DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “acquisition unit”, “estimation unit”, and “drive unit” in claims 1-4.
Accompanying structure for the acquisition, estimation, and drive units can be found in paragraph [0098] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “just before” in claims 1-4 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “just before” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree beyond paragraph [0041] of the specification, which states ““Δ” is, for example, 1 to 10 degrees”, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The angle difference between the first or second position and a position where the first and second elements are turned off and on is rendered indefinite by the use of “just before”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suriano et al. (US 5654616 A) in view of Byun (KR 20210146098 A).
Regarding claim 1, Suriano teach A wiper control device (see at least FIG. 1: windshield wiper device 10) comprising:
an acquisition unit (see at least FIG. 7: common brush 36) configured to acquire a value (see at least (3) column 2 lines 54-55: “An application of 12 volts across the common brush 36”) related to a current flowing through a wiper motor (see at least FIG. 7: motor 30) that drives a wiper (see at least FIG. 1: wiper arm 16) configured to reciprocate between a first position (see at least FIG. 1: second end wipe position B; FIG. 4B: right side of region P3) and a second position (see at least FIG. 1: FIG. 4B left side of region P2);
a drive unit (see at least FIG. 2: rotary switch 40) configured to reduce an electric power supplied (see at least FIG. 4B, (10)-(11) column 4 lines 5-33: Moving clockwise, when the wiper enters region P2, sliding contact 56 contacts plate 44, which routes current to low speed brush 34. When the wiper reaches the end of region P2, sliding contact 60 disconnects with plate 44, which disconnects current from high speed brush 32.; (11) column 4 lines 24-27: “Further rotation of the wiper arm 16 toward the end wipe position causes the arm to enter region P3 where the motor 30 operates at low speed.”) to the wiper motor when a position of the wiper is just before (FIG. 4B: region P2) the first position or when the position of the wiper is just before the second position.
However, Suriano does not explicitly teach an acquisition unit *Examiner’s interpretation: as interpreted under 112(f) to comprise a computer or processor.*,
an estimation unit configured to estimate a wiper angle, which is a rotation angle of the wiper, based on a current ripple in the current flowing through the wiper motor, the current ripple having a periodicity corresponding to driving of the wiper motor;
a drive unit *Examiner’s interpretation: as interpreted under 112(f) to comprise a computer or processor.*.
Byun teach an acquisition unit (see at least FIG. 2: motor control unit 200; [0037]: “motor control unit … may include a high pass filter … for converging the average voltage of the ripple waveform …, a counting unit …, … and a microcomputer … for controlling them.”; [0041]: “motor control unit … may further include a wire … for sensing a ripple waveform from the motor”);
an estimation unit configured to estimate a wiper angle (see at least [0010]: “a motor control unit that calculates the rotational speed of the motor based on the number of ripple waveforms corresponding to the voltage between the high relay brush and the ground brush during the low relay section and the number of commutators, and derives the position of the wiper based on the rotational speed of the motor.”; [0064]: “Based on the rotation speed of the motor, the position of the wiper, or more precisely, the angle of the wiper, can be derived.”), which is a rotation angle of the wiper, based on a current ripple in the current flowing through the wiper motor, the current ripple having a periodicity (see at least [0064]: “If the number of commutators (110) is A and the number of rotations of the wiper motor per one rotation of the wiper is B, the number of ripple waveforms generated during one rotation of the wiper motor is A*B. In steps S540 and S560, the microcomputer (230) can calculate the number of rotations of the motor during the low relay period or the high relay period by dividing the number of ripple waveforms output during the low relay period or the high relay period by A.”) corresponding to driving of the wiper motor;
a drive unit (see at least FIG. 2: motor control unit; [0056]: “The motor control unit (200) can supply power”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suriano to incorporate the teachings of Byun to calculate a wiper angle based on motor current ripple. Doing so would result in “a vehicle wiper control system and wiper control method capable of accurately determining the position of a wiper without increasing cost”, as recognized by Byun in paragraph [0006].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Suriano and Byun teach The wiper control device according to claim 1.
Suriano further teaches further comprising a drive element (see at least FIG. 7: third sliding contact 60) configured to cause the current to flow through the wiper motor to rotate the wiper motor when the drive element is turned on (see at least (10) column 4 lines 6-8: “the motor 30 rotates at high speed when only the second and third sliding contacts 58 and 60 contact the conductive plate 44.”), wherein
the drive unit is configured to reduce the electric power supplied (see at least FIG. 4B, (10)-(11) column 4 lines 5-33: Moving clockwise, when the wiper enters region P2, sliding contact 56 contacts plate 44, which routes current to low speed brush 34. When the wiper reaches the end of region P2, sliding contact 60 disconnects with plate 44, which disconnects current from high speed brush 32.; (11) column 4 lines 24-27: “Further rotation of the wiper arm 16 toward the end wipe position causes the arm to enter region P3 where the motor 30 operates at low speed.”) to the wiper motor by turning the drive element on and off when the position of the wiper is just before (see at least FIG. 4B: region P2) the first position or when the position of the wiper is just before the second position.
