DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/27/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, in line 1, “the processor” should be “the at least one processor”.
Regarding claim 12, in line 1, “the at least one processor” should be “the processor”; and in line 2, “the UE” should be “a UE”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 9, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the first message" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first message" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the measurement data" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first message" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the first message" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2014/0099940) in view of Bansal et al. (US 2023/0171615).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
transmit a first indication of a logging identifier, wherein each logging identifier is associated with respective logged measurement data at the UE ([0016] the UE 200 notifies the eNB 205 of the presence/absence of the logged MDT measurement information and, if the eNB 205 requests, reports the logged the MDT measurement information; [0040] The identifier included in the RRC Connection Setup Complete message informs the eNB 310 of the presence/absence of the logged MDT measurement information such that the eNB 310 determines whether to request for the MDT measurement information based on the identifier; [0061] The UE includes an IE logMeasAvailable in the RRC Connection Setup Complete message (RRC Connection Setup Complete) at step 729. The IE logMeasAvailable is an indicator for indicating that the UE has the information logged through MDT and to be reported. The UE sends the eNB the RRC Connection Setup Complete message at step 725);
receive a request message that identifies at least a logging identifier and at least one criterion for reporting corresponding logged measurement data associated with the logging identifier ([0016] The UE 200 transitions to the idle mode at step 245 and, if the measurement duration has not expired, continues MDT operation to collect MDT measurement information at steps 250 and 255. The measurement duration may be configured in consideration of the time of the connected mode or not. If the measurement duration expires at step 260, the UE stops MDT. Afterward, the UE 200 enters the connected mode at step 265 and performs MDT measurement report procedure at step 270. That is, the UE 200 notifies the eNB 205 of the presence/absence of the logged MDT measurement information and, if the eNB 205 requests, reports the logged the MDT measurement information; [0040] If it is determined that the channel measurement information logged by the UE 305 is useful, the eNB 310 transmits a UE Information Request message (UEInformationRequest) including an indicator requesting for MDT configuration and measurement log at step 380; [0061] the UE determines whether the UE Information Request message (UEInformationRequest) including IE logMeasReportReq is received from the eNB at step 730. The UE monitors to receive the UE Information Request message in the connected mode. If the UE Information Request message including the indicator, the UE sends the eNB a UE Information response message (UEInformationResponse) along with the IE LogMeasReport including the logged information at step 735); and
transmit a response message based at least in part on to the request message, wherein the response message comprises the corresponding logged measurement data associated with the logging identifier and according to the at least one criterion ([0016] the UE 200 notifies the eNB 205 of the presence/absence of the logged MDT measurement information and, if the eNB 205 requests, reports the logged the MDT measurement information; [0041] If the UE Information Request message (UEInformationRequest) is received, the UE triggers MDT measurement information report at step 385. The UE 305 sends the eNB 310 a UE Information Response message (UEInformationResponse) including MDT measurement information at step 390; [0061] The UE monitors to receive the UE Information Request message in the connected mode. If the UE Information Request message including the indicator, the UE sends the eNB a UE Information response message (UEInformationResponse) along with the IE LogMeasReport including the logged information at step 735).
However, Kim does not teach a set of logging identifiers, a subset of the set of logging identifiers.
In an analogous art, Bansal teaches a set of logging identifiers ([0111] The MDT log may include a subset of the measurement types configured in the logging measurement configuration. At block 1104, the process 1100 receives from the UE, an MDT log generated based on the logging measurement configuration), a subset of the set of logging identifiers ([0111] The MDT log may include a subset of the measurement types configured in the logging measurement configuration. At block 1104, the process 1100 receives from the UE, an MDT log generated based on the logging measurement configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Bansal’s method with Kim’s method so that the MDT log of each logging instance may be filtered to remove measurement types that may not be useful for improving network coverage (Bansal [0075]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Kim and Bansal, specifically Kim teaches the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit a second indication of an availability of logged measurement data at the UE ([0061] The UE includes an IE logMeasAvailable in the RRC Connection Setup Complete message).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Kim and Bansal, specifically Kim teaches the first message is an RRCSetupComplete message ([0040] The identifier included in the RRC Connection Setup Complete message informs the eNB 310 of the presence/absence of the logged MDT measurement information such that the eNB 310 determines whether to request for the MDT measurement information based on the identifier; [0061] The UE includes an IE logMeasAvailable in the RRC Connection Setup Complete message (RRC Connection Setup Complete) at step 729).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Kim and Bansal, specifically Kim teaches the request message is a UEInformationRequest message ([0040] If it is determined that the channel measurement information logged by the UE 305 is useful, the eNB 310 transmits a UE Information Request message (UEInformationRequest) including an indicator requesting for MDT configuration and measurement log at step 380; [0061] the UE determines whether the UE Information Request message (UEInformationRequest) including IE logMeasReportReq is received from the eNB at step 730. The UE monitors to receive the UE Information Request message in the connected mode. If the UE Information Request message including the indicator, the UE sends the eNB a UE Information response message (UEInformationResponse) along with the IE LogMeasReport including the logged information at step 735).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Kim and Bansal, specifically Kim teaches the response message is a UEInformationResponse message ([0041] If the UE Information Request message (UEInformationRequest) is received, the UE triggers MDT measurement information report at step 385. The UE 305 sends the eNB 310 a UE Information Response message (UEInformationResponse) including MDT measurement information at step 390; [0061] The UE monitors to receive the UE Information Request message in the connected mode. If the UE Information Request message including the indicator, the UE sends the eNB a UE Information response message (UEInformationResponse) along with the IE LogMeasReport including the logged information at step 735).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim does not teach the logged measurement data is associated with at least two data collection configurations.
In an analogous art, Bansal teaches the logged measurement data is associated with at least two data collection configurations ([0062] In advanced LTE releases (such as Release 13 and beyond), the measurement configuration, such as the LoggedMeasurementConfiguration information element, may configure the UE to include wireless local area network (WLAN) measurements and/or Bluetooth™ (BT) information elements in the MDT logs. For example, the LoggedMeasurementConfiguration message may include a UE-BasedNetwPerfMeasParameters-v1530 information element defining optional measurement parameters for wireless local area networks (WLANs) and Bluetooth™ (BT), such as loggedMeasBT-r15, loggedMeasWLAN-r15, immMeasBT-r15, and immMeasWLAN-r15. As a result of the new measurement parameters, a size of the MDT logs has grown, thereby increasing a number of RRC message segments for each MDT log collected by the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Bansal’s method with Kim’s method so that the MDT log of each logging instance may be filtered to remove measurement types that may not be useful for improving network coverage (Bansal [0075]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Kim and Bansal, specifically Kim teaches the processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit the first indication in response to switching to an RRC connected state from an RRC idle state or RRC inactive state ([0013] If the Radio Resource Control (RRC) state transitions from the connected mode to the idle mode, the UE starts MDT at step 215; [0015] If the UE 200 enters the connected mode at step 235, it notifies the eNB 204 of the presence/absence of the logged MDT measurement information at step 240; [0039] the UE 305 transitions to the connected mode at step 360 and sends the eNB 310 an RRC Connection Request message ... the UE 305 sends the eNB an RRC Connection Setup Complete (RRC Connection Setup Complete) message including an indicator to notify the eNB 310 that there is the channel measurement information logged in the idle mode).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Kim and Bansal, specifically Kim teaches the at least one criterion comprises at least one of a quality threshold of measurement data to be reported, a threshold for a number of samples of the measurement data to be reported, reporting the measurement data in order of recency, and timing information of when the samples to be reported were measured or logged ([0016] The UE 200 transitions to the idle mode at step 245 and, if the measurement duration has not expired, continues MDT operation to collect MDT measurement information at steps 250 and 255. The measurement duration may be configured in consideration of the time of the connected mode or not. If the measurement duration expires at step 260, the UE stops MDT. Afterward, the UE 200 enters the connected mode at step 265 and performs MDT measurement report procedure at step 270).
Regarding Claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Kim and Bansal, specifically Kim teaches the first message is one of an RRCSetupComplete message and an RRCResume message ([0040] The identifier included in the RRC Connection Setup Complete message informs the eNB 310 of the presence/absence of the logged MDT measurement information such that the eNB 310 determines whether to request for the MDT measurement information based on the identifier; [0061] The UE includes an IE logMeasAvailable in the RRC Connection Setup Complete message (RRC Connection Setup Complete) at step 729).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Kim and Bansal, specifically Kim teaches the request message is a UEInformationRequest message ([0040] If it is determined that the channel measurement information logged by the UE 305 is useful, the eNB 310 transmits a UE Information Request message (UEInformationRequest) including an indicator requesting for MDT configuration and measurement log at step 380; [0061] the UE determines whether the UE Information Request message (UEInformationRequest) including IE logMeasReportReq is received from the eNB at step 730. The UE monitors to receive the UE Information Request message in the connected mode. If the UE Information Request message including the indicator, the UE sends the eNB a UE Information response message (UEInformationResponse) along with the IE LogMeasReport including the logged information at step 735) and the response message is a UEInformationResponse message ([0041] If the UE Information Request message (UEInformationRequest) is received, the UE triggers MDT measurement information report at step 385. The UE 305 sends the eNB 310 a UE Information Response message (UEInformationResponse) including MDT measurement information at step 390; [0061] The UE monitors to receive the UE Information Request message in the connected mode. If the UE Information Request message including the indicator, the UE sends the eNB a UE Information response message (UEInformationResponse) along with the IE LogMeasReport including the logged information at step 735).
