DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/13/2026 has been entered into the prosecution of the application.
Currently, claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, 17, 21-26, and 28 is/are pending, with claims 11-14 and 17 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 28 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 28, the appropriate claim number is claim 27. Claim numbering has skipped claim 27, and instead claim 28 is added after adding claim 26 in the amendment filed on 03/13/2026.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 21, the term “adjacent to” in claim 21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “adjacent to” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purpose, the term is interpreted as “being in contact with”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gangmin Cao of US 2024/0110288 A1 (hereinafter, Cao), disclosed in IDS filed 08/12/2024, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Jian Lu of US 2026/0009148 A1 (hereinafter, Lu) and Subramanya, Badrayyana, et al. "Novel Co–Ni–graphene composite electrodes for hydrogen production." RSC Advances 5.59 (2015): 47398-47407 (hereinafter, Subramanya).
As to claim 1, Cao teaches to a system for water electrolysis (Cao, paragraph [0017], Fig. 1, teaches an exemplary first system 100), the system comprising:
an electrolyte material (Cao, paragraph [0018], taches an electrolyte material configured for exchange of anions, because Cao teaches a polymer material (backbone) having cationic ion-exchange groups tethered thereto, wherein the ion exchange membrane is configured to conduct anions, such as hydroxide ions) configured for exchange of anions;
a first electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorous-based compound (Cao, paragraph [0015], teaches to a first electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorous-based compound, wherein one or both of the electrodes of Cao include(s) a nickel-cobalt-phosphorous-based compound); and
a second electrode, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to exchange the anions through the electrolyte material (Cao, paragraph [0015], teaches to a second electrode, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to exchange the anions through the electrolyte material, as Cao, paragraph [0016], teaches to both of the electrodes used in electrolysis, wherein the system is configured to conduct anions).
Cao does not explicitly teach including:
about 5-95 wt.% Co;
about 5-95 wt.% Ni; and
about 5-20 wt.% P.
In an analogous art, Lu teaches to the system of claim 1,wherein an alloy comprises:
about 5-95 wt.% Co (Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P);
about 5-95 wt.% Ni (Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P); and
about 5-20 wt.% P (Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P).
Both Cao and Lu relate to water electrolysis (Lu, paragraph [0030]). Cao does not explicitly teach to an electrode comprising weight percentages of Co, Ni, or P. Cao does teach electroplating (Cao, paragraph [0027]) cobalt phosphate-based alloy on anion exchange membrane or proton exchange membrane, wherein Cao, paragraph [0021], teaches that the anode catalyst layers 120, 220 may include various materials, including but not limited to, compounds comprising phosphorus and a transition metal (e.g., cobalt, nickel). Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P, for providing an intrinsic crystal-amorphous dual-phase structure (Lu, paragraph [0008]) that maximizes active sites and lowers reaction energy barriers for an electrode in water electrolysis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the first electrode of Cao with the electrode composition of Lu for preparing electrodes with known compositions for providing an intrinsic crystal-amorphous dual-phase structure (Lu, paragraph [0008]) that maximizes active sites and lowers reaction energy barriers for an electrode in water electrolysis.
Cao in view of Lu does not explicitly teach about 0.01-5.0 wt.% of graphene or oxidized graphene.
In an analogous art, Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, about 0.01-5.0 wt.% of graphene or oxidized graphene (Subramanya, pg. 47399, Table 1, teaches about 0.01-5.0 wt.% of graphene, as Subramanya teaches using 0.33 wt% of graphene).
Both Cao in view of Lu and Subramanya relate to electrodeposition for water electrolysis (Subramanya, abstract). Cao in view of Lu does not explicitly teach that the first electrode includes graphene or oxidized graphene. Cao in view of Lu does teach using an electrode. Subramanya teaches to using graphene in the Co-Ni-graphene composite electrodes for extraordinary electronic and mechanical properties of graphene (Subramanya, pg. 47399).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the electrode of water electrolysis of Cao in view of Lu with the graphene of Subramanya for coating the water electrolysis system by using electrodeposition for supporting alloys with high surface area of graphene (Subramanya, pg. 47399), thereby improving electrocatalytic performance of the water electrolysis system.
