DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant’s claims set of 8/9/2024 contains two claims numbered “6”. Claim 7 depends from claim 6, however, it is not clear which claim 6 is intended. Claim 7 is therefore indefinite. As both claim 7 and the second claim 6 relate to grain size, claim 7 will be interpreted as depending from second claim 6, and the first claim 6 is renumbered claim 21.
Claim 16 recites “the vibration sensor”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pollet (US# 2021/0180460).
Pollet discloses a vibration absorber 2/100 capable of being used for vibration damping of a printed circuit board, comprising: a chamber having a surrounding wall 102 which defines a cavity; wherein the chamber houses particles 104/160; and wherein the wall and the particles have the same material composition [0017]. Pollet lack the specific disclosure of the volume of the cavity being at least 2% and not more than 95% of the volume of the vibration absorber. Pollet teach that the device is formed through additive manufacturing [0046][0047][0054] where the bottom, walls and top are selectively melted or sintered from powder layers, the unmelted or unsintered portion forming the mass portion 104 and cavity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the volume of the absorber of Pollet to be melted or sintered through routine design and/or experimentation to provide the optimal strength and damping capabilities for a given application.
Regarding claim 2, the surrounding wall 102 completely surrounds the cavity 106.
Regarding claims 3-4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the volume of the absorber of Pollet to be melted or sintered through routine design and/or experimentation to provide the optimal strength and damping capabilities for a given application. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to from the cavity to be at least 5% (claim 3) or 10% (claim 4)of the volume of the vibration absorber to provide useful damping without undue weight and size to the container of the damper. The damper’s intended function is for particle damping, so one of ordinary skill in the art would form the majority of the device for holding the damping medium.
Regarding claims 5 and 21, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the volume of the absorber of Pollet to be melted or sintered through routine design and/or experimentation to provide the optimal strength and damping capabilities for a given application. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to from the cavity to be not more that 90% (claim 5) or 70% (claim 21) of the volume of the vibration absorber to provide adequate strength to the container of the damper.
Regarding claim 6, [0058] discloses a preferred particle size of between 45 and 90 µm which overlaps the range specified by “a mean grain size of at least 5 μm”.
Regarding claim 7, [0058] discloses a preferred particle size of between 45 and 90 µm which overlaps the range specified “a mean grain size of at most 200 μm”.
Regarding claim 8, [0058] discloses a preferred particle size of between 45 and 90 µm which overlaps the range specified “a mean grain size between 20 μm and 100 μm”.
Regarding claim 9, the particles have a rounded surface. [0058] spherical morphology.
Regarding claim 11, the particles include metallic alloy powder and/or metallic particles. [0058]
Claims 1-9, 11-13 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US# 9521753) in view of Pollet (US# 2021/0180460).
Hunt discloses a vibration absorber 20 for vibration damping of a printed circuit board 12, comprising: a chamber having a surrounding wall which defines a cavity; wherein the chamber houses particles 24. Hunt lacks the wall and the particles have the same material composition. Pollet disclose a similar damping device and further teach the wall and the particles have the same material composition [0017], which facilitates additive manufacture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use particles and walls of the same material in the device of Hunt, as taught by Pollet, to facilitate additive manufacture of the device which simplifies manufacture in that individual components are not required to be separately formed and then combined. Hunt further lacks the specific disclosure of the volume of the cavity being at least 2% and not more than 95% of the volume of the vibration absorber. Pollet teach a damper formed through additive manufacturing [0046][0047][0054] where the bottom, walls and top are selectively melted or sintered from powder layers, the unmelted or unsintered portion forming the mass portion 104 and cavity. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the volume of the absorber of Hunt and Pollet to be melted or sintered through routine design and/or experimentation to provide the optimal strength and damping capabilities for a given application.
Regarding claim 2, the surrounding wall 22 completely surrounds the cavity. Figures 1-2.
Regarding claims 3-4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the volume of the absorber of Hunt and Pollet to be melted or sintered through routine design and/or experimentation to provide the optimal strength and damping capabilities for a given application. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to from the cavity to be at least 5% (claim 3) or 10% (claim 4)of the volume of the vibration absorber to provide useful damping without undue weight and size to the container of the damper. The damper’s intended function is for particle damping, so one of ordinary skill in the art would form the majority of the device for holding the damping medium.
Regarding claims 5 and 21, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the volume of the absorber of Hunt and Pollet to be melted or sintered through routine design and/or experimentation to provide the optimal strength and damping capabilities for a given application. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to from the cavity to be not more that 90% (claim 5) or 70% (claim 21) of the volume of the vibration absorber to provide adequate strength to the container of the damper.
Regarding claim 6, [0058] of Pollet teaches a preferred particle size of between 45 and 90 µm which overlaps the range specified by “a mean grain size of at least 5 μm”.
Regarding claim 7, [0058] of Pollet teaches a preferred particle size of between 45 and 90 µm which overlaps the range specified “a mean grain size of at most 200 μm”.
Regarding claim 8, [0058] of Pollet teaches a preferred particle size of between 45 and 90 µm which overlaps the range specified “a mean grain size between 20 μm and 100 μm”.
Regarding claim 9, Pollet teaches the particles have a rounded surface. [0058] spherical morphology.
Regarding claim 11, Pollet teaches the particles include metallic alloy powder and/or metallic particles. [0058]
Regarding claim 12, Hunt discloses a printed circuit board 12 capable of use for a control unit of a braking system for a motor vehicle, comprising: a vibration absorber 20 having a chamber including a surrounding wall which completely surrounds a cavity, wherein the chamber houses particles 24. Hunt lacks the disclosure of the wall and the particles have the same material composition. Pollet disclose a similar damping device and further teach the wall and the particles have the same material composition [0017], which facilitates additive manufacture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use particles and walls of the same material in the device of Hunt, as taught by Pollet, to facilitate additive manufacture of the device which simplifies manufacture in that individual components are not required to be separately formed and then combined. Hunt further lacks the specific disclosure of the volume of the cavity being between 5% and 70 % of the volume of the vibration absorber. Pollet teach a damper formed through additive manufacturing [0046][0047][0054] where the bottom, walls and top are selectively melted or sintered from powder layers, the unmelted or unsintered portion forming the mass portion 104 and cavity. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the volume of the absorber of Hunt and Pollet to be melted or sintered through routine design and/or experimentation to provide the optimal strength and damping capabilities for a given application.
Regarding claim 13, the vibration absorber 20 and the chamber have the same geometric shape.
Regarding claim 20, the vibration absorber can damp excitation frequencies in a first frequency range below 100 kHz or in a second frequency range above 100 kHz. Note the damper damps unspecified excitation frequencies, however the claim allows for a first frequency range below 100kHz or a second frequency above 100Khz which covers all frequencies.
Claims 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US# 9521753) and Pollet (US# 2021/0180460), as applied to claim 13 above, in further view of Iyatani (US# 2011/0062775).
Hunt and Pollet, as applied to claim 13 above, disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the board comprising at least one of a sensor. Hunt instead discloses the broader “electronic components” 14. Iyatani disclose a brake device having a printed circuit board 31 with sensors 33/34 mounted thereto to provide brake control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a sensor on the printed circuit board of Hunt, as taught by Iyatani, to provide acceleration indications, thereby increasing the utility of the board of Hunt and providing the benefits of vibration damping in the automotive brake environment.
Regarding claim 15, as modified, the vibration absorber 20 is arranged on the same side of the printed circuit board as the sensor 14.
Regarding claim 16, as modified, the vibration sensor 20 is disposed directly adjacent to the sensor 14.
Regarding claim 17, Hunt further lack the vibration absorber being arranged on the side of the printed circuit board opposite to the sensor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the vibration absorber on either side of the board as there are a finite number of sides (two) for mounting and either would have a reasonable expectation of providing substantially the same damping.
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the vibration absorber directly opposite to the sensor to maximize damping at the sensor, thereby improving performance.
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US# 9521753) and Pollet (US# 2021/0180460), as applied to claim 12 above, in further view of Nakano et al (US# 2012/0064288).
Hunt, as modified above, disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the vibration absorber being cuboid with a footprint at most 20 mm×20 mm and a height at most 10 mm. Hunt discloses a cylindrical absorber and is silent as to the dimensions. Nakano et al disclose a similar absorber and further teach a cuboid shape of 10mm x 10mm x 10mm [0115]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the absorber of Hunt as a cuboid, as taught by Nakano et al, as an obvious alternative shape which provides different packaging options. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the dimensions through routine design and/or experimentation to provide optimum damping within the size constraints of the specific application, the general size being known in the art as demonstrated by Nakano et al. Also note MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pollet (US# 2021/0180460) in view of Anderson et al (US# 2011/0117310).
Pollet discloses all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the particles have an angular or edged surface. Pollet instead discloses spherical shapes. Anderson et al disclose a similar device and further teach both spherical and non-spherical hard edged multi-hedron shapes [0083]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use hard edged multi-hedron shapes in place of the spherical shapes of Pollet, as taught by Anderson et al, as an obvious variant which provides different frictional qualities to the particulate which provides additional means of tuning the damping.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US# 9521753) and Pollet (US# 2021/0180460), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Anderson et al (US# 2011/0117310).
Hunt and Pollet disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the particles have an angular or edged surface. Anderson et al disclose a similar device and further teach both spherical and non-spherical hard edged multi-hedron shapes [0083]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use hard edged multi-hedron shapes for the particles of Hunt and Pollet, as taught by Anderson et al, as an obvious variant which provides different frictional qualities to the particulate which provides additional means of tuning the damping.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK