DETAILED ACTION
This office action in response to an application filing received August 9, 2024. The preliminary amendment received August 9, 2024 has been entered. The Application Data Sheet received on August 9, 2024 has been considered.
Claims 28-47 are newly added.
Claims 1-27 are cancelled.
Claims 28-47 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed August 9, 2024 has been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology (i.e. disclosure). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 31 and 42 recites the limitation "the mth HARQ process" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner suggests it to read "[[the]] mth HARQ process".
Furthermore, the scope of the claim does not define the value of m (e.g. is it an integer). As result, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Claim 46 recites the limitation " wherein a same HARQ state for all of the plurality of HARQ processes is determined by the terminal device as the configured HARQ state of the specific HARQ process" in lines 1-3. The claim is directed towards a process performed by a network device and these limitations further describe the functions of a terminal device but fails to indicate how those functions further limit the process that the network device performs, as result, they are outside the scope of the process performed by the network device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28, 34, 36, 38-39, and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofström et al., US 20210391952 A1, (hereinafter Hofström) in view of TANG, WO 2024255657 A1, (hereinafter TANG657).
Regarding claim 28, and 47, Hofström teaches a terminal device comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory storing instructions that,
when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal device at least to (see ¶ [0171], e.g., FIG. 11 is a schematic block diagram of a UE 1100 according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As illustrated, the UE 1100 includes one or more processors 1102 (e.g., CPUs, ASICs, FPGAs, and/or the like), memory 1104, and one or more transceivers 1106 each including one or more transmitters 1108 and one or more receivers 1110 coupled to one or more antennas 1112.):
determine a configured HARQ state of a specific HARQ process in the plurality of HARQ processes (see ¶ [0124] - ¶ [0125], e.g., In one embodiment, bundling of transport blocks (TBs) is enabled for a specific HARQ process (e.g., a HARQ process identified by a specific HARQ process ID). This is sometimes referred to herein as “HARQ process specific bundling”.
Since not all HARQ processes will have their feedback disabled, it will be useful to increase the reliability by allowing bundling for one or more specific HARQ process IDs (e.g., using HARQ process specific aggregation factor). Example: HARQ Process ID=2 has its HARQ feedback disabled but is at the same time configured for bundling. When this HARQ process is used for transmission of a TB, it is bundled and the receiver knows how to receive and process these TBs within the bundle.); and
determine that all of the plurality of HARQ processes have a same HARQ state being the configured HARQ state of the specific HARQ process (see ¶ [0130] - ¶ [0131], the base station 302 optionally determines (e.g., decides) to enable bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) (step 400). For example, the base station 302 may determine to enable bundling for a HARQ process(es) for which HARQ mechanism(s) have been disabled. Notably, the HARQ process(es) for which bundling is enabled is a subset of all configured HARQ processes. … At the UE 308, the UE 308 receives the indication in step 402 and optionally the indication in step 404 and, based on the received indication(s), determines that bundling is enabled for the specific indicated HARQ process(es) (step 406). The UE 308 and the base station 312 then perform DL/UL data transmission/reception associated with the indicated HAR process(es) with bundling enabled (step 408); Also see ¶ [0143], wherein base station 302 optionally determines (e.g., decides) to enable (non-contiguous) bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) (step 600). Notably, the HARQ process(es) for which (non-contiguous) bundling is enabled is a subset of all configured HARQ processes; ¶ [0151], e.g., In some other embodiments, RRC configures a set of bundling and HARQ on/off states for given HARQ process or common to all HARQ processes. MAC CE or DCI may then indicate which of the preconfigured states becomes active/deactive),
however, it does not explicitly teach, receive, from a network device, information scheduling a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) and indicating a corresponding plurality of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes.
