DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/09/2024 and 07/24/2026 were filed before the mailing of a First Office Action on the Merits. The information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrmann et al. US 20260239132 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Herrmann), in view of Ghanbarinejad et al. US 20230362857 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Ghanbarinejad).
Regarding claim 1, Herrmann discloses an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions (Herrmann: ¶ 0215, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is provided. The recording medium stores a program which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to carry out the steps of a method), that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: based on determining a routing point switch in a communication network by a serving base station from a source routing point to a target routing point (Herrmann: ¶ 0118, Handover in non-terrestrial cells is associated with some additional issues compared to the handover in terrestrial cells. For example, the handover may be necessary not only due to the movement of a UE, but also due to the movement of the cells themselves, caused by the movement of the non-terrestrial base station or the Earth, depending on the type of the cell), create a pre-compensation transition window for start and end of transition time between an availability of the source routing point and an availability of the target routing point (Herrmann: ¶ 0163, Signaling of the coverage provided by the neighboring cell may be used by the UE to determine whether or not to perform handover to a neighboring cell (and to which one) [Examiner’s note: Handover preparation window corresponds to transition time between cell availabilities]), wherein the creating is starting at a point in time and using a duration of the pre-compensation transition window on at least an uplink transmission with the target routing point and at least a downlink reception from the source routing point (Herrmann: ¶¶ 0164-0167, In particular, the determining whether or not to handover at a UE includes:…estimating whether or not the UE is located within a coverage of a neighboring cell of the one or more neighboring cells as well as within a coverage of the serving cell based on said indication of coverage…deciding whether or not to handover to the neighboring cell based on a first condition that requires for a UE to handover that the UE be located within said overlapping coverage region…It is noted that the estimation may be performed based on the coverage of the neighboring cell and based on the coverage of the serving cell, both determined based on system information. Moreover, a UE is aware of its own location. For instance, the UE may determine its own position based on GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite Systems) or in any other way known in the art.).
Herrmann does not explicitly disclose based on the pre-compensation transition window, perform at least one of time or frequency pre-compensation to accommodate for time differences at the serving base station at least one of during or after the routing point switch or for differences in a propagation path between the source routing point and the target routing point to at least maintain continuity of communication by the apparatus during the start and end of transition time.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Ghanbarinejad teaches based on the pre-compensation transition window, perform at least one of time or frequency pre-compensation to accommodate for time differences at the serving base station at least one of during or after the routing point switch (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0094, enhanced PRACH formats and/or preamble sequences may be supported. ¶ 0099, Regarding maintenance for UL timing advance and frequency synchronization, with consideration on the larger cell coverage, long round trip time (“RTT”), and high Doppler, in one embodiment, enhancements are considered to ensure the performance for timing and frequency synchronization for UL transmission.) or for differences in a propagation path between the source routing point and the target routing point to at least maintain continuity of communication by the apparatus during the start and end of transition time (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0135, the UE computes a timing advance value TA1 based on a location of the TRP, LTRP, e.g., 3D coordinates, and a location of the UE, LUE, e.g., 3D coordinates. For example, if GNW and GUE comprise, respectively, the NT-TRP ephemeris/position, PTRP, e.g., 3D coordinates and the UE position. PUE, e.g., 3D coordinates, TA1 can be computed by calculating the propagation delay associated with the distance between the NT-TRP and the UE… Alternatively, in one embodiment, if GNW and GUE comprise, respectively, a time, a time stamp, or reference time associated with the TRP, TTRP, and UE time or reference time, TUE, associated with a reception time of a signal transmitted at TTRP, TA1 can be computed by calculating the time difference |TUE−TTRP|).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 2, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Herrmann further teaches, wherein at least one of the source routing point or the target routing point is embodied in an aerospace device (Herrmann: ¶ 0118, Handover in non-terrestrial cells is associated with some additional issues… caused by the movement of the non-terrestrial base station or the Earth, depending on the type of the cell).
