Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0367045 A1) in view of Sun et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0377662 A1).
25, Rahman teaches a first apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor [par 0185, The UE 14 includes a transceiver 34 (which includes one or more transmitters 36 and one or more receivers 38 coupled to one or more antennas 40), a processor 42 (e.g., one or more CPUs, one or more ASICs, one or more FPGAs, or the like, or any combination thereof), and memory 44. The transceiver 34 allows the UE 14 to send and receive wireless signals. The processor 42 can execute instructions stored in the memory 44 based on signals received wirelessly via the transceiver 34]
cause the first apparatus to: determine the following: that conditions related to a communication interruption and a discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for the first apparatus are fulfilled [par 0110, 0136, However, the DRX cycles are shifted in time causing partial overlap between their DRX ON durations. In this example, the UE will cause interruption during both DRX ON durations due to partial overlap. The wireless device determines if a first DRX ON duration in a first DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a first CG (e.g., the MCG) and a second DRX ON duration in a second DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a second CG (e.g., the SCG) partially overlap in time with each other (step 100). If there is no partial overlap between the DRX ON durations in the first and second DRX cycles (step 102, NO), the process ends. Conversely, if there is a partial overlap between the DRX ON durations in the first and second DRX cycles (step 102, YES)],
wherein the conditions comprises the following: the communication interruption is overlapped at least partially in time domain with a control channel transmission occasion within an active time period of the DRX operation [par 0110-0112, 0136 However, the DRX cycles are shifted in time causing partial overlap between their DRX ON durations. In this example, the UE will cause interruption during both DRX ON durations due to partial overlap as follows: Interruption in the DRX ON duration in the MCG due to change in the DRX state from DRX OFF to DRX ON in the SCG; and Interruption in DRX ON duration in the SCG due to change in the DRX state from DRX ON to DRX OFF in the MCG. the wireless device determines if a first DRX ON duration in a first DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a first CG (e.g., the MCG) and a second DRX ON duration in a second DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a second CG (e.g., the SCG) partially overlap in time with each other],
the communication interruption is overlapped at least partially in time domain with an on-duration time period of the DRX operation and a duration of the on-duration time period is below a first threshold [par 0011, 0136, 0146, As used herein, synchronized DC operation means that the UE can perform DC operation provided the receive timing difference (Δt) between the signals received at the UE from the Component Carriers (CCs) belonging to the MCG and the SCG are within a certain threshold, e.g. ±33 microseconds (μs).The actual overlap between the ON durations experienced or observed at the wireless device however depends on whether the DC operation is synchronized or unsynchronized. In synchronized and unsynchronized DC operations, the received time difference between subframe boundaries of the MCG and the SCG is within ±33 microseconds (μs) and ±500 μs, respectively, in some example implementations. Therefore, the wireless device may further determine the overlapping ratio of starting times of the SCG and the MCG subframes observed at the wireless device. The overlapping ratio herein means the ratio of the starting time of the subframe received from the SCG to the starting time of the subframe received from the SCG at the UE],
a ratio of a duration of the communication interruption to the duration of the on-duration time period is above a predefined ratio [par 0146, Therefore, the wireless device may further determine the overlapping ratio of starting times of the SCG and the MCG subframes observed at the wireless device. The overlapping ratio herein means the ratio of the starting time of the subframe received from the SCG to the starting time of the subframe received from the SCG at the UE. In other words, the wireless device determines the extent to which it observes the subframe timing boundary mismatch between subframes of the MCG and the SCG. Based on this, the wireless device decides whether the DRX ON durations will overlap with each other or not when the two DRX cycles are configured by the wireless device],
and a duration of a long DRX cycle of the DRX operation exceeds a second threshold [par 0032, 0036, 0179, DRX is configured by RRC mechanisms. DRX may have long or short DRX (i.e., DRX OFF) durations. The transition between long DRX and short DRX is determined by the eNB (Medium Access Control (MAC) commands) or by the UE based on an activity timer. When UE is configured with DRX, the UE performs intra-frequency, inter-frequency, and inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) measurements according to the DRX cycle, e.g. typically once per DRX cycle especially for a DRX cycle of 40 ms or longer.Examples of criteria are: amount of wireless device battery saving to be achieved, e.g. fully aligned DRX cycles in case UE battery power is below a threshold; amount of data in traffic, e.g. longer ON durations with aligned ON durations if there is more data; and type of service, e.g. only align DRX ON duration or fully non-overlapping DRX cycles with longer DRX cycle in a CG serving non-real time service while shorter DRX cycle in CG serving real time service];
and that a first indication to handle a collision between the communication
