Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 10, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 20200106057 A1), in view of Cho (US 20220173177 A1), Wang (US 20210175467 A1), and Hong (US 20220285657 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yoo teaches a display device comprising: a display panel defining a display region and a non-display region (Fig. 1, DA, NDA; [0062], "The display surface ED-IS includes a display area DA and a non-display area NDA disposed adjacent to the display area DA."), and comprising a base layer (Fig. 7, BL; [0087], "As illustrated in FIGS. 5 to 7, in an embodiment, the display panel DP includes a base layer BL…"), a light-emitting element layer above the base layer and comprising a light-emitting element (Fig. 7, DP-OLED; [0090], "The display element layer DP-OLED includes a light emitting element."), an input-sensing unit above the display panel (Fig. 2, FM; [0069], " In an embodiment, the functional unit FM may include a reflection preventing unit and an input sensing unit FM-1."), and comprising a sensing electrode overlapping the display region ([0069], "The input sensing unit FM-1 may include a capacitive touch panel, a pressure sensitive touch panel, or an electromagnetic induction touch panel."), and a window above the input-sensing unit (Fig. 2, WM; [0082], "In an embodiment, the input sensing unit FM-1, the reflection preventing unit FM-2, and the window WM may be coupled to each other through adhesion layers OCA."), and comprising an optically transparent base substrate (Fig. 4A, WM-BS' [0084], "The base substrate WM-BS includes a transparent substrate, such as a glass substrate.").
However, Yoo does not teach and an organic encapsulation layer above the light-emitting element and comprising a protrusion protruding along a thickness direction of the display panel, at least partially overlapping the display region, and configured to refract a portion of light generated in the display region; and a signal line connected to the sensing electrode; the input-sensing unit or the window comprising an optical structure overlapping the protrusion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cho teaches and an organic encapsulation layer above the light-emitting element and comprising a protrusion protruding along a thickness direction of the display panel (Fig. 14, 209, 209P; [0094], "The organic layer 209 may have a protrusion 209P protruding in a thickness direction of the substrate 100."), at least partially overlapping the display region (Fig. 14, 209, 209P, DA), the input-sensing unit or the window comprising an optical structure overlapping the protrusion (Fig. 2, 20, 500; [0069], "In an embodiment, the cover window 20 may be combined with an underlying component, for example, the anti-reflection layer 500, through an adhesive such as an optically clear adhesive (OCA)."), Wang teaches and configured to refract a portion of light generated in the display region (Fig. 5, 1042, 105; [0050], "...having the refraction piece 105 being disposed in a first encapsulation organic layer 1042 of the encapsulation layer 104, and using the refraction piece 105 to refract light to the display area 110…"); and Hong teaches and a signal line connected to the sensing electrode (Fig. 5, TL1, TL2, TL3; [0119], "The first trace line TL1 is connected to one end of the first sensing electrode TE1. The second trace line TL2 is connected to one end of the second sensing electrode TE2. The third trace line TL3 is connected to the other end of the second sensing electrode TE2.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the display device of Yoo with the organic encapsulation layer of Cho so as to "prevent damage of the substrate", (Cho, [0098]), the refraction of Wang so that "display brightness…is increased", (Wang, [0050]), and the signal line of Hong "for sensing an input applied from the outside", (Hong, [0114]).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Wang, and Hong, teaches the display device of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the input-sensing unit comprises: a first sensing insulating layer above the encapsulation layer; a first conductive pattern layer above the first sensing insulating layer; a second sensing insulating layer above the first conductive pattern layer; and a second conductive pattern layer above the second sensing insulating layer.
However, Hong further teaches wherein the input-sensing unit comprises: a first sensing insulating layer above the encapsulation layer; a first conductive pattern layer above the first sensing insulating layer; a second sensing insulating layer above the first conductive pattern layer; and a second conductive pattern layer above the second sensing insulating layer (Fig. 6, ISL, TM1, TM2, 70; [0142], "The input sensing panel ISL may be disposed on the sixth insulating layer 60. The input sensing panel ISL may include a plurality of conductive patterns TM1 and TM2 and a seventh insulating layer 70. The seventh insulating layer 70 may include a first sensing insulating layer 71, a second sensing insulating layer 72, and a third sensing insulating layer 73.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Cho, Wang, and Hong with the input-sensing layers of Hong so as to be "capable of sensing various types of external inputs", (Hong, [0054]).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Wang, and Hong, teaches the display device of claim 5. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the sensing electrode comprises sensing patterns above the second sensing insulating layer, and wherein the signal line is above the second sensing insulating layer.