Regarding claim 3, Suriano teach A wiper control device (see at least FIG. 1: windshield wiper device 10) comprising:
an acquisition unit (see at least FIG. 7: common brush 36) configured to acquire a value (see at least (3) column 2 lines 54-55: “An application of 12 volts across the common brush 36”) related to a current flowing through a wiper motor (see at least FIG. 7: motor 30) that drives a wiper (see at least FIG. 1: wiper arm 16) configured to reciprocate between a first position (see at least FIG. 1: second end wipe position B; FIG. 4B: right side of region P3) and a second position (see at least FIG. 1: FIG. 4B left side of region P2) and that includes a first terminal (see at least FIG. 7: high speed brush 32) to which an electric power is supplied (see at least (6) column 3 lines 34-38: “A positive terminal 70 of the battery 64 is electrically connected to the high speed brush 32 …. A third conductor 76 extends from the positive terminal 70 to the low speed brush 34”; (16) column 5 lines 24-26: “all speed changes are made with at least one of the high speed and low speed brushes being continually energized.”) to rotate (see at least (7) column 1 lines 40-42: “The wiper am is adapted to be rotatably mounted on a vehicle body for operable movement”) the wiper motor at a first speed (see at least (3) column 2 lines 54-61: “Applying 12 volts across … the high speed brush 32 would result in the wiper arms 16 cycling at a second rate of speed higher than the first rate of speed.”) and a second terminal (see at least FIG. 7: low speed brush 34) to which an electric power is supplied to rotate the wiper motor at a second speed (see at least (3) column 2 lines 54-61: “An application of 12 volts across … the low speed brush 34 would result in the windshield wiper arm 16 cycling … at a first rate of speed.”) slower than the first speed;
a first element (see at least FIG. 7: third sliding contact 60) configured to cause the current to flow through the wiper motor via the first terminal to rotate the wiper motor when the first element is turned on (see at least (10) column 4 lines 6-8: “the motor 30 rotates at high speed when only the second and third sliding contacts 58 and 60 contact the conductive plate 44.”);
a second element (see at least FIG. 7: first sliding contact 56) configured to cause the current to flow through the wiper motor via the second terminal to rotate the wiper motor when the second element is turned on (see at least (10) column 4 lines 8-10: “When only the first and second sliding contacts 56 and 58 contact the conductive plate 44, the motor 30 operates at low speed.”); and
a drive unit (see at least FIG. 2: rotary switch 40) configured to turn on or off the first element and the second element, wherein the drive unit is further configured to
turn the first element from on to off to stop supply of the electric power to the first terminal and turn the second element from off to on to supply the electric power to the second terminal (see at least FIG. 4B, (10)-(11) column 4 lines 5-33: Moving clockwise, when the wiper enters region P2, sliding contact 56 contacts plate 44, which routes current to low speed brush 34. When the wiper reaches the end of region P2, sliding contact 60 disconnects with plate 44, which disconnects current from high speed brush 32.; (11) column 4 lines 24-27: “Further rotation of the wiper arm 16 toward the end wipe position causes the arm to enter region P3 where the motor 30 operates at low speed.”) (i) when the first element is on (see at least FIG. 4B, (11) column 4 lines 20-21: “the motor 30 operating at high speed in the region indicating by P1.”) and (ii) when a position of the wiper is just before (see at least FIG. 4B: region P2) the first position or when the position of the wiper is just before the second position, and
turn the first element from off to on to supply the electric power to the first terminal and turn the second element from on to off to stop the supply of the electric power to the second terminal when the position of the wiper changes from just before the first position to the first position or when the position of the wiper changes (see at least (11) column 4 lines 27-29: “As the eccentric driver 28 passes over center at the end wipe position and the blade 12 reverses direction, the above described sequence is reversed.”; FIG. 4B, (10)-(11) column 4 lines 5-33: Moving counterclockwise from the right side of region P3, when the wiper enters region P2, sliding contact 60 contacts plate 44, which routes current to the high speed brush 34. When the wiper reaches the end of region P2, sliding contact 56 disconnects with plate 44, which disconnects current from low speed brush 34.) from just before (see at least FIG. 4B: region P2) the second position to the second position (see at least FIG. 1: FIG. 4B left side of region P2).
