DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on fifteen application filed at the World International Property Organization. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the fifteen applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 9 August 2024, 9 December 2025, 13 November 2025 (five separate documents), 13 January 2026 (two separate documents) and 24 April 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Two of the information disclosure statements filed on 13 November 2025 fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. See the annotated information disclosure statements for the missing foreign patent documents.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to for the following informalities.
Applicant is encouraged to remove the line numbers from the claims document for the purpose of eliminating any potential confusion between the line numbers and claim numbers.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities. Line 4 of the claim recites the limitation: “he thermally conductive member”.
The limitation should be edited to read: “the thermally conductive member”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitations "the bottom of the reinforcing member" (line 1), “the bottom wall” (line 2) and “the bottom of the battery cell” (line 3).
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the thickness D" (line 1).
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 also recites the limitation "the thickness D of the thermally conductive plate" (lines 1-2).
Claim 12 depends on claim 9. Claim 9 defines “a pair of thermally conductive plates”.
The use of the singular form “the thermally conductive plate” in claim 12 creates ambiguity as to whether the claim thickness applies to a specific one, but undefined of the pair of thermally conductive plates or if it applies to both thermally conductive plates.
For the purposes of examination, either interpretation will be considered to meet the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin. (The equivalent U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0077521 is used in lieu of a formal translation of Jin).
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a battery pack. The battery pack comprises a battery box (1, “box”) having an accommodating cavity (abstract and figure 5).
The battery pack comprises a battery cell (21) accommodated in the accommodating cavity (paragraphs [0040, 0049]). The battery cell (21) comprises an electrode assembly (211) and an electrode terminal (paragraph [0050]). The electrode assembly (211) is connected to the electrode terminal (paragraph [0050]).
The battery cell (21) comprises a first wall (2121). The first wall (2121) is a wall with the largest area of the battery cell (21) (paragraph [0053] and figure 8).
The battery pack further comprises a metal cooling plate (3) arranged opposite to the first wall (2121), fixedly connected to the first wall (2121) and thermally conductively connected to the first wall (2121) (paragraphs [0047, 0048]). The metal cooling plate (3) is formed of metal and is bonded to the battery cell (21) (figure 5) – it is therefore considered a “reinforcing member”.
Regarding claim 2, Jin teaches that the cooling plate (3, “reinforcing member”) is bonded to the first wall (2121) via an adhesive layer (paragraph [0047] and figure 5).
Regarding claim 3, Jin teaches that there are two cooling plates (3) (figure 5). The first cooling plate (3) is positioned above the battery cell (21) – this one is considered the “reinforcing member”. The second cooling plate (3) is positioned below the battery (21). The second cooling plate (3) is in the accommodating cavity and placed against an inside wall of the battery box (1) (figure 5). Thus, the second cooling plate (3) may be considered a “bottom wall” of the accommodating cavity.
The second cooling plate (3, “bottom wall of the accommodating cavity”) is bonded to a bottom wall of the battery cell (21) via an adhesive layer (“third adhesive layer”) (paragraph [0047] and figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Jin teaches that the cooling plate (3, “reinforcing member”) is a thermally conductive member (paragraph [0047]).
The cooling plate (3, “reinforcing member”) is internally provided with a fluid passage (31, “hollow cavity”) (paragraph [0048] and figure 6).
The fluid passage (31, “hollow cavity”) is configured to accommodate a cooling medium to adjust the temperature of the battery cell (21) (paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 20, Jin teaches a vehicle (“electrical apparatus”) comprising the battery pack of claim 1. The battery pack is configured to supply electric energy (paragraph [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0302561, hereinafter Harris.
Regarding claim 5, Jin teaches a plurality of battery cells (21) arranged along the x-direction (“2nd direction”) (figure 5).
The cooling plate (3, “reinforcing member”) is a partition plate extending in the x-direction (“2nd direction”) and connected to the first wall (2121) of each battery cell (21) (paragraphs [0047, 0048] and figure 5). The x-direction (“2nd direction”) is parallel to the first wall (2121) (figure 5).
