DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
This Office Action is in response to application filed on 8/9/2024, where claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA /25, or PTO/AIA /26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp. Claims 1, 7, and 14 have been provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,669,215 (hereinafter the ‘215 Patent).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 7, and 14 of the instant application and claim 1 of the ‘215 Patent are disclosing the invention of retrieving a last captured photo, extracting a device identifier from the last captured photo, automatically inputting the extracted device identifier into an entry field, and display the extracted device identifier as input into the entry field to a user. Claims 1, 7, and 14 of the instant application includes the additional limitation of displaying a guide to capture a screenshot of a computing device through a GUI. The US Patent Application Pub. No. 2022/0262189 (Dion) teaches such.
The ‘215 Patent and Dion are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are concerning with interface for extracting information from image(s) (i.e., same field of endeavor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having the ‘215 Patent and Dion before them to modify the method of retrieving computing device identifier of the ‘215 Patent to incorporate the function of displaying a guide to capture a screenshot of a computing device through a GUI as taught by Dion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the elements as claimed by known methods as disclosed by Dion (¶ [0251]-[0260]), because the function of displaying a guide to capture a screenshot of a computing device through a GUI does not depend on the method of retrieving computing device identifier. That is the function of displaying a guide to capture a screenshot of a computing device through a GUI performs the same function independent on which interface it is incorporated onto, and therefore, the result of the combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation to combine would have been to determine whether it is a blacklisted or problematic identifier as suggested by Dion (¶ [0255]).
Claim 7 and 14 are device and non-transitory computer readable storage medium claims and include additional well-known elements for a device and non-transitory computer readable storage medium.
Therefore, for the above reason(s), the claims are obvious variation of each other.
Claims 2-6 of the instant application are also rejected under non-statutory obviousness type double patenting over claims 2 and 4-7 respectively of the ‘215 Patent, as the claims of the instant application disclose substantially similar limitations as the corresponding claims of the ‘215 Patent.
Claims 9-11 and 13 of the instant application are also rejected under non-statutory obviousness type double patenting over claims 2, 4, 5, and 7 respectively of the ‘215 Patent, as the claims of the instant application disclose substantially similar limitations as the corresponding claims of the ‘215 Patent.
Claims 15, 16, and 18-20 of the instant application are also rejected under non-statutory obviousness type double patenting over claims 2 and 4-7 respectively of the ‘215 Patent, as the claims of the instant application disclose substantially similar limitations as the corresponding claims of the ‘215 Patent.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 14-20 are rejected to because of the following: independent claim 14 recites “a graphical user interface including a guide to capture a screenshot of the computing device”. The element “computing device” is recited with the article “the”, which indicates it is referring to a previously recited element of the same name. However, there is no such prior element in the instant claim. Therefore, it is unclear which prior element it is referring to. As such, renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 15-20 are rejected to as having the same deficiencies as the claim they depend from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-9, 11, 12, 14, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dion et al., (US 2022/0262189 A1) (hereinafter Dion).
Referring to claim 1, Dion teaches a method comprising:
displaying, by a processing device, a graphical user interface including a guide to capture a screenshot of a computing device (¶ [0256], “the evaluation device interface may indicate to the POD owner the following instruction “Dial *#06#” by displaying it on the display of the evaluation device, and then requiring a POD owner to take a screenshot of the POD displaying the IMEI”);
extracting, by the processing device, a device identifier from a last captured photo (¶ [0258], “the unique identifier may be optically recognized using for example OCR”);
automatically inputting, by the processing device, the extracted device identifier into an entry field; and
displaying, on a display, the extracted device identifier as input into the entry field for confirmation by a user (¶ [0371], fig. 9A, “The evaluation report (also referred to as a transaction report) may include transaction identifying information such as, for example, the name and contact information of the entity issuing the report, transaction details such as a unique transaction identifier, the IMEI or other reliable unique identifier for the POD”).
Referring to claim 2, Dion further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein extracting the device identifier from the last captured photo comprises an optical character recognition (OCR) technique (¶ [0258], “the unique identifier may be optically recognized using for example OCR”).
Referring to claim 4, Dion further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the device identifier comprises an IMEI, an MEID, a serial number, a MAC address, a model number, or any combination thereof (¶ [0256], IMEI).
Regarding claims 7, 9, and 11, these claims recite the computing device that performs the steps of the method of claims 1, 2, and 4 respectively; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Referring to claim 8, Dion further teaches the computing device of claim 7, wherein the computing device is a smartphone (¶ [0031], “The pre-owned electronic devices (“POD”)…may include consumer and/or portable electronic devices such as, but not limited to, smartphones”).
Referring to claim 12, Dion further teaches the computing device of claim 7, wherein the computing device is a tablet (¶ [0031], “The pre-owned electronic devices (“POD”)…may include consumer and/or portable electronic devices such as, but not limited to…tablet computers”).
Regarding claims 14, 15, and 18, these claims recite the non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions when executed by a processor to perform the steps of the method of claims 1, 2, and 4 respectively; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dion as applied to claims 1, 7, and 14 above, in view of Baheti et al., (US 2014/0168478 A1) (hereinafter Baheti).
Referring to claim 3, Dion teaches the method of claim 1. However, Dion does not explicitly teach in response to the extracting the device identifier being unsuccessful, an error message is displayed on a display.
Baheti teaches in response to the extracting…being unsuccessful, an error message is displayed on a display (¶ [0043], “If in act 222 the image quality is found to be unacceptable for text recognition (e.g. if height is below a minimum number of pixels needed for OCR), feedback is automatically generated by processor(s) 404 in act 223. Subsequently, processor(s) 404 may obtain another image of the scene (in act 201), subsequent to generation of the feedback in act 223. The just-described feedback which is generated in act 223 may be either to the user (e.g. message to move closer to text being imaged as illustrated in FIGS. 11A and 11B)”).
Dion and Baheti are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are concerning with interface for extracting information from image(s) (i.e., same field of endeavor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having Dion and Baheti before them to modify the method of evaluating of electronic devices of Dion to incorporate the function of providing feedback relating to OCR as taught by Baheti. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the elements as claimed by known methods as disclosed by Baheti (¶ [0038]-[0043]), because the function of providing feedback relating to OCR does not depend on the method of evaluating of electronic devices. That is the function of providing feedback relating to OCR performs the same function independent on which interface it is incorporated onto, and therefore, the result of the combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation to combine would have been to ensure the image is of sufficient quality for performing OCR as suggested by Baheti (¶ [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 10, the instant claim recites the computing device that performs the steps of the method of claim 3; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 16, the instant claim recites the non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions when executed by a processor to perform the steps of the method of claim 3; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Referring to claim 17, Dion teaches the non-transitory, computer readable storage medium as discussed above. However, Dion does not explicitly teach the error message includes instructions for capturing a new screenshot of the computing device.
Baheti further teaches the error message includes instructions for capturing a new image (¶ [0043], “If in act 222 the image quality is found to be unacceptable for text recognition (e.g. if height is below a minimum number of pixels needed for OCR), feedback is automatically generated by processor(s) 404 in act 223. Subsequently, processor(s) 404 may obtain another image of the scene (in act 201), subsequent to generation of the feedback in act 223. The just-described feedback which is generated in act 223 may be either to the user (e.g. message to move closer to text being imaged as illustrated in FIGS. 11A and 11B)”).
Claims 5, 6, 13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dion as applied to claims 1, 7, and 14 above, in view of Csulits et al., (US 2008/0219543 A1) (hereinafter Csulits).
Referring to claim 5, Dion teaches the method of claim 1. However, Dion does not explicitly teach the extracted device identifier as input on the display is editable.
Csulits teaches the extracted…identifier as input on the display is editable (¶ [0118], “In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 9, a screen shot 900 for correcting OCR errors is shown from a display device associated with a PC or control panel. A snippet image 910 of an area of a currency bill containing a serial number is displayed above editing field 920, which easily allows an operator to correct image characters that are unreadable by the OCR algorithm.”)
Dion and Csulits are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are concerning with interface for extracting information from image(s) (i.e., same field of endeavor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having Dion and Csulits before them to modify the method of evaluating of electronic devices of Dion to incorporate the function of editing extracted identifier as taught by Csulits. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the elements as claimed by known methods as disclosed by Csulits (¶ [0118]-[0119]), because the function of editing extracted identifier does not depend on the method of evaluating of electronic devices. That is the function of editing extracted identifier performs the same function independent on which interface it is incorporated onto, and therefore, the result of the combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation to combine would have been to allow errors in OCR process be corrected afterward as suggested by Csulits (¶ [0118]).
Referring to claim 6, Dion teaches the method of claim 1. However, Dion does not explicitly teach in response to receiving an edit to the device identifier, storing the device identifier as edited in storage.
Csulits teaches in response to receiving an edit to the…identifier, storing the…identifier as edited in storage (¶ [0117], “The PC can then create a database with a record for each imaged bill using the information received from the scanning device for storage and subsequent processing. According to some embodiments, the device 400 obtains the images of bills, extracts data from the images such as the serial numbers of the bills, and stores some or all of this information in a database residing in a memory in the device 400.” ¶ [0118], “In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 9, a screen shot 900 for correcting OCR errors is shown from a display device associated with a PC or control panel. A snippet image 910 of an area of a currency bill containing a serial number is displayed above editing field 920, which easily allows an operator to correct image characters that are unreadable by the OCR algorithm.”)
Dion and Csulits are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are concerning with interface for extracting information from image(s) (i.e., same field of endeavor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having Dion and Csulits before them to modify the method of evaluating of electronic devices of Dion to incorporate the function of editing extracted identifier as taught by Csulits. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the elements as claimed by known methods as disclosed by Csulits (¶ [0118]-[0119]), because the function of editing extracted identifier does not depend on the method of evaluating of electronic devices. That is the function of editing extracted identifier performs the same function independent on which interface it is incorporated onto, and therefore, the result of the combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation to combine would have been to allow errors in OCR process be corrected afterward as suggested by Csulits (¶ [0118]).
Regarding claim 13, the instant claim recites the computing device that performs the steps of the method of claim 6; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, these claims recite the non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions when executed by a processor to perform the steps of the method of claims 5 and 6 respectively; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 2021/0103988 (Marshall) – discloses method of performing OCR based on user inputted image to obtain unique identifier.
US 10,803,527 (Zankat) – discloses method of using OCR to extract necessary information to increase speed and efficiency.
US 10,740,638 (Annis) – discloses method for dynamic OCR based data extraction.
/MONG-SHUNE CHUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118