However, Suriano does not explicitly teach an acquisition unit *Examiner’s interpretation: as interpreted under 112(f) to comprise a computer or processor.*,
an estimation unit configured to estimate a wiper angle, which is a rotation angle of the wiper, based on a current ripple in the current flowing through the wiper motor, the current ripple having a periodicity corresponding to driving of the wiper motor;
a drive unit *Examiner’s interpretation: as interpreted under 112(f) to comprise a computer or processor.*.
Byun teach an acquisition unit (see at least FIG. 2: motor control unit 200; [0037]: “motor control unit … may include a high pass filter … for converging the average voltage of the ripple waveform …, a counting unit …, … and a microcomputer … for controlling them.”; [0041]: “motor control unit … may further include a wire … for sensing a ripple waveform from the motor”);
an estimation unit configured to estimate a wiper angle (see at least [0010]: “a motor control unit that calculates the rotational speed of the motor based on the number of ripple waveforms corresponding to the voltage between the high relay brush and the ground brush during the low relay section and the number of commutators, and derives the position of the wiper based on the rotational speed of the motor.”; [0064]: “Based on the rotation speed of the motor, the position of the wiper, or more precisely, the angle of the wiper, can be derived.”), which is a rotation angle of the wiper, based on a current ripple in the current flowing through the wiper motor, the current ripple having a periodicity (see at least [0064]: “If the number of commutators (110) is A and the number of rotations of the wiper motor per one rotation of the wiper is B, the number of ripple waveforms generated during one rotation of the wiper motor is A*B. In steps S540 and S560, the microcomputer (230) can calculate the number of rotations of the motor during the low relay period or the high relay period by dividing the number of ripple waveforms output during the low relay period or the high relay period by A.”) corresponding to driving of the wiper motor;
a drive unit (see at least FIG. 2: motor control unit; [0056]: “The motor control unit (200) can supply power”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suriano to incorporate the teachings of Byun to calculate a wiper angle based on motor current ripple. Doing so would result in “a vehicle wiper control system and wiper control method capable of accurately determining the position of a wiper without increasing cost”, as recognized by Byun in paragraph [0006].
Regarding claim 4, Suriano teach A wiper control device (see at least FIG. 1: windshield wiper device 10) comprising:
an acquisition unit (see at least FIG. 7: common brush 36) configured to acquire a value (see at least (3) column 2 lines 54-55: “An application of 12 volts across the common brush 36”) related to a current flowing through a wiper motor (see at least FIG. 7: motor 30) that drives a wiper (see at least FIG. 1: wiper arm 16) configured to reciprocate between a first position (see at least FIG. 4B: bottom left side or wiper range) and a second position (see at least FIG. 4B left side of region P2) and that includes a first terminal (see at least FIG. 8: jumper wire 101) to which an electric power is supplied (see at least FIG. 8, (1) column 4 lines 59-60: “The system operates in the second soft mode when switch 74 is closed, 78 is open, and 86 is closed.”; FIG. 8: in second soft mode, when sliding contacts 92 and 94 are both contacting conductive disk, power routes from positive terminal 70 to low speed brush 34 through route: terminal 70 [Wingdings font/0xE0] first selective switch 74 [Wingdings font/0xE0] fourth selective switch 86 [Wingdings font/0xE0] fifth conductor 84 [Wingdings font/0xE0] sliding contact 92 [Wingdings font/0xE0] sections 98 and 100 [Wingdings font/0xE0] sliding contact 94 [Wingdings font/0xE0] jumper wire 101 [Wingdings font/0xE0] third conductor 76 [Wingdings font/0xE0] low speed brush 34; power routes from positive terminal 70 to high speed brush 32 through route: terminal 70 [Wingdings font/0xE0] switch 74 [Wingdings font/0xE0] conductor 72 [Wingdings font/0xE0] high speed brush 32) to rotate (see at least (7) column 1 lines 40-42: “The wiper arm is adapted to be rotatably mounted on a vehicle body for operable movement”) the wiper motor at a first speed (see at least (3) column 2 lines 61-64: “Applying 12 volts across both the high speed brush 32 and low speed brush 34 relative to the common brush 36 would result in a intermediate speed between the high speed and low speed cycles of the wiper arm 16.”) and a second terminal (see at least FIG. 7: low speed brush 34) to which an electric power is supplied to rotate the wiper motor at a second speed (see at least (3) column 2 lines 54-61: “An application of 12 volts across … the low speed brush 34 would result in the windshield wiper arm 16 cycling … at a first rate of speed.”) slower than the first speed *Examiner’s interpretation: When circuit 90 of FIG. 8 is configured in second soft mode, intermediate speed is achieved when jumper wire 101 is electrified, which electrifies the high and low speed brushes. If circuit 90 was configured with switch 78 closed and switches 74 and 86 open, power would be supplied to low speed brush only, rotating the motor at low speed.*;