However, Hong further teaches wherein the sensing electrode comprises sensing patterns above the second sensing insulating layer (Fig. 5, SP1, SP2; [0116], "The first sensing electrode TE1 may include first sensing patterns SP1 and first bridge patterns BP1."), and wherein the signal line is above the second sensing insulating layer (Fig. 5, TL1, TL2, TL3; [0119], "The first trace line TL1 is connected to one end of the first sensing electrode TE1. The second trace line TL2 is connected to one end of the second sensing electrode TE2. The third trace line TL3 is connected to the other end of the second sensing electrode TE2.", (These electrodes, in Fig. 6, are above the insulating layer, so the lines should be as well)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Cho, Wang, and Hong with the sensing patterns of Hong "for sensing an input applied from the outside", (Hong, [0114]).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Wang, and Hong, teaches the display device of claim 1, and further teaches further comprising an anti-reflective layer between the input-sensing unit and the window (Fig. 4A, FM-2; [0080], "...a reflection preventing unit FM-2…").
Regarding dependent claim 13, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Wang, and Hong, teaches the display device of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the organic encapsulation layer further comprises: a flat portion overlapping the display region; and an inclined portion overlapping the non-display region, and wherein the protrusion is between the flat portion and the inclined portion.
However, Cho further teaches wherein the organic encapsulation layer further comprises: a flat portion overlapping the display region (Fig. 14, 209P, DA, (The top of the protrusion is flat)); and an inclined portion overlapping the non-display region (Fig. 14, 209P, PADA, (There is an inclined portion here)), and wherein the protrusion is between the flat portion and the inclined portion (Fig 14, 209P, DA, PADA, (The protrusion is in both areas)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Cho, Wang, and Hong with the encapsulation layer structure of Cho so as to "function as a spacer", (Cho, [0160]).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Wang, and Hong, teaches the display device of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the encapsulation layer further comprises: a first inorganic encapsulation layer below the organic encapsulation layer; and a second inorganic encapsulation layer above the organic encapsulation layer, and contacting the first inorganic encapsulation layer.
However, Cho further teaches wherein the encapsulation layer further comprises: a first inorganic encapsulation layer below the organic encapsulation layer (Fig. 14, 207; [0092], "The interlayer insulating layer 207 may include an inorganic insulating material…"); and a second inorganic encapsulation layer above the organic encapsulation layer, and contacting the first inorganic encapsulation layer (Fig. 14, 215L, 209; [0165], "In an embodiment, the inorganic layer 215L may be formed in the pad area PADA.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Cho, Wang, and Hong with the additional layers of Cho so as to "entirely cover the first electrode", (Cho, [0164]).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 20200106057 A1), in view of Cho (US 20220173177 A1), Wang (US 20210175467 A1), Hong (US 20220285657 A1), and Yang (US 20210294460 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Wang, and Hong, teaches the display device of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the window comprises a first optical structure protruding from the base substrate.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches wherein the window comprises a first optical structure protruding from the base substrate (Fig. 5, WDL, OS; [0108], "...the window layer WDL may be bonded to the polarization layer POL, the touch sensor TS, and the optical structure OS by the adhesive layer ADL.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Cho, Wang, and Hong with the optical structure of Yang "in order to minimize a non-display area", (Yang, [0003]).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Wang, Hong, and Yang, teaches the display device of claim 2, and Yang further teaches wherein the base substrate is integral with the first optical structure (Fig. 5, OS, BSL; [0110], "In an embodiment, the optical structure OS may be further disposed on the second area HA2 of the base layer BSL.").
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 20200106057 A1), in view of Cho (US 20220173177 A1), Wang (US 20210175467 A1), Hong (US 20220285657 A1), and Kim (US 20220039267 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Wang, and Hong, teaches the display device of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the window further comprises: a window protective layer above the base substrate; and a printed layer on the window protective layer and overlapping the non-display region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein the window further comprises: a window protective layer above the base substrate; and a printed layer on the window protective layer and overlapping the non-display region (Fig. 6, 50, IN; [0085], "However, the present disclosure according to the invention is not limited thereto, and the printed layer IN may be arranged on one surface and/or the other surface of the cover window 40, or on one surface and/or the other surface of the cover window protection layer 50.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Cho, Wang, and Hong with the window protective layer of Kim so as to "perform at least one of functions of prevention of scattering, impact absorption, prevention of scratch, prevention of fingerprint smudges and prevention of glare on the cover window", (Kim, [0061]).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 20200106057 A1), in view of Cho (US 20220173177 A1), Wang (US 20210175467 A1), Hong (US 20220285657 A1), and Jeong (US 20220181592 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Wang, and Hong, teaches the display device of claim 5. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the input-sensing unit comprises a second optical structure below the first sensing insulating layer, and overlapping the protrusion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeong teaches wherein the input-sensing unit comprises a second optical structure below the first sensing insulating layer, and overlapping the protrusion (Fig. 2, 142, NDA; [0067]. "For example, an optical density of the decorative layer 142 is desirably 5 or higher and in this case, the component such as the wiring lines disposed in the non-display area NDA is not visibly recognized to the user and the light leakage can be effectively suppressed.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Cho, Wang, and Hong with the second optical structure of Jeong so as to "suppress the light leakage", (Jeong, [0005]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Yoo, as previously combined with Cho, Wang, Hong, and Jeong, teaches the display device of claim 6. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the second optical structure is in the non-display region and has a closed curve shape surrounding the display region in plan view.
However, Jeong further teaches wherein the second optical structure is in the non-display region and has a closed curve shape surrounding the display region in plan view (Fig. 2, 142, NDA; [0067]. "For example, an optical density of the decorative layer 142 is desirably 5 or higher and in this case, the component such as the wiring lines disposed in the non-display area NDA is not visibly recognized to the user and the light leakage can be effectively suppressed.", (Since the NDA surrounds the display region, the optical structure, which is in a cross section of the NDA, also does)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Cho, Wang, Hong, and Jeong with the location of the second optical structure of Jeong so as to "not allow the components such as a wiring line disposed in the non-display area NDA to be visibly recognized by the user", (Jeong, [0049]).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Yoo, as previously combined with Cho, Wang, Hong, and Jeong, teaches the display device of claim 6. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the second optical structure comprises unit optical structures spaced apart from each other, and arranged in the non-display region to surround the display region in plan view.
However, Jeong further teaches wherein the second optical structure comprises unit optical structures spaced apart from each other, and arranged in the non-display region to surround the display region in plan view (Fig. 3, 242, NDA; [0103], "For example, the mesh pattern layer 241′ has a structure in which pattern units and open units are alternately disposed. Therefore, the light leakage can be generated through the open unit. In order to suppress the light leakage, the decorative layer 242 can be formed to be filled in the plurality of pores formed in the first area AR1 of the mesh pattern layer 241′...", (Since the NDA surrounds the display region, the optical structure, which is in a cross section of the NDA, also does)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Cho, Wang, Hong, and Jeong with the unit optical structures of Jeong so as to "suppress the light leakage", (Jeong, [0103]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 20200106057 A1), in view of Cho (US 20220173177 A1), Wang (US 20210175467 A1), Hong (US 20220285657 A1), and Riedel (US 20220244431 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Wang, and Hong, teaches the display device of claim 10, and further teaches fur4ther comprising an intermediate layer between the anti-reflective layer and the window (Fig. 4A, OCA; [0082], "...the reflection preventing unit FM-2, and the window WM may be coupled to each other through adhesion layers OCA.").
However, as previously combined, they do not teach and having a refractive index that is larger than a refractive index of the base substrate.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Riedel teaches and having a refractive index that is larger than a refractive index of the base substrate ([0026], "Intermediate layer 16 can be an oxide material having a refractive index that is between the refractive indices of conductive and SWIR-MWIR transparent coating 14, 24 and substrate 12, 22…").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Cho, Wang, and Hong with the refractive index of Riedel so as to "minimize optical losses by reflection at the material interfaces", (Riedel, [0026]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 20200106057 A1), in view of Cho (US 20220173177 A1), Wang (US 20210175467 A1), Hong (US 20220285657 A1), and Jeong (US 20220029131 A1, hereinafter Jeong2).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Wang, and Hong, teaches the display device of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the input-sensing unit further comprises at least one sensing insulating layer having a refractive index that is larger than a refractive index of the organic encapsulation layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeong2 teaches wherein the input-sensing unit further comprises at least one sensing insulating layer having a refractive index that is larger than a refractive index of the organic encapsulation layer ([0113], "A refractive index of the first encapsulation layer and a refractive index of the second encapsulation layer can be smaller than a refractive index of the first inorganic insulating layer or a refractive index of the second inorganic insulating layer.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Cho, Wang, and Hong with the refractive indices of Jeong2 so that "transmittance and viewing angle at the blue sub-pixel can decrease', (Jeong, [0087]).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 20200106057 A1), in view of Cho (US 20220173177 A1), Hong (US 20220285657 A1), and Yang (US 20210294460 A1).