TANG657 teaches, receive, from a network device, information scheduling a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) and indicating a corresponding plurality of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes (see Abs, e.g., Various solutions for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) enhancements for multiple transport blocks (multi-TB) scheduling in an Internet-of-Things (IoT) system are described. An apparatus may receive a configuration from a network node of a wireless network. The configuration indicates disabled or enabled HARQ feedback information for each or all of a plurality of HARQ processes. The apparatus may receive a DCI from the network node. The DCI indicates a scheduling of multiple TBs associated with the HARQ processes in a narrowband physical downlink shared channel (NPDSCH). The apparatus may perform a NPDSCH reception for the TBs based on the DCI. The apparatus may determine whether to report one or more HARQ feedbacks corresponding to the TBs based on the configuration.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sending indication for enabling bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) by base station of Hofström to incorporate the teachings of TANG657 to include information scheduling a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) and indicating a corresponding plurality of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes. Doing so would facilitate in achieving applying enabled/disabled HARQ feedback information for multi-TB scheduling as suggested by TANG657 (see ¶ [0009], e.g., An objective of the present disclosure is to propose solutions or schemes that address the aforementioned issues pertaining to HARQ operations in applying enabled/disabled HARQ feedback information for multi-TB scheduling in IoT systems.).
Regarding claim 34, Hofström as combined with TANG657 teaches the limitations of Claim 28.
Hofström does not teach but TANG657 teaches, wherein the terminal device is further caused to: receive, from the network device,
a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a bitmap indicating a group of configured HARQ states corresponding to a group of HARQ processes (see ¶ [0035] - ¶ [0037], e.g., Scenario 300 depicts the UE operations with RRC-based indication and/or DCI-based indication for enabled/disabled HARQ feedback information is/are provided… Subsequent to 307, if the configured RRC bitmap indicates enabled HARQ feedback information for some TBs and disabled HARQ feedback information for some other TBs (i.e., mixed TB case) , UE operations proceed to 310 where the UE determines whether HARQ-ACK bundling is configured. Subsequent to 310, if HARQ-ACK bundling is configured, UE operations proceed to 311 where the UE determines to report ACK for the TBs with disabled HARQ feedback information, i.e., the UE performs a logical AND operation of the HARQ feedbacks for all TBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sending indication for enabling bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) by base station of Hofström to incorporate the teachings of TANG657 to include a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a bitmap indicating a group of configured HARQ states corresponding to a group of HARQ processes. Doing so would facilitate in achieving applying enabled/disabled HARQ feedback information for multi-TB scheduling as suggested by TANG657 (see ¶ [0009], e.g., An objective of the present disclosure is to propose solutions or schemes that address the aforementioned issues pertaining to HARQ operations in applying enabled/disabled HARQ feedback information for multi-TB scheduling in IoT systems.).
Regarding claim 36, Hofström as combined with TANG657 teaches the limitations of Claim 28.
Hofström further teaches, wherein the configured HARQ state is a HARQ feedback disabling or a HARQ feedback enabling in downlink (see ¶ 0122], e.g., With the above solution of disabling HARQ feedback for certain HARQ processes, there is a need to use different aggregation factors for different HARQ processes. For example, it may be desirable for a HARQ process with HARQ feedback disabled to be configured with a higher aggregation factor than a HARQ process with HARQ feedback enabled; ¶ [0141], HARQ feedback is turned on or off (i.e., regardless of whether HARQ mechanism(s) are deactivated for the respective HARQ process)).
Regarding claim 38, Hofström as combined with TANG657 teaches the limitations of Claim 28.
Hofström does not teach but TANG657 teaches, wherein the information comprises downlink control information (DCI) scheduling multi-TB for one of:
narrow band internet of things (NB-IoT) over non-terrestrial network (NTN), enhanced machine type communication (eMTC) coverage enhancement (CE) mode A over NTN, eMTC CE mode B over NTN, or new radio (NR) over NTN (see ¶ [0024], e.g., For example, the terrestrial network node 125 and/or the non-terrestrial network node 128 may form an NTN serving cell for wireless communication with the UE 110. In some implementations, the network 120 may be an IoT network (e.g., an NTN IoT network) , and the UE 110 may be an IoT device such as an NB-IoT UE or an eMTC UE (e.g., a bandwidth reduced low complexity (BL) UE or a coverage enhancement(CE) UE); ¶ [0041], e.g., Network apparatus 420 may be a part of an electronic apparatus, which may be a network node such as a satellite, a BS, a small cell, a router or a gateway of an IoT network. For instance, network apparatus 420 may be implemented in a satellite or an eNB/gNB/TRP in a 4G/5G, NR, IoT, NB-IoT or IIoT network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sending indication for enabling bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) by base station of Hofström to incorporate the teachings of TANG657 to include downlink control information (DCI) scheduling multi-TB for one of:
narrow band internet of things (NB-IoT) over non-terrestrial network (NTN), enhanced machine type communication (eMTC) coverage enhancement (CE) mode A over NTN, eMTC CE mode B over NTN, or new radio (NR) over NTN. Doing so would facilitate in achieving HARQ enhancements for multi-TB scheduling in an IoT system as suggested by TANG657 (see ¶ [0024], e.g., In such communication environment, the UE 110, the network 120, and the terrestrial network node 125 and/or the non-terrestrial network node 128 may implement various schemes pertaining to HARQ enhancements for multi-TB scheduling in an IoT system in accordance with the present disclosure).
Regarding claim 39, Hofström teaches a network device comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory storing instructions that,
when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network device at least to (see Fig. 8, e.g., element 800, ¶ [0165], FIG. 8 is a schematic block diagram of a radio access node 800 according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. The radio access node 800 may be, for example, the base station 302 or the combination of the base station 302):
determine a plurality of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes comprising a specific HARQ process with a configured HARQ state (see ¶ [0130] - ¶ [0131], the base station 302 optionally determines (e.g., decides) to enable bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) (step 400). For example, the base station 302 may determine to enable bundling for a HARQ process(es) for which HARQ mechanism(s) have been disabled. Notably, the HARQ process(es) for which bundling is enabled is a subset of all configured HARQ processes. … At the UE 308, the UE 308 receives the indication in step 402 and optionally the indication in step 404 and, based on the received indication(s), determines that bundling is enabled for the specific indicated HARQ process(es) (step 406). The UE 308 and the base station 312 then perform DL/UL data transmission/reception associated with the indicated HAR process(es) with bundling enabled (step 408); Also see ¶ [0143], wherein base station 302 optionally determines (e.g., decides) to enable (non-contiguous) bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) (step 600). Notably, the HARQ process(es) for which (non-contiguous) bundling is enabled is a subset of all configured HARQ processes; ¶ [0151], e.g., In some other embodiments, RRC configures a set of bundling and HARQ on/off states for given HARQ process or common to all HARQ processes. MAC CE or DCI may then indicate which of the preconfigured states becomes active/deactive),
however, it does not explicitly teach, transmit, to a terminal device, information scheduling a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) and indicating the plurality of HARQ processes.
TANG657 teaches, transmit, to a terminal device, information scheduling a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) and indicating the plurality of HARQ processes (see Abs, e.g., Various solutions for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) enhancements for multiple transport blocks (multi-TB) scheduling in an Internet-of-Things (IoT) system are described. An apparatus may receive a configuration from a network node of a wireless network. The configuration indicates disabled or enabled HARQ feedback information for each or all of a plurality of HARQ processes. The apparatus may receive a DCI from the network node. The DCI indicates a scheduling of multiple TBs associated with the HARQ processes in a narrowband physical downlink shared channel (NPDSCH). The apparatus may perform a NPDSCH reception for the TBs based on the DCI. The apparatus may determine whether to report one or more HARQ feedbacks corresponding to the TBs based on the configuration.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sending indication for enabling bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) by base station of Hofström to incorporate the teachings of TANG657 to include information scheduling a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) and indicating a corresponding plurality of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes. Doing so would facilitate in achieving applying enabled/disabled HARQ feedback information for multi-TB scheduling as suggested by TANG657 (see ¶ [0009], e.g., An objective of the present disclosure is to propose solutions or schemes that address the aforementioned issues pertaining to HARQ operations in applying enabled/disabled HARQ feedback information for multi-TB scheduling in IoT systems.).
Regarding claim 45, Hofström as combined with TANG657 teaches the limitations of Claim 39.