a first element (see at least FIG. 8: sliding contact 92) configured to cause the current to flow through the wiper motor via the first terminal to rotate the wiper motor when the first element is turned on (see at least FIG. 8: when sliding contact 92 contacts disk 98 and 100, power routes from sliding contact 92 through jumper wire 101 to brushes 32 and 34 to rotate motor at intermediate speed);
a second element (see at least FIG. 8: switch 78) configured to cause the current to flow through the wiper motor via the second terminal to rotate the wiper motor when the second element is turned on *Examiner’s interpretation: if switch 78 of circuit 90 is closed, low speed brush is energized.*; and
a drive unit (see at least FIG. 2: rotary switch 40) configured to turn on or off the first element and the second element, wherein the drive unit is further configured to
turn the first element from on to off (see at least FIG. 8: sliding contact 92 disconnects from conductive disk 98 / 100, severing power flow through jumper wire 101) to stop supply of the electric power to the first terminal and keep the second element off (see at least FIG. 8, (1) column 4 lines 59-60: “78 is open”) (i) when the first element is on (see at least FIG. 4B: under 2nd soft mode, wiper is traveling at intermediate speed in regions P2 and P3) and (ii) when a position of the wiper is just before (see at least FIG. 4B: traveling counterclockwise, wiper changes from intermediate speed to high speed as it enters P1) the first position (see at least FIG. 4B: bottom left side or wiper range) or when the position of the wiper is just before the second position, and
turn the first element from off to on (see at least FIG. 8: sliding contact 92 contacts conductive disk 98 / 100, routing power through jumper wire 101) to supply the electric power to the first terminal and keep the second element off (see at least FIG. 8, (1) column 4 lines 59-60: “78 is open”) when the position of the wiper changes from just before the first position to the first position or when the position of the wiper changes from (see at least FIG. 4B: moving clockwise wiper changes from high speed to intermediate speed when entering P2 from P1) just before the second position (see at least FIG. 4B: region P1) to the second position (see at least FIG. 4B left side of region P2).
However, Suriano does not explicitly teach an acquisition unit *Examiner’s interpretation: as interpreted under 112(f) to comprise a computer or processor.*,
an estimation unit configured to estimate a wiper angle, which is a rotation angle of the wiper, based on a current ripple in the current flowing through the wiper motor, the current ripple having a periodicity corresponding to driving of the wiper motor;
a drive unit *Examiner’s interpretation: as interpreted under 112(f) to comprise a computer or processor.*.
Byun teach an acquisition unit (see at least FIG. 2: motor control unit 200; [0037]: “motor control unit … may include a high pass filter … for converging the average voltage of the ripple waveform …, a counting unit …, … and a microcomputer … for controlling them.”; [0041]: “motor control unit … may further include a wire … for sensing a ripple waveform from the motor”);
an estimation unit configured to estimate a wiper angle (see at least [0010]: “a motor control unit that calculates the rotational speed of the motor based on the number of ripple waveforms corresponding to the voltage between the high relay brush and the ground brush during the low relay section and the number of commutators, and derives the position of the wiper based on the rotational speed of the motor.”; [0064]: “Based on the rotation speed of the motor, the position of the wiper, or more precisely, the angle of the wiper, can be derived.”), which is a rotation angle of the wiper, based on a current ripple in the current flowing through the wiper motor, the current ripple having a periodicity (see at least [0064]: “If the number of commutators (110) is A and the number of rotations of the wiper motor per one rotation of the wiper is B, the number of ripple waveforms generated during one rotation of the wiper motor is A*B. In steps S540 and S560, the microcomputer (230) can calculate the number of rotations of the motor during the low relay period or the high relay period by dividing the number of ripple waveforms output during the low relay period or the high relay period by A.”) corresponding to driving of the wiper motor;
a drive unit (see at least FIG. 2: motor control unit; [0056]: “The motor control unit (200) can supply power”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suriano to incorporate the teachings of Byun to calculate a wiper angle based on motor current ripple. Doing so would result in “a vehicle wiper control system and wiper control method capable of accurately determining the position of a wiper without increasing cost”, as recognized by Byun in paragraph [0006].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McCann et al. (US 5506483 A) teaches a windshield wiper system that slows the wiper when it is within five degrees from a reversal point (see (5) column 1 lines 37-39 and (9) column 3 lines 35-40).
Forhan (US 5355061 A) teaches a wiper system that slows down a wiper as is approaches a transition point (see (17) column 5 lines 19-32).
Harris et al. (US 6393653 B1) teaches a wiper system that “provide[s] an energy absorption apparatus for minimizing wiper pattern expansion” (see (11) column 2 lines 2-3).
Examiner Interview are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/GEORGE A ALCORN III/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662