As to claim 2, Cao in view of Lu and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte material is an anion exchange membrane (Cao, paragraph [0017], Fig. 1, teaches to the ion exchange membrane configured to conducting anions from the cathode catalyst layer to the anode catalyst layer), the first electrode is a first catalyst layer on a first side of the anion exchange membrane, and the second electrode is a second catalyst layer on a second side of the anion exchange membrane opposite the first side (See Fig. 1 of Cao, wherein the first electrode, or anode catalyst layer 120, is a first catalyst layer on a first side of the anion exchange membrane 110, and the second electrode is a second catalyst layer, or cathode catalyst layer 150, on a second side of the anion exchange membrane opposite the first side).
Fig. 1 of Cao
As to claim 3, Cao in view of Lu and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte material is an alkaline solution (Cao, paragraph [0033], teaches an electrolyte solution, wherein the electrolyte solution is an alkaline solution, or potassium hydroxide (KOH)), and the first electrode and the second electrode are both in contact with the alkaline solution (Cao, paragraph [0033], teaches that a voltage is applied through an electrolyte solution between anode and cathode of the electrochemical cell, necessarily requiring both electrodes to be in contact with the alkaline solution).
As to claim 4, Cao in view of Lu and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the first electrode is an anode and the second electrode is a cathode (Cao, Fig. 1, teaches to anode catalyst layer 120 and cathode catalyst layer 150 as an anode and cathode, respectively).
As to claim 5, Cao in view of Lu and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the first electrode is a cathode and the second electrode is an anode (Cao, Fig. 1, teaches to anode catalyst layer 120 and cathode catalyst layer 150 as an anode and cathode, respectively).
As to claim 6, Cao in view of Lu and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the second electrode includes a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound (Cao, paragraph [0015], teaches to a first electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorous-based compound, wherein one or both of the electrodes of Cao include(s) a nickel-cobalt-phosphorous-based compound).
As to claim 9, Cao in view of Lu and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the first electrode includes about 0.01-10.0 wt.% of one or more nickel phosphide (NiP), nickel chloride (NiCl2), cobalt phosphide (CoP), cobalt chloride (CoCl2), cobalt-nickel phosphide (Co-Ni-P), nickel-cobalt-phosphide (Ni-Co-P), iridium oxide (IrOx), ruthenium oxide (RuOx), palladium (Pd), and platinum (Pt) (Lu, paragraph [0013], teaches to Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material including 10 wt% of Pt).
As to claim 10, Cao in view of Lu and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the first electrode is formed at least in part by an electrodeposition process (Cao, paragraphs [0027] – [0028], teaches to the first electrode, or anode catalyst layers 120, 220, that is formed at least in part by an electrodeposition process, as Cao teaches to an electroplating for electrodes).
In an alternative rejection, claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larry Steven Rosenzweig of US 2007/0278108 A1 (hereinafter, Rosenzweig) in view of Yury Kolenko of WO 2023/095092 A2 (hereinafter, Kolenko), Jian Lu of US 2026/0009148 A1 (hereinafter, Lu) and Subramanya, Badrayyana, et al. "Novel Co–Ni–graphene composite electrodes for hydrogen production." RSC Advances 5.59 (2015): 47398-47407 (hereinafter, Subramanya).
As to claim 1, Rosenzweig teaches to a system for water electrolysis, the system comprising:
an electrolyte material configured for exchange of anions (Rosenzweig, paragraph [0034], Fig. 3, teaches an alkaline electrolyte, including KOH, configured for exchange of anions, including hydroxide ions); and
a second electrode, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to exchange the anions through the electrolyte material (Rosenzweig, Fig. 3, teaches to a second electrode, wherein the first electrode, either cathode 44 or anode 42, and the second electrode, either cathode 44 or anode 42, are configured to exchange the anions through the electrolyte material, an alkaline electrolyte, including KOH).
Rosenzweig does not explicitly teach a first electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound.
In an analogous art, Kolenko teaches to a first electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound (Kolenko, pg. 2, teaches to a first electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound, or CaT2P2, wherein T is selected from iron, cobalt, and nickel, and combinations thereof, and P is phosphorus).