Jin teaches a thermally conductive adhesive layer positioned between and bonding the cooling plate (3, “partition plate”) and the first wall (2121) the battery cell (21) (paragraph [0047] and figure 5).
Jin fails to specify that the thermally conductive adhesive layer is electrically insulating.
The use of electrically insulating and thermally conductive adhesives is ubiquitous in the art – see, e.g. Harris (paragraph [0038]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure that the thermally conductive adhesive of Jin is electrically insulating/isolating for the purpose of preventing an unwanted electric current flow path and thus preventing short-circuiting of the cells.
Regarding claim 7, Jin teaches that the cooling plate (3, “partition plate”) is internally provided with a fluid passage (31, “hollow cavity”) (paragraph [0048] and figure 6).
The fluid passage (31, “hollow cavity”) is configured to accommodate a cooling medium to adjust the temperature of the battery cell (21) (paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Jin teaches that the cooling plate (3, “partition plate”) comprises a pair of thermally conductive plates arranged opposite each other in the z-direction (“1st direction”) with the fluid passage (31, “hollow cavity”) provided between them (figure 6). The z-direction (“1st direction”) is perpendicular to the first wall (2121) (figure 5).
Reinforcement ribs are arranged between the pair of walls and connected to the pair of walls (figure 6).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0302561, hereinafter Harris as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/253684, hereinafter Su. (The equivalent U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2023/0091830 is used in lieu of a formal translation of Su).
Regarding claim 10, Jin teaches a reinforcing rib. Two ends of the reinforcing rib are respectively connected to the pair of thermally conductive plates (figure 6).
Jin fails to teach that the reinforcing rib is inclined relative to the z-direction (“1st direction”).
Su teaches a temperature control component (1) having two side plates (11 and 12) which are arranged opposite each other and define a cavity between them. The cavity is used for the flow of coolant. Buffer plates (13, 14, “reinforcing ribs”), each having two ends respectively connected to the two side plates (11 and 12) are positioned within the cavity and define channels (F) for the flow of coolant. Su teaches that the buffer plates (13, 14, “reinforcing ribs”) form an angle of 45° or less with the side plates (11 and 12) (paragraph [0052] and figures 8, 15 and 20). The temperature control component (1) is arranged such that a side plate (11/12) is in contact with the largest surface area wall of a battery cell (2A) (figure 10). Su teaches that the inclined buffer plates (13, 14, “reinforcing ribs”) serve to absorb swelling from the battery cell (paragraph [0051]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange Jin’s reinforcing rib such that it is inclined at an angle of 45° or less relative to one of the thermally conductive plates for the purpose of being able to absorb swelling from the battery cells (21).
The z-direction (“1st direction”) extends perpendicular to the pair of thermally conductive plates. Therefore the angle of the reinforcing rib Jin as modified by Su would be 45° or more relative to the z-direction (“1st direction”).
The optimum range for the angle of Jin as modified by Su overlaps the instant application's optimum range of 30° to 60°. It has been held that in the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 11, Jin teaches a first reinforcing rib.
Jin fails to teach a second reinforcing rib having one end connected to one of the pair of thermally conductive plates and a second end spaced apart from the other of the pair of thermally conductive plates.
Su teaches a limit protrusion (111/121, “second reinforcing rib”), which has one end connected to one of the side plates (11 or 12) and another end spaced apart from the other of the side plates (11 or 12) such that it protrudes from the one side plate (11 or 12) and is spaced apart from the buffer plates (13, 14, “reinforcing ribs”) (paragraphs [0064, 0065] and figures 12, 15-17 and 20-22). The purpose of the second limit protrusion (111/121, “second reinforcing rib”) is to limit the amount of deformation of the temperature control component (1) under compression and to permit coolant to continue to flow even after deformation (paragraph [0065]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second reinforcing rib, spaced apart from the first reinforcing rib, the second reinforcing rib having one end connected to one of the pair of thermally conductive plates, extending in the z-direction (“1st direction”) and a second end spaced apart from the other of the pair of thermally conductive plates for the purpose of limiting the amount of deformation possible in the cooling plate (3, “partition plate”) and permitting coolant to flow even after deformation.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0302561, hereinafter Harris as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0212216, hereinafter Handing.
