Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/21/2026 with respect to claims 8 and 10-17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection in view of Samec et al. (US 2017/0365101).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8,10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 2023/0403382 hereinafter Jiang) in view of Samec et al. (US 2017/0365101 hereinafter Samec).
Referring to claim 8, Jiang discloses a display system (Jiang- [0094] FIG. 1 is a flowchart of a method for displaying a mixed reality according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. FIG. 2 is a first schematic structural diagram of a mixed reality apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. With reference to FIGS. 1 and 2, the mixed reality (MR) apparatus includes: a display screen 1, an eye tracker 2 on a display surface 1a of the display screen, and an image sensor array 3 on a non-display surface 1b of the display screen, where image sensors in the image sensor array 3 are in a corresponding relation with a plurality of display sub-regions in the display screen 1.), comprising:
an array of pixels arranged to display an image (Jiang- [0139]; It is assumed that two images corresponding to a certain blurred region in the filtered image are image 1 and image 2, p and t denote base addresses of pixels in ith rows of stitched image 1 and stitched image 2, respectively, d denotes an address of a first pixel in an ith row of the filtered image, row denotes the row number of d, 0≤i<row, col denotes the column number of p, 0≤j<col, alpha denotes a pixel weight coefficient of image 1, start denotes a starting position of the overlapping region.); and
an array of imaging sensors (Jiang- [0094], Fig. 2; an image sensor array 3 on a non-display surface 1b of the display screen, where image sensors in the image sensor array 3 are in a corresponding relation with a plurality of display sub-regions in the display screen 1.) arranged to operatively detect information from an eye of a user in response to the displayed image of the array of pixels (Jiang- [0045]; a driving circuit configured to control the eyeball tracker to track an eye of a user, so as to determine a gaze point of the user on the display screen after receiving a mixed display signal; determine, according to a corresponding relation between gaze points and display sub-regions in the display screen and the corresponding relation between display sub-regions and image sensors in the image sensor array, at least one first image sensor corresponding to the gaze point; adjust the at least one first image sensor, so as to increase a resolution of an image generated by the at least one first image sensor…. and [0109]; Step 103: at least one first image sensor is determined according to the corresponding relation between display sub-regions and image sensors in the image sensor array, and at least one first image sensor is adjusted to increase a resolution of an image generated by at least one first image sensor. A distance between a center point of a display sub-region corresponding to the first image sensor and the gaze point is less than the set distance, and fields of view of two adjacent image sensors in the image sensor array partially overlap each other.).
However, as applied above does not specifically disclose the array of imaging sensors is arranged to operatively optimize brightness, contrast, image frequency, and focus of the array of pixels.
In an analogous art, Samec discloses the array of imaging sensors is arranged to operatively optimize brightness, contrast, image frequency, and focus of the array of pixels ([0477]; The user sensors will be discussed first. As illustrated, an augmented reality display system 2010 may include various user sensors, which may also be referred to as inwardly-directed sensors. The augmented reality display system 2010 may correspond to the system 80 of FIG. 2 and may include a viewer imaging system 22. The system 22 may include cameras 24 (e.g., infrared, UV, and/or visible light cameras) paired with light sources 26 (e.g., infrared light sources) directed at and configured to monitor the user (e.g., the eyes 2001, 2002 and/or surrounding tissues of the user). In some other embodiments, the light sources 26 may be configured to emit light to provide light stimulation to the user. For example, the light sources may be configured to generate content that varies in one or more of the following properties: colors at one or more intensities, patterns, brightness, two- or three-dimensional enhancement or de-enhancement, sharpened or blurred focus, higher or lower resolution, enhanced or de-enhanced contrast, motion, lack of motion, higher or lower refresh rate, magnification, shape, intensity, distortion or other qualities, all of which may change over time. The cameras 24 and light sources 26 may be operatively coupled to the local processing module 70. Such cameras 24 may be configured to monitor one or more of the orientation, shape, and symmetry of pupils (including pupil sizes) or irises of the respective eyes, and/or tissues surrounding the eye, such as eyelids or eyebrows to conduct the various analyses disclosed herein. In some embodiments, imaging of the iris and/or retina of an eye may be used for secure identification of a user.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Samec to the system of Jiang in order to provide long-term wearability due to ability to provide correct accommodation-vergence match so as to provide a platform that allows long-term neurological analyzes to be performed, and allow real-time selective provision of corrective or learning aids as needed.