Both Rosenzweig and Kolenko relate to an electrode comprising the water electrolysis system (Kolenko, pg. 1). Rosenzweig does not explicitly teach a first electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound. Rosenzweig does teach a first and second electrode configured to exchange the anions through the electrolyte material (Rosenzweig, Fig. 3). Kolenko teaches a first electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound for an electrode in water electrolysis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the water electrolysis system of Rosenzweig with the electrode of Kolenko for providing efficient provision of electrodes in facilitating electrochemical reactions, thereby improving performance of water electrolysis system.
Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko does not explicitly teach including:
about 5-95 wt.% Co;
about 5-95 wt.% Ni; and
about 5-20 wt.% P.
In an analogous art, Lu teaches to including:
about 5-95 wt.% Co (Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P);
about 5-95 wt.% Ni (Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P); and
about 5-20 wt.% P (Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P).
Both Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko and Lu relate to water electrolysis (Lu, paragraph [0030]). Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko does not explicitly teach to an electrode comprising weight percentages of Co, Ni, or P. Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko does teach electrodeposition and coating (Rosenzweig, paragraph [0019]). Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P, for providing an intrinsic crystal-amorphous dual-phase structure (Lu, paragraph [0008]) that maximizes active sites and lowers reaction energy barriers for an electrode in water electrolysis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the first electrode of Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko with the electrode composition of Lu for preparing electrodes with known compositions for providing an intrinsic crystal-amorphous dual-phase structure (Lu, paragraph [0008]) that maximizes active sites and lowers reaction energy barriers for an electrode in water electrolysis.
Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko and Lu does not explicitly teach about 0.01-5.0 wt.% of graphene or oxidized graphene.
In an analogous art, Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, about 0.01-5.0 wt.% of graphene or oxidized graphene (Subramanya, pg. 47399, Table 1, teaches about 0.01-5.0 wt.% of graphene, as Subramanya teaches using 0.33 wt% of graphene).
Both Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko and Lu and Subramanya relate to electrodeposition for water electrolysis (Subramanya, abstract). Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko and Lu does not explicitly teach that the first electrode includes graphene or oxidized graphene. Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko and Lu does teach using an electrode. Subramanya teaches to using graphene in the Co-Ni-graphene composite electrodes for extraordinary electronic and mechanical properties of graphene (Subramanya, pg. 47399).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the electrode of water electrolysis of Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko and Lu with the graphene of Subramanya for coating the water electrolysis system by using electrodeposition for supporting alloys with high surface area of graphene (Subramanya, pg. 47399), thereby improving electrocatalytic performance of the water electrolysis system.
As to claim 2, Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte material is an anion exchange membrane (Rosenzweig, paragraph [0039], Fig.3, teaches to wherein the electrolyte material is an anion exchange membrane, a diaphragm or membrane separator 48 for transporting hydroxide ions), the first electrode is a first catalyst layer on a first side of the anion exchange membrane, and the second electrode is a second catalyst layer on a second side of the anion exchange membrane opposite the first side (Rosenzweig, Fig. 3, teaches cathode 44 and anode 42 as a first and second, or a second and a first, electrodes where the first and second electrodes are respective first and second catalyst layers).
As to claim 3, Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte material is an alkaline solution (Rosenzweig, paragraph [0039], teaches elected electrolyte solution, wherein the solution comprises NaOH or KOH), and the first electrode and the second electrode are both in contact with the alkaline solution (Rosenzweig, Fig. 3, teaches that cathode 44 and anode 42 are in contact with electrolytic solution 46).
As to claim 4, Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the first electrode is an anode and the second electrode is a cathode (Rosenzweig, Fig. 3, teaches wherein the first electrode is anode 42 and the second electrode is cathode 44, because how each electrode referred thereto does not result in nonobviousness of the instant invention).
As to claim 5, Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the first electrode is a cathode and the second electrode is an anode (Rosenzweig, Fig. 3, teaches wherein the first electrode is cathode 44 and the second electrode is anode 42, because how each electrode referred thereto does not result in nonobviousness of the instant invention).
As to claim 6, Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the second electrode includes a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound (Kolenko, pg. 2, teaches to a second electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound, or CaT2P2, wherein T is selected from iron, cobalt, and nickel, and combinations thereof, and P is phosphorus).