Regarding claim 13, Jin teaches that the cooling plate (3, “partition plate”) is provided with a medium inlet and a medium outlet (paragraph [0048]). The fluid passage (31, “hollow cavity”) is in communication with the medium inlet and the medium outlet (paragraph [0048]). The cooling plate (3, “partition plate”) supports the battery cells from below (figure 5).
Jin fails to teach that the cooling plate (3, “partition plate”) is internally provided with a chamber disconnected from both the medium inlet and the medium outlet.
Handing teaches a battery holder element (100) configured to support battery cells from below. The battery holder element (100) comprises channels (113) for the flow of a coolant medium, which are connected to a coolant inlet and outlet (paragraphs [0027, 0065, 0088, 0089] and figure 6, 7 and 8a). The battery holder element (100) further comprises hollow chambers (103-1, 103-2, etc) defined by webs (119), which are not connected to the coolant inlet and outlet of the channels (113) and serve as structural support and are intended to absorb external impact (abstract, paragraphs [0036-0040, 0049, 0067, 0068, 0099] and figures 6, 7 and 8a).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an internal chamber defined by webs within the cooling plate (3, “partition plate”), which is disconnected from the heat exchange medium inlet and outlet for the purpose of providing structural support and absorb external impact to Jin’s assembly.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/253684, hereinafter Su.
Regarding claim 14, Jin teaches a cooling plate (3, “reinforcing member”) comprising a fluid passage (31, “hollow cavity”).
Jin fails to teach that the cooling plate (3, “reinforcing member”) is configured to be deformable when compressed.
Su teaches a temperature control component (1) having two side plates (11 and 12) which are arranged opposite each other and define a cavity between them. The cavity is used for the flow of coolant. Buffer plates (13, 14), each having two ends respectively connected to the two side plates (11 and 12) are positioned within the cavity and define channels (F) for the flow of coolant. Su teaches that the buffer plates (13, 14) form an acute angle with the side plates (11 and 12), which allows them to deform, but not fracture in response to expansion/swelling of adjacent battery cells (paragraphs [0051, 0052] and figures 8, 15 and 20).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include buffer plates (13, 14) in Jin’s cooling plate (3, “reinforcing member”) so that it can deform and absorb swelling from the battery cells (21).
Regarding claim 15, Jin teaches a cooling plate (3, “reinforcing member”) comprising a fluid passage (31, “hollow cavity”).
Jin fails to teach that the cooling plate (3, “reinforcing member”) includes an avoidance structure configured to provide a space for expansion of the battery cell.
Su teaches a temperature control component (1) having two side plates (11 and 12) which are arranged opposite each other and define a cavity between them. The cavity is used for the flow of coolant. Buffer plates (13, 14), each having two ends respectively connected to the two side plates (11 and 12) are positioned within the cavity and define channels (F) for the flow of coolant. Su teaches that the buffer plates (13, 14) form an acute angle with the side plates (11 and 12), which allows them to deform, but not fracture in response to expansion/swelling of adjacent battery cells (paragraphs [0051, 0052] and figures 8, 15 and 20). The buffer plates (13, 14) are “an avoidance structure”, which avoids fracture and provides space for the expansion of the battery cells.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include buffer plates (13, 14, “avoidance structure”) in Jin’s cooling plate (3, “reinforcing member”) for the purpose of being able to absorb swelling from the battery cells (21).
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/248785, hereinafter Wang in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin. (The equivalent U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0265679 is used in lieu of a formal translation of Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a battery pack. The battery pack comprises a case (2, “box”) having an accommodating cavity (paragraph [0054, 0055] and figure 1).
The battery pack comprises a battery cell (111) accommodated in the accommodating cavity (paragraph [0057]). The battery cell (111) comprises an electrode assembly (112) and an electrode terminal (114b) (paragraphs [0067, 0071] and figure 4). The electrode assembly (112) is connected to the electrode terminal (114b) (paragraph [0072]).
The battery cell (111) comprises a first wall (113a). The first wall (113a) is a wall with the largest area of the battery cell (111) (paragraph [0074).
The battery pack further comprises a heat exchange member (3) arranged opposite to the first wall (113a) and thermally conductively connected to the first wall (113a) (paragraphs [0066, 0081] and figure 1). The heat exchange member (3) supports the battery cell (111) from below and is thus considered a “reinforcing member”.
Wang teaches that the heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) is in contact with the first wall (113a) via a thermally conductive member (paragraph [0066]).
Wang fails to teach that the heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) is fixedly connected to the first wall (113a).
The Jin reference is commonly owned with Wang and shares inventors. Jin teaches an analogous battery having a metal cooling plate (3) in contact with a first wall (2121) of battery cells (21). Jin teaches that the first wall (2121) and the cooling plate (3) are bonded by a thermally conductive adhesive (paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include thermally conductive adhesive as the thermally conductive member in Wang for the purpose of securing the heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) to the battery cell (111).
Regarding claim 2, Wang as modified by Jin teaches that the heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) is bonded to the first wall (113a) via an adhesive layer (Jin’s paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches that the heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) is a thermally conductive member (paragraph [0089]).
The heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) comprises a flow channel (“hollow cavity”) for accommodating a fluid to adjust a temperature of the battery cell (21) (paragraph [0089]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches a vehicle (“electrical apparatus”) comprising the battery pack of claim 1. The battery pack is configured to supply electric energy (paragraph [0053]).
Claims 5-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/248785, hereinafter Wang in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0302561, hereinafter Harris.
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches a plurality of battery cells (111) arranged along the x-direction (“2nd direction”) (paragraph [0057] and figure 1).
The heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) is a partition plate extending in the x-direction (“2nd direction”) and connected to the first wall (113a) of each battery cell (111) (paragraphs [0066, 0081] and figure 1). The x-direction (“2nd direction”) is parallel to the first wall (113a) (figure 1).
Wang as modified by Jin teaches a thermally conductive adhesive layer positioned between and bonding the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) and the first wall (113a) the battery cell (111).
Wang as modified by Jin fails to specify that the thermally conductive adhesive layer is electrically insulating.
The use of electrically insulating and thermally conductive adhesives is ubiquitous in the art – see, e.g. Harris (paragraph [0038]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure that the thermally conductive adhesive of Wang as modified by Jin is electrically insulating/isolating for the purpose of preventing an unwanted electric current flow path and thus preventing short-circuiting of the cells.
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches a y-direction (3rd direction). The y-direction (3rd direction) is perpendicular to the x-direction (“2nd direction”) and parallel to the first wall (113a) (figure 1).
Each of the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) and the first wall (113a) of the battery cell (111) has a dimension along the y-direction (3rd direction) (figure 1).
The dimension of the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) along the y-direction (3rd direction) and the dimension of the first wall (113a) of the battery cell (111) along the y-direction (3rd direction) appear to be approximately the same (figure 1).
Alternatively, given that the purpose of the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) is to cool the first wall (113a) of the battery cell (111), it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure that the dimension of the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) along the y-direction (3rd direction) and the dimension of the first wall (113a) of the battery cell (111) along the y-direction (3rd direction) are the same for the purpose of maximizing the area for heat transfer.
In this arrangement, the instantly claimed ratio H1/H2 would be 1.
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches that the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) is internally provided with a flow channel (“hollow cavity”) for accommodating a fluid to adjust a temperature of the battery cell (21) (paragraph [0089]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches that the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) is internally provided with a flow channel (“hollow cavity”) for accommodating a fluid to adjust a temperature of the battery cell (111) (paragraph [0089]).