Hofström does not teach but TANG657 teaches, wherein the network device is further caused to: transmit, to the terminal device:
a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a bitmap indicating a group of configured HARQ states corresponding to a group of HARQ processes (see ¶ [0035] - ¶ [0037], e.g., Scenario 300 depicts the UE operations with RRC-based indication and/or DCI-based indication for enabled/disabled HARQ feedback information is/are provided… Subsequent to 307, if the configured RRC bitmap indicates enabled HARQ feedback information for some TBs and disabled HARQ feedback information for some other TBs (i.e., mixed TB case) , UE operations proceed to 310 where the UE determines whether HARQ-ACK bundling is configured. Subsequent to 310, if HARQ-ACK bundling is configured, UE operations proceed to 311 where the UE determines to report ACK for the TBs with disabled HARQ feedback information, i.e., the UE performs a logical AND operation of the HARQ feedbacks for all TBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sending indication for enabling bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) by base station of Hofström to incorporate the teachings of TANG657 to include a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a bitmap indicating a group of configured HARQ states corresponding to a group of HARQ processes. Doing so would facilitate in achieving applying enabled/disabled HARQ feedback information for multi-TB scheduling as suggested by TANG657 (see ¶ [0009], e.g., An objective of the present disclosure is to propose solutions or schemes that address the aforementioned issues pertaining to HARQ operations in applying enabled/disabled HARQ feedback information for multi-TB scheduling in IoT systems.).
Regarding claim 46, Hofström as combined with TANG657 teaches the limitations of Claim 39.
Hofström further teaches, wherein a same HARQ state for all of the plurality of HARQ processes is determined by the terminal device as the configured HARQ state of the specific HARQ process (see ¶ [0130] - ¶ [0131], the base station 302 optionally determines (e.g., decides) to enable bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) (step 400). For example, the base station 302 may determine to enable bundling for a HARQ process(es) for which HARQ mechanism(s) have been disabled. Notably, the HARQ process(es) for which bundling is enabled is a subset of all configured HARQ processes. … At the UE 308, the UE 308 receives the indication in step 402 and optionally the indication in step 404 and, based on the received indication(s), determines that bundling is enabled for the specific indicated HARQ process(es) (step 406). The UE 308 and the base station 312 then perform DL/UL data transmission/reception associated with the indicated HAR process(es) with bundling enabled (step 408); Also see ¶ [0143], wherein base station 302 optionally determines (e.g., decides) to enable (non-contiguous) bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) (step 600). Notably, the HARQ process(es) for which (non-contiguous) bundling is enabled is a subset of all configured HARQ processes; ¶ [0151], e.g., In some other embodiments, RRC configures a set of bundling and HARQ on/off states for given HARQ process or common to all HARQ processes. MAC CE or DCI may then indicate which of the preconfigured states becomes active/deactive)).
Claim(s) 29, 31, 37, 40 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofström in view of TANG657 and in further view of TANG, WO 2024198938 A1, (hereinafter TANG938).
Regarding claim 29, Hofström as combined with TANG657 teaches the limitations of Claim 28.
Hofström further teaches, wherein the terminal device is further caused to: receive, from the network device, a configuration indicating a specific location of the HARQ process (see ¶ [0134], e.g., A non-contiguous bundling pattern (i.e., a pattern that defines the location of the bundled TBs, e.g., in time (and optionally frequency)) can be indicated to the UE in any suitable manner such as e.g., by RRC, DCI bitmap, etc. or by a number of retransmissions plus NDI.),
however, it does not explicitly teach, a specific HARQ process.
TANG938 teaches a specific HARQ process (see ¶ [0026], e.g., the HARQ mode for all TBs may be based on the HARQ mode configuration of HARQ process ID of 0 associated with the scheduled multiple TBs. That is, if the configuration indicates HARQ mode A, then blind retransmission of multi-TB is disabled; or if the configuration indicates HARQ mode B, then blind retransmission of multi-TB is enabled.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sending indication for enabling bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) by base station of Hofström as modified by TANG657 to incorporate the teachings of TANG938 to include a specific HARQ process. Doing so would facilitate in achieving scheduling of multiple TBs using the HARQ processes from the network node as suggested by TANG938 (see ¶ [0010], e.g., ¶ [0010] In one aspect, a method may involve an apparatus receiving a first configuration from a network node of a wireless network, wherein the first configuration indicates one or more first HARQ modes for a plurality of HARQ processes. The method may involve the apparatus receiving a DCI indicating a scheduling of multiple TBs using the HARQ processes from the network node. The method may also involve the apparatus transmitting an UL HARQ for each of the HARQ processes using a corresponding one of the TBs.).
Regarding claim 31, Hofström as combined with TANG657 teaches the limitations of Claim 28.
Hofström as improved by TANG657 does not teach but TANG938 teaches, wherein the specific HARQ process is one of: a first HARQ process, a last HARQ process, the mth HARQ process, or a middle HARQ process among the plurality of HARQ processes (see ¶ [0026], e.g., the HARQ mode for all TBs may be based on the HARQ mode configuration of HARQ process ID of 0 associated with the scheduled multiple TBs. That is, if the configuration indicates HARQ mode A, then blind retransmission of multi-TB is disabled; or if the configuration indicates HARQ mode B, then blind retransmission of multi-TB is enabled.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sending indication for enabling bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) by base station of Hofström as modified by TANG657 to incorporate the teachings of TANG938 to include wherein the specific HARQ process is one of: a first HARQ process. Doing so would facilitate in achieving scheduling of multiple TBs using the HARQ processes from the network node as suggested by TANG938 (see ¶ [0010], e.g., [0010] In one aspect, a method may involve an apparatus receiving a first configuration from a network node of a wireless network, wherein the first configuration indicates one or more first HARQ modes for a plurality of HARQ processes. The method may involve the apparatus receiving a DCI indicating a scheduling of multiple TBs using the HARQ processes from the network node. The method may also involve the apparatus transmitting an UL HARQ for each of the HARQ processes using a corresponding one of the TBs.).
Regarding claim 37, Hofström as combined with TANG657 teaches the limitations of Claim 28.
Hofström as improved by TANG657 does not teach but TANG938 teaches, wherein the configured HARQ state is a HARQ feedback Mode A or a HARQ Mode B in uplink (see ¶ [0026], e.g., the HARQ mode for all TBs may be based on the HARQ mode configuration of HARQ process ID of 0associated with the scheduled multiple TBs. That is, if the configuration indicates HARQ mode A, then blind retransmission of multi-TB is disabled; or if the configuration indicates HARQ mode B, then blind retransmission of multi-TB is enabled.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified configured HARQ state of Hofström as modified by TANG657 to incorporate the teachings of TANG938 to include HARQ feedback Mode A or a HARQ Mode B in uplink. Doing so would facilitate in achieving increased transmission reliability, mitigate HARQ stalling and reduce UE power consumption as suggested by TANG938 (see ¶ [0022], e.g., TN system, using HARQ feedback for DL HARQ and retransmission for UL HARQ after network receiving HARQ information have many advantages, such as increasing transmission reliability… the present disclosure proposes schemes to support HARQ operations in HARQ mode A and HARQ mode B for multi-TB scheduling in an IoT system, to mitigate HARQ stalling and reduce UE power consumption.).
Regarding claim 40, Hofström as combined with TANG657 teaches the limitations of Claim 39.
Hofström further teaches, wherein the network device is further caused to: transmit, to the terminal device, a configuration indicating a specific location of the HARQ process (see ¶ [0134], e.g., A non-contiguous bundling pattern (i.e., a pattern that defines the location of the bundled TBs, e.g., in time (and optionally frequency)) can be indicated to the UE in any suitable manner such as e.g., by RRC, DCI bitmap, etc. or by a number of retransmissions plus NDI.),
however, it does not explicitly teach, a specific HARQ process.