As to claim 9, Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the electroplating includes about 0.01-10.0 wt.% of one or more nickel phosphide (NiP), nickel chloride (NiCl2), cobalt phosphide (CoP), cobalt chloride (CoCl2), cobalt-nickel phosphide (Co-Ni-P), nickel-cobalt-phosphide (Ni-Co-P), iridium oxide (IrOx), ruthenium oxide (RuOx), palladium (Pd), and platinum (Pt) (Lu, paragraph [0013], teaches to Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material including 10 wt% of Pt).
As to claim 10, Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the first electrode is formed at least in part by an electrodeposition process (Rosenzweig, paragraph [0009], teaches to an electrolytic coating of an electrode including a porous nickel coating; while not all electrodepositions are electrolytic coatings, all electrolytic coatings are electrodeposition).
As to claim 21, Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, further comprising a porous transport layer (PTL) adjacent to the first electrode, wherein the PTL comprises a metallic wire mesh having a coating thereon having a nickel-based alloy, a cobalt-based alloy, or an iron-based alloy compound (Rosenzweig, paragraph [0046, teaches to proton exchange membrane 52 comprising a porous nickel coating 54; the porous nickel coating 54 reads as the PTL; Rosenzweig, paragraph [0029], teaches that the porous nickel coating substrate comprises a metallic wire mesh having an alloy-based coating).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larry Steven Rosenzweig of US 2007/0278108 A1 (hereinafter, Rosenzweig) in view of Yury Kolenko of WO 2023/095092 A2 (hereinafter, Kolenko), Jian Lu of US 2026/0009148 A1 (hereinafter, Lu) and Subramanya, Badrayyana, et al. "Novel Co–Ni–graphene composite electrodes for hydrogen production." RSC Advances 5.59 (2015): 47398-47407 (hereinafter, Subramanya), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Richard J. Lawrance of US 4214969 A (hereinafter, Lawrance).
As to claim 22, Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya teaches to comprising a cobalt-based alloy, an iron-based alloy, or a nickel-based alloy (Kolenko, pg. 2, teaches to a first electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound, or CaT2P2, wherein T is selected from iron, cobalt, and nickel, and combinations thereof, and P is phosphorus).
Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya does not explicitly teach , further comprising a bipolar plate enclosing an electrochemical cell defined by the electrolyte material and the first and second electrodes, the bipolar plate comprising a metallic, ceramic, or polymeric plate having a coating thereon comprising a cobalt-based alloy, an iron-based alloy, or a nickel-based alloy.
In an analogous art, Lawrance teaches to the system of claim 1, further comprising a bipolar plate enclosing an electrochemical cell defined by the electrolyte material and the first and second electrodes, the bipolar plate comprising a metallic, ceramic, or polymeric plate having a coating thereon (Lawrance, col. 4, Fig. 1, teaches to bipolar collector 3 which reads as a bipolar plate enclosing solid polymer electrolyte electrolytic cell comprising anode electrode, not shown, and cathode electrodes 6 and 7; Lawrance, Fig. 3, teaches to an alternative construction of bipolar collector 3 having a metallic foil on one side thereof).
Both Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya and Lawrance relate to electrochemical cells (Lawrance, col. 1, ln. 7). Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya does not explicitly teach bipolar plate. Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya does teach to an electrolyzer for decomposing water into hydrogen and oxygen. Lawrance teaches to an electrolzyer comprising a bipolar plate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyzer of Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya with the bipolar plate of Lawrance for providing a physical separator for reducing undesired mixing of hydrogen and oxygen, thereby resulting in a more efficient electrolyzer.
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larry Steven Rosenzweig of US 2007/0278108 A1 (hereinafter, Rosenzweig) in view of Yury Kolenko of WO 2023/095092 A2 (hereinafter, Kolenko), Jian Lu of US 2026/0009148 A1 (hereinafter, Lu) and Subramanya, Badrayyana, et al. "Novel Co–Ni–graphene composite electrodes for hydrogen production." RSC Advances 5.59 (2015): 47398-47407 (hereinafter, Subramanya), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and in further view of Leiming Hu of US 2024/0191366 A1 (hereinafter, Hu).
As to claim 23, Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya does not explicitly teach further comprising an intermediate layer comprising a cobalt-based alloy positioned between the first catalyst layer and the first side of the anion exchange membrane.
In an analogous art, Hu teaches to the system of claim 2, further comprising an intermediate layer comprising a cobalt-based alloy positioned between the first catalyst layer and the first side of the anion exchange membrane (Hu, paragraph [0061], Fig. 1, teaches to Pt/C anode catalyst 170 placed between anionic exchange membrane 160 and anode 180; Kolenko, pg. 2, teaches that comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound is well-known for alkaline electrolyzer or anion-exchange membrane).
Both Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya and Hu relate to an electrochemical cell (Hu, paragraph [0058]). Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya does not explicitly teach the intermediate layer. Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya does teach using a cobalt-based alloy as a catalyst in water electrolyzer with anion exchange membrane. Hu teaches to using an anion exchange membrane, wherein the structure comprising the anion exchange membrane comprises an intermediate catalyst layer between the anion exchange membrane and the anode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolzyer of Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya with the anion exchange membrane structure of Hu for operating water electrolysis in anion exchange membrane with alkaline electrolyte to combine the inexpensive, non-precious metal catalyst, thereby resulting in more cost-effective water electrolyzer.
As to claim 24, Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya does not explicitly teach wherein the anion exchange membrane comprises a poly(fluorenyl-co-aryl piperidinium) (PFAP)-based material or a polybenzimidazole-based material doped with alkaline salts.
In an analogous art, Hu teaches to the system of claim 2, wherein the anion exchange membrane comprises a poly(fluorenyl-co-aryl piperidinium) (PFAP)-based material or a polybenzimidazole-based material doped with alkaline salts (Hu, paragraph [0120], teaches that the anion exchange membrane comprises a functionalized poly(aryl piperidinium) polymer, which reads as a poly(fluorenyl-co-aryl piperidinium) (PFAP)-based material).
Both Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya and Hu relate to an electrochemical cell (Hu, paragraph [0058]). Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya does not explicitly teach that the electrolyzer comprises an anion exchange membrane with a functionalized poly(aryl piperidinium) polymer. Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya does teach using a cobalt-based alloy as a catalyst in water electrolyzer. Hu teaches to using an anion exchange membrane, wherein the structure comprising the anion exchange membrane comprises a functionalized poly(aryl piperidinium) polymer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolzyer of Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya with the anion exchange membrane with a functionalized poly(aryl piperidinium) polymer of Hu for increased alkaline durability in operating water electrolysis in anion exchange membrane, thereby resulting in more cost-effective water electrolyzer.
Claim(s) 25 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larry Steven Rosenzweig of US 2007/0278108 A1 (hereinafter, Rosenzweig) in view of Yury Kolenko of WO 2023/095092 A2 (hereinafter, Kolenko) and Jian Lu of US 2026/0009148 A1 (hereinafter, Lu).
As to claim 25, Rosenzweig teaches to a system for water electrolysis, the system comprising:
an electrolyte material configured for exchange of anions (Rosenzweig, paragraph [0034], Fig. 3, teaches an alkaline electrolyte, including KOH, configured for exchange of anions, including hydroxide ions);
a first electrode (Rosenzweig, Fig. 3, teaches to a first electrode, either cathode 44 or anode 42);
a second electrode, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to exchange the anions through the electrolyte material (Rosenzweig, Fig. 3, teaches to a second electrode, wherein the first electrode, either cathode 44 or anode 42, and the second electrode, either cathode 44 or anode 42, are configured to exchange the anions through the electrolyte material, an alkaline electrolyte, including KOH).
Rosenzweig does not explicitly teach comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound.
In an analogous art, Kolenko teaches to teach comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound (Kolenko, pg. 2, teaches to a first electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound, or CaT2P2, wherein T is selected from iron, cobalt, and nickel, and combinations thereof, and P is phosphorus).
Both Rosenzweig and Kolenko relate to an electrode comprising the water electrolysis system (Kolenko, pg. 1). Rosenzweig does not explicitly teach a first electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound. Rosenzweig does teach a first and second electrode configured to exchange the anions through the electrolyte material (Rosenzweig, Fig. 3). Kolenko teaches a first electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound for an electrode in water electrolysis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the water electrolysis system of Rosenzweig with the electrode of Kolenko for providing efficient provision of electrodes in facilitating electrochemical reactions, thereby improving performance of water electrolysis system.
Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko does not explicitly teach including:
about 5-95 wt.% Co;
about 5-95 wt.% Ni; and
about 5-20 wt.% P.
