmitting beams in different azimuthal directions) and a moment of each of the M receiver coils points in a different azimuthal direction (pars 9 and 83 discloses obtaining different azimuthal directions. Therefore the receiver points to different azimuthal direction); emitting, by each of the N transmitter coils, an excitation signal independent of the other N-1 transmitter coils (83 discloses obtaining different azimuthal directions); measuring, by each of the M receiver coils, a response signal derived from the excitation signal; and processing (using 110), based on the response signal measured by each of the M receiver coils derived from the excitation signals (83 discloses obtaining different azimuthal directions) emitted from each of the transmitter coils to create a processed response (par 119 discloses determining property of a wellbore and par 39 discloses determining potential defects).Liu does not fully disclose processing based on a set of scaling weights wherein the set of scaling weights is unique to a radial depth of the wellbore tubular.
However, Sun discloses processing based on a set of scaling weights (col 6 lines 65- col 7 lines 30 discloses scalar weights determined by the users) wherein the set of scaling weights is unique (col 9 lines 53-65 discloses may be different. Therefore unique) to a radial depth of the wellbore tubular (claim 1 discloses using scalar weights and determining by a processor an arrival time and velocity of the wave. Therefore, this would be used to determine at least depth and a path for a drilling system). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu in view of Sun in order to determine the best method of dealing and finding defects within a borehole.
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses a system comprising (shown in figs 1A- 12B): a downhole tool (105) to identify a defect in a wellbore tubular (60), the downhole tool comprising, a transmitter array (120) of N transmitter coils (par 45 discloses in ring formation. Therefore at least coils), wherein a moment of each of the N transmitter coils are to point in a different azimuthal direction (par 83 discloses transmitting beams in different azimuthal directions), wherein each of the N transmitter coils is configured to emit an excitation signal independent of the other N-1 transmitter coils (par 7 discloses transmitter element is individually controlled. Therefore, the excitation signal is independent of one another); and a receiver array (130) of M receiver coils (par 45 discloses being ring elements), wherein a moment of each of the M receiver coils are to point in a different azimuthal direction (pars 9 and 83 discloses obtaining different azimuthal directions. Therefore the receiver points to different azimuthal direction), wherein each of the M receiver coils is configured to measure a response signal derived from the excitation signal from each of the N transmitter coils (83 discloses obtaining different azimuthal directions), a processor (110); and a computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that are executable by the processor (known in the art) to cause, the response signal measured by each of the M receiver coils derived from the excitation signals emitted from each of the transmitter coils to create a processed response, (par 119 discloses determining property of a wellbore and par 39 discloses determining potential defects).Liu does not fully disclose the processor to, process, based on a set of scaling weights and wherein the set of scaling weights is unique to a radial depth of the wellbore tubular.
However, Sun discloses the processor to, process, based on a set of scaling weights (col 6 lines 65- col 7 lines 30 discloses scalar weights determined by the users) and wherein the set of scaling weights is unique (col 9 lines 53-65 discloses may be different. Therefore unique) to a radial depth of the wellbore tubular (claim 1 discloses using scalar weights and determining by a processor an arrival time and velocity of the wave. Therefore, this would be used to determine at least depth and a path for a drilling system). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu in view of Sun in order to determine the best method of dealing and finding defects within a borehole.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (USPGPub 20200049850) in view of Sun et al (US Pat No 12092782) in further view of Batarseh et al (US Pat No 12228002).
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Sun does not fully discloses wherein a corrective action is to be performed to correct the defect in the wellbore tubular, wherein the corrective action comprises at least one of repairing or replacing a section of the wellbore tubular with the defect.
However, Batarseh discloses wherein a corrective action is to be performed to correct the defect in the wellbore tubular, wherein the corrective action comprises at least one of repairing or replacing a section of the wellbore tubular with the defect (col 6 lines 46-60 discloses repairing a tubular member disposed in a wellbore). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu in view of Sun in further view of Batarseh in order to determine and remove defects in the borehole.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-11, 13-16, and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a downhole tool to identify a defect in a wellbore tubular, the downhole tool comprising: wherein the processor configured to process the response signal comprises the processor configured to, construct a training data matrix corresponding to a reference profile of a number of reference profiles of the wellbore tubular; compute a set of scaling weights such that a product of multiplying the set of scaling weights with the training data matrix matches the reference profile, wherein the processed response comprises an actual data matrix; and construct a scaled actual data matrix based on application of the set of scaling weights to the actual data matrix in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 3 and 4 are also objected as they depend on claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a downhole tool to identify a defect in a wellbore tubular, the downhole tool comprising: wherein the processor is configured to, construct a training data matrix corresponding to a reference profile of a number of reference profiles of the wellbore tubular; compute a set of scaling weights such that a product of multiplying the set of scaling weights with the training data matrix matches the reference profile, wherein the processed response comprises an actual data matrix; construct a scaled actual data matrix based on application of the set of scaling weights to the actual data matrix; and generate a focused response of the wellbore tubular based on the scaled data matrix, wherein identification of the defect in the wellbore tubular comprises identification of the defect in the wellbore tubular based on the focused response in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 7-11 are also objected as they depend on claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a method comprising: wherein processing the response signal comprises, constructing a training data matrix corresponding to a reference profile of a number of reference profiles of the wellbore tubular; computing a set of scaling weights such that a product of multiplying the set of scaling weights with the training data matrix matches the reference profile, wherein the processed response comprises an actual data matrix; and constructing a scaled actual data matrix based on application of the set of scaling weights to the actual data matrix in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 14-16 are also objected as they depend on claim 13.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a system comprising: wherein the instructions executable by the processor to cause the processor to the response signal comprises instructions executable by the processor to cause the processor to, construct a training data matrix corresponding to a reference profile of a number of reference profiles of the wellbore tubular; compute a set of scaling weights such that a product of multiplying the set of scaling weights with the training data matrix matches the reference profile, wherein the processed response comprises an actual data matrix; and construct a scaled actual data matrix based on application of the set of scaling weights to the actual data matrix in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 18-20 are also objected as they depend on claim 17.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al (USPGPub 20210396126): discloses downhole tool with different azimuthal.
Khalaj Amineh et al (USPGPub 20190003920): discloses detecting different defects inside wellbore.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E HAWKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858