TANG938 teaches a specific HARQ process (see ¶ [0026], e.g., the HARQ mode for all TBs may be based on the HARQ mode configuration of HARQ process ID of 0 associated with the scheduled multiple TBs. That is, if the configuration indicates HARQ mode A, then blind retransmission of multi-TB is disabled; or if the configuration indicates HARQ mode B, then blind retransmission of multi-TB is enabled.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sending indication for enabling bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) by base station of Hofström as modified by TANG657 to incorporate the teachings of TANG938 to include a specific HARQ process. Doing so would facilitate in achieving scheduling of multiple TBs using the HARQ processes from the network node as suggested by TANG938 (see ¶ [0010], e.g., [0010] In one aspect, a method may involve an apparatus receiving a first configuration from a network node of a wireless network, wherein the first configuration indicates one or more first HARQ modes for a plurality of HARQ processes. The method may involve the apparatus receiving a DCI indicating a scheduling of multiple TBs using the HARQ processes from the network node. The method may also involve the apparatus transmitting an UL HARQ for each of the HARQ processes using a corresponding one of the TBs.).
Regarding claim 42, Hofström as combined with TANG657 teaches the limitations of Claim 39.
Hofström as improved by TANG657 does not teach but TANG938 teaches, wherein the specific HARQ process is one of: a first HARQ process, a last HARQ process, the mth HARQ process, or a middle HARQ process among the plurality of HARQ processes (see ¶ [0026], e.g., the HARQ mode for all TBs may be based on the HARQ mode configuration of HARQ process ID of 0 associated with the scheduled multiple TBs. That is, if the configuration indicates HARQ mode A, then blind retransmission of multi-TB is disabled; or if the configuration indicates HARQ mode B, then blind retransmission of multi-TB is enabled.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sending indication for enabling bundling for a specific HARQ process(es) by base station of Hofström as modified by TANG657 to incorporate the teachings of TANG938 to include wherein the specific HARQ process is one of: a first HARQ process. Doing so would facilitate in achieving scheduling of multiple TBs using the HARQ processes from the network node as suggested by TANG938 (see ¶ [0010], e.g., [0010] In one aspect, a method may involve an apparatus receiving a first configuration from a network node of a wireless network, wherein the first configuration indicates one or more first HARQ modes for a plurality of HARQ processes. The method may involve the apparatus receiving a DCI indicating a scheduling of multiple TBs using the HARQ processes from the network node. The method may also involve the apparatus transmitting an UL HARQ for each of the HARQ processes using a corresponding one of the TBs.).
Claim(s) 30 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofström in view of TANG657 and in further view of Zhang et al., US 20230163885 A1, (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 30, Hofström as combined with TANG657 teaches the limitations of Claim 28.
Hofström as improved by TANG657 does not teach but Zhang teaches, wherein a specific location of the specific HARQ process is predefined (see ¶ [0250], e.g., wherein the one or more HARQ-ACK bits for SPS PDSCH release(s) corresponds to a bit position associated with a HARQ process identified by a predefined HARQ process identifier (HPI), wherein the HPI is indicated to the UE by radio resource control (RRC) signaling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HARQ process of Hofström as modified by TANG657 to incorporate the teachings of Zhang to include wherein a specific location of the specific HARQ process is predefined. Doing so would facilitate in achieving improved reliability and meet the reliability requirement of URLLC service types as suggested by Zhang (see ¶ [0035], e.g., disclosed herein are systems, circuitries, and techniques that provide a flexible procedure to control HARQ-ACK codebooks based on grouping HARQ processes to improve reliability, for example, to meet the reliability requirement of URLLC service types.
Regarding claim 41, Hofström as combined with TANG657 teaches the limitations of Claim 39.
Hofström as improved by TANG657 does not teach but Zhang teaches, wherein a specific location of the specific HARQ process is predefined (see ¶ [0250], e.g., wherein the one or more HARQ-ACK bits for SPS PDSCH release(s) corresponds to a bit position associated with a HARQ process identified by a predefined HARQ process identifier (HPI), wherein the HPI is indicated to the UE by radio resource control (RRC) signaling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HARQ process of Hofström as modified by TANG657 to incorporate the teachings of Zhang to include wherein a specific location of the specific HARQ process is predefined. Doing so would facilitate in achieving improved reliability and meet the reliability requirement of URLLC service types as suggested by Zhang (see ¶ [0035], e.g., disclosed herein are systems, circuitries, and techniques that provide a flexible procedure to control HARQ-ACK codebooks based on grouping HARQ processes to improve reliability, for example, to meet the reliability requirement of URLLC service types.