Regarding independent claim 15, Yoo teaches a display device comprising: a display panel defining a display region and a non-display region (Fig. 1, DA, NDA; [0062], "The display surface ED-IS includes a display area DA and a non-display area NDA disposed adjacent to the display area DA."), and comprising a base layer (Fig. 7, BL; [0087], "As illustrated in FIGS. 5 to 7, in an embodiment, the display panel DP includes a base layer BL…"), a light-emitting element layer above the base layer and comprising a light-emitting element (Fig. 7, DP-OLED; [0090], "The display element layer DP-OLED includes a light emitting element."), an input-sensing unit above the display panel (Fig. 2, FM; [0069], " In an embodiment, the functional unit FM may include a reflection preventing unit and an input sensing unit FM-1."), and comprising a sensing electrode overlapping the display region ([0069], "The input sensing unit FM-1 may include a capacitive touch panel, a pressure sensitive touch panel, or an electromagnetic induction touch panel."), and a window above the input-sensing unit (Fig. 2, WM; [0082], "In an embodiment, the input sensing unit FM-1, the reflection preventing unit FM-2, and the window WM may be coupled to each other through adhesion layers OCA."), and comprising an optically transparent base substrate (Fig. 4A, WM-BS' [0084], "The base substrate WM-BS includes a transparent substrate, such as a glass substrate.").
However, Yoo does not teach and an organic encapsulation layer above the light-emitting element and comprising a protrusion protruding along a thickness direction of the display panel and partially overlapping the display region; and a signal line connected to the sensing electrode; and a first optical structure protruding from the base substrate in a direction adjacent to the input-sensing unit and overlapping the protrusion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cho teaches and an organic encapsulation layer above the light-emitting element and comprising a protrusion protruding along a thickness direction of the display panel and partially overlapping the display region (Fig. 14, 209, 209P, DA; [0094], "The organic layer 209 may have a protrusion 209P protruding in a thickness direction of the substrate 100."); Hong teaches and a signal line connected to the sensing electrode (Fig. 5, TL1, TL2, TL3; [0119], "The first trace line TL1 is connected to one end of the first sensing electrode TE1. The second trace line TL2 is connected to one end of the second sensing electrode TE2. The third trace line TL3 is connected to the other end of the second sensing electrode TE2."); and Yang teaches and a first optical structure protruding from the base substrate in a direction adjacent to the input-sensing unit and overlapping the protrusion (Fig. 5, WDL, OS; [0108], "...the window layer WDL may be bonded to the polarization layer POL, the touch sensor TS, and the optical structure OS by the adhesive layer ADL.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the display device of Yoo with the encapsulation layer of Cho so as to "prevent damage of the substrate", (Cho, [0098]), the signal line of Hong "for sensing an input applied from the outside", (Hong, [0114]), and the optical structure of Yang "in order to minimize a non-display area", (Yang, [0003]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Hong, and Yang, teaches the display device of claim 15, and Yang further teaches wherein the base substrate is integral with the first optical structure (Fig. 5, OS, BSL; [0110], "In an embodiment, the optical structure OS may be further disposed on the second area HA2 of the base layer BSL.").
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 20200106057 A1), in view of Cho (US 20220173177 A1), Hong (US 20220285657 A1), Yang (US 20210294460 A1), and Riedel (US 20220244431 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Yoo, as previously combined with Cho, Hong, and Yang, teaches the display device of claim 15, and further teaches further comprising an intermediate layer between the input-sensing unit and the window (Fig. 4A, OCA; [0082], "...the reflection preventing unit FM-2, and the window WM may be coupled to each other through adhesion layers OCA.").
However, as previously combined, they do not teach and having a refractive index that is larger than a refractive index of the base substrate.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Riedel teaches and having a refractive index that is larger than a refractive index of the base substrate ([0026], "Intermediate layer 16 can be an oxide material having a refractive index that is between the refractive indices of conductive and SWIR-MWIR transparent coating 14, 24 and substrate 12, 22…").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Hong, and Riedel with the refractive indices of Riedel so as to "minimize optical losses by reflection at the material interfaces", (Riedel, [0026]).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 20200106057 A1), in view of Cho (US 20220173177 A1), Hong (US 20220285657 A1), and Jeong (US 20220181592 A1).
