DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN 202311054126, filed on 08/11/2023.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/09/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over SUN et al. (Hereinafter “Sun”, US 20230007552), in view of Wang et al. (Hereinafter “Wang”, US 20250106726).
Regarding claim 20 and 30: Sun discloses: A user equipment (UE) comprising:
a processor; and a memory comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to perform the following operations: (i.e., The processor is coupled to a memory, the memory is configured to store a program or instructions, and when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the apparatus is enabled to implement the method in any one of the first aspect or the possible implementations of the first aspect. As described in paragraph [0035].)
receive, from a master node (MN) in a dual connectivity configuration in which the UE is connected to the MN and a source secondary node (SN) providing a source primary secondary cell (PSCell), an RRCReconfiguration message comprising conditional PSCell change (CPC) or conditional PSCell addition and change (CPAC) preparation configurations for at least (i) a first candidate target PSCell associated with a first candidate target SN and (ii) a second candidate target PSCell associated with a second candidate target SN, wherein the preparation configurations comprise: (i.e., A terminal receives a first message from a first master node, where the first message includes an identifier of a first candidate PSCell or an identifier of configuration information of the first candidate PSCell. As described in paragraph [0007].)
a reference secondary cell group (SCG) configuration; (i.e., One or more serving cells in the SN form a secondary cell group (SCG). As described in paragraph [0103].)
a first delta SCG configuration for the first candidate target PSCell and a second delta SCG configuration for the second candidate target PSCell, each delta SCG configuration indicating differences relative to the reference SCG configuration; (i.e., the delta configuration information includes configuration information that is of any candidate PSCell in the second PSCell list and that is different from the configuration information of the original PSCell. As described in paragraph [0013].)
And transmit an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the MN to acknowledge receipt of the RRCReconfiguration message (i.e., receive a first verification complete message from the terminal. As described in paragraph [0144].)
based on an execution condition being satisfied for the first candidate target PSCell, perform a PSCell change from the source PSCell to the first candidate target PSCell without a PCell change, including performing random access toward the first candidate target PSCell; (i.e., When detecting at least one candidate PSCell that meets the addition condition, the terminal 103 selects one candidate PSCell (for example, the candidate PSCell configured by the network device 102 for the terminal), and applies a configuration of the candidate PSCell. Subsequently, the terminal 103 initiates random access to the candidate PSCell, and establishes dual connections to the network device 101 and the network device 102 after the random access to the candidate PSCell succeeds. As described in paragraph [0105].)
apply an SCG configuration for the first candidate target PSCell by generating the SCG configuration from the reference SCG configuration and the first delta SCG configuration; (i.e., the terminal determines the second configuration information of the target PSCell based on the first configuration information of the target PSCell and the delta configuration of the target PSCell. As described in paragraph [0225].)
Sun discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
an indication that a same master cell group (MCG) configuration applies to both the first candidate target PSCell and the second candidate target PSCell, the indication comprising a bitmap that associates each of the preparation configurations with an identified MCG configuration;
based on a completion of the PSCell change:
store the preparation configurations in the memory as retained preparation configurations;
upon satisfaction of an execution condition for the second candidate target PSCell, perform a further PSCell change from the first candidate target PSCell to the second candidate target PSCell without receiving any further preparation configurations from the MN;
apply an SCG configuration for the second candidate target PSCell by generating the SCG configuration from the reference SCG configuration and the second delta SCG configuration; and
based on the bitmap indicating that the same MCG configuration applies to the first candidate target PSCell and the second candidate target PSCell, perform the further PSCell change without resetting the MCG configuration and without remapping any bearer of the MCG.
In similarly endeavor, Wang discloses:
an indication that a same master cell group (MCG) configuration applies to both the first candidate target PSCell and the second candidate target PSCell, the indication comprising a bitmap that associates each of the preparation configurations with an identified MCG configuration; (i.e., a configuration for a candidate cell in the set of configurations is the same as a configuration for a serving cell of the terminal device or a configuration for a further candidate cell in the set of configurations, except for at least one of an identity, a timer, a dedicated random access channel configuration or a measurement configuration for a candidate cell. As described in paragraph [0009].)
based on a completion of the PSCell change:
store the preparation configurations in the memory as retained preparation configurations; (i.e., and store the RRC configuration of the candidate cells for L1/L2 based mobility. As described in paragraph [0067].)
upon satisfaction of an execution condition for the second candidate target PSCell, perform a further PSCell change from the first candidate target PSCell to the second candidate target PSCell without receiving any further preparation configurations from the MN; (i.e., If a further cell change to the candidate cell is to be performed, the terminal device 120 may perform the further cell change without using the dedicated random access configuration. As described in paragraph [0113].)
apply an SCG configuration for the second candidate target PSCell by generating the SCG configuration from the reference SCG configuration and the second delta SCG configuration; (i.e., the terminal device determines a reference configuration, and applies a configuration for a candidate cell in the set of configurations based on the reference configuration. In this way, a delta configuration can be supported for a subsequent conditional PCell or PSCell change or subsequent L1/L2 based mobility.
It is to be understood that the present solution may be applied in a SCG change, and also may be applied in a MCG change. That is, the present solution may be applied for a subsequent CPC or a subsequent conditional handover. As described in paragraph [0048]and [0074].)
And based on the bitmap indicating that the same MCG configuration applies to the first candidate target PSCell and the second candidate target PSCell, perform the further PSCell change without resetting the MCG configuration and without remapping any bearer of the MCG. (i.e., multi-random access technology dual connectivity (MR-DC) with selective activation of cell groups aims at enabling subsequent CPC/CPA after SCG change, without reconfiguration and re-initialization on a CPC/CPA preparation from the network side. This results in a reduction of signaling overhead and an interrupting time for SCG change.
In 3GPP Release 18, a mechanism and procedure of NR-DC with selective activation of the cell groups (at least for SCG) will be specified by allowing subsequent cell group change after changing CG without reconfiguration and re-initiation of CPC/CPA. As described in paragraph [0046] and [0071].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Wang into the invention of Sun in order to provide a more reliable communication, a reduction of signaling overhead and an interrupting time for SCG change in a mobile network services.
Regard to claim 21, and 31: Sun, and Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Sun further discloses:
wherein the reference SCG configuration comprises an SCG configuration of the source PSCell. (i.e. where the first configuration information includes an addition/change condition and a configuration of the candidate PSCell in the first PSCell list, the target PSCell is a PSCell in the second PSCell list, and the original PSCell is a PSCell to which the terminal is connected before the terminal is handed over from the first master node to the second master node. As described in paragraph [0007].)
Regard to claim 22, and 32: Sun, and Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Wang further discloses:
wherein the bitmap associates both the first candidate target PSCell and the second candidate target PSCell with a single identified MCG configuration that is shared by both candidate target PSCells. (i.e. a configuration for a candidate cell in the set of configurations is the same as a configuration for a serving cell of the terminal device or a configuration for a further candidate cell in the set of configurations, except for at least one of an identity, a timer, a dedicated random access channel configuration or a measurement configuration for a candidate cell. As described in paragraph [0049].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Wang into the invention of Sun in order to provide a more reliable communication, a reduction of signaling overhead and an interrupting time for SCG change in a mobile network services.
Regard to claim 23, and 33: Sun, and Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Sun further discloses:
wherein the preparation configurations further comprise MN RRC reconfiguration information and SN conditional RRC reconfigurations corresponding to the first and second candidate target PSCells. (i.e. the first RRC container includes the configuration and the addition condition of the PSCell configured by the first candidate node for the terminal.
The identifier or the information included in the second RRC container is included in an RRC message generated by the second master node. As described in paragraph [0148] and [0160].)
Regard to claim 24, and 34: Sun, and Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Sun further discloses:
wherein the SCG configuration generated for each candidate target PSCell comprises radio link control (RLC) parameters, medium access control (MAC) parameters, and packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) parameters derived by applying the respective delta SCG configuration to the reference SCG configuration. (i.e. The resource information corresponding to the candidate PSCell includes one or more of the following: a bearer configuration parameter (radioBearerConfig), a cell group configuration (cellGroupConfig) parameter, a physical (PHY) layer configuration parameter, a media access control (MAC) layer configuration parameter, a radio link control (RLC) layer configuration parameter, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer configuration parameter, a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer configuration parameter, or an RRC layer configuration parameter. As described in paragraph [0111].)
Regard to claim 25, and 35: Sun, and Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Sun further discloses:
wherein the execution condition for each candidate target PSCell is based on a measurement report transmitted by the UE to the MN. (i.e. the addition/change condition of the candidate PSCell includes an execution event type of the addition/change condition of the candidate PSCell, and the execution event type may also be referred to as a measurement event, a reporting event, or the like. As described in paragraph [0113].)
Regard to claim 26, and 36: Sun, and Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Sun further discloses:
wherein performing the PSCell change to the first candidate target PSCell further comprises transmitting an RRCReconfigurationComplete message indicating execution of the conditional PSCell change. (i.e., the terminal releases a connection to the first master node, initiates random access to the second master node, and sends a reconfiguration complete message to the second master node after the random access succeeds, As described in paragraph [0191].)
Regard to claim 27, and 37: Sun, and Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Wang further discloses:
wherein the further PSCell change from the first candidate target PSCell to the second candidate target PSCell is performed while maintaining an existing master node connection and without modification of a PCell configuration. (i.e. If a further cell change to the candidate cell is to be performed, the terminal device 120 may perform the further cell change without using the dedicated random access configuration. As described in paragraph [0113].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Wang into the invention of Sun in order to provide a more reliable communication, a reduction of signaling overhead and an interrupting time for SCG change in a mobile network services.
Regard to claim 28, and 38: Sun, and Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Wang further discloses:
wherein performing the further PSCell change without resetting the MCG configuration comprises maintaining existing PDCP, RLC, and MAC configurations associated with the MCG. (i.e., multi-random access technology dual connectivity (MR-DC) with selective activation of cell groups aims at enabling subsequent CPC/CPA after SCG change, without reconfiguration and re-initialization on a CPC/CPA preparation from the network side. This results in a reduction of signaling overhead and an interrupting time for SCG change.
In 3GPP Release 18, a mechanism and procedure of NR-DC with selective activation of the cell groups (at least for SCG) will be specified by allowing subsequent cell group change after changing CG without reconfiguration and re-initiation of CPC/CPA. As described in paragraph [0046] and [0071].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Wang into the invention of Sun in order to provide a more reliable communication, a reduction of signaling overhead and an interrupting time for SCG change in a mobile network services.
Regard to claim 29, and 39: Sun, and Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Wang further discloses:
wherein the retained preparation configurations are reused for the further PSCell change without the MN transmitting an additional RRCReconfiguration message comprising new preparation configurations. (i.e., The stored RRC configuration for the candidate cells may be used for the subsequent L1/L2based mobility procedures. As described in paragraph [0067].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Wang into the invention of Sun in order to provide a more reliable communication, a reduction of signaling overhead and an interrupting time for SCG change in a mobile network services.
Conclusion
/Eric M. Vo/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644