Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species VI, claims 1-11 and 14-20 in the reply filed on May 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected claims, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 11, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipate by Warren et al. (US Patent No. 11,988,951 B2).
In considering claim 1, Warren et al. discloses all the claimed subject matter, note 1) the claimed a flexible shaft having a distal end and a proximal end opposite the distal end is met by the coaxial push-cable 110 (Fig. 1, col. 16, line 5 to col. 17, line 32), 2) the claimed a sheath comprising a flexible tube body that extends over at least part of the flexible shaft and includes a distal end and a proximal end, wherein the flexible tube body includes a bore within which the flexible shaft extends is met by the push-cable 110 being dispensed into a pipe 160 (or other cavity, not shown) by drawing the push-cable 110 from the drum reel 130 (Fig. 1, col. 16, line 5 to col. 17, line 32), 3) the claimed at least one electrical conductor contained within the flexible tube body of the sheath, the at least one electrical conductor extending at least partially along a length of the flexible tube body is met by the electrical conductor in the video push cable (Fig. 1, col. 16, line 5 to col. 17, line 32), and 4) the claimed a camera operatively connected to the at least one electrical conductor is met by the camera head 120 (Fig. 1, col. 16, line 5 to col. 17, line 32).
In considering claim 2, the claimed further comprising a mount disposed at the distal end of the flexible tube body, wherein the camera is supported by the mount is met by the coupling element to secure the jetter camera head to a jetter video push-cable diverting water and conductive elements carrying power and signal to related elements inside the jetter camera head (Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 15-43 and col. 16, line 5 to col. 17, line 32).
In considering claim 3, the claimed wherein the mount includes at least a first part and a second part that is removable from the first part is met by the coupling element to secure the jetter camera head to a jetter video push-cable diverting water and conductive elements carrying power and signal to related elements inside the jetter camera head (Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 15-43 and col. 16, line 5 to col. 17, line 32).
In considering claim 4, the claimed further comprising an electrical enclosure containing electronics that are operatively connected to the camera via the at least one electrical conductor, wherein the at least one electrical conductor is operatively connected to the electronics contained within the electrical enclosure is met by the electrical conductor in the video push cable and a jacket 280, which may be polypropylene or like durable materials, may be the outmost layer of the multi-dielectric coaxial push-cable 210 to protect the internal layers from the external environment (Figs 1-2B, col. 16, line 5 to col. 18, line 28).
In considering claim 5, the claimed wherein the electronics includes at least a battery operatively connected to the camera via the at least one electrical conductor is met by a power source, such as batteries (not illustrated), power generators, AC line power, and the like, which may be on or electrically coupled to CCU 140 and/or drum reel 130, the electrical conductor in the video push cable may share provision of power and signaling (Figs 1-2B, col. 16, line 5 to col. 17, line 32).
In considering claim 6, the claimed wherein the at least one electrical conductor includes a first conductor that interconnects the camera and the battery and a second conductor for transmitting data associated with the camera is met by the electrical conductor 220 and the electromagnetic shielding layer 270 in the video push cable may share provision of power and signaling and the electromagnetic shielding layer 270 (Figs. 1-2B, col. 16, line 5 to col. 18, line 28).
In considering claim 7, the claimed wherein the second conductor is operatively coupled to the electronics, and the electronics is configured to wirelessly transmit the data to a remote device is met by the electrical conductor 220 and the electromagnetic shielding layer 270 in the video push cable for providing electrical power and data or other signaling between a camera head and a camera control unit (CCU) or other display device (Fig. 1, col. 16, line 5 to col. 18, line 28).
In considering claim 8, the claimed further comprising an LED supported proximate to the distal end of the flexible tube, wherein the first conductor also supplies power to the LED is met by the camera head may include imaging sensors (imagers), associated electronics, optics, lighting elements (e.g., LEDs) and/or other sensors to generate images or video of the pipe's interior as well as additional information (col. 1, lines 24-39).
In considering claim 9, the claimed wherein the LED is integrated within the camera is met by the camera head may include imaging sensors (imagers), associated electronics, optics, lighting elements (e.g., LEDs) and/or other sensors to generate images or video of the pipe's interior as well as additional information (col. 1, lines 24-39).