Regarding claim 3, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Ghanbarinejad further teaches, wherein a timing advance value is considered for a timing advance calculation before, during, and after the pre-compensation transition window (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0144, TAnew:=TAold+TA3+TAdrift, where TAdrift is obtained in step 8. ¶ 0265, the UE receives a control message comprising a value of initial timing advance (TA0) and a value of timing advance drift rate (a) as a function of time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 4, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Herrmann further teaches, wherein at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions is executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to (Herrmann: ¶ 0215, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is provided. The recording medium stores a program which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to carry out the steps of a method): during the pre-compensation transition window: apply a timing advance corresponding at least to a delay between the apparatus and an uplink synchronization reference point associated with the source routing point (Herrmann: ¶ 0165, estimating whether or not the UE is located within a coverage of a neighboring cell of the one or more neighboring cells as well as within a coverage of the serving cell based on said indication of coverage [Examiner’s note: Reference teaches serving cell, which is equivalent to “source routing point with timing reference”]).
Herrmann does not explicitly disclose and apply at least one of a time advance delay between the apparatus and the uplink synchronization reference point associated to the target routing point or an interruption time if applicable.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Ghanbarinejad teaches and apply at least one of a time advance delay between the apparatus and the uplink synchronization reference point associated to the target routing point or an interruption time if applicable (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0294, Measurement gaps may be configured by indicating a frequency of occurrence and the length of each measurement gap. ¶ 0109, single reference point per beam is considered as the baseline).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 5, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Herrmann further teaches, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions is executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to (Herrmann: ¶ 0215, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is provided. The recording medium stores a program which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to carry out the steps of a method).
Herrmann does not explicitly disclose apply after the pre-compensation transition window a calculation of round trip time between the apparatus and the uplink synchronization ref point associated with the target routing point.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Ghanbarinejad teaches apply after the pre-compensation transition window a calculation of round trip time between the apparatus and the uplink synchronization ref point associated with the target routing point (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0135, the UE computes a timing advance value TA1 based on a location of the TRP, LTRP, e.g., 3D coordinates, and a location of the UE, LUE, e.g., 3D coordinates [Examiner’s note: Reference derives RTT calculation for timing advance from propagation distance after switching to target cell]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 6, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Ghanbarinejad further teaches, wherein after the pre-compensation transition window a downlink and an uplink having a same round trip time are coupled and associated to the target routing point (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0144, TAnew:=TAold+TA3+TAdrift, where TAdrift is obtained in step 8), and wherein the timing advance is equal to the round trip time between the uplink synchronization ref point associated to the target routing point (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0109, For calculation of common TA in the above two options, in one embodiment, single reference point per beam is considered as the baseline).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 7, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 4.
Ghanbarinejad further teaches, wherein an uplink transmission associated with a target routing point and a downlink reception associated with a source routing point have different paths or delays (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0117, In transparent payload scenarios… the airborne or spaceborne transceiver relays communications between a UE and a gateway without processing the payload…TA signaling is generated by the gNB connected to the gateway and should consider the propagation delay of the feeder link); and apply the delay between the apparatus and an uplink synchronization ref point associated to the target routing point (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0109, For calculation of common TA in the above two options, in one embodiment, single reference point per beam is considered as the baseline).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 8, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 7.
Herrmann further teaches, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions is executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to (Herrmann: ¶ 0215, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is provided. The recording medium stores a program which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to carry out the steps of a method). Herrmann does not explicitly disclose apply an interruption time if applicable.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Ghanbarinejad teaches apply an interruption time if applicable (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0294, Measurement gaps may be configured by indicating a frequency of occurrence and the length of each measurement gap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 9, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Herrmann further teaches, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions is executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to (Herrmann: ¶ 0215, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is provided. The recording medium stores a program which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to carry out the steps of a method).
Herrmann does not explicitly disclose prior to the serving cell switch and based on the transition window, calculate a round trip time based on a decoupling between uplink and downlink routing points; in the pre-compensation transition window calculate a downlink delay reference from source routing point information and a path delay from target routing point information; wherein the calculating comprise a timing advance, and wherein during the transition period, a downlink reference is received from the source routing point, and an uplink reference is a signal sent towards the target routing point for downlink and uplink decoupling; and after the transition window, calculate a round-trip time towards the target routing point, wherein the calculating comprises timing.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Ghanbarinejad teaches prior to the serving cell switch and based on the transition window, calculate a round trip time based on a decoupling between uplink and downlink routing points (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0144, TAnew:=TAold+TA3+TAdrift, where TAdrift is obtained in step 8); in the pre-compensation transition window calculate a downlink delay reference from source routing point information and a path delay from target routing point information (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0265, UE receives a control message comprising a value of initial timing advance (TA0) and a value of timing advance drift rate (a) as a function of time); wherein the calculating comprise a timing advance, and wherein during the transition period, a downlink reference is received from the source routing point, and an uplink reference is a signal sent towards the target routing point for downlink and uplink decoupling (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0117, In transparent payload scenarios… the airborne or spaceborne transceiver relays communications between a UE and a gateway without processing the payload…TA signaling is generated by the gNB connected to the gateway and should consider the propagation delay of the feeder link. ¶ 0114, Communications from the UE to the NT-TRP, in one embodiment, are referred to as uplink and communications from the NT-TRP to the UE are referred to as downlink); and after the transition window, calculate a round-trip time towards the target routing point, wherein the calculating comprises timing (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0135, the UE computes a timing advance value TA1 based on a location of the TRP, LTRP, e.g., 3D coordinates, and a location of the UE, LUE, e.g., 3D coordinates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 10, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Ghanbarinejad further teaches, wherein a parameter is introduced when a gap in time is configured at the serving base station to accommodate for an offset between a difference in a total distance when information is routed through the source routing point and the target routing point (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0144, TAnew:=TAold+TA3+TAdrift, where TAdrift is obtained in step 8. ¶ 0294, Measurement gaps may be configured by indicating a frequency of occurrence and the length of each measurement gap [Examiner’s note: Gap parameter accommodates propagation path offset during routing point switch]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 11, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Herrmann further teaches, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions is executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to (Herrmann: ¶ 0215, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is provided. The recording medium stores a program which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to carry out the steps of a method): receive an indication of a time when the target routing point will become available (Herrmann: ¶ 0163, Signaling of the coverage provided by the neighboring cell may be used by the UE to determine whether or not to perform handover to a neighboring cell (and to which one)).
Regarding claim 12, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Herrmann further teaches, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions is executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to (Herrmann: ¶ 0215, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is provided. The recording medium stores a program which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to carry out the steps of a method): receive parameters of a start and the duration of the transition window from the serving base station (Herrmann: ¶ 0165, deciding whether or not to handover to the neighboring cell based on a first condition that requires for a UE to handover that the UE be located within said overlapping coverage region [Examiner’s note: Overlapping coverage region defines transition window parameters]).
Regarding claim 13, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Herrmann further teaches, wherein the parameters are implicitly conveyed (Herrmann: ¶ 0149, the neighboring coverage information can describe the coverage of a neighboring cell in a manner similar as for the serving cell, i.e. with parameters similar to referenceLocation-r17 and distanceThresh-r17. The referenceLocation-r17 may carry the location of the center of the cell and distanceThresh-r17 may carry the radius).
Regarding claim 14, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Herrmann further teaches, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions is executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to (Herrmann: ¶ 0215, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is provided. The recording medium stores a program which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to carry out the steps of a method). Herrmann does not explicitly disclose start transmission towards the target routing point at a time T before a service time is reached, wherein T is calculated from routing point assistance information provided for at least one of a source cell or a target cell, wherein a duration of the transition window is measured in slots.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Ghanbarinejad teaches start transmission towards the target routing point at a time T before a service time is reached, wherein T is calculated from routing point assistance information provided for at least one of a source cell or a target cell (Ghanbarinejad: 0083, The UE, in one embodiment, shall meet the T.sub.c requirement for an initial transmission provided that at least one SSB is available at the UE during the last 160 ms. The reference point for the UE initial transmit timing control requirement, in one embodiment, shall be the downlink timing of the reference cell minus (N.sub.TA+N.sub.TA offset) X T.sub.c), wherein a duration of the transition window is measured in slots (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0079, the UE adjusts the timing of its uplink transmission timing at time slot n+k+1 for a timing advance command received in time slot n).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 15, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Herrmann further teaches, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions is executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to (Herrmann: ¶ 0215, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is provided. The recording medium stores a program which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to carry out the steps of a method). Herrmann does not explicitly disclose receive from the serving base station a gap to be used to accommodate for time differences at serving base station side before and after the switch.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Ghanbarinejad teaches receive from the serving base station a gap to be used to accommodate for time differences at serving base station side before and after the switch (Ghanbarinejad: ¶¶ 0294-0295, Measurement gaps may be configured by indicating a frequency of occurrence and the length of each measurement gap… the UE can use a measurement gap to perform GNSS operations, it can obtain updated location/timing information and use it to compute a new TA value ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 16, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Herrmann further teaches, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions is executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to (Herrmann: ¶ 0215, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is provided. The recording medium stores a program which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to carry out the steps of a method). Herrmann does not explicitly disclose receive from the serving base station, an indication to maintain or to reset a value of NTA during at least one of the transition time or after the switch is completed.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Ghanbarinejad teaches receive from the serving base station, an indication to maintain or to reset a value of NTA during at least one of the transition time or after the switch is completed (Ghanbarinejad: ¶¶ 0143-0145, following reception of a TA command, the UE computes a new value of timing advance as follows…For Embodiment 1: TAnew:=TAold+TA3+TAdrift, where TAdrift is obtained in step 8…For Embodiment 2: TAnew:=TAold+TA3. ¶ 0109, For calculation of common TA in the above two options, in one embodiment, single reference point per beam is considered as the baseline).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 17, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Herrmann further teaches, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions is executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to (Herrmann: ¶ 0215, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is provided. The recording medium stores a program which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to carry out the steps of a method). Herrmann does not explicitly disclose receive from the serving base station, an indication to be precluded from RACH-less hard switch and to perform a new random access channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Ghanbarinejad teaches receive from the serving base station, an indication to be precluded from RACH-less hard switch and to perform a new random access channel (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0063, FIG. 1B depicts another wireless communication system 175 supporting random access procedure in non-terrestrial network…a remote unit 105 communicates directly with the base units 110 in the RAN 120 via uplink (“UL”) and downlink (“DL”) communication signals. ¶ 0124, UE transmits RACH preamble while applying TA1 [Examiner’s note: Reference teaches RACH procedure for UL timing acquisition, as opposed to RACH-less switch]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 18, Herrmann in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Herrmann further teaches, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions is executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to (Herrmann: ¶ 0215, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is provided. The recording medium stores a program which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to carry out the steps of a method). Herrmann does not explicitly disclose receive, from the communication network, an indication of the point in time to create the pre-compensation transition window.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Ghanbarinejad teaches receive, from the communication network, an indication of the point in time to create the pre-compensation transition window (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0265, the UE receives a control message comprising a value of initial timing advance (TA0) and a value of timing advance drift rate (a) as a function of time. ¶¶ 0121-0124, NT-TRP broadcasts ephemeris information G.sub.NW in SIB…UE obtains its own location information G.sub.UE from GNSS…UE computes TA1 based on G.sub.NW and G.sub.UE…UE transmits RACH preamble while applying TA1 [Examiner’s note: Assistance data and control messages indicate timing points for pre-compensation window activation in NTN]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these above mentioned timing pre-compensation techniques disclosed by Ghanbarinejad with the NTN handover procedures disclosed by Herrmann, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of seamless communication continuity during satellite handover cell handovers (Herrmann: ¶ 0119) with proper timing/frequency alignment (Ghanbarinejad: ¶ 0114).
Features of claim 19 correspond to features of claim 1, respectively, and is therefore rejected using the same rationale(s) and same prior art(s) applied to claim 1, above.
Conclusion
/T.O.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414