Regarding independent claim 18, Yoo teaches a display device, comprising: a display panel defining a display region and a non-display region (Fig. 1, DA, NDA; [0062], "The display surface ED-IS includes a display area DA and a non-display area NDA disposed adjacent to the display area DA."), and comprising a base layer (Fig. 7, BL; [0087], "As illustrated in FIGS. 5 to 7, in an embodiment, the display panel DP includes a base layer BL…"), a light-emitting element layer above the base layer and comprising a light-emitting element (Fig. 7, DP-OLED; [0090], "The display element layer DP-OLED includes a light emitting element."), and a window above the input-sensing unit and comprising an optically transparent base substrate (Fig. 4A, WM-BS' [0084], "The base substrate WM-BS includes a transparent substrate, such as a glass substrate.").
However, Yoo does not teach and an organic encapsulation layer above the light-emitting element and comprising a protrusion protruding along a thickness direction of the display panel and at least partially overlapping the display region; an input-sensing unit above the display panel and comprising a first sensing insulating layer above the encapsulation layer, a second sensing insulating layer above the first sensing insulating layer, and a second optical structure above the first sensing insulating layer and overlapping the protrusion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cho teaches an organic encapsulation layer above the light-emitting element and comprising a protrusion protruding along a thickness direction of the display panel and at least partially overlapping the display region (Fig. 14, 209, 209P, DA; [0094], "The organic layer 209 may have a protrusion 209P protruding in a thickness direction of the substrate 100."); Hong teaches an input-sensing unit above the display panel and comprising a first sensing insulating layer above the encapsulation layer, a second sensing insulating layer above the first sensing insulating layer (Fig. 6, ISL, TM1, TM2, 70; [0142], "The input sensing panel ISL may be disposed on the sixth insulating layer 60. The input sensing panel ISL may include a plurality of conductive patterns TM1 and TM2 and a seventh insulating layer 70. The seventh insulating layer 70 may include a first sensing insulating layer 71, a second sensing insulating layer 72, and a third sensing insulating layer 73."), and Jeong teaches and a second optical structure above the first sensing insulating layer and overlapping the protrusion (Fig. 2, 142, NDA; [0067]. "For example, an optical density of the decorative layer 142 is desirably 5 or higher and in this case, the component such as the wiring lines disposed in the non-display area NDA is not visibly recognized to the user and the light leakage can be effectively suppressed.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Yoo with the encapsulation layer of Cho so as to "prevent damage of the substrate", (Cho, [0098]), the sensing layers of Hong so as to be "capable of sensing various types of external inputs", (Hong, [0054]), and the second optical structure of Jeong so as to "suppress the light leakage", (Jeong, [0005]).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Hong, and Jeong, teaches the display device of claim 18. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the input-sensing unit further comprises: a sensing electrode overlapping the display region and comprising sensing patterns above the second sensing insulating layer; and a signal line connected to the sensing electrode.
However, Hong further teaches wherein the input-sensing unit further comprises: a sensing electrode overlapping the display region and comprising sensing patterns above the second sensing insulating layer (Fig. 5, SP1, SP2; [0116], "The first sensing electrode TE1 may include first sensing patterns SP1 and first bridge patterns BP1."); and a signal line connected to the sensing electrode (Fig. 5, TL1, TL2, TL3; [0119], "The first trace line TL1 is connected to one end of the first sensing electrode TE1. The second trace line TL2 is connected to one end of the second sensing electrode TE2. The third trace line TL3 is connected to the other end of the second sensing electrode TE2.", (These electrodes, in Fig. 6, are above the insulating layer, so the lines should be as well)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Cho, Hong, and Jeong with the sensing patterns of Hong "for sensing an input applied from the outside", (Hong, [0114]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 20200106057 A1), in view of Cho (US 20220173177 A1), Hong (US 20220285657 A1), Jeong (US 20220181592 A1), and Jeong (US 20220029131 A1, hereinafter Jeong2).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Yoo, as previously modified by Cho, Hong, and Jeong, teaches the display device of claim 18. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein a refractive index of the first sensing insulating layer is larger than a refractive index of the organic encapsulation layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeong2 teaches wherein a refractive index of the first sensing insulating layer is larger than a refractive index of the organic encapsulation layer ([0113], "A refractive index of the first encapsulation layer and a refractive index of the second encapsulation layer can be smaller than a refractive index of the first inorganic insulating layer or a refractive index of the second inorganic insulating layer.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Yoo, Cho, Hong, and Jeong with the refractive indices of Jeong2 so that "transmittance and viewing angle at the blue sub-pixel can decrease', (Jeong, [0087]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
.
/TIMOTHY JAMES MATTABONI/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897