Referring to claim 10, Jiang discloses wherein the one or more characteristics comprises one or both of brightness and contrast (Jiang- [0109] Step 103: at least one first image sensor is determined according to the corresponding relation between display sub-regions and image sensors in the image sensor array, and at least one first image sensor is adjusted to increase a resolution of an image generated by at least one first image sensor. A distance between a center point of a display sub-region corresponding to the first image sensor and the gaze point is less than the set distance, and fields of view of two adjacent image sensors in the image sensor array partially overlap each other.… and [0124]; Before the environment image output by the image sensor array and a virtual image are superimposed and rendered, the method further includes: in response to determining that the total number of the image sensors in the working state of the image sensor array is greater than 1, a plurality of images output by the image sensor array are stitched into a stitched image; and brightness and color of the stitched image are adjusted to generate the environment image.).
Referring to claim 13, Jiang discloses wherein the array of imaging sensors is overlaid with one or more lens elements or wavefront encoding optics, such that the wavefront encoding optics can provide vision error measurements (Jiang- [0130]; A resolution of an image (an image collected by an ith image sensor in the image sensor array is denoted as P.sub.i) collected by each image sensor may be calculated. A focal length (denoted as d.sub.i) from an optical center of the ith image sensor to an imaging plane may be recorded. Then each image is transformed from a camera coordinate system to a world coordinate system. Finally, a homography matrix of each image is calculated, so that all the images have the same angle of view under the same coordinate system, thereby completing image stitching. Thus, “an optical center of the ith image sensor” reads on limitation “the array of imaging sensors is overlaid with one or more lens elements”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 2023/0403382 hereinafter Jiang) in view of Samec et al. (US 2017/0365101 hereinafter Samec), and Tang, Xin (CN 216563136 hereinafter Tang).
Referring to claim 11, Jiang in view of Samec as applied above does not specifically disclose further comprising an array of infrared illumination pixels, wherein the array of infrared illumination pixels is arranged with the array of pixels such that a quantum dots layer converts light from the array of pixels to emissions in an infrared wavelength spectrum.
In an analogous art, Tang discloses further comprising an array of infrared illumination pixels, wherein the array of infrared illumination pixels is arranged with the array of pixels such that a quantum dots layer converts light from the array of pixels to emissions in an infrared wavelength spectrum (Tang- see attachment highlight section; it can be understood that, FIG. 4 or FIG. 5 only shows the array pixel structure of the infrared quantum dot layer 111 comprises three types of detection pixel, quantum dot light emitting layer 123 comprises three kinds of corresponding light emitting pixel, However, it does not constitute the limitation of the infrared-polychromatic conversion imaging the plane device of the invention provided by the embodiment of the present disclosure; In other embodiments, the array pixel structure of the infrared quantum dot layer 111 and the quantum dot light emitting layer 123 may also include more types of detection pixel or light emitting pixel, namely the infrared quantum dot layer 111 can also receive infrared light of other band range, quantum dot light emitting layer 123 may also emit red, green, visible light of other colors other than blue, not limited.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Tang to the system of Jiang in view of Samec in order to enhance augmented reality experience for the user.
Referring to claim 12, Jiang discloses further comprising one or more sensor pixels that are sensitive to light in the non-visible light wavelength range (Jiang- [0096]; The eye tracker 2 may be an image sensor or an infrared sensor, which will not be specifically limited.).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 2023/0403382 hereinafter Jiang) in view of Samec et al. (US 2017/0365101 hereinafter Samec), and Lee (US 2020/0004333 hereinafter Lee).