In an analogous art, Lu teaches to including:
about 5-95 wt.% Co (Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P);
about 5-95 wt.% Ni (Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P); and
about 5-20 wt.% P (Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P).
Both Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko and Lu relate to water electrolysis (Lu, paragraph [0030]). Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko does not explicitly teach to an electrode comprising weight percentages of Co, Ni, or P. Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko does teach electrodeposition and coating (Rosenzweig, paragraph [0019]). Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P, for providing an intrinsic crystal-amorphous dual-phase structure (Lu, paragraph [0008]) that maximizes active sites and lowers reaction energy barriers for an electrode in water electrolysis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the first electrode of Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko with the electrode composition of Lu for preparing electrodes with known compositions for providing an intrinsic crystal-amorphous dual-phase structure (Lu, paragraph [0008]) that maximizes active sites and lowers reaction energy barriers for an electrode in water electrolysis.
Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko and Lu teaches to about 0.01-10.0 wt.% of one or more nickel phosphide (NiP), nickel chloride (NiCl2), cobalt phosphide (CoP), cobalt chloride (CoCl2), cobalt-nickel phosphide (Co-Ni-P), nickel-cobalt-phosphide (Ni-Co-P), iridium oxide (IrOx), ruthenium oxide (RuOx), palladium (Pd), and platinum (Pt) (Lu, paragraph [0013], teaches to Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material including 10 wt% of Pt).
As to claim 28, Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko and Lu teaches to the system of claim 25, wherein the second electrode (Lu, paragraph [0122], teaches that the electrode material can be used for either cathode and anode) includes a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound including:
about 5-95 wt.% Co (Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P);
about 5-95 wt.% Ni (Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P); and
about 5-20 wt.% P (Lu, paragraphs [0013], [0016], and [0123], teaches to an electrode material comprising 5-20 at % of Co, 5-20 at % of Ni, and 1-10 at % of P).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larry Steven Rosenzweig of US 2007/0278108 A1 (hereinafter, Rosenzweig) in view of Yury Kolenko of WO 2023/095092 A2 (hereinafter, Kolenko), Jian Lu of US 2026/0009148 A1 (hereinafter, Lu) and Subramanya, Badrayyana, et al. "Novel Co–Ni–graphene composite electrodes for hydrogen production." RSC Advances 5.59 (2015): 47398-47407 (hereinafter, Subramanya), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and in further view of Leiming Hu of US 2024/0191366 A1 (hereinafter, Hu) and Richard J. Lawrance of US 4214969 A (hereinafter, Lawrance).
As to claim 26, Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte material is an anion exchange membrane (Rosenzweig, paragraph [0039], Fig.3, teaches to wherein the electrolyte material is an anion exchange membrane, a diaphragm or membrane separator 48 for transporting hydroxide ions),
Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya does not explicitly teach wherein the first electrode is a first catalyst layer on a first side of the anion exchange membrane with an intermediate layer comprising a cobalt-based alloy positioned between the first catalyst layer and the first side of the anion exchange membrane.
In an analogous art, Hu teaches to the system of claim 2, wherein the first electrode is a first catalyst layer on a first side of the anion exchange membrane with an intermediate layer comprising a cobalt-based alloy positioned between the first catalyst layer and the first side of the anion exchange membrane (Hu, paragraph [0061], Fig. 1, teaches to Pt/C anode catalyst 170 placed between anionic exchange membrane 160 and anode 180; Kolenko, pg. 2, teaches that comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound is well-known for alkaline electrolyzer or anion-exchange membrane).
Both Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya and Hu relate to an electrochemical cell (Hu, paragraph [0058]). Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya does not explicitly teach the intermediate layer. Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya does teach using a cobalt-based alloy as a catalyst in water electrolyzer with anion exchange membrane. Hu teaches to using an anion exchange membrane, wherein the structure comprising the anion exchange membrane comprises an intermediate catalyst layer between the anion exchange membrane and the anode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolzyer of Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, and Subramanya with the anion exchange membrane structure of Hu for operating water electrolysis in anion exchange membrane with alkaline electrolyte to combine the inexpensive, non-precious metal catalyst, thereby resulting in more cost-effective water electrolyzer.
Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, Subramanya and Hu teaches to wherein the second electrode is a second catalyst layer on a second side of the anion exchange membrane opposite the first side (Rosenzweig, Fig. 3, teaches to a second electrode, wherein the first electrode, either cathode 44 or anode 42, and the second electrode, either cathode 44 or anode 42, are configured to exchange the anions through the electrolyte material, an alkaline electrolyte, including KOH),
wherein the anion exchange membrane comprises a poly(fluorenyl-co-aryl piperidinium) (PFAP)-based material or a polybenzimidazole-based material doped with alkaline salts (Hu, paragraph [0120], teaches that the anion exchange membrane comprises a functionalized poly(aryl piperidinium) polymer, which reads as a poly(fluorenyl-co-aryl piperidinium) (PFAP)-based material),
wherein a porous transport layer (PTL) is adjacent to the first electrode (Rosenzweig, paragraph [0046, teaches to proton exchange membrane 52 comprising a porous nickel coating 54; the porous nickel coating 54 reads as the PTL),
wherein the PTL comprises a metallic wire mesh having a coating thereon comprising a nickel-based alloy, a cobalt-based alloy, or an iron-based alloy compound (Rosenzweig, paragraph [0029], teaches that the porous nickel coating substrate comprises a metallic wire mesh having an alloy-based coating).
Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, Subramanya and Hu teaches to comprising a cobalt-based alloy, an iron-based alloy, or a nickel-based alloy (Kolenko, pg. 2, teaches to a first electrode comprising a nickel-cobalt-phosphorus-based compound, or CaT2P2, wherein T is selected from iron, cobalt, and nickel, and combinations thereof, and P is phosphorus).
Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, Subramanya and Hu does not explicitly teach , further comprising a bipolar plate enclosing an electrochemical cell defined by the electrolyte material and the first and second electrodes, the bipolar plate comprising a metallic, ceramic, or polymeric plate having a coating thereon comprising a cobalt-based alloy, an iron-based alloy, or a nickel-based alloy.
In an analogous art, Lawrance teaches to the system of claim 1, further comprising a bipolar plate enclosing an electrochemical cell defined by the electrolyte material and the first and second electrodes, the bipolar plate comprising a metallic, ceramic, or polymeric plate having a coating thereon (Lawrance, col. 4, Fig. 1, teaches to bipolar collector 3 which reads as a bipolar plate enclosing solid polymer electrolyte electrolytic cell comprising anode electrode, not shown, and cathode electrodes 6 and 7; Lawrance, Fig. 3, teaches to an alternative construction of bipolar collector 3 having a metallic foil on one side thereof).
Both Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, Subramanya and Hu and Lawrance relate to electrochemical cells (Lawrance, col. 1, ln. 7). Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, Subramanya and Hu does not explicitly teach bipolar plate. Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, Subramanya and Hu does teach to an electrolyzer for decomposing water into hydrogen and oxygen. Lawrance teaches to an electrolzyer comprising a bipolar plate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyzer of Rosenzweig in view of Kolenko, Lu, Subramanya and Hu with the bipolar plate of Lawrance for providing a physical separator for reducing undesired mixing of hydrogen and oxygen, thereby resulting in a more efficient electrolyzer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 10 of 12, filed 03/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
On pg. 9 of 12, the applicant asserts that it would have not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the Cao or Rosenweig/Kolenko with Ilgar because Ilgar is directed to wear-resistant coatings for mechanical components such as mud rotor shafts.
For instance, claim(s) 1-6, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gangmin Cao of US 2024/0110288 A1 (hereinafter, Cao), disclosed in IDS filed 08/12/2024, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Jian Lu of US 2026/0009148 A1 (hereinafter, Lu) and Subramanya, Badrayyana, et al. "Novel Co–Ni–graphene composite electrodes for hydrogen production." RSC Advances 5.59 (2015): 47398-47407 (hereinafter, Subramanya).
In an alternative rejection, claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larry Steven Rosenzweig of US 2007/0278108 A1 (hereinafter, Rosenzweig) in view of Yury Kolenko of WO 2023/095092 A2 (hereinafter, Kolenko), Jian Lu of US 2026/0009148 A1 (hereinafter, Lu) and Subramanya, Badrayyana, et al. "Novel Co–Ni–graphene composite electrodes for hydrogen production." RSC Advances 5.59 (2015): 47398-47407 (hereinafter, Subramanya).
Please refer to the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794