In considering claim 10, the claimed wherein the LED further comprises a ring of LEDs surrounding an aperture of the camera is met by the jetter camera head 420 may include one or more lighting elements 421 and cameras 422 to illuminate and generate video or other images from in pipes or other conduits which may further be communicated back to one or more devices (e.g., CCU 440 of FIG. 4A) coupled at the proximal end of push-cable 410 (FIG. 4A) (Figs. 4A-4C, col. 1, lines 24-39 and col. 19, line 18-67).
In considering claim 11, the claimed further comprising a case from which the flexible shaft and the flexible tube body of the sheath may be extended or retracted is met by the drum reel 130 (Fig. 1, col. 16, line 5 to col. 17, line 32).
In considering claim 18, the claimed further comprising an electrical transition assembly operatively coupling the at least one electrical conductor and the electronics, wherein a portion of the electrical transition assembly is arranged on the flexible tube body is met by the electrical conductor 220 and the electromagnetic shielding layer 270 in the video push cable for providing electrical power and data or other signaling between a camera head and a camera control unit (CCU) or other display device (Fig. 1, col. 16, line 5 to col. 18, line 28).
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claims 1-2 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warren et al. (US Patent No. 11,988,951 B2) in view of Olsson et al. (US Patent No. 11,199,510 B1).
In considering claim 14, Warren et al. disclose all the limitations of the instant invention as discussed in claim 1 above, except for providing the claimed wherein the sheath further includes a lumen that is separated from the bore, wherein the at least one electrical conductor extends within the lumen of the sheath. Olsson et al. teach that a series of thin (1 mm in an exemplary embodiment) rods 210, which may be made of fiberglass and/or other lightweight high strength materials, may be wound helically around the hose 200, a drain wire 212, and/or a series of one or more conductive wires 214, may be distributed among the rods 210 to carry power and/or signals (Figs. 1-2, col. 7, lines 18-44). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the thin rods as taught by Olsson et al. into Warren et al.’s system in order to increase the transmitting speed of the signal.
In considering claim 15, the claimed wherein the at least one electrical conductor comprises: a ribbon cable having a plurality of wires; a ribbon cable having a plurality of wires that is twisted in a helix configuration; a plurality of insulated wires twisted together; or a jacketed cable having at least one shielded wire or at least one insulated wire is met by the jacket 218 (Figs. 1-2, col. 7, line 18 to col. 8, line 10 of Olsson et al.).
The motivation to combine the references has been discussed in claim 14 above.
In considering claim 16, the claimed wherein the flexible tube body of the sheath further comprises a larger tube body and a smaller tube body arranged on an outer surface of the larger tube body, wherein the bore is defined within the larger tube body, and the lumen is defined within the smaller tube body, and wherein the at least one electrical conductor comprises a jacketed cable is met by the jetter push-cable 220 (Figs. 1-2, col. 7, line 18 to col. 8, line 10 of Olsson et al.).
The motivation to combine the references has been discussed in claim 14 above.
In considering claim 17, Warren et al. disclose all the limitations of the instant invention as discussed in claim 1 above, except for providing the claimed further comprising: a rotation device operatively coupled to the proximal end of the flexible shaft, the rotation device being operable to rotate the flexible shaft relative to the sheath; and a bit operatively coupled to the distal end of the flexible shaft. Olsson et al. teach that turning to FIG. 8, one embodiment of a jetter nozzle 800 is illustrated. Nozzle 800 may include a jetter nozzle head 802, which may include a jetter nozzle coupler 804 that may be formed to mate to a coupler end of a push-cable, such as coupler end 404 as shown in FIG. 4 or nozzle-side coupler 612 as shown in FIG. 6. Jetter nozzle coupler 804 may be configured to allow the jetter nozzle head 802 to rotate freely on bushings, bearings, or other rotational elements (not shown) (Figs. 8-9, col. 9, line 19 to col. 10, line 20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the rotation jetter nozzle head as taught by Olsson et al. into Warren et al.’s system in order to accurately transmitting signal between electrical elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rutkowski et al. (US 2023/0151600 A1) disclose sheathed flexible shaft drain cleaner.
Alcala (US Patent No. 11,274,426 B2) discloses plumbing snake assembly.
July 10, 2026
/TRANG U TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422