Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onaka et al. (WO 2019/026595 in view of Coccioli et al. (6,818,985) further in view of Tanaka et al. (9,917,357).
Regarding Claim 1, Onaka et al. (WO 2019/026595) discloses an antenna module (1) comprising:
a substrate (14) having a first main surface (top surface of 14) and a second main surface (bottom surface of 14) facing in opposite directions (Fig. 1A);
a first radiating element (radiation electrode 11a) that is disposed along the first main surface (top surface of 14) (Fig. 1A);
an electronic component (RFIC 400) that is disposed on a second main surface side (bottom surface of 14) and is electrically connected (through power supply wiring 12a) to the first radiating element (11a); and
As discussed above, Onaka essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose a molded body that is disposed on the second main surface side and covers the electronic component with a resin, wherein the first radiating element is disposed to straddle the substrate and the molded body.
However, Coccioli et al. (6,818,985) discloses mold compound (128) that is disposed on the second main surface side (surface of substrate 102) and covers the electronic component (semiconductor die 104) with a resin (biphenyl resin) to protect semiconductor die (104) (Col. 5, lines 18-25), wherein first radiating element (antenna element 124) is disposed to straddle the substrate (102) and the molded body (128) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a mold compound of Coccioli to cover the electronic component in Onaka in order to protect the electronic component from chemical contamination or physical damage during use as taught by Coccioli.
As discussed above, Onaka essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose a first radiating element that is disposed on a side surface of the substrate.
However, Tanaka et al. (9,917,357) discloses radiating element (423) disposed on the side (40b) of the substrate (40) (Figs. 15, 16, Col. 4, lines 22-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided or extended the radiating element to the side the substrate in Onaka in order to enhance the radiation and enlarge the radiation coverage as taught by Tanaka.
Regarding Claim 2, Onaka discloses the antenna module according to claim 1, further comprising: a second radiating element (11b) that is disposed along the first main surface (top surface of 14).
Regarding Claim 3, Onaka discloses the antenna module according to claim 1, wherein the first radiating element is a flat plate-shaped electrode (radiation electrode 11a, b and c are flat, see Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 8, Onaka discloses radiating electrodes (11a, 11b and 11c) (fig. 1A) but does not particularly disclose they are same size or different size.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the radiating electrodes in a predetermined desired size in order to radiate desired level of radiation. Besides, it has been held that changing in size merely involves routine skill in the art.
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976).
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding Claim 10, Onaka discloses the antenna module according to claim 1, further comprising: a ground electrode (13) that is disposed to face the first radiating element (11a), wherein the ground electrode (13) is disposed to straddle the substrate (14) and the molded body (from Coccioli).
Regarding Claim 18, Onaka discloses an antenna module (1) comprising:
a substrate (14) having a first main surface (top surface of 14) and a second main surface (bottom surface of 14) facing in opposite directions (fig. 1A);
a plurality of first radiating elements (11a, b, c) that are disposed along the first main surface (top surface of 14);
an electronic component (RFIC 400) that is disposed on a second main surface side (bottom surface of 14) and is electrically connected to the plurality of first radiating elements (11a, b, c); and
As discussed above, Onaka essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose a molded body that is disposed on the second main surface side and covers the electronic component with a resin, wherein each of the plurality of first radiating elements is disposed to straddle the substrate and the molded body.
However, Coccioli et al. (6,818,985) discloses mold compound (128) that is disposed on the second main surface side (surface of substrate 102) and covers the electronic component (semiconductor die 104) with a resin (biphenyl resin) to protect semiconductor die (104) (Col. 5, lines 18-25), wherein first radiating element (antenna element 124) is disposed to straddle the substrate (102) and the molded body (128) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a mold compound of Coccioli to cover the electronic component in Onaka in order to protect the electronic component from chemical contamination or physical damage during use as taught by Coccioli.
As discussed above, Onaka essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose a first radiating element that is disposed on a side surface of the substrate.
However, Tanaka et al. (9,917,357) discloses radiating element (423) disposed on the side (40b) of the substrate (40) (Figs. 15, 16, Col. 4, lines 22-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided or extended the radiating element to the side the substrate in Onaka in order to enhance the radiation and enlarge the radiation coverage as taught by Tanaka.
Regarding Claim 20, Onaka discloses a communication device comprising:
the antenna module (1) according to claim 1 (See abstract).
Claim(s) 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onaka et al. (WO 2019/026595 in view of Coccioli et al. (6,818,985), further in view of Tanaka et al. (9,917,357), and further in view of Eun et al. (2024/0097312).
Regarding Claim 16, as discussed above, Onaka essentially discloses the second main surface (bottom surface of 14) and the electronic component (RFIC 400) but does not explicitly disclose the antenna module according to claim 1, further comprising: a circuit board that is disposed between the second main surface and the electronic component, wherein the electronic component is mounted on the circuit board.
However, Eun et al. (2024/0097312) discloses an advantage of securing a wider component arrangement space on a printed circuit board (paragraph [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a circuit board to allow the electronic components and surface mount in Onaka in order to secure the components in the device and facilitate the mass production through the printed circuit board.
Regarding Claim 17, as discussed above, Onaka essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the antenna module according to claim 2, further comprising: a circuit board that is disposed between the second main surface and the electronic component, wherein the electronic component is mounted on the circuit board.
However, Eun et al. (2024/0097312) discloses an advantage of securing a wider component arrangement space on a printed circuit board (paragraph [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a circuit board to allow the electronic components and surface mount in Onaka in order to secure the components in the device and facilitate the mass production through the printed circuit board.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 4-7, 9, 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Prior arts of record do not render obvious, nor anticipate the combination of claimed elements including the technique of:
“a plurality of second radiating elements that are disposed along the first main surface in the first direction and disposed on the substrate;
an electronic component that is disposed on a second main surface side and is electrically connected to the first radiating element and the second radiating element;
a molded body that is disposed on the second main surface side and covers the electronic component with a resin; and
a connector that is disposed on the second main surface side at a position adjacent to the molded body in the first direction, wherein the first radiating element is disposed to straddle the substrate and the molded body, and
when the substrate is viewed from a plan view in a normal direction, the first radiating element is not provided on a virtual line passing through the connector and orthogonal to the first direction, and the second radiating element is provided at a position where the virtual line extends to the first main surface.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845