Given that the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) has a channel for flow of a heat exchange liquid inside it, it is understood to have a pair of walls (“thermally conductive plates”) disposed opposite to each other in the z-direction (“1st direction”) with the channel (“hollow cavity”) disposed between them. The z-direction (“1st direction”) is perpendicular to the first wall (113a) (figures 1 and 2).
Wang does not provide details on the geometry inside the cooling plate (3).
Wang fails to teach a reinforcing rib between the pair of walls (“thermally conductive plates”) and connected to at least one of them.
The placement of reinforcement ribs in coolant-carrying heat exchanger plates of the type taught by Wang is ubiquitous in the art – see, e.g. Jin, whose cooling plate (3) includes a cooling channel between a pair of walls and reinforcement ribs between the pair of walls and connected to the pair of walls (paragraph [0048] and figure 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use reinforcement ribs between the pair of walls (“thermally conductive plates”) in Wang’s heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) for the purpose of providing structural support to the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/248785, hereinafter Wang in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0302561, hereinafter Harris as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0212411, hereinafter Hu and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0204397, hereinafter Cai.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches that a dimension of the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) in the z-direction (“1st direction”) is 3 mm (paragraph [0089]). Therefore the channel has a dimension (“W”) along the z-direction (“1st direction, which is less than 3 mm.
The z-direction (“1st direction”) is perpendicular to the first wall (113a) (figures 1 and 2).
Wang teaches that each battery cell (111) is a lithium-ion battery cell (paragraph [0057]).
Wang fails to report a ratio of the capacity of the battery cell (111) to the dimension (“W”) of the flow channel along the z-direction (“1st direction”).
Given the approximate size (“W”) of the flow channel, in order to satisfy the claimed ratio Q/W, each battery cell (111) would need to have a capacity within the approximate range from somewhat less than 3 Ah to somewhat less than 1200 Ah.
Typical prismatic lithium-ion battery cells in the art have capacities well within this very broad range – see, e.g. Hu (paragraph [0051]) and Cai (paragraphs [0065, 0066]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a typical prismatic lithium-ion battery with a capacity within the range somewhat less than 3 Ah to somewhat less than 1200 Ah and thus meet the claimed ratio.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/248785, hereinafter Wang, WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0302561, hereinafter Harris as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/253684, hereinafter Su.
Regarding claim 10, Wang as modified by Jin teaches a reinforcing rib. Two ends of the reinforcing rib are respectively connected to the pair of walls (“thermally conductive plates”) (Jin’s figure 6).
Wang as modified by Jin fails to teach that the reinforcing rib is inclined relative to the z-direction (“1st direction”).
Su teaches a temperature control component (1) having two side plates (11 and 12) which are arranged opposite each other and define a cavity between them. The cavity is used for the flow of coolant. Buffer plates (13, 14, “reinforcing ribs”), each having two ends respectively connected to the two side plates (11 and 12) are positioned within the cavity and define channels (F) for the flow of coolant. Su teaches that the buffer plates (13, 14, “reinforcing ribs”) form an angle of 45° or less with the side plates (11 and 12) (paragraph [0052] and figures 8, 15 and 20). The temperature control component (1) is arranged such that a side plate (11/12) is in contact with the largest surface area wall of a battery cell (2A) (figure 10). Su teaches that the inclined buffer plates (13, 14, “reinforcing ribs”) serve to absorb swelling from the battery cell (paragraph [0051]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the reinforcing rib of Wang as modified by Jin such that it is inclined at an angle of 45° or less relative to one of the pair of walls (“thermally conductive plates”) for the purpose of being able to absorb swelling from the battery cells (111).
The z-direction (“1st direction”) extends perpendicular to the pair of walls (“thermally conductive plates”). Therefore the angle of the reinforcing rib of Wang as modified by Jin and Su would be 45° or more relative to the z-direction (“1st direction”).
The optimum range for the angle of Wang as modified by Jin and Su overlaps the instant application's optimum range of 30° to 60°. It has been held that in the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 11, Wang as modified by Jin teaches a first reinforcing rib.
Wang as modified by Jin fails to teach a second reinforcing rib having one end connected to one of the pair of walls and a second end spaced apart from the other of the pair of walls.
