Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 14, 17, 18, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 1, 7, 8, 10, 7, 12, 13, 7, 8, 7, 12, and 13, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,695,259. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 1, 1, 7, 8, 10, 7, 12, 13, 7, 8, 7, 12, and 13, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,695,259 anticipate each of the limitations of claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 14, 17, 18, and 19, respectively, of the immediate application.
Claims 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,100,938. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,100,938 anticipate each of the limitations of claims 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18, respectively, of the immediate application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the receptacle" in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimada U.S. PGPUB No. 2008/0130190.
Regarding claim 1, Shimada discloses an ion generator device, comprising: a housing 40 comprising a front end and a back end (illustrated in figure 5);
a cavity GP formed within the housing 40; a collar 42 extending outwardly from the front end of the housing (as illustrated in figure 5) and containing a conductive device 65 (“the connecting terminal 51 is protruded at an end surface of the supporting plate 55 to electrically connect to the power supply joint 65” [0084] – see also, figures 13 and 14); at least one electrode 90 positioned within the cavity of the housing 40 (see figure 21).
Regarding claim 2, Shimada discloses that the conductive device 65 extends outwardly from the collar 42 having a circular cross-section 67 (as illustrated in figure 14).
Regarding claim 3, Shimada discloses a receptacle 63 disposed within the back end of the housing (when attached to the back end of the housing, as illustrated in figure 15).
Regarding claim 6, Shimada discloses an ion generator device, comprising: a housing 40 with a front end and a back end (illustrated in figure 5) defining a volume GP therein;
a collar 42 extending outwardly from the front end of the housing (as illustrated in figure 5) and containing a conductive device 65 (“the connecting terminal 51 is protruded at an end surface of the supporting plate 55 to electrically connect to the power supply joint 65” [0084] – see also, figures 13 and 14); a plurality of electrodes 90 disposed within housing 40 (see figure 21).
Regarding claim 7, Shimada discloses a power head engaged to the ion generator device (“The electricity removing device drives a high voltage transformer 2A which is the high voltage power supply unit 2 using alternate current source and applies high voltage to the discharge electrode 1 to cause corona discharge” [0005]).
Regarding claim 8, Shimada discloses a plurality of openings 98 within the housing 40 and an electrode 90 disposed adjacent each opening 98 (as illustrated in figure 21).
Regarding claim 10, Shimada discloses that one or more ion generator devices 40 are engaged to each other (as illustrated in figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Shimada discloses that the electrodes 90 contain an emitter that may be constructed of a conducting type material (“The needle electrode 90 of the electrode assembly 92 is made of such as tungsten, for example” [0116]).
Regarding claim 12, Shimada discloses a plurality of ridges 48 on the housing 40.
Regarding claim 13, Shimada discloses an ion generator device, comprising: a housing 40 with a front end and a back end (illustrated in figure 5) defining a volume GP therein;
a plurality of electrodes 90 disposed within housing 40 (see figure 21); a collar 42 extending outwardly from the front end of the housing (as illustrated in figure 5) and containing a conductive device 65 (“the connecting terminal 51 is protruded at an end surface of the supporting plate 55 to electrically connect to the power supply joint 65” [0084] – see also, figures 13 and 14); and a receptacle 63 disposed within the back end of the housing (when attached to the back end of the housing, as illustrated in figure 15).
Regarding claim 14, Shimada discloses a plurality of openings 98 within the housing 40 and an electrode 90 disposed adjacent each opening 98 (as illustrated in figure 21).
Regarding claim 17, Shimada discloses that the electrodes 90 contain an emitter that may be constructed of a conducting type material (“The needle electrode 90 of the electrode assembly 92 is made of such as tungsten, for example” [0116]).
Regarding claim 18, Shimada discloses a plurality of ridges 48 on the housing 40.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noda et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2013/0214173.
Regarding claim 1, Noda discloses an ion generator device, comprising: a housing 13 comprising a front end (the top of figure 2(b)) and a back end (the bottom of figure 2(b)); a cavity formed within the housing (as illustrated in figure 2(b)); a collar 30 extending outwardly from the front end of the housing 13 that has a hollow inner portion, wherein the hollow inner portion of the collar contains a conductive device 9; and at least one electrode 5 positioned within the cavity of the housing 13.
Regarding claim 6, Noda discloses an ion generator device, comprising: a housing 13 with a front end (the top of figure 2(b)) and a back end (the bottom of figure 2(b)) defining a volume therein (as illustrated in figure 2(b)); a collar 30 extending outwardly from the front end of the housing 13 that has a hollow inner portion (as illustrated in figure 2(b)), wherein the hollow inner portion of the collar 30 contains a conductive device 9; and a plurality of electrodes 5 disposed within the housing 13.
Regarding claim 7, Noda discloses a power head engaged to the ion generator device (“the connector 9 connected to an external power source such as a commercial power source supplies power to the high-voltage transformer drive circuit 23” [0034]).
Regarding claim 8, Noda discloses a plurality of openings 33 within the housing 13 and an electrode 5 disposed adjacent each opening (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Noda discloses that the electrodes 5 contain an emitter that may be constructed of carbon fiber brushes, stainless steel or any other conducting type material (an electrode is, by definition, formed of a conducting material).
Regarding claim 12, Noda discloses that the housing 13 includes four ridges configured to surround the ion generating electrodes 5:
Regarding claim 13, Noda discloses a modular ion generator device, comprising: a housing 13 with a front end (the top of figure 2(b)) and a back end (the bottom of figure 2(b)) defining a volume therein (as illustrated in figure 2(b)); a plurality of electrodes 5 disposed within the housing 13; a collar 30 extending outwardly from the front end of the housing 13 that has a hollow inner portion (as illustrated in figure 2(b)), wherein the hollow inner portion of the collar 30 contains a conductive device 9; and a receptacle 33 disposed within the back end of the housing (as illustrated in figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Noda discloses a plurality of openings 33 within the housing 13 and an electrode 5 disposed adjacent each opening (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Noda discloses that the electrodes 5 contain an emitter that may be constructed of carbon fiber brushes, stainless steel or any other conducting type material (an electrode is, by definition, formed of a conducting material).
Regarding claim 18, Noda discloses that the housing 13 includes four ridges configured to surround the ion generating electrodes 5:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada U.S. PGPUB No. 2008/0130190 in view of Oakley et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 5,296,019.
Regarding claim 4, Shimada discloses the claimed invention except that while Shimada connects a series of ionization casing members 40 through connection ports 42 at each end of casing member 40 and having an electrically conductive high voltage plate 50 (each of the connection ports 42 forming collars), there is no explicit disclosure that the collar is externally threaded.
Oakley discloses an ionization device which may be secured to additional ionization devices via an electrical connection formed with an externally threaded (“Each of the housings includes a connector 36 of a type including a body 37 which has an outer screw thread 38 and an end cap 39” [col. 5; lines 61-65]) cooperating with internal threading 40.
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimada with the threaded connection of Oakley in order to provide an alternative mechanism for ensuring a secure electrical connection between adjacent ionization sources.
Regarding claim 5, Shimada discloses the claimed invention except that while Shimada connects a series of ionization casing members 40 through connection ports 42 at each end of casing member 40 and having an electrically conductive high voltage plate 50, there is no explicit disclosure of an internally threaded receptacle.
Oakley discloses an ionization device which may be secured to additional ionization devices via an electrical connection formed with an externally threaded (“Each of the housings includes a connector 36 of a type including a body 37 which has an outer screw thread 38 and an end cap 39” [col. 5; lines 61-65]) cooperating with internal threading 40.
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimada with the threaded connection of Oakley in order to provide an alternative mechanism for ensuring a secure electrical connection between adjacent ionization sources.
Regarding claim 15, Shimada discloses the claimed invention except that while Shimada connects a series of ionization casing members 40 through connection ports 42 at each end of casing member 40 and having an electrically conductive high voltage plate 50 (each of the connection ports 42 forming collars), there is no explicit disclosure that the collar is externally threaded.
Oakley discloses an ionization device which may be secured to additional ionization devices via an electrical connection formed with an externally threaded (“Each of the housings includes a connector 36 of a type including a body 37 which has an outer screw thread 38 and an end cap 39” [col. 5; lines 61-65]) cooperating with internal threading 40.
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimada with the threaded connection of Oakley in order to provide an alternative mechanism for ensuring a secure electrical connection between adjacent ionization sources.
Regarding claim 16, Shimada discloses the claimed invention except that while Shimada connects a series of ionization casing members 40 through connection ports 42 at each end of casing member 40 and having an electrically conductive high voltage plate 50, there is no explicit disclosure of an internally threaded receptacle.
Oakley discloses an ionization device which may be secured to additional ionization devices via an electrical connection formed with an externally threaded (“Each of the housings includes a connector 36 of a type including a body 37 which has an outer screw thread 38 and an end cap 39” [col. 5; lines 61-65]) cooperating with internal threading 40.
