DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to communication filed on 9/29/2026.
The instant application having application No. 18/799,448 filed on August 9, 2024, has no priority data.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15, 17-18, 21, and 24 have been amended, claims 6-7, 13-14, and 19-20 are canceled. Accordingly, claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-18, and 21-25 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Amendment
(A). Regarding 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection: The amended claims are still abstract idea without significantly more. New ground of the 101 rejections is represented below.
(B). Regarding art rejection: In regard to claims Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive; further, Applicant's amendments necessitated new grounds of rejections presented in the following art rejection.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The term “adjacent” in the claims has been interpreted not a relative term, because it has clear definition, e.g. next to, or with nothing else of the same kind in between.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to claim 1, This claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directed to a method claim under Step 1.
Under Prong 1, Step 2A:
However, the limitations of claim 1,
“creating, […], an intermediate representation of a source program […];
accessing, […], source information describing the source program;
matching, […], individual statements of the source program to corresponding portions of the intermediate representation of the source program, wherein the matching is based at least in part on the source information, wherein the matching comprises iteratively propagating information from at least one constraint of the plurality of constraints to one or more adjacent constraints of the plurality of constraints to refine candidate values of the one or more adjacent constraints;
determining, […], a source program line number for the at least one constraint of [[a]]the plurality of constraints based on the matching;”
as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. E.g. the user can manually create an intermediate representation of a source program; can manually access source information describing the source program; can manually match individual statements as defined in the claim; can manually propagate information as defined in the claim, can manually refine candidate values as defined in the claim, can manually determine a source program line number as defined in the claim. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1 Step 2A.
Under Prong 2, Step 2A:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the following additional elements
“a processor set”,
“debugging a compiled executable file, the debugging including:”
“by disassembling a compiled executable file, wherein the intermediate representation comprises a plurality of constraints” and
“outputting the source program line number for the at least one constraint to troubleshoot the source program.”
Wherein “a processor set” is cited as a generic computer system, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. “debugging a compiled executable file, the debugging including:” is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(h). “by disassembling a compiled executable file, wherein the intermediate representation comprises a plurality of constraints” is merely using a computer and disassembling software as tools to implement the identified abstract idea. The “outputting …” is insignificant extra-solution activity, such as data transmitting, according to MPEP 2106.05(g); thus, not indicative of an integration into a practical application.
Under Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element “a processor set” that is mere use of generic computer to implement the abstract idea, thus, is not an inventive concept. “debugging a compiled executable file, the debugging including:” is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception, and does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(h). “by disassembling a compiled executable file, wherein the intermediate representation comprises a plurality of constraints” is merely using a computer and disassembling software as tools to implement the identified abstract idea, does not constitute an inventive concept. The “outputting …” is insignificant extra-solution activity, such as transmitting data which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), Symantec for receiving and transmitting data. Accordingly, the claim does not appear to be patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
With respect to claim 8, This claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directed to a computer program product claim under Step 1.
This claim recites a computer program product to implement a method that is disclosed in claim 1 and therefore recites the same abstract idea as claim 1, please see the office action analysis regarding claim 1.
Claim 8 recites one additional element, i.e. one or more computer readable storage media. But the storage media are generic computer elements in the computer system, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
With respect to claim 15, This claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directed to a system claim under Step 1.
This claim recites a system to implement a method that is disclosed in claim 1 and therefore recites the same abstract idea as claim 1, please see the office action analysis regarding claim 1.
Claim 15 recites additional elements, i.e. computer readable storage media that is not recited in claim 1. But the storage media are generic computer elements in the computer system, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
With respect to claims 2, 9, and 16, “further comprising accessing the compiled executable file at a remote device.” That is insignificant extra-solution activity, such as retrieving data which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. for retrieving and storing data.
With respect to claims 3 and 10, “further comprising determining whether the at least one constraint is coalesced with an additional constraint to form a single coalesced constraint.” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, the user can manually perform the determining process as defined in the claim.
With respect to claims 4 and 11, “further comprising determining whether a candidate symbol of the at least one constraint is refined.” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, the user can manually perform the determining process as defined in the claim.