interruption and the DRX operation is received from a second apparatus[par 0016, The UE signals its capability to a network node (e.g., the MeNB) indicating whether the UE is capable of synchronized and/or unsynchronized dual connectivity operation. The capability information is associated with each band or band combination supported by the UE for DC operation, e.g. the UE may indicate it supports synchronized and unsynchronized DC operation for frequency band combinations: band 1+band 3 and band 7+band 8, respectively],
and a maximum number of control channel transmission occasions for which
collision handling can be applied [par 0030, 0144, The DRX ON duration is defined by an onDurationTimer and, as such, the DRX ON duration is sometimes referred to herein as onDurationTimer. The onDurationTimer specifies the number of consecutive PDCCH subframe(s) at the beginning of a DRX cycle during which the UE is to be in the ON state in order to monitor for a PDCCH transmission. he wireless device can compare DRX parameters like DRX durations, DRX cycle length, etc. of the two DRX cycles to determine whether their DRX ON durations would partially overlap. More specifically, the wireless device can compare the System Frame Number (SFN) and starting subframe number or subframe numbers within a frame where the DRX ON durations for the MCG and the SCG need to be implemented and, based on this comparison, the wireless device can determine whether the DRX ON durations are overlapping to each other not. The information about frame numbers and subframe numbers can be determined based on information related to the DRX cycles received from the network nodes]
determine, based on the first indication from the second apparatus and the capability of the first apparatus, that the first apparatus is able to handle the collision between the communication interruption and the DRX operation [par 0016, 0017, Based on this received UE capability information, the network node can determine whether the UE should be configured in synchronized or unsynchronized DC operation for a particular band combination. The UE capable of CA is required to handle a maximum received time difference of signals from non-co-located serving cells (e.g., PCell and SCell) of 30.26 μs. The value of 30.26 μs corresponds to signal propagation distance of just over nine kilometers (km) considering the speed of light in free space is 3×10.sup.8 m/s];
and based on the determining that the conditions are met and that the first apparatus is able to handle the collision, shift the communication interruption in time domain based on the first indication [par 0175, To fully align DRX cycle parameters in the two CGs, the first and second network nodes 16 and 18 may have to configure the start of the ON durations in their respective CGs at different subframes. For example, if the serving cells in the first and the second CGs are shifted by two subframes, then in one CG, the DRX ON duration may start in subframe L whereas, in the second CG, the DRX ON duration may start in subframe L+2].
Rahman fail to show transmit, to the second apparatus, capability information indicating a capability of the first apparatus for collision handling associated with measurement gaps and control channel transmissions, the capability information indicating the following: that the collision handling is supported by the first apparatus, a communication interruption duration,
In an analogous art Sun show transmit, to the second apparatus, capability information indicating a capability of the first apparatus for collision handling associated with measurement gaps and control channel transmissions [par 0080, 0082, A first set of techniques can be employed to configure dual DRX for a UE for one or more FR1 cells (e.g., employing a first DRX configuration) and one or more FR2 cells (e.g., employing a second DRX configuration) based on a UE capability of support of independent Measurement Gaps (MGs) for different frequency ranges (e.g., FR1 and FR2). The UE can have a capability to support independent MG configuration for FR1 and FR2, which can allow the UE to support per-FR DRX configuration, for example, dual DRX configuration without interruption in FR1+FR2 CA. The UE can inform the network of this capability via a UE capability information message sent to the network via higher layer signaling (e.g., Radio Resource Control (RRC))],
, the capability information indicating the following: that the collision handling is supported by the first apparatus, a communication interruption duration[par 0124, the gNB can communicate (e.g., and schedule communication, etc.) with the UE over the first CC(s), second CC(s), etc. via Carrier Aggregation based on an assumption that UE operation according to the DRX configuration(s) on any of the first CC(s), second CC(s), etc. for which DRX is configured will not cause interruption(s) in communication over any other CC(s)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rahman and Sun because a UE or a node of a RAN, can facilitate configuration of a UE with two or more DRX configurations [Sun, par 0068].
26, Rahman and Sun create the first apparatus of claim 25, wherein the shifted communication interruption is not overlapped with an active time period of the DRX operation in time domain [Rahman, par 0175, To fully align DRX cycle parameters in the two CGs, the first and second network nodes 16 and 18 may have to configure the start of the ON durations in their respective CGs at different subframes. For example, if the serving cells in the first and the second CGs are shifted by two subframes, then in one CG, the DRX ON duration may start in subframe L whereas, in the second CG, the DRX ON duration may start in subframe L+2]
27, Rahman and Sun defines the first apparatus of claim 25, wherein the shifted communication interruption is not overlapped with a last control channel transmission occasion within an active time period of the DRX operation in time domain [Rahman, par 0171, The network nodes 16 and 18 adapt the DRX cycle parameters of the first and the second DRX cycles, respectively, such that the DRX ON durations of their respective DRX cycles do not partially overlap (i.e., either fully overlap or do not overlap at all) thereby avoiding interruption in at least one CG due to changing of DRX states in the other CG (step 506)].
28. Rahman and Sun convey the first apparatus of claim 27, wherein the communication interruption precedes a measurement length time period, and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus to: shift the communication interruption forward in time domain such that the active time period starts after an end of the communication interruption [Rahman, par 0178, the network nodes 16 and 18 adapt the DRX cycles for the CGs such that the DRX cycles have fully non-overlapping DRX ON durations. In this exemplary implementation, the DRX cycles between the CGs (i.e., between the MCG and the SCG) are not aligned in that their DRX ON durations may be completely non-overlapping. One example of this arrangement is shown in FIG. 18. In this case, the interruptions due to changing of states between DRX OFF and DRX ON from the MCG will occur in the DRX OFF period of the SCG and vice versa. Therefore, no interruption is caused by the MCG on the SCG or vice versa due to the change of their DRX states. The examiner interpretation an alignment takes place where the interruption occurs in the DRX off, before the DRX is switched to the DRX ON, which the active on states occurs after the interruption.].
29, Rahman and Sun provide the first apparatus of claim 27, wherein the communication interruption succeeds a measurement length time period, and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus to: shift the communication interruption backward in time domain such that the communication interruption starts after an end of the active time period [Rahman, par 0178, the network nodes 16 and 18 adapt the DRX cycles for the CGs such that the DRX cycles have fully non-overlapping DRX ON durations. In this exemplary implementation, the DRX cycles between the CGs (i.e., between the MCG and the SCG) are not aligned in that their DRX ON durations may be completely non-overlapping. One example of this arrangement is shown in FIG. 18. In this case, the interruptions due to changing of states between DRX OFF and DRX ON from the MCG will occur in the DRX OFF period of the SCG and vice versa. Therefore, no interruption is caused by the MCG on the SCG or vice versa due to the change of their DRX states. The examiner interpretation an alignment takes place where the interruption occurs in the DRX off, after the DRX is switched from on to DRX off, which the interrupt occurs after the DRX on]
30, Rahman and Sun convey the first apparatus of claim 29, wherein the active time period comprises an on-duration time period [Rahman, par 0163, Therefore, in this context, the term “use” herein means that the receiver of the wireless device becomes active in the ON duration of the DRX cycle to receive signals from serving cells of the corresponding CG].
31, Rahman and Sun demonstrate the first apparatus of claim 29, Rahman fail to show wherein the active time period comprises one of an extension of an on-duration time period as defined by an inactivity timer; or an extension of an on-duration time period as defined by a DRX retransmission timer.
In an analogous art Sun show wherein the active time period comprises one of an extension of an on-duration time period as defined by an inactivity timer; or an extension of an on-duration time period as defined by a DRX retransmission timer[par 0074, A UE (e.g., comprising system 400.sub.UE) can save power via a DRX cycle by shutting off RF circuitry (e.g., RF circuitry 206) during some or all of the time in the DRX cycle other than Active Time. Active Time (e.g., involving PDCCH monitoring, etc.) of a DRX cycle comprises time when one or more of the following is true: (1) drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer (related to contention resolution for contention-based random access requests) is running];
Before the effective filing date it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rahman and Sun because a UE or a node of a RAN, can facilitate configuration of a UE with two or more DRX configurations [Sun, par 0068].