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimada with the threaded connection of Oakley in order to provide an alternative mechanism for ensuring a secure electrical connection between adjacent ionization sources.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 10, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2013/0214173 in view of Oakley et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 5,296,019.
Regarding claim 2, Noda discloses a conductive device 9 extending outwardly from collar 30 (as illustrated in figure 2(b)) for supplying power to the ion generator device (“the connector 9 connected to an external power source such as a commercial power source supplies power to the high-voltage transformer drive circuit 23” [0034]). However, there is no explicit disclosure that the conductive device extends outwardly from the collar having a circular cross-section.
Oakley discloses an ion generator device comprising a collar 36 extending outwardly from a front end of a housing 31 (as illustrated in figure 5), the collar 36 having a hollow inner portion containing a conductive device 42; at least one electrode 50 positioned within a cavity of the housing 31; and the conductive device 42 extends outwardly from the collar 36 having a circular cross-section (as illustrated in figures 5 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noda with the electrical connection mechanism of Noda in order to provide a specific type of electrical connector (such as the one disclosed by Oakley) for embodying the generic electrical connector required to power Noda.
Regarding claim 3, Noda discloses a conductive device 9 extending outwardly from collar 30 (as illustrated in figure 2(b)) for supplying power to the ion generator device (“the connector 9 connected to an external power source such as a commercial power source supplies power to the high-voltage transformer drive circuit 23” [0034]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of a receptacle disposed within the back end of the housing that is internally threaded.
Oakley discloses an ion generator device comprising a collar 36 extending outwardly from a front end of a housing 31 (as illustrated in figure 5), the collar 36 having a hollow inner portion containing a conductive device 42; at least one electrode 50 positioned within a cavity of the housing 31; and a receptacle is disposed within the back end of the housing that is internally threaded (as illustrated in figure 4 - “Each of the housings includes a connector 36 of a type including a body 37 which has an outer screw thread 38 and an end cap 39” [col. 5; lines 61-65]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noda with the electrical connection mechanism of Noda in order to provide a specific type of electrical connector (such as the one disclosed by Oakley) for embodying the generic electrical connector required to power Noda.
Regarding claim 4, Noda discloses a conductive device 9 extending outwardly from collar 30 (as illustrated in figure 2(b)) for supplying power to the ion generator device (“the connector 9 connected to an external power source such as a commercial power source supplies power to the high-voltage transformer drive circuit 23” [0034]). However, there is no explicit disclosure that the collar is externally threaded.
Oakley discloses an ion generator device comprising a collar 36 extending outwardly from a front end of a housing 31 (as illustrated in figure 5), the collar 36 having a hollow inner portion containing a conductive device 42; at least one electrode 50 positioned within a cavity of the housing 31; and the collar is externally threaded (“Each of the housings includes a connector 36 of a type including a body 37 which has an outer screw thread 38 and an end cap 39” [col. 5; lines 61-65]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noda with the electrical connection mechanism of Noda in order to provide a specific type of electrical connector (such as the one disclosed by Oakley) for embodying the generic electrical connector required to power Noda.
Regarding claim 5, Noda discloses a conductive device 9 extending outwardly from collar 30 (as illustrated in figure 2(b)) for supplying power to the ion generator device (“the connector 9 connected to an external power source such as a commercial power source supplies power to the high-voltage transformer drive circuit 23” [0034]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of a receptacle disposed within the back end of the housing that is internally threaded.
Oakley discloses an ion generator device comprising a collar 36 extending outwardly from a front end of a housing 31 (as illustrated in figure 5), the collar 36 having a hollow inner portion containing a conductive device 42; at least one electrode 50 positioned within a cavity of the housing 31; and a receptacle is disposed within the back end of the housing that is internally threaded (as illustrated in figure 4 - “Each of the housings includes a connector 36 of a type including a body 37 which has an outer screw thread 38 and an end cap 39” [col. 5; lines 61-65]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noda with the electrical connection mechanism of Noda in order to provide a specific type of electrical connector (such as the one disclosed by Oakley) for embodying the generic electrical connector required to power Noda.
Regarding claim 10, Noda discloses a conductive device 9 extending outwardly from collar 30 (as illustrated in figure 2(b)) for supplying power to the ion generator device (“the connector 9 connected to an external power source such as a commercial power source supplies power to the high-voltage transformer drive circuit 23” [0034]). However, there is no explicit disclosure that one or more ion generator devices are engaged to each other.
Oakley discloses an ion generator device comprising a collar 36 extending outwardly from a front end of a housing 31 (as illustrated in figure 5), the collar 36 having a hollow inner portion containing a conductive device 42; at least one electrode 50 positioned within a cavity of the housing 31; and the one or more ion generator devices are engaged to each other (“a plurality of emitters arranged in series by connection of a wire from each to the next” [col. 6; lines 10-12]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noda with the electrical connection mechanism of Noda in order to provide a specific type of electrical connector (such as the one disclosed by Oakley) for embodying the generic electrical connector required to power Noda, and to allow for a duplication of the device – enhancing the production of ions by including additional ion generators.
Regarding claim 15, Noda discloses a conductive device 9 extending outwardly from collar 30 (as illustrated in figure 2(b)) for supplying power to the ion generator device (“the connector 9 connected to an external power source such as a commercial power source supplies power to the high-voltage transformer drive circuit 23” [0034]). However, there is no explicit disclosure that the conductive device extends outwardly from the collar having a circular cross-section.
Oakley discloses an ion generator device comprising a collar 36 extending outwardly from a front end of a housing 31 (as illustrated in figure 5), the collar 36 having a hollow inner portion containing a conductive device 42; at least one electrode 50 positioned within a cavity of the housing 31; and the conductive device 42 extends outwardly from the collar 36 having a circular cross-section (as illustrated in figures 5 and 6); and the collar is externally threaded (“Each of the housings includes a connector 36 of a type including a body 37 which has an outer screw thread 38 and an end cap 39” [col. 5; lines 61-65])
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noda with the electrical connection mechanism of Noda in order to provide a specific type of electrical connector (such as the one disclosed by Oakley) for embodying the generic electrical connector required to power Noda.
Regarding claim 16, Noda discloses a conductive device 9 extending outwardly from collar 30 (as illustrated in figure 2(b)) for supplying power to the ion generator device (“the connector 9 connected to an external power source such as a commercial power source supplies power to the high-voltage transformer drive circuit 23” [0034]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of a receptacle disposed within the back end of the housing that is internally threaded.
Oakley discloses an ion generator device comprising a collar 36 extending outwardly from a front end of a housing 31 (as illustrated in figure 5), the collar 36 having a hollow inner portion containing a conductive device 42; at least one electrode 50 positioned within a cavity of the housing 31; and a receptacle is disposed within the back end of the housing that is internally threaded (as illustrated in figure 4 - “Each of the housings includes a connector 36 of a type including a body 37 which has an outer screw thread 38 and an end cap 39” [col. 5; lines 61-65]) and contains another conductive element 42.
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noda with the electrical connection mechanism of Noda in order to provide a specific type of electrical connector (such as the one disclosed by Oakley) for embodying the generic electrical connector required to power Noda.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada U.S. PGPUB No. 2008/0130190 in view of Sunshine U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0190772.
Regarding claim 9, Shimada discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure of at least one flange extending from the housing for engaging a magnet thereto.
Sunshine discloses an ion generator device, comprising a housing 1 and at least one flange 12 extending from the housing for engaging a magnet thereto (“The one or more flanges 12 can be used to secure ion generator device enclosure 1 to a surface by any suitable connection means, such as a screw, nail, clip, adhesive, rivet, grommet, bolt, magnetic connectors, hook and loop fasteners, straps and the like” [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimada with the magnetic fastener(s) of Sunshine in order to secure the ion generator device preventing its movement during use.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2013/0214173 in view of Sunshine U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0190772.
Regarding claim 9, Noda discloses a conductive device 9 extending outwardly from collar 30 (as illustrated in figure 2(b)) for supplying power to the ion generator device (“the connector 9 connected to an external power source such as a commercial power source supplies power to the high-voltage transformer drive circuit 23” [0034]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of at least one flange extending from the housing for engaging a magnet thereto.
Sunshine discloses an ion generator device, comprising a housing 1 and at least one flange 12 extending from the housing for engaging a magnet thereto (“The one or more flanges 12 can be used to secure ion generator device enclosure 1 to a surface by any suitable connection means, such as a screw, nail, clip, adhesive, rivet, grommet, bolt, magnetic connectors, hook and loop fasteners, straps and the like” [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noda with the magnetic fastener(s) of Sunshine in order to secure the ion generator device preventing its movement during use.
Conclusion
/JASON L MCCORMACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2881