Su teaches a limit protrusion (111/121, “second reinforcing rib”), which has one end connected to one of the side plates (11 or 12) and another end spaced apart from the other of the side plates (11 or 12) such that it protrudes from the one side plate (11 or 12) and is spaced apart from the buffer plates (13, 14, “reinforcing ribs”) (paragraphs [0064, 0065] and figures 12, 15-17 and 20-22). The purpose of the second limit protrusion (111/121, “second reinforcing rib”) is to limit the amount of deformation of the temperature control component (1) under compression and to permit coolant to continue to flow even after deformation (paragraph [0065]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second reinforcing rib, spaced apart from the first reinforcing rib, the second reinforcing rib having one end connected to one of the pair of walls, extending in the z-direction (“1st direction”) and a second end spaced apart from the other of the pair of walls for the purpose of limiting the amount of deformation possible in the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) and permitting coolant to flow even after deformation.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/248785, hereinafter Wang, WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0302561, hereinafter Harris as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0288353, hereinafter Harris ‘353.
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches that heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) comprises a flow channel (“hollow cavity”) for accommodating a fluid to adjust a temperature of the battery cells (21) and is positioned below the battery cells (paragraph [0089] and figure 1). Given that the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) has a channel for flow of a heat exchange liquid inside it, it is understood to have a pair of walls (“thermally conductive plates”) disposed opposite to each other in the z-direction (“1st direction”) with the channel (“hollow cavity”) disposed between them.
Each of the pair of walls (“thermally conductive plates”) has a thickness (“D”) measured along the z-direction (“1st direction”) and the channel (“hollow cavity”) has a depth/dimension (“W”) along the z-direction (“1st direction”).
In an example, Wang teaches that the heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) has an overall thickness (L3) along the z-direction (“1st direction”) of 3 mm (paragraph [0089] and figure 3).
Wang does not provide information on the thickness (“D”) of one of the pair of walls (“thermally conductive plates”) and the depth (“W”) of the channel (“hollow cavity”).
Wang fails to specify the claimed ratio.
Harris ’353 teaches a cooling plate (105) comprising flow channels (110). The cooling plate (105) is used to cool battery cells in a vehicle (paragraphs [0006, 0048]). Harris ‘353 teaches that a height (“depth”) of the channels may be in the range 2 mm to 2.5 mm and a thickness of the metal between the battery cell and cooling channel may be in the range 0.5 mm to 3 mm (paragraphs [0051, 0060]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select for example a thickness (“D”) of each wall (“thermally conductive plate”) of 0.5 mm and a height (“W”) of the channel (“hollow cavity”) of 2 mm (and thus arrive at a total thickness of 3 mm as taught by Wang) for the purpose of minimizing the distance from the battery cells to the coolant and providing a sufficient coolant flow.
The resulting ratio D/W would be 0.25.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/248785, hereinafter Wang, WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0302561, hereinafter Harris as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0212216, hereinafter Handing.
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches that heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) comprises a flow channel (“hollow cavity”) for accommodating a fluid to adjust a temperature of the battery cells (21) and is positioned to support the battery cells from below (paragraph [0089] and figure 1). Wang teaches that the flow channel (“hollow cavity”) is connected to a pipe line, which is used to supply the heat exchange fluid (paragraph [0089]). As such, it is understood that the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) is provided with a heat exchange medium inlet and outlet, which are in communication with the flow channel (“hollow cavity”).
Wang fails to teach that the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”) is internally provided with a chamber disconnected from both the medium inlet and the medium outlet.
Handing teaches a battery holder element (100) configured to support battery cells from below. The battery holder element (100) comprises channels (113) for the flow of a coolant medium, which are connected to a coolant inlet and outlet (paragraphs [0027, 0065, 0088, 0089] and figure 6, 7 and 8a). The battery holder element (100) further comprises hollow chambers (103-1, 103-2, etc) defined by webs (119), which are not connected to the coolant inlet and outlet of the channels (113) and serve as structural support and are intended to absorb external impact (abstract, paragraphs [0036-0040, 0049, 0067, 0068, 0099] and figures 6, 7, 8a).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an internal chamber defined b webs within the heat exchange member (3, “partition plate”), which is disconnected from the heat exchange medium inlet and outlet for the purpose of providing structural support and absorb external impact to Wang’s assembly.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/248785, hereinafter Wang in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0135940, hereinafter Rawlinson.
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches that heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) comprises a flow channel (“hollow cavity”) for accommodating a fluid to adjust a temperature of the battery cells (21) and is positioned below the battery cells (paragraph [0089] and figure 1).
Wang further teaches that the battery pack (1) is positioned at a bottom of a vehicle (paragraph [0053]).
Wang fails to teach that the heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) is configured to be deformable when compressed.
The use of deformable battery pack cooling conduits configured to absorb impact energy when an object strikes the bottom of a battery pack positioned in a vehicle is known in the art – see, e.g. Rawlinson (abstract, paragraph [0031] and figure 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure that the heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) is deformable when compressed for the purpose of being able to absorb impact energy and thus minimizing potential damage to the battery cells in the battery pack as taught by Rawlinson.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/248785, hereinafter Wang in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/253684, hereinafter Su.
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches that the heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) is internally provided with a flow channel (“hollow cavity”) for accommodating a coolant fluid (paragraph [0089]).
Wang fails to teach that the heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) is configured to be deformable when compressed.
Su teaches a temperature control component (1) having two side plates (11 and 12) which are arranged opposite each other and define a cavity between them. The cavity is used for the flow of coolant. Buffer plates (13, 14), each having two ends respectively connected to the two side plates (11 and 12) are positioned within the cavity and define channels (F) for the flow of coolant. Su teaches that the buffer plates (13, 14) form an acute angle with the side plates (11 and 12), which allows them to deform, but not fracture in response to expansion/swelling of adjacent battery cells (paragraphs [0051, 0052] and figures 8, 15 and 20).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include buffer plates (13, 14) in Wang’s heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) so that it can deform and absorb swelling from the battery cells.
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches that the heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) is internally provided with a flow channel (“hollow cavity”) for accommodating a coolant fluid (paragraph [0089]).
Wang fails to teach that the heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) includes an avoidance structure configured to provide a space for expansion of the battery cell.
Su teaches a temperature control component (1) having two side plates (11 and 12) which are arranged opposite each other and define a cavity between them. The cavity is used for the flow of coolant. Buffer plates (13, 14), each having two ends respectively connected to the two side plates (11 and 12) are positioned within the cavity and define channels (F) for the flow of coolant. Su teaches that the buffer plates (13, 14) form an acute angle with the side plates (11 and 12), which allows them to deform, but not fracture in response to expansion/swelling of adjacent battery cells (paragraphs [0051, 0052] and figures 8, 15 and 20). The buffer plates (13, 14) are “an avoidance structure”, which avoids fracture and provides space for the expansion of the battery cells.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include buffer plates (13, 14, “avoidance structure”) in Wang’s heat exchange member (3, “reinforcing member”) for the purpose of being able to absorb swelling from the battery cells.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/248785, hereinafter Wang in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2023/0048535, hereinafter Fujii.
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches that the battery cell (111) comprises a housing (113) in which the electrode assembly (112) is accommodated (paragraph [0067] and figure 4).
Wang fails to teach that the housing (113) includes a pressure relief mechanism.
It is well-known in the art to provide pressure relief valves on the housings of battery cells of the type taught by Wang – see, e.g. Fujii (paragraphs [0002, 0003]). Fujii teaches a pressure relief valve (1) integrally formed with the battery lid of a battery case (paragraph [0035] and figure 1). The battery lid comprises a rupture groove (7) (paragraph [0043] and figures 2 and 3). A bottom of the rupture groove (7) is a “weak portion” configured to be ruptured when an internal pressure of the battery cell is released (paragraph [0050] and figure 10). A non-weak region (2) surrounds the rupture groove (7) (paragraphs [0035, 0038] and figures 1 and 3). The pressure relief valve (1) comprises the rupture groove (7).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a pressure relief valve including the rupture groove on Wang’s housing (113) for the purpose of being able to release pressure built up in the battery cell and to thereby improve the safety of the battery cell.
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/248785, hereinafter Wang in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2021/000545, hereinafter Liang. (The equivalent U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0111412 is used in lieu of a formal translation of Liang).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches that the electrode assembly (112) includes a positive electrode sheet (112a) and a negative electrode sheet (112b) (paragraph [0073]).
The positive electrode sheet (112a) comprises a current collector and an active material layer (paragraph [0073]).
Wang teaches that the positive current collector is formed of aluminum and the active material may be lithium manganate or lithium iron phosphate (paragraph [0073]).
Wang fails to teach that the positive current collector comprises a supporting layer and a conductive layer.
Liang is commonly owned with Wang and teaches a positive electrode current collector (10) for a lithium ion battery supporting the same positive electrode active material as Wang (paragraph [0037, 0114]). The positive electrode current collector (10) includes a support layer (101) and an aluminum conductive layer (102). The support layer (101) carries the aluminum conductive layer (102) (paragraphs [0037, 0038] and figures 1 and 2). The aluminum conductive layer (102) carries the positive active material layer (paragraphs [0008, 0078]). Liang teaches that the positive electrode current collector with such a structure improves the safety of the battery (paragraph [0006]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Wang’s positive current collector with a support layer (101) and an aluminum conductive layer (102) such that the support layer (101) carries the aluminum conductive layer (102) and the aluminum conductive layer (102) carries the positive electrode active material for the purpose of improving the safety of the battery as taught by Liang.
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches that the electrode assembly (112) includes a positive electrode sheet (112a) (paragraph [0073]).
The positive electrode sheet (112a) comprises a current collector and an active material layer coated on a surface of the current collector (paragraph [0073]). The active material layer comprises a positive active material such as lithium manganate or lithium iron phosphate (paragraph [0073]).
Wang fails to teach the claimed LiMPO4, where M comprises Mn and a non-Mn element.
LiMPO4, where M comprises Mn and a non-Mn element is a well-known positive active material in the art – see, e.g. Liang. Liang is commonly owned with Wang and directed to the same type of lithium ion battery. Liang teaches the same active materials as Wang and further teaches LiMPO4, where M is one or more of Fe, Mn and Co. Liang describes all of these positive active materials as known in the field (paragraphs [0113, 0114]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select LiMPO4, where M is Mn and Fe or Mn and Co as the positive active material in Wang’s battery, as these are well-known positive active materials used in the art for the same purpose.
Fe has a highest valence of 6 and Co has a highest valence of 5.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/248785, hereinafter Wang in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2020/140336, hereinafter Jin as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. 111697203, hereinafter Ma.
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches that the electrode assembly (112) includes a positive electrode sheet (112a) (paragraph [0073]).
The positive electrode sheet (112a) comprises a current collector and an active material layer coated on a surface of the current collector (paragraph [0073]). The active material layer comprises a positive active material such as a ternary material, lithium manganate or lithium iron phosphate (paragraph [0073]).
Wang fails to teach the instantly claimed shell.
Ma teaches a positive active material for a lithium-ion battery. The positive active material is a lithium iron phosphate core with a coating (“shell”) including niobium oxide (Nb2O5) (paragraphs [0038, 0046, 0083]). Nb2O5 is a crystalline inorganic substance with a full width at half maximum of a main peak measured by X-ray diffraction of 0-3° (figure 2). Ma teaches that the coating (“shell”) prevents side reactions with the electrolyte and improve the electrical conductivity of the active material (paragraph [0046]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a coating (“shell”) including the crystalline metal oxide Nb2O5 on Wang’s lithium iron phosphate core for the purpose of preventing side reactions with the electrolyte and improving the electrical conductivity of the active material.
Conclusion
/LILIA NEDIALKOVA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724