Regarding Claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 17, Kim teaches a base station for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to:
receive a first indication of a logging identifier, wherein each logging identifier is associated with respective logged measurement data at a UE ([0016] the UE 200 notifies the eNB 205 of the presence/absence of the logged MDT measurement information and, if the eNB 205 requests, reports the logged the MDT measurement information; [0040] The identifier included in the RRC Connection Setup Complete message informs the eNB 310 of the presence/absence of the logged MDT measurement information such that the eNB 310 determines whether to request for the MDT measurement information based on the identifier; [0061] The UE includes an IE logMeasAvailable in the RRC Connection Setup Complete message (RRC Connection Setup Complete) at step 729. The IE logMeasAvailable is an indicator for indicating that the UE has the information logged through MDT and to be reported. The UE sends the eNB the RRC Connection Setup Complete message at step 725);
transmit a request message to the UE that identifies at least a logging identifier and at least one criterion for reporting corresponding logged measurement data associated with the logging identifier ([0016] The UE 200 transitions to the idle mode at step 245 and, if the measurement duration has not expired, continues MDT operation to collect MDT measurement information at steps 250 and 255. The measurement duration may be configured in consideration of the time of the connected mode or not. If the measurement duration expires at step 260, the UE stops MDT. Afterward, the UE 200 enters the connected mode at step 265 and performs MDT measurement report procedure at step 270. That is, the UE 200 notifies the eNB 205 of the presence/absence of the logged MDT measurement information and, if the eNB 205 requests, reports the logged the MDT measurement information; [0040] If it is determined that the channel measurement information logged by the UE 305 is useful, the eNB 310 transmits a UE Information Request message (UEInformationRequest) including an indicator requesting for MDT configuration and measurement log at step 380; [0061] the UE determines whether the UE Information Request message (UEInformationRequest) including IE logMeasReportReq is received from the eNB at step 730. The UE monitors to receive the UE Information Request message in the connected mode. If the UE Information Request message including the indicator, the UE sends the eNB a UE Information response message (UEInformationResponse) along with the IE LogMeasReport including the logged information at step 735); and
receive a response message from the UE based at least in part on to the request message, wherein the response message comprises the corresponding logged measurement data associated with the logging identifier and according to the at least one criterion ([0016] the UE 200 notifies the eNB 205 of the presence/absence of the logged MDT measurement information and, if the eNB 205 requests, reports the logged the MDT measurement information; [0041] If the UE Information Request message (UEInformationRequest) is received, the UE triggers MDT measurement information report at step 385. The UE 305 sends the eNB 310 a UE Information Response message (UEInformationResponse) including MDT measurement information at step 390; [0061] The UE monitors to receive the UE Information Request message in the connected mode. If the UE Information Request message including the indicator, the UE sends the eNB a UE Information response message (UEInformationResponse) along with the IE LogMeasReport including the logged information at step 735).
However, Kim does not teach a set of logging identifiers, a subset of the set of logging identifiers.
In an analogous art, Bansal teaches a set of logging identifiers ([0111] The MDT log may include a subset of the measurement types configured in the logging measurement configuration. At block 1104, the process 1100 receives from the UE, an MDT log generated based on the logging measurement configuration), a subset of the set of logging identifiers ([0111] The MDT log may include a subset of the measurement types configured in the logging measurement configuration. At block 1104, the process 1100 receives from the UE, an MDT log generated based on the logging measurement configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Bansal’s method with Kim’s method so that the MDT log of each logging instance may be filtered to remove measurement types that may not be useful for improving network coverage (Bansal [0075]).
Regarding Claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Bansal et al. and Yang et al. (US 2022/0085950).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Kim and Bansal does not teach the first message is an RRCResume message.
In an analogous art, Yang teaches the first message is an RRCResume message ([0084] the UE reports the Per Node/RAT Logs Available Indicator (for the MgNB and the SgNB1) to the MgNB via an SRB1: RRC Resume Complete message, indicating that the local tables 1 and 2 of the UE respectively record and store MDT Logs, which are respectively generated based on the configurations of the MgNB and the SgNB1, to be retrieved by the network side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Yang’s method with Kim’s method so that the MDT logs can be retrieved by the network once the RCC connection is resumed from the RRC inactive mode. Thus, the log measurement and reporting becomes more efficient.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Bansal et al. and Liu et al. (US 2025/0030617).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim teaches the measurement data is logged in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state ([0016] The UE 200 transitions to the idle mode at step 245 and, if the measurement duration has not expired, continues MDT operation to collect MDT measurement information at steps 250 and 255; [0038] the UE 305 transitions to the idle mode at step 340 and, when MDT measurement duration starts, starts the MDT measurement at step 345. The UE 305 performs MDT measurement and logs the measurement result).
However, the combination of Kim and Bansal does not teach the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to resume logging measurement data after the switching to the RRC connected state.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to resume logging measurement data after the switching to the RRC connected state ([0173] In step 15, the UE may enter RRC_CONNECTED state. At least one of the following alternatives may be selected by the UE. The UE may stop all ongoing logged QoE and may not activate a new non-CONNECTED logged QoE in RRC_CONNECTED state. Alternatively, the UE may continue perform the logged QoE measurements if the logged QoE measurements is an ongoing one, and the UE may not activate a new non-CONNECTED logged QoE in RRC_CONNECTED state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Liu’s method with Kim’s method so that more logged data can be measured from the UE and the performance of the system can be improved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamine et al. (US 2018/0063737) teaches method for controlling minimizing of drive tests log tracing of UE in idle mode.
Johansson et al. (US 2012/0088457) teaches method for minimizing drive test logging measurement.
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413