32, Rahman provides a system comprising: a first apparatus: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one
processor[par 0185, The UE 14 includes a transceiver 34 (which includes one or more transmitters 36 and one or more receivers 38 coupled to one or more antennas 40), a processor 42 (e.g., one or more CPUs, one or more ASICs, one or more FPGAs, or the like, or any combination thereof), and memory 44. The transceiver 34 allows the UE 14 to send and receive wireless signals. The processor 42 can execute instructions stored in the memory 44 based on signals received wirelessly via the transceiver 34],
cause the first apparatus to: determine the following: that conditions related to a communication interruption and a discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for the first apparatus are fulfilled[par 0110, 0136, However, the DRX cycles are shifted in time causing partial overlap between their DRX ON durations. In this example, the UE will cause interruption during both DRX ON durations due to partial overlap. The wireless device determines if a first DRX ON duration in a first DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a first CG (e.g., the MCG) and a second DRX ON duration in a second DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a second CG (e.g., the SCG) partially overlap in time with each other (step 100). If there is no partial overlap between the DRX ON durations in the first and second DRX cycles (step 102, NO), the process ends. Conversely, if there is a partial overlap between the DRX ON durations in the first and second DRX cycles (step 102, YES)],
wherein the conditions comprises the following: the communication interruption is overlapped at least partially in time domain with a control channel transmission occasion within an active time period of the DRX operation[par 0110-0112, 0136 However, the DRX cycles are shifted in time causing partial overlap between their DRX ON durations. In this example, the UE will cause interruption during both DRX ON durations due to partial overlap as follows: Interruption in the DRX ON duration in the MCG due to change in the DRX state from DRX OFF to DRX ON in the SCG; and Interruption in DRX ON duration in the SCG due to change in the DRX state from DRX ON to DRX OFF in the MCG. the wireless device determines if a first DRX ON duration in a first DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a first CG (e.g., the MCG) and a second DRX ON duration in a second DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a second CG (e.g., the SCG) partially overlap in time with each other],
the communication interruption is overlapped at least partially in time domain with an on-duration time period of the DRX operation and a duration of the on-duration time period is below a first threshold [par 0011, 0136, 0146, As used herein, synchronized DC operation means that the UE can perform DC operation provided the receive timing difference (Δt) between the signals received at the UE from the Component Carriers (CCs) belonging to the MCG and the SCG are within a certain threshold, e.g. ±33 microseconds (μs).The actual overlap between the ON durations experienced or observed at the wireless device however depends on whether the DC operation is synchronized or unsynchronized. In synchronized and unsynchronized DC operations, the received time difference between subframe boundaries of the MCG and the SCG is within ±33 microseconds (μs) and ±500 μs, respectively, in some example implementations. Therefore, the wireless device may further determine the overlapping ratio of starting times of the SCG and the MCG subframes observed at the wireless device. The overlapping ratio herein means the ratio of the starting time of the subframe received from the SCG to the starting time of the subframe received from the SCG at the UE],
a ratio of a duration of the communication interruption to the duration of the on-duration time period is above a predefined ratio[par 0146, Therefore, the wireless device may further determine the overlapping ratio of starting times of the SCG and the MCG subframes observed at the wireless device. The overlapping ratio herein means the ratio of the starting time of the subframe received from the SCG to the starting time of the subframe received from the SCG at the UE. In other words, the wireless device determines the extent to which it observes the subframe timing boundary mismatch between subframes of the MCG and the SCG. Based on this, the wireless device decides whether the DRX ON durations will overlap with each other or not when the two DRX cycles are configured by the wireless device],
and a duration of a long DRX cycle of the DRX operation exceeds a second threshold[par 0032, 0036, 0179, DRX is configured by RRC mechanisms. DRX may have long or short DRX (i.e., DRX OFF) durations. The transition between long DRX and short DRX is determined by the eNB (Medium Access Control (MAC) commands) or by the UE based on an activity timer. When UE is configured with DRX, the UE performs intra-frequency, inter-frequency, and inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) measurements according to the DRX cycle, e.g. typically once per DRX cycle especially for a DRX cycle of 40 ms or longer.Examples of criteria are: amount of wireless device battery saving to be achieved, e.g. fully aligned DRX cycles in case UE battery power is below a threshold; amount of data in traffic, e.g. longer ON durations with aligned ON durations if there is more data; and type of service, e.g. only align DRX ON duration or fully non-overlapping DRX cycles with longer DRX cycle in a CG serving non-real time service while shorter DRX cycle in CG serving real time service];
and that a first indication to handle a collision between the communication
interruption and the DRX operation is received from a second apparatus[par 0016, The UE signals its capability to a network node (e.g., the MeNB) indicating whether the UE is capable of synchronized and/or unsynchronized dual connectivity operation. The capability information is associated with each band or band combination supported by the UE for DC operation, e.g. the UE may indicate it supports synchronized and unsynchronized DC operation for frequency band combinations: band 1+band 3 and band 7+band 8, respectively];
and a maximum number of control channel transmission occasions for which
collision handling can be applied[par 0030, 0144, The DRX ON duration is defined by an onDurationTimer and, as such, the DRX ON duration is sometimes referred to herein as onDurationTimer. The onDurationTimer specifies the number of consecutive PDCCH subframe(s) at the beginning of a DRX cycle during which the UE is to be in the ON state in order to monitor for a PDCCH transmission. he wireless device can compare DRX parameters like DRX durations, DRX cycle length, etc. of the two DRX cycles to determine whether their DRX ON durations would partially overlap. More specifically, the wireless device can compare the System Frame Number (SFN) and starting subframe number or subframe numbers within a frame where the DRX ON durations for the MCG and the SCG need to be implemented and, based on this comparison, the wireless device can determine whether the DRX ON durations are overlapping to each other not. The information about frame numbers and subframe numbers can be determined based on information related to the DRX cycles received from the network nodes];
determine, based on the first indication from the second apparatus and the
capability of the first apparatus, that the first apparatus is able to handle the collision
between the communication interruption and the DRX operation[par 0016, 0017, Based on this received UE capability information, the network node can determine whether the UE should be configured in synchronized or unsynchronized DC operation for a particular band combination. The UE capable of CA is required to handle a maximum received time difference of signals from non-co-located serving cells (e.g., PCell and SCell) of 30.26 μs. The value of 30.26 μs corresponds to signal propagation distance of just over nine kilometers (km) considering the speed of light in free space is 3×10.sup.8 m/s];
and based on the determining that the conditions are met and that the first apparatus is able to handle the collision, shift the communication interruption in time domain based on the first indication[par 0175, To fully align DRX cycle parameters in the two CGs, the first and second network nodes 16 and 18 may have to configure the start of the ON durations in their respective CGs at different subframes. For example, if the serving cells in the first and the second CGs are shifted by two subframes, then in one CG, the DRX ON duration may start in subframe L whereas, in the second CG, the DRX ON duration may start in subframe L+2].