Claim(s) 32-33 and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofström in view of TANG657, TANG938 and in further view of Chen et al., US 20250192923 A1, (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 33, Hofström as combined with TANG657 and TANG938 teaches the limitations of Claim 32.
Hofström as improved by TANG657 and TANG938 does not teach but Chen teaches, wherein an order of the middle HARQ process in the plurality of HARQ processes is associated with N/2, wherein N represents a number of the plurality of HARQ processes (see ¶ [0027] - ¶ [0028], e.g., the terminal device sends feedback information of the first downlink information by using an nth HARQ process of M HARQ processes, where the M HARQ processes include at least one dynamically adjustable HARQ process, M is greater than or equal to n, and n is greater than or equal to 1; and the terminal device determines that the nth HARQ process is enabled.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HARQ process of Hofström as modified by TANG657 and TANG938 to incorporate the teachings of Chen to include wherein an order of the middle HARQ process in the plurality of HARQ processes is associated with N/2, wherein N represents a number of the plurality of HARQ processes. Doing so would facilitate in achieving improved communication reliability and flexibly schedule the HARQ process as suggested by Chen (see ¶ [0027] - ¶ [0028], e.g., the terminal device sends feedback information of the first downlink information by using an nth HARQ process of M HARQ processes, … the first downlink information that has a feedback requirement is fed back by using one of the M HARQ processes, to ensure that the first downlink information that has a feedback requirement can be fed back, to improve communication reliability and flexibly schedule the HARQ process).
Regarding claim 34, Hofström as combined with TANG657 and TANG938 teaches the limitations of Claim 33.
Hofström as improved by TANG657 and TANG938 does not teach but Chen teaches, wherein the order of the middle HARQ process in the plurality of HARQ processes equals to one of: a smallest integer exceeding N/2, or a largest integer not exceeding N/2 (see ¶ [0027] - ¶ [0028], e.g., the terminal device sends feedback information of the first downlink information by using an nth HARQ process of M HARQ processes, where the M HARQ processes include at least one dynamically adjustable HARQ process, M is greater than or equal to n, and n is greater than or equal to 1; and the terminal device determines that the nth HARQ process is enabled.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HARQ process of Hofström as modified by TANG657 and TANG938 to incorporate the teachings of Chen to include wherein an order of the middle HARQ process in the plurality of HARQ processes is associated with N/2, wherein N represents a number of the plurality of HARQ processes. Doing so would facilitate in achieving improved communication reliability and flexibly schedule the HARQ process as suggested by Chen (see ¶ [0027] - ¶ [0028], e.g., the terminal device sends feedback information of the first downlink information by using an nth HARQ process of M HARQ processes, … the first downlink information that has a feedback requirement is fed back by using one of the M HARQ processes, to ensure that the first downlink information that has a feedback requirement can be fed back, to improve communication reliability and flexibly schedule the HARQ process).
Regarding claim 43, Hofström as combined with TANG657 and TANG938 teaches the limitations of Claim 42.
Hofström as improved by TANG657 and TANG938 does not teach but Chen teaches, wherein an order of the middle HARQ process in the plurality of HARQ processes is associated with N/2, wherein N represents a number of the plurality of HARQ processes (see ¶ [0027] - ¶ [0028], e.g., the terminal device sends feedback information of the first downlink information by using an nth HARQ process of M HARQ processes, where the M HARQ processes include at least one dynamically adjustable HARQ process, M is greater than or equal to n, and n is greater than or equal to 1; and the terminal device determines that the nth HARQ process is enabled.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HARQ process of Hofström as modified by TANG657 and TANG938 to incorporate the teachings of Chen to include wherein an order of the middle HARQ process in the plurality of HARQ processes is associated with N/2, wherein N represents a number of the plurality of HARQ processes. Doing so would facilitate in achieving improved communication reliability and flexibly schedule the HARQ process as suggested by Chen (see ¶ [0027] - ¶ [0028], e.g., the terminal device sends feedback information of the first downlink information by using an nth HARQ process of M HARQ processes, … the first downlink information that has a feedback requirement is fed back by using one of the M HARQ processes, to ensure that the first downlink information that has a feedback requirement can be fed back, to improve communication reliability and flexibly schedule the HARQ process).
