DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No(s). 11,678,148 and 12,096,313. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of currently pending Application No. 18/800,323 are broader and obvious variants of the claims of U.S. Patent No(s). 11,678,148 and 12,096,313.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusco (US 2018/0065544 A1) in view of Bernstein (US 2013/0127611 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Brusco discloses a device (see at least Figure 1, item 10 | [0011] note while the electric vehicles 10 illustrated in Figure 1 are cars, the term electric vehicles may include cars, trucks, motorcycles, mopeds, bicycles, buses, etc.), comprising:
at least one wheel (see at least Figure 1 | [0011] note a truck could comprise a garbage truck that utilizes fork arms to engage the lift channels of a dumpster, or a mechanical arm to engage a trash can);
a prime mover configured to drive the at least one wheel (see at least [0011] note the electric motor); and
a connectivity module communicably coupled with the device (see at least Figure 1, item 15 | [0014] note the controller 15 | [0024] note the controller 15 includes a transmitter 30), wherein the connectivity module is configured to:
receive, from a device, a selection of an attribute of a component of the device (see at least Figure 1, item 32 | [0024] note the driver of vehicle 10 may use a cellphone 32 to select a button that requests a battery status of a battery of the vehicle 10);
determine a threshold measure associated with the selected attribute (see at least [0016] note at least one threshold measure is determined);
receive, via a sensor, a measure associated with the selected attribute of the component of the device (see at least Figure 1, item 17 | [0014] note the controller 15 receives the charge of the battery from the sensor(s) 17);
compare the received measure and the threshold measure associated with the selected attribute of the component of the device (see at least [0016] note the controller 15 compares the received battery charge to at least one threshold measure); and
provide, based on the comparison, an indication in accordance with an indicator characteristic representing a status of the component of the device (see at least [0016] note the controller 15 can control a light 22 to emit a green color if the received battery charge is between 60-80%).
However, Brusco does not specifically disclose a lift device, comprising: an implement; a prime mover configured to drive the implement.
It is known to monitor various types of vehicles. For example, Bernstein teaches a system that monitors a lift device, comprising: an implement; a prime mover configured to drive the implement (see at least Figure 1, item 12 | [0019-0022] note the connectivity module (12) monitors at least the battery of a car, truck or tractor, which utilize implements such as a mower deck, front end loader, backhoe, pallet fork, etc. | [0031] note the indication can be electronic, visual, audible, etc.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Bernstein into Brusco. This provides a known alternative vehicle that can be used in place of, or in addition to, Brusco’s vehicle while providing predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach further comprising an indicator communicably coupled to the connectivity module, wherein the indicator is configured to provide the indication representing the status of the component of the lift device to an observer (see at least Figure 1, items 15, 16, 18 and 22 of Brusco | [0014] of Brusco).
Regarding claim 3, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the indicator is a lighting device and the indication is at least one of the lighting device in a solid on state, a solid off state, a flashing state, or a strobe state (see at least [0016-0017] of Brusco, note solid on and flashing states).
Regarding claim 4, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the lighting device in the solid on state indicates the status of a battery of the lift device is fully charged (see at least [0016-0017] of Brusco, note a blue solid on state can indicate a 100% battery charge).
Regarding claim 5, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the lighting device in the flashing state indicates the status of a battery of the lift device is charging (see at least [0017] of Brusco, note flashing can indicate the battery is charging).
Regarding claim 6, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the attribute of the component is a power level of a battery of the lift device (see at least [0016] of Brusco, note blue emitted light can indicate a 100% power level of a battery).
Regarding claim 7, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the status of the component of the lift device is at least one of a fuel level of the lift device, a battery power level of the lift device, an ignition status of the lift device, or an operational status of the lift device (see at least [0016] of Brusco, note red, orange, green or blue emitted light indicates a battery power level).
Regarding claim 8, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the threshold measure is determined via a control system of the lift device (see at least [0020-0021] of Brusco, note the threshold measure is determined via the touchscreen interface and GPS of the vehicle, such as a navigation system).
Regarding claim 9, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the connectivity module is configured to operate in a first mode when the lift device is powered on, and wherein in the first mode the connectivity module is configured to communicate with the device via a long range radio frequency networking communication (see at least [0012] of Brusco, note the vehicle is turned off when charging | [0024] of Brusco, note a driver could communicate their request for battery status via their electronic device (32) (e.g., a cellphone, laptop, tablet, watch, electronic wristband, key fob, etc.) and cellphone towers (34) anytime, such as when the vehicle is on and/or off).
Regarding claim 10, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the connectivity module is configured to operate in a second mode when the lift device is powered off, and wherein in the second mode the connectