DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-7, 9, 13-14, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,698,478. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are narrower than the instant claims. The following table provides the correspondence between the instant and patented claims.
App. 18/800,169
US 11,698,478
1
1
2
1
3
--
4
3
5
3
6
4
7
--
8
5
9
5
10
6,7
11
7
12
9
13
--
14
9
15
13
16
--
17
--
18
14
19
--
20
18
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Inada et al. (US 2022/0239870, disclosed in IDS 12 August 2024), hereinafter Inada.
Claim 1: Inada discloses an optical filter (100, Fig. 2A) comprising:
a plurality of sets of optical channels (20), arranged in a two-dimensional pattern (evident from figure), including:
a first set of optical channels (20-R) associated with a first wavelength range (600-2500nm) [0043,0073]; and
a second set of optical channels (20-G) associated with a second wavelength range (400-600nm) [0073],
a first optical channel (such as the channel marked “R” in the dashed box at top left), of the first set of optical channels (20-R), being configured to pass light associated with the first wavelength range (600-2500nm) to a first sensor element (in 60) [0066], and
a second optical channel (such as the channel marked “G” in the dashed box at top left), of the second set of optical channels (20-G), being configured to pass light associated with the second wavelength range (400-600nm) to a second sensor element (in 60) [0066].
Claim 2: Inada further discloses wherein the first optical channel (such as the channel marked “R” in the dashed box at top left) is configured to pass light associated with a subrange (600-700nm) of the first wavelength range (600-2500nm) to the first sensor element (in 60) [0066].
Claim 3: Inada further discloses wherein the two-dimensional pattern is a uniform two-dimensional pattern (evident from figure).
Claim 4: Inada further discloses wherein:
the first optical channel (R) comprises a first set of layers [0052]; and
the second optical channel (G) comprises a second set of layers [0114].
Claim 5: Inada further discloses wherein the first set of layers is different from the second set of layers (inherently true since the first optical channel (R) and the second optical channel (G) are different).
Claim 8: Inada discloses an optical device (300, Fig. 1) comprising:
a plurality sets of optical channels (20, Fig. 2A) [0066], arranged in a first two-dimensional pattern (evident from figure), including:
a first set of optical channels (20-R) associated with a first wavelength range (R) [0074], and
a second set of optical channels (20-G) associated with a second wavelength range (G) [0074]; and
a plurality of sets of sensor elements (in 60), arranged in a second two-dimensional pattern corresponding to the first two-dimensional pattern (“Each light detecting element is disposed facing one of the filters” [0065]), including:
a first set of sensor elements associated with the first wavelength range (600-2500nm) [0066], and
a second set of sensor elements associated with the second wavelength range (400-600nm) (the filters (optical channels) and light detecting elements have a one-to-one correspondence [0066], and the optical filter (100) comprises first and second optical filter sets of first and second wavelength ranges [0074]).
Claim 9: Inada further discloses:
wherein a first optical channel (such as the channel marked “R” in the dashed box at top left), of the first set of optical channels (20-R), is disposed over at least one first sensor element, of the first set of sensor elements (in 60) [0066], and
wherein a second optical channel (such as the channel marked “G” in the dashed box at top left), of the second set of optical channels (20-G), is disposed over at least one second sensor element, of the second set of sensor elements (in 60) [0066].
Claim 10: Inada further discloses wherein the first optical channel (R) is configured to pass light associated with a subrange (600-700nm) of the first wavelength range (600-2500nm) to the at least one first sensor element (in 60) [0043,0073]; and
Claim 11: Inada further discloses wherein the second optical channel (G) is configured to pass light associated with a subrange (500-600nm) of the second wavelength range (400-600nm) to the at least one second sensor element (in 60) [0043,0073].
Claim 12: Inada further discloses:
wherein a first row of optical channels (e.g. top row), of the first two-dimensional pattern (evident from figure), is directly disposed on a first row of sensor elements (in 60) of the second two-dimensional pattern (the overlay is evident: “Each light detecting element is disposed facing one of the filters” [0065]), and
wherein a second row of optical channels (e.g. second-from-top row), of the first two-dimensional pattern (evident from figure), is directly disposed on a second row of sensor elements (in 60) of the second two-dimensional pattern (the overlay is evident: “Each light detecting element is disposed facing one of the filters” [0065]).
Claim 13: Inada further discloses wherein the first two-dimensional pattern is a uniform two-dimensional pattern (evident from figure).
Claim 14: Inada further discloses:
wherein each of the first set of optical channels (20-R) is disposed over at least one corresponding sensor element of the first set of sensor elements (in 60) [0066], and
wherein each of the second set of optical channels (20-G) is disposed over at least one corresponding sensor element of the second set of sensor elements (in 60) [0066].
Claim 15: Inada discloses an optical system (300, Fig. 1) comprising:
an optical filter (100, Fig. 2A) comprising a plurality of optical channels (20) [0071] arranged in a first two-dimensional pattern (evident from Fig. 2A), wherein the plurality of optical channels (20) comprises:
a first set of optical channels (20-R) associated with a first wavelength range (600-2500nm) [0043,0066], and
a second set of optical channels (20-G) associated with a second wavelength range (400-600nm) [0066,0073]; and
an optical sensor (60) comprising a plurality of sets of sensor elements (in 60), arranged in a second two-dimensional pattern (“Each light detecting element is disposed facing one of the filters” [0065]), wherein the plurality of sensor elements comprises:
a first set of sensor elements associated with the first wavelength range (600-2500nm) [0066], and
a second set of sensor elements associated with the second wavelength range (400-600nm) (the filters (optical channels) and light detecting elements have a one-to-one correspondence [0066], and the optical filter (100) comprises first and second optical filter sets of first and second wavelength ranges [0074]).
Claim 16: Inada further discloses wherein the second two-dimensional pattern corresponds to the first two-dimensional pattern (“Each light detecting element is disposed facing one of the filters” [0065]).
Claim 17: Inada further discloses wherein the first two-dimensional pattern is non-uniform (evident from Fig. 2A since each of the H filters is different [0074]).
Claim 18: Inada further discloses:
wherein the first set of optical channels (20-R) is disposed over the first set of sensor elements (in 60) [0066], and
the second set of optical channels (20-G) is disposed over the second set of sensor elements (in 60) [0066].
Claim 19: Inada further discloses:
wherein the first set of optical channels (20-R) is configured to pass light associated with the first wavelength range (600-2500nm) to the first set of sensor elements (in 60) [0066], and
wherein the second set of optical channels (20-G) is configured to pass light associated with the second wavelength range (400-600nm) to the second set of sensor elements (in 60) [0066].
Claim 20: Inada further discloses wherein the optical filter (100) is disposed over the optical sensor (60) via a free space gap (“The filter array 100 may be disposed near, or directly on, the image sensor 60.” [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vereecke et al. (EP 3112828, disclosed in IDS 12 August 2024), hereinafter Vereecke.
Claim 6: Inada is silent with respect to a composition of the first optical channel being different than a composition of the second optical channel.
However, Inada does disclose that “The refractive index and/or thickness of the intermediate layer 14 in the multiple types of hyperspectral filters 10 is different depending on the filter” [0114]. Furthermore, Vereecke, in the same field of endeavor of optical filters, discloses wherein different filters (optical channels) comprise different combinations of layer materials for the transmission of specific wavelength ranges (see, e.g. Fig. 3d, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Inada’s first and second optical channels to have different compositions for the purpose of allowing transmission of different wavelength ranges to the image sensor elements below.
Claim 7: Inada does not explicitly disclose wherein a composition of the first optical channel is different than a composition of another optical channel of the first set of optical channels.
However, Inada does disclose that “The refractive index and/or thickness of the intermediate layer 14 in the multiple types of hyperspectral filters 10 is different depending on the filter.” [0114]. Furthermore, Vereecke, in the same field of endeavor of optical filters, discloses wherein different filters comprise different combinations of layer materials for the transmission of specific wavelength ranges (see, e.g. Fig. 3d, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Inada’s first set of optical channels with different compositions for the individual optical filters, such as different numbers and thicknesses of layers, for the purpose of allowing transmission of only certain wavelength ranges to the image sensor elements below.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Tarifur Chowdhury can be reached on 571-272-2287. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Hina F Ayub/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2877