Rahman fail to show transmit, to the second apparatus, capability information indicating a capability of the first apparatus for collision handling associated with measurement gaps and control channel transmissions, the capability information indicating the following: that the collision handling is supported by the first apparatus, a communication interruption duration,
In an analogous art Sun show transmit, to the second apparatus, capability information indicating a capability of the first apparatus for collision handling associated with measurement gaps and control channel transmissions[par 0080, 0082, A first set of techniques can be employed to configure dual DRX for a UE for one or more FR1 cells (e.g., employing a first DRX configuration) and one or more FR2 cells (e.g., employing a second DRX configuration) based on a UE capability of support of independent Measurement Gaps (MGs) for different frequency ranges (e.g., FR1 and FR2). The UE can have a capability to support independent MG configuration for FR1 and FR2, which can allow the UE to support per-FR DRX configuration, for example, dual DRX configuration without interruption in FR1+FR2 CA. The UE can inform the network of this capability via a UE capability information message sent to the network via higher layer signaling (e.g., Radio Resource Control (RRC))],
the capability information indicating the following: that the collision handling is supported by the first apparatus, a communication interruption duration[par 0124, the gNB can communicate (e.g., and schedule communication, etc.) with the UE over the first CC(s), second CC(s), etc. via Carrier Aggregation based on an assumption that UE operation according to the DRX configuration(s) on any of the first CC(s), second CC(s), etc. for which DRX is configured will not cause interruption(s) in communication over any other CC(s)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rahman and Sun because a UE or a node of a RAN, can facilitate configuration of a UE with two or more DRX configurations [Sun, par 0068].
33, Rahman and Sun convey the system of claim 32, wherein the shifted communication interruption is not overlapped with an active time period of the DRX operation in time domain [Rahman, par 0175, To fully align DRX cycle parameters in the two CGs, the first and second network nodes 16 and 18 may have to configure the start of the ON durations in their respective CGs at different subframes. For example, if the serving cells in the first and the second CGs are shifted by two subframes, then in one CG, the DRX ON duration may start in subframe L whereas, in the second CG, the DRX ON duration may start in subframe L+2]
34, Rahman and Sun provide the system of claim 32, wherein the shifted communication interruption is not overlapped with a last control channel transmission occasion within an active time period of the DRX operation in time domain [Rahman, par 0171, The network nodes 16 and 18 adapt the DRX cycle parameters of the first and the second DRX cycles, respectively, such that the DRX ON durations of their respective DRX cycles do not partially overlap (i.e., either fully overlap or do not overlap at all) thereby avoiding interruption in at least one CG due to changing of DRX states in the other CG (step 506)].
35, Rahman and Sun discloses the system of claim 34, wherein the communication interruption precedes a measurement length time period, and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus to: shift the communication interruption forward in time domain such that the active time period starts after an end of the communication interruption[Rahman, par 0178, the network nodes 16 and 18 adapt the DRX cycles for the CGs such that the DRX cycles have fully non-overlapping DRX ON durations. In this exemplary implementation, the DRX cycles between the CGs (i.e., between the MCG and the SCG) are not aligned in that their DRX ON durations may be completely non-overlapping. One example of this arrangement is shown in FIG. 18. In this case, the interruptions due to changing of states between DRX OFF and DRX ON from the MCG will occur in the DRX OFF period of the SCG and vice versa. Therefore, no interruption is caused by the MCG on the SCG or vice versa due to the change of their DRX states. The examiner interpretation an alignment takes place where the interruption occurs in the DRX off, before the DRX is switched to the DRX ON, which the active on states occurs after the interruption.].
36, Rahman and Sun disclose the system of claim 34, wherein the communication interruption succeeds a measurement length time period, and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus to: shift the communication interruption backward in time domain such that the communication interruption starts after an end of the active time period [Rahman, par 0178, the network nodes 16 and 18 adapt the DRX cycles for the CGs such that the DRX cycles have fully non-overlapping DRX ON durations. In this exemplary implementation, the DRX cycles between the CGs (i.e., between the MCG and the SCG) are not aligned in that their DRX ON durations may be completely non-overlapping. One example of this arrangement is shown in FIG. 18. In this case, the interruptions due to changing of states between DRX OFF and DRX ON from the MCG will occur in the DRX OFF period of the SCG and vice versa. Therefore, no interruption is caused by the MCG on the SCG or vice versa due to the change of their DRX states. The examiner interpretation an alignment takes place where the interruption occurs in the DRX off, after the DRX is switched from on to DRX off, which the interrupt occurs after the DRX on]
37, Rahman and Sun disclose the system of claim 36, wherein the active time period comprises an on- duration time period Rahman, par 0163, Therefore, in this context, the term “use” herein means that the receiver of the wireless device becomes active in the ON duration of the DRX cycle to receive signals from serving cells of the corresponding CG].
38, Rahman and Sun display the system of claim 37, Rahman fail to show wherein the active time period comprises one of an extension of an on-duration time period as defined by an inactivity timer; or an extension of an on-duration time period as defined by a DRX retransmission timer.
In an analogous art Sun show wherein the active time period comprises one of an extension of an on-duration time period as defined by an inactivity timer; or an extension of an on-duration time period as defined by a DRX retransmission timer[par 0074, A UE (e.g., comprising system 400.sub.UE) can save power via a DRX cycle by shutting off RF circuitry (e.g., RF circuitry 206) during some or all of the time in the DRX cycle other than Active Time. Active Time (e.g., involving PDCCH monitoring, etc.) of a DRX cycle comprises time when one or more of the following is true: (1) drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer (related to contention resolution for contention-based random access requests) is running];
Before the effective filing date it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rahman and Sun because a UE or a node of a RAN, can facilitate configuration of a UE with two or more DRX configurations [Sun, par 0068].
39, Rahman define a method comprising: determining, by a first apparatus, the following: that conditions related to a communication interruption and a discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for the first apparatus are fulfilled [par 0110, 0136, However, the DRX cycles are shifted in time causing partial overlap between their DRX ON durations. In this example, the UE will cause interruption during both DRX ON durations due to partial overlap. The wireless device determines if a first DRX ON duration in a first DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a first CG (e.g., the MCG) and a second DRX ON duration in a second DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a second CG (e.g., the SCG) partially overlap in time with each other (step 100). If there is no partial overlap between the DRX ON durations in the first and second DRX cycles (step 102, NO), the process ends. Conversely, if there is a partial overlap between the DRX ON durations in the first and second DRX cycles (step 102, YES)],
wherein the conditions comprises the following: the communication interruption is overlapped at least partially in time domain with a control channel transmission occasion within an active time period of the DRX operation[par 0110-0112, 0136 However, the DRX cycles are shifted in time causing partial overlap between their DRX ON durations. In this example, the UE will cause interruption during both DRX ON durations due to partial overlap as follows: Interruption in the DRX ON duration in the MCG due to change in the DRX state from DRX OFF to DRX ON in the SCG; and Interruption in DRX ON duration in the SCG due to change in the DRX state from DRX ON to DRX OFF in the MCG. the wireless device determines if a first DRX ON duration in a first DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a first CG (e.g., the MCG) and a second DRX ON duration in a second DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a second CG (e.g., the SCG) partially overlap in time with each other],
the communication interruption is overlapped at least partially in time domain with an on-duration time period of the DRX operation and a duration of the on-duration time period is below a first threshold[par 0011, 0136, 0146, As used herein, synchronized DC operation means that the UE can perform DC operation provided the receive timing difference (Δt) between the signals received at the UE from the Component Carriers (CCs) belonging to the MCG and the SCG are within a certain threshold, e.g. ±33 microseconds (μs).The actual overlap between the ON durations experienced or observed at the wireless device however depends on whether the DC operation is synchronized or unsynchronized. In synchronized and unsynchronized DC operations, the received time difference between subframe boundaries of the MCG and the SCG is within ±33 microseconds (μs) and ±500 μs, respectively, in some example implementations. Therefore, the wireless device may further determine the overlapping ratio of starting times of the SCG and the MCG subframes observed at the wireless device. The overlapping ratio herein means the ratio of the starting time of the subframe received from the SCG to the starting time of the subframe received from the SCG at the UE],
a ratio of a duration of the communication interruption to the duration of the on-duration time period is above a predefined ratio[par 0146, Therefore, the wireless device may further determine the overlapping ratio of starting times of the SCG and the MCG subframes observed at the wireless device. The overlapping ratio herein means the ratio of the starting time of the subframe received from the SCG to the starting time of the subframe received from the SCG at the UE. In other words, the wireless device determines the extent to which it observes the subframe timing boundary mismatch between subframes of the MCG and the SCG. Based on this, the wireless device decides whether the DRX ON durations will overlap with each other or not when the two DRX cycles are configured by the wireless device],
and a duration of a long DRX cycle of the DRX operation exceeds a second threshold[par 0032, 0036, 0179, DRX is configured by RRC mechanisms. DRX may have long or short DRX (i.e., DRX OFF) durations. The transition between long DRX and short DRX is determined by the eNB (Medium Access Control (MAC) commands) or by the UE based on an activity timer. When UE is configured with DRX, the UE performs intra-frequency, inter-frequency, and inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) measurements according to the DRX cycle, e.g. typically once per DRX cycle especially for a DRX cycle of 40 ms or longer.Examples of criteria are: amount of wireless device battery saving to be achieved, e.g. fully aligned DRX cycles in case UE battery power is below a threshold; amount of data in traffic, e.g. longer ON durations with aligned ON durations if there is more data; and type of service, e.g. only align DRX ON duration or fully non-overlapping DRX cycles with longer DRX cycle in a CG serving non-real time service while shorter DRX cycle in CG serving real time service];
and that a first indication to handle a collision between the communication interruption and the DRX operation is received from a second apparatus[par 0016, The UE signals its capability to a network node (e.g., the MeNB) indicating whether the UE is capable of synchronized and/or unsynchronized dual connectivity operation. The capability information is associated with each band or band combination supported by the UE for DC operation, e.g. the UE may indicate it supports synchronized and unsynchronized DC operation for frequency band combinations: band 1+band 3 and band 7+band 8, respectively];
and a maximum number of control channel transmission occasions for which collision handling can be applied[par 0030, 0144, The DRX ON duration is defined by an onDurationTimer and, as such, the DRX ON duration is sometimes referred to herein as onDurationTimer. The onDurationTimer specifies the number of consecutive PDCCH subframe(s) at the beginning of a DRX cycle during which the UE is to be in the ON state in order to monitor for a PDCCH transmission. he wireless device can compare DRX parameters like DRX durations, DRX cycle length, etc. of the two DRX cycles to determine whether their DRX ON durations would partially overlap. More specifically, the wireless device can compare the System Frame Number (SFN) and starting subframe number or subframe numbers within a frame where the DRX ON durations for the MCG and the SCG need to be implemented and, based on this comparison, the wireless device can determine whether the DRX ON durations are overlapping to each other not. The information about frame numbers and subframe numbers can be determined based on information related to the DRX cycles received from the network nodes];
determining, based on the first indication from the second apparatus and the capability of the first apparatus, that the first apparatus is able to handle the collision between the communication interruption and the DRX operation[par 0110-0112, 0136 However, the DRX cycles are shifted in time causing partial overlap between their DRX ON durations. In this example, the UE will cause interruption during both DRX ON durations due to partial overlap as follows: Interruption in the DRX ON duration in the MCG due to change in the DRX state from DRX OFF to DRX ON in the SCG; and Interruption in DRX ON duration in the SCG due to change in the DRX state from DRX ON to DRX OFF in the MCG. the wireless device determines if a first DRX ON duration in a first DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a first CG (e.g., the MCG) and a second DRX ON duration in a second DRX cycle configured for use by the wireless device in a second CG (e.g., the SCG) partially overlap in time with each other];
and based on the determining that the conditions are met and that the first apparatus is able to handle the collision, shifting the communication interruption in time domain based on the first indication[par 0175, To fully align DRX cycle parameters in the two CGs, the first and second network nodes 16 and 18 may have to configure the start of the ON durations in their respective CGs at different subframes. For example, if the serving cells in the first and the second CGs are shifted by two subframes, then in one CG, the DRX ON duration may start in subframe L whereas, in the second CG, the DRX ON duration may start in subframe L+2].
Rahman fail to show transmitting, to the second apparatus, capability information indicating a capability of the first apparatus for collision handling associated with measurement gaps and control channel transmissions, the capability information indicating the following: that the collision handling is supported by the first apparatus, a communication interruption duration,
In an analogous art Sun show transmitting, to the second apparatus, capability information indicating a capability of the first apparatus for collision handling associated with measurement gaps and control channel transmissions[par 0080, 0082, A first set of techniques can be employed to configure dual DRX for a UE for one or more FR1 cells (e.g., employing a first DRX configuration) and one or more FR2 cells (e.g., employing a second DRX configuration) based on a UE capability of support of independent Measurement Gaps (MGs) for different frequency ranges (e.g., FR1 and FR2). The UE can have a capability to support independent MG configuration for FR1 and FR2, which can allow the UE to support per-FR DRX configuration, for example, dual DRX configuration without interruption in FR1+FR2 CA. The UE can inform the network of this capability via a UE capability information message sent to the network via higher layer signaling (e.g., Radio Resource Control (RRC))],
, the capability information indicating the following: that the collision handling is supported by the first apparatus, a communication interruption duration[par 0124, the gNB can communicate (e.g., and schedule communication, etc.) with the UE over the first CC(s), second CC(s), etc. via Carrier Aggregation based on an assumption that UE operation according to the DRX configuration(s) on any of the first CC(s), second CC(s), etc. for which DRX is configured will not cause interruption(s) in communication over any other CC(s)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rahman and Sun because a UE or a node of a RAN, can facilitate configuration of a UE with two or more DRX configurations [Sun, par 0068].
40, Rahman and Sun teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the shifted communication interruption is not overlapped with an active time period of the DRX operation in time domain[Rahman, par 0171, The network nodes 16 and 18 adapt the DRX cycle parameters of the first and the second DRX cycles, respectively, such that the DRX ON durations of their respective DRX cycles do not partially overlap (i.e., either fully overlap or do not overlap at all) thereby avoiding interruption in at least one CG due to changing of DRX states in the other CG (step 506)].
41, Rahman and Sun demonstrate the method of claim 39, wherein the shifted communication interruption is not overlapped with a last control channel transmission occasion within an active time period of the DRX operation in time domain [Rahman, par 0171, The network nodes 16 and 18 adapt the DRX cycle parameters of the first and the second DRX cycles, respectively, such that the DRX ON durations of their respective DRX cycles do not partially overlap (i.e., either fully overlap or do not overlap at all) thereby avoiding interruption in at least one CG due to changing of DRX states in the other CG (step 506)].
42, Rahman and Sun describe the method of claim 41, wherein the communication interruption precedes a measurement length time period, and wherein the method further comprises: shifting the communication interruption forward in time domain such that the active time period starts after an end of the communication interruption [Rahman, par 0178, the network nodes 16 and 18 adapt the DRX cycles for the CGs such that the DRX cycles have fully non-overlapping DRX ON durations. In this exemplary implementation, the DRX cycles between the CGs (i.e., between the MCG and the SCG) are not aligned in that their DRX ON durations may be completely non-overlapping. One example of this arrangement is shown in FIG. 18. In this case, the interruptions due to changing of states between DRX OFF and DRX ON from the MCG will occur in the DRX OFF period of the SCG and vice versa. Therefore, no interruption is caused by the MCG on the SCG or vice versa due to the change of their DRX states. The examiner interpretation an alignment takes place where the interruption occurs in the DRX off, before the DRX is switched to the DRX ON, which the active on states occurs after the interruption.].
.
43, Raman and Sun provide the method of claim 41, wherein the communication interruption succeeds a measurement length time period, and wherein the method further comprises: shifting the communication interruption backward in time domain such that the communication interruption starts after an end of the active time period Rahman, par 0178, the network nodes 16 and 18 adapt the DRX cycles for the CGs such that the DRX cycles have fully non-overlapping DRX ON durations. In this exemplary implementation, the DRX cycles between the CGs (i.e., between the MCG and the SCG) are not aligned in that their DRX ON durations may be completely non-overlapping. One example of this arrangement is shown in FIG. 18. In this case, the interruptions due to changing of states between DRX OFF and DRX ON from the MCG will occur in the DRX OFF period of the SCG and vice versa. Therefore, no interruption is caused by the MCG on the SCG or vice versa due to the change of their DRX states. The examiner interpretation an alignment takes place where the interruption occurs in the DRX off, after the DRX is switched from on to DRX off, which the interrupt occurs after the DRX on]
.
44, Rahman and Sun reveal the method of claim 43, Rahman fail to show wherein the active time period comprises one of an on-duration time period, an extension of an on-duration time period as defined by an inactivity timer; or an extension of an on-duration time period as defined by a DRX retransmission timer.
In an analogous art Sun show wherein the active time period comprises one of an on-duration time period, an extension of an on-duration time period as defined by an inactivity timer; or an extension of an on-duration time period as defined by a DRX retransmission timer[par 0074, A UE (e.g., comprising system 400.sub.UE) can save power via a DRX cycle by shutting off RF circuitry (e.g., RF circuitry 206) during some or all of the time in the DRX cycle other than Active Time. Active Time (e.g., involving PDCCH monitoring, etc.) of a DRX cycle comprises time when one or more of the following is true: (1) drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer (related to contention resolution for contention-based random access requests) is running];
Before the effective filing date it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rahman and Sun because a UE or a node of a RAN, can facilitate configuration of a UE with two or more DRX configurations [Sun, par 0068].
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468