With respect to claim 17, it recites same features as claims 3 and 4, please refer to analysis regarding claims 3 and 4 above.
With respect to claims 5, 12, and 18, “further comprising determining whether a candidate line of the at least one constraint is refined.” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, the user can manually perform the determining process as defined in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20250117200 A1, hereinafter “Lin”) in view of Kemper et al. (US 6804682 B1, hereinafter “Kemper”) and BAHRAMI et al. (US 20230096325 A1, hereinafter “BAHRAMI”).
With respect to claim 1, Lin discloses A computer-implemented method, comprising:
creating, by a processor set, an intermediate representation of a source program by disassembling [[a]]the compiled executable file (e.g. Fig. 3, para [0092], “… Step 304 extracts the executable manifest, such as Android manifest 106, from the application package. Step 306 decoding the executable manifest into an intermediate manifest, such as android manifest 114.”), wherein the intermediate representation comprises a plurality of constraints (e.g. Para [0083], “… Infusion engine 118 utilizes hooking configurations 116 to look for particular instructions to types of instructions in Smali files 112 and/or objects in Android manifest 114. …” wherein the objects read on constraints);
accessing, by the processor set, source information describing the source program (e.g. para [0095], “FIG. 4 depicts code 400 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. Code 400 illustrates an instruction (e.g., hooks) defining a code signature for instruction code to be instrumented (e.g., “Web ViewClient”). In one embodiment, code 400 illustrates hooks as an example of hooking configurations 116.”);
matching, by the processor set, individual statements of the source program to corresponding portions of the intermediate representation of the source program, wherein the matching is based at least in part on the source information (e.g. para [0093], “Step 308 matches a portion of the intermediate manifest, such as a portion of android manifest 114, comprising an object to be instrumented. … Instrumentation may be proximate to the object that matches the signature or the object that directly precedes and/or directly follows the object to be instrumented. ….” Wherein the signature reads on individual statements of the source program);
Lin does not appear to explicitly disclose
debugging a compiled executable file, the debugging including:
(…), wherein the matching comprises iteratively propagating information from at least one constraint of the plurality of constraints to one or more adjacent constraints of the plurality of constraints to refine candidate values of the one or more adjacent constraints;
determining, by the processor set, a source program line number for the at least one constraint of [[a]]the plurality of constraints based on the matching; and
outputting the source program line number for the at least one constraint to troubleshoot the source program.
However, in analogous art, Kemper discloses
debugging a compiled executable file, the debugging including (e.g. col 11, lines 23-39, “… In this first step of identifying the target source files from a binary representation of the system, the debug information contained in the class files is used to identify source candidates. After a list of source candidates has been identified from the binary representations, the compiler is then used to narrow the list of source candidates by identifying references to a certain class as discussed below.”):
determining, by the processor set, a source program line number for the at least one constraint of [[a]]the plurality of constraints based on the matching (e.g. col 23 line 54 to col 24 line 7, “At step 609, the annotated parse trees are traversed to locate nodes that match the short name(s) and type(s) of interest. The position and line number of the matching nodes can then be obtained from the repository. ….” Wherein the nodes read on constraints); and
outputting the source program line number for the at least one constraint to troubleshoot the source program (e.g. col 23 line 54 to col 24 line 7, “At step 609, the annotated parse trees are traversed to locate nodes that match the short name(s) and type(s) of interest. The position and line number of the matching nodes can then be obtained from the repository. The position information (i.e., the line number in the source file in which the matching node is located) is used to locate this code in the appropriate source file. ….” Wherein the position information reads on the line number which can be used to troubleshoot the source program).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Lin with the invention of Kemper because it provides improved techniques for refactoring of a software application including matching source code line numbers with nodes in intermediate representation. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing improved techniques for refactoring of a software application including matching source code line numbers with nodes in intermediate representation as suggested by Kemper (see Summary of The Inventions, and col 23 line 54 to col 24 line 7).
Lin as modified by Kemper does not appear to explicitly disclose
(…), wherein the matching comprises iteratively propagating information from at least one constraint of the plurality of constraints to one or more adjacent constraints of the plurality of constraints to refine candidate values of the one or more adjacent constraints;
However, this is taught in analogous art, BAHRAMI (e.g. Fig. 5, wherein the loop from step 506 to 512 and 504 to 514 read on iteratively propagating information from at least one constraint to one or more adjacent constraints. para [0084], “At 508, the selected node may be marked for a pruning operation. …” wherein the node reads on constraint, pruning reads on refine candidate values.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of BAHRAMI because it provides a better language model trained based on filtered datasets for code analysis. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a better language model trained based on filtered datasets for code analysis as suggested by BAHRAMI (see para [0024]).
With respect to claim 2, Lin discloses further comprising accessing the compiled executable file at a remote device (e.g. para [0088], “Process 200 begins and, in step 202, an application package comprising executable application code is accessed. Step 202
may access the application package, such as application package 102, from a local or remote repository, …”).
With respect to claim 5, BAHRAMI discloses further comprising determining whether a candidate line of the at least one constraint may be refined. However, this is taught in analogous art, BAHRAMI (e.g. Figs. 4-5. Para [0088], “… By collecting such sequence of function calls, the system 102 may have detailed information of the computer-executable codes where the noises (irrelevant line of computer-executable codes) have been filtered out. …” wherein function calls read on constraints. For motivation to combine, please refer to office action regarding claim 1.)
With respect to claim 8, it is directed to a computer program product to implement the method disclosed in claim 1, please see the rejections directed to claim 1 above which also cover the limitations recited in claim 8. Note that, Lin teaches A computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media having program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable to (e.g. Fig. 15):
With respect to claim 9, it recites same feature as claim 2, and is rejected for the same reason.
With respect to claim 12, it recites same feature as claim 5, and is rejected for the same reason.
With respect to claim 15, it is directed to a system to implement the method disclosed in claim 1, please see the rejections directed to claim 1 above which also cover the limitations recited in claim 15. Note that, Lin teaches A system comprising: a processor set, one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable to (e.g. Fig. 15):
With respect to claim 16, it recites same feature as claim 2, and is rejected for the same reason.
With respect to claim 18, it recites same feature as claim 5, and is rejected for the same reason.
Claims 3-4, 10-11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20250117200 A1, hereinafter “Lin”) in view of Kemper et al. (US 6804682 B1, hereinafter “Kemper”) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 respectively, in further view of Duan et al. (US 6529865 B1, hereinafter “Duan”).
With respect to claim 3, Lin as modified by Kemper and BAHRAMI discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising determining whether the at least one constraint is coalesced with an additional constraint to form a single coalesced constraint. However, this is taught in analogous art, Duan (e.g. col 6, lines 20-45, “… Once the leaves are created, an intermediate feature structure for each branch (parent) node in the syntax parse tree is built by combining its child nodes as specified in one or more of the context-free grammar rules. …” wherein each leaf is a constraint, combining the child nodes reads on a single coalesced constraint.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of Duan because it provides techniques for efficient compilation of computer instructions. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for efficient compilation of computer instructions as suggested by Duan (see Summary of The Inventions).
With respect to claim 4, Lin as modified by Kemper and BAHRAMI discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising determining whether a candidate symbol of the at least one constraint is refined. However, this is taught in analogous art, Duan (e.g. col 6, lines 20-45, “… Once the leaves are created, an intermediate feature structure for each branch (parent) node in the syntax parse tree is built by combining its child nodes as specified in one or more of the context-free grammar rules. …” wherein each leaf is a constraint, by combining the child nodes into a syntax parse tree, the child node symbol may be refined. For motivation to combine, please refer to office action regarding claim 3.)
With respect to claim 10, it recites same feature as claim 3, and is rejected for the same reason.
With respect to claim 11, it recites same feature as claim 4, and is rejected for the same reason.
With respect to claim 17, it recites same features as claims 3 and 4, and is rejected for the same reason.
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20250117200 A1, hereinafter “Lin”) in view of Ekambaram et al. (US 20160378648 A1, hereinafter “Ekambaram”), Kemper et al. (US 6804682 B1, hereinafter “Kemper”) and BAHRAMI et al. (US 20230096325 A1, hereinafter “BAHRAMI”).
With respect to claim 21, Lin discloses A computer-implemented method, comprising:
obtaining, by a processor set, a compiled executable file from a data storage device (e.g. para [0088], “Process 200 begins and, in step 202, an application package comprising executable application code is accessed. Step 202 may access the application package, such as application package 102, from a local or remote repository, …”);
creating, by [[a]]the processor set, an intermediate representation of a source program (e.g. Fig. 3, para [0092], “… Step 304 extracts the executable manifest, such as Android manifest 106, from the application package. Step 306 decoding the executable manifest into an intermediate manifest, such as android manifest 114.”), wherein the intermediate representation comprises a plurality of constraints (e.g. Para [0083], “… Infusion engine 118 utilizes hooking configurations 116 to look for particular instructions to types of instructions in Smali files 112 and/or objects in Android manifest 114. …” wherein the objects read on constraints);
mapping, by the processor set, individual statements of the source program to corresponding portions of the intermediate representation of the source program (e.g. para [0093], “Step 308 matches a portion of the intermediate manifest, such as a portion of android manifest 114, comprising an object to be instrumented. … Instrumentation may be proximate to the object that matches the signature or the object that directly precedes and/or directly follows the object to be instrumented. ….” Wherein the signature reads on individual statements of the source program);
Lin does not appear to explicitly disclose
debugging the compiled executable file, the debugging comprising:
identifying, by the processor set, at least one underperforming portion of the compiled executable file;
(…), wherein the mapping comprises iteratively propagating information from at least one constraint of the plurality of constraints to one or more adjacent constraints of the plurality of constraints to refine candidate values of the one or more adjacent constraints;
determining, by the processor set, a source program line number and at least one user variable for the at least one constraint of [[a]]lthe plurality of constraints based on the mapping; and
outputting the source program line number and the at least one user variable for a constraint related to the at least one underperforming portion of the compiled executable file to troubleshoot the source program.
However, in analogous art, Ekambaram discloses
identifying, by the processor set, at least one underperforming portion of the compiled executable file (e.g. para [0045], “… (i) applying static analysis or runtime analysis to a binary code of an application to detect performance anti-patterns; …” wherein performance ant-patterns read on underperforming portion of the compiled executable file);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Lin with the invention of Ekambaram because it provides techniques for improvement in identification of the performance impact of a performance anti-pattern and in resolution of performance issues. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for improvement in identification of the performance impact of a performance anti-pattern and in resolution of performance issues as suggested by Ekambaram (see para [0074-0075]).
Lin as modified by Ekambaram does not appear to explicitly disclose
debugging the compiled executable file, the debugging comprising:
(…), wherein the mapping comprises iteratively propagating information from at least one constraint of the plurality of constraints to one or more adjacent constraints of the plurality of constraints to refine candidate values of the one or more adjacent constraints;
determining, by the processor set, a source program line number and at least one user variable for the at least one constraint of [[a]]lthe plurality of constraints based on the mapping; and
outputting the source program line number and the at least one user variable for a constraint related to the at least one underperforming portion of the compiled executable file to troubleshoot the source program.
However, in analogous art, Kemper discloses
debugging the compiled executable file, the debugging comprising (e.g. col 11, lines 23-39, “… In this first step of identifying the target source files from a binary representation of the system, the debug information contained in the class files is used to identify source candidates. After a list of source candidates has been identified from the binary representations, the compiler is then used to narrow the list of source candidates by identifying references to a certain class as discussed below.”):
determining, by the processor set, a source program line number and at least one user variable for the at least one constraint of [[a]]lthe plurality of constraints based on the mapping (e.g. col 23 line 54 to col 24 line 7, “At step 609, the annotated parse trees are traversed to locate nodes that match the short name(s) and type(s) of interest. The position and line number of the matching nodes can then be obtained from the repository. ….” Wherein the nodes read on constraints, and name or type read on one user variable); and
outputting the source program line number and the at least one user variable for a constraint related to the at least one underperforming portion of the compiled executable file to troubleshoot the source program (e.g. col 23 line 54 to col 24 line 7, “At step 609, the annotated parse trees are traversed to locate nodes that match the short name(s) and type(s) of interest. The position and line number of the matching nodes can then be obtained from the repository. The position information (i.e., the line number in the source file in which the matching node is located) is used to locate this code in the appropriate source file. ….” Wherein the position information reads on the line number which can be used to troubleshoot the source program. Ekambaram as cited above teaches identifying underperforming portions of an executable file, the combination of Kemper and Ekambaram renders this limitation obvious.)
outputting the source program line number and the at least one user variable for a constraint related to the at least one underperforming portion of the compiled executable file to troubleshoot the source program (e.g. col 23 line 54 to col 24 line 7, “At step 609, the annotated parse trees are traversed to locate nodes that match the short name(s) and type(s) of interest. The position and line number of the matching nodes can then be obtained from the repository. The position information (i.e., the line number in the source file in which the matching node is located) is used to locate this code in the appropriate source file. ….” Wherein the position information reads on the line number which can be used to troubleshoot the source program).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Lin with the invention of Kemper because it provides improved techniques for refactoring of a software application including matching source code line numbers with nodes in intermediate representation. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing improved techniques for refactoring of a software application including matching source code line numbers with nodes in intermediate representation as suggested by Kemper (see Summary of The Inventions, and col 23 line 54 to col 24 line 7).
Lin as modified by Ekambaram and Kemper does not appear to explicitly disclose
(…), wherein the mapping comprises iteratively propagating information from at least one constraint of the plurality of constraints to one or more adjacent constraints of the plurality of constraints to refine candidate values of the one or more adjacent constraints;
However, this is taught in analogous art, BAHRAMI (e.g. Fig. 5, wherein the loop from step 506 to 512 and 504 to 514 read on iteratively propagating information from at least one constraint to one or more adjacent constraints. para [0084], “At 508, the selected node may be marked for a pruning operation. …” wherein the node reads on constraint, pruning reads on refine candidate values.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of BAHRAMI because it provides a better language model trained based on filtered datasets for code analysis. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a better language model trained based on filtered datasets for code analysis as suggested by BAHRAMI (see para [0024]).
With respect to claim 22, Ekambaram further discloses wherein identifying at least one underperforming portion of the compiled executable file comprises identifying a plurality of underperforming portions of the compiled executable file (e.g. par a[0045], “… (i) applying static analysis or runtime analysis to a binary code of an application to detect performance anti-patterns; …” wherein performance ant-patterns read on a plurality of underperforming portions of the compiled executable file. For motivation to combine, please refer to office action regarding claim 21 above).
With respect to claim 23, Ekambaram further discloses further comprising ranking the plurality of underperforming portions by determining which of the plurality of underperforming portions of the compiled executable file are causing greater performance issues (e.g. par a[0045], “In some embodiments of the present invention, dynamic ranking of the set of performance issues corresponding to the set of anti-patterns uses one or more of: …; and/or (xi) dynamically ranking the set of performance issues.” For motivation to combine, please refer to office action regarding claim 21 above).
With respect to claim 24, it is directed to a computer program product to implement the method disclosed in claim 21, please see the rejections directed to claim 21 above which also cover the limitations recited in claim 24. Note that, Lin teaches A computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media having program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable to (e.g. Fig. 15):
With respect to claim 25, it recites same features as claims 22 and 23, and is rejected for the same reason.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 9/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At p9 under title “Patent Eligibility Analysis under Step 2A, Prong One:” to p11 fourth paragraph of the Remarks, Applicant argued with respect to Step 2A, Prong One. Particularly, at p9 second paragraph under the title, Applicant argued that “The features of amended claim 1 do not merely recite creating, accessing, matching, or determining information in a way that could be performed mentally. Instead, the features recite specific computational operations that govern how the compiled executable file is debugged that creates an intermediate representation from a disassembled compiled executable file and iteratively propagates constraint information across adjacent constraints to refine candidate values. A human mind cannot manually and iteratively propagate information across a plurality of constraints derived from a disassembled compiled executable file, simultaneously refining candidate values of adjacent constraints through observation, evaluation, judgement, or with the aid of pen or paper to debug a compiled executable file.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, because, all claim limitations were analyzed, in addition to creating, accessing, matching, or determining processes, additional elements are analyzed and these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not constitute inventive concept. The propagating of information across a plurality of constraints is through intermediate representation of a source program which is derived from a disassembled compiled executable file. Human can manually and iteratively propagate the information, e.g. read and track the information in the intermediate representation of the source program. Human can simultaneously refine candidate values of adjacent constraints through observation, evaluation, judgement, or with the aid of pen or paper to debug a compiled executable file via the intermediate representation created from the executable file.
At p10 second to p11 first paragraphs of the Remarks, Applicant argued that “The claim subject matter is rooted in computer technology as it improves the operation of software compiling, software debugging, and software performance tuning. This is inherently a computer-executed process and not a mental process.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, because, the limitations of the claims, such as creating …, accessing …, matching …, determining …, are all about determining a source program line number for the at least one constraint, and the determined line number is output to trouble shoot the source program. The claimed features do not affect compiling and computer technology as the computer functions the same as it would before the instant case. Software debugging, like the instant case, may be mental process. Software performance is the result of debugged software, and is not necessarily related to technology.
At p11 second paragraph of the Remarks, Applicant argued that “Consistent with this and stated in MPEP 2106.04(d)(1), claims are not abstract when they are "directed to an improvement in computer capabilities." When evaluated as a whole, amended claim 1 directed to a specific improvement in a technical field of software analysis, debugging, and performance tuning.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, because, as explained above, The claimed features do not affect compiling and computer technology as the computer functions the same as it would before the instant case. Software debugging, like the instant case, may be mental process. Software performance is the result of debugged software, and is not necessarily related to technology.
At p11 third paragraph of the Remarks, Applicant argued that “Further, similar to claims at issue in Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp. 822 F.3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016), which were held patent-eligible because they improved the way computers operate, amended claim 1 recites a method for identifying and correcting issues within a source code, and as a result, improving the functioning of a computer and improving the technologies of software compiling, software debugging, and software performance tuning.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, because, Enfish case is not applicable here. For Enfish, its self-referential data table was a data table of the memory controller of the computer itself and thus the improvement was to the computer itself. By contrast, in the instant application, nothing of the computer itself is being altered, it functions as it ordinarily would and is merely used as a tool to perform the instant claimed functionalities. Also see response in other paragraphs above.
At p11 fourth paragraph of the Remarks, Applicant argued that “Accordingly, claim 1 is directed to a practical technological process, not an abstract idea.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, because, as set forth in the office action, and as explained above, the claim recites mental processes, such as creating …, accessing …, matching …, or determining …. The claim also recites additional elements and are analyzed. But these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not constitute inventive concept. Thus, the claim does not appear to be patent eligible.
At p11 fifth paragraph to p12 third paragraph of the Remarks, Applicant argued with respect to Step 2A, Prong Two. Particularly, at p11 last to p12 first paragraph of the Remarks, Applicant argued that “Amended independent claim 1 achieves a concrete technological improvement in the field of software analysis, debugging, and performance tuning, where the inability of existing tools to relate disassemble machine instruction back to the source program renders performance analysis tedious, expensive, and often ineffective. Further, existing technologies may disassemble the machine instructions in a hotspot, but the existing technologies are unable to, and do not, relate the disassembled machine instructions back to the source program (See paragraph [0045] of as- filed specification).”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, because, as explained above, see response in other paragraphs above, the limitations of the claims, such as creating …, accessing …, matching …, determining …, are all about determining a source program line number for the at least one constraint, and the determined line number is output to trouble shoot the source program. The claimed features do not affect compiling and computer technology as the computer functions the same as it would before the instant case. Software debugging, like the instant case, may be mental process. Software performance is the result of debugged software, and is not necessarily related to technology. The method provided by the claim may be not as tedious, not as expensive, and may be effective, but the technology is not changed.
At p12 second paragraph of the Remarks, Applicant argued that “The amended claim 1 solves this specific technical problem through a specific technical solution in which a constraint-based intermediate representation is derived from executable disassembly and is matched to source statements to determine the precise source program line number for each constraint.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, because, as set forth in the office action, and as explained above, deriving a constraint-based intermediate representation from executable disassembly is mental process, as human can manually perform the deriving process. Matching source statements to intermediate representation to determine the precise line number for each constraint is also mental process.
At p12 third to fifth paragraphs of the Remarks, Applicant recited three paragraphs to support the Applicant’s arguments, please see response in above paragraphs.
At p12 last to p13 first paragraph of the Remarks, Applicant argued that “The recited features of amended claim 1, when considered in combination, integrate any alleged judicial exception into a practical application, and the claimed subject matter provides methods and systems to improve the functioning of a computer and improve the technologies of software compiling, software debugging, and software performance tuning.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, this argument is already explained by the response above, see e.g. paragraphs 48, 50, and 52 above.
At p13 second paragraph of the Remarks, Applicant argued that “Similar to DDR Holdings v. Hotels.com, 773 F.3d 1245 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the claimed method addresses a problem rooted in data protection and applies a technical mechanism as mentioned above that yields a practical improvement in system operations.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, because, DDR case is not applicable here. For DDR, the claims were directed to systems and methods of generating a composite webpage that combines certain visual elements of a host website with the content of a third-party merchant. The court found that the claim had additional elements that amounted to significantly more than the abstract idea, because they modified conventional Internet hyperlink protocol to dynamically produce a dual-source hybrid webpage, which differed from the conventional operation of Internet hyperlink protocol that transported the user away from the host's webpage to the third party's webpage when the hyperlink was activated. The instant claims do not recite any similar features.
At p13 third paragraph of the Remarks, Applicant argued that “Accordingly, under Step 2A, Prong Two, amended independent claim 1 integrates any alleged judicial exception into a practical application and is therefore patent-eligible.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, because, as set forth in the office action, and as explained above, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and the claims do not appear to be patent eligible.
At p13 fourth to seventh paragraphs of the Remarks, Applicant argued that “Similarly, independent claims 8 and 15 have been amended to recite features analogous to amended independent claim 1. Therefore, the arguments presented above for Step 2A, Prong One and Prong Two for independent claim 1 are equally applicable to amended independent claims 8 and 15 due to analogous recitations contained therein. Accordingly, amended independent claims 8 and 15 are also patent-eligible.” And “Dependent claims 2-5, 9-12, and 16-18 are patentable at least by virtue of their dependencies on amended independent claims 1, 13, and 15, respectively. …. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections are therefore respectfully requested.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, because, as explained above, claim 1 does not appear to be patent eligible. Similarly, claims 2-5, 8-12, and 15-18 do not appear to be patent eligible.
At p17 last to p18 first paragraph of the Remarks, Applicant argued with respect to “Combination” that “Lin states "instrumentation is provided without human intervention and without access to the original source code," (emphasis added). In contrast, Kemper requires that source files be "retrieved and fed into a compiler." Thus, combining them would require modifying Lin in a manner that may go against Lin's foundational principle of operating without source code access, and would require modifying Kemper in a manner that contradicts its requirement of compiler- processed source files. The reference thus cannot be combined. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine Lin having a purpose of operating without source code with Kemper whose requirement is to feed source files into a compiler to reach the features as recited in amended claim 1.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, because, Lin’s instrumentation does not require access to the original source code, but access to the original source code is not a condition whether Lin’s instrumentation would work or not. i.e. Kemper’s retrieving source files and feeding into a compiler would not affect the operation of Lin’s instrumentation. Thus, as set forth in the office action, Lin and Kemper are analogous art and a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Lin with Kemper because it provides improved techniques for refactoring of a software application including matching source code line numbers with nodes in intermediate representation.
Applicant’s other arguments regarding art rejections in p13 under title “Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103” to p18 fourth paragraph of the Remarks are moot upon new ground of rejections made in the office action above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Mueller et al., US 20220398185 A1, teaches self-optimizing analysis system for core dumps.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZENGPU WEI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2197