Referring to claim 14, Jiang in view of Samec as applied above does not specifically disclose further comprising a first mono-processing channel for processing a video signal to a first eye of a user, a second mono-processing channel for processing the video signal to a second eye of the user, and a dual eye processor that processes aspects of the first mono-processing channel and the second mono-processing channel.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses further comprising a first mono-processing channel for processing a video signal to a first eye of a user (Lee- Fig. 6; process right eye), a second mono-processing channel for processing the video signal to a second eye of the user (Fig. 6; process left eye), and a dual eye processor (Lee- [0071-0073], Fig. 2; 120) that processes aspects of the first mono-processing channel and the second mono-processing channel (Lee-[0177]; Referring to FIG. 6, a process of matching the user image with the gaze image is illustrated. The user image corresponding to the still image is collected from the video image. Then, the features of the right eye, the left eye, and the face may be conceived from the user image. In this case, the direction, size, and shape of the right eye, the left eye, and the face may be conceived relative to the grid frame input together. The gaze image corresponding to the still image is collected from the video image provided from the buffer. Then, the learning data of the Artificial Intelligence is generated by matching the user image and the gaze image generated at the same time zone with each other.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Lee to the system of Jiang in view of Samec in order to improve the display quality of the contents in the portable device.
Referring to claim 15, Jiang as modified by Lee discloses wherein the first mono-processing channel, the second mono-processing channel, and the dual eye processing channel utilize artificial intelligence processing techniques (Lee- [0093]; The display control apparatus 101 may detect the user's gaze information from the input image of the user's face by using the Artificial Intelligence model learned according to the Artificial Intelligence algorithm. Then, the Artificial Intelligence model may detect the user's gaze information by using the distance information between the user and the screen of the display, the shape of the user's face, and the information on the pupil shapes of the left eye and the right eye of the user through the training based on the plurality of matched images.).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 2023/0403382 hereinafter Jiang) in view of Samec et al. (US 2017/0365101 hereinafter Samec), Lee (US 2020/0004333 hereinafter Lee), and Porubanova et al. (US 2024/0319504 hereinafter Porubanova).
Referring to claim 16, Jiang in view of Porubanova, and Lee as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the first mono-processing channel is coupled to a display module, and the second mono-processing channel is coupled to a second display module, wherein the first display module and the second display module comprises a first array of pixels and a camera.
In an analogous art, Porubanova discloses wherein the first mono-processing channel is coupled to a display module, and the second mono-processing channel is coupled to a second display module (Porubanova- [0025], Figs. 1-2; FIG. 1 shows an example computing system in the form of a head-mounted display device 100 comprising a binocular display system 102. Binocular display system 102 comprises a left eye display 102L and a right eye display 102R. Each display can comprise a scanned beam projector, a microdisplay (such as LCOS, OLED), or other suitable image display mechanism. Each image can be delivered to a respective eye using any suitable optics. Example optics include one or more lens(es), waveguide(s), a prism(s), and combinations thereof. Images displayed on left eye display 102L and right eye display 102R can comprise stereoscopic images of virtual objects.), wherein the first display module and the second display module comprises a first array of pixels and a camera ([0021]; The display locations of the left eye image and the right eye image can be corrected based on this tracking. As an example correction, a mapping of each image to respective display hardware pixel rows can be shifted upwardly or downwardly…. and [0028]; Display device 100 also comprises, for each eye, one or more eye-tracking cameras 112 and one or more glint light sources, illustrated schematically at 114. Each glint light source 114 is configured to direct light (e.g. infrared light) toward the cornea of a user's eye.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Porubanova to the system of Jiang in view of Samec, and Lee in order to improve stereoscopic viewing experience for the user.
Referring to claim 17, Jiang as modified by Porubanova discloses wherein the camera of each display module collects information associated with the respective eye of the user and conveys the information to the respective mono processing channel (Porubanova- [0028]; Display device 100 also comprises, for each eye, one or more eye-tracking cameras 112 and one or more glint light sources, illustrated schematically at 114. Each glint light source 114 is configured to direct light (e.g. infrared light) toward the cornea of a user's eye. Image data from each eye-tracking camera is analyzed to determine the location of a glint from each glint light source and a location of the pupil of the eye. The glint and pupil location data may then be used to determine a gaze direction, potentially in combination with suitable anatomical models related, for example, to eye geometry and/or head geometry. In the depicted example, the glint light source(s) 114 and corresponding eye-tracking camera 112 are schematically depicted as being positioned above the eye. In other examples, the eye-tracking camera and glint light sources may be positioned below the eye, to a side of the eye, or in any other suitable location.).
Conclusion
/SCOTT D AU/Examiner, Art Unit 2624