Regarding claim 44, Hofström as combined with TANG657 and TANG938 teaches the limitations of Claim 43.
Hofström as improved by TANG657 and TANG938 does not teach but Chen teaches, wherein the order of the middle HARQ process in the plurality of HARQ processes equals to one of: a smallest integer exceeding N/2, or a largest integer not exceeding N/2 (see ¶ [0027] - ¶ [0028], e.g., the terminal device sends feedback information of the first downlink information by using an nth HARQ process of M HARQ processes, where the M HARQ processes include at least one dynamically adjustable HARQ process, M is greater than or equal to n, and n is greater than or equal to 1; and the terminal device determines that the nth HARQ process is enabled.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HARQ process of Hofström as modified by TANG657 and TANG938 to incorporate the teachings of Chen to include wherein an order of the middle HARQ process in the plurality of HARQ processes is associated with N/2, wherein N represents a number of the plurality of HARQ processes. Doing so would facilitate in achieving improved communication reliability and flexibly schedule the HARQ process as suggested by Chen (see ¶ [0027] - ¶ [0028], e.g., the terminal device sends feedback information of the first downlink information by using an nth HARQ process of M HARQ processes, … the first downlink information that has a feedback requirement is fed back by using one of the M HARQ processes, to ensure that the first downlink information that has a feedback requirement can be fed back, to improve communication reliability and flexibly schedule the HARQ process).
Claim(s) 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofström in view of TANG657 and in further view of Chen.
Regarding claim 35, Hofström as combined with TANG657 teaches the limitations of Claim 28.
Hofström as improved by TANG657 does not teach but Chen teaches, wherein the plurality of HARQ processes comprises a further HARQ process different from the specific HARQ process, and
wherein the same HARQ state for all of the plurality of HARQ processes is determined regardless of a further configured HARQ state of the further HARQ process (see ¶ [0239] - ¶ [0255], e.g., When M is greater than 1 (for example, M is equal to 2), one dynamically adjustable HARQ and one non-dynamically adjustable HARQ are used between the terminal device and the network device… When the non-dynamically adjustable HARQ process is disabled, the n.sup.th HARQ process may be a HARQ process determined by the network side. For example, the network device selects an idle HARQ process from two HARQ processes for feedback. In addition, the terminal device may provide feedback on the first downlink information by using the n.sup.th HARQ process without adjusting a state of the n.sup.th HARQ process. For example. when the n.sup.th HARQ process is a non-dynamically adjustable HARQ process, the HARQ process is still in a process-disabled state for feedback of any other downlink information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HARQ process of Hofström as modified by TANG657 to incorporate the teachings of Chen to include wherein the same HARQ state for all of the plurality of HARQ processes is determined regardless of a further configured HARQ state of the further HARQ process. Doing so would facilitate in achieving improved communication reliability and flexibly schedule the HARQ process as suggested by Chen (see ¶ [0027] - ¶ [0028], e.g., the terminal device sends feedback information of the first downlink information by using an nth HARQ process of M HARQ processes, … the first downlink information that has a feedback requirement is fed back by using one of the M HARQ processes, to ensure that the first downlink information that has a feedback requirement can be fed back, to improve communication reliability and flexibly schedule the HARQ process).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12316456 B2 issued to Zhang et al., wherein it teaches performing multi-TB scheduling or single-TB scheduling.
US 20230188268 A1 issued to Yan et al., wherein it teaches determining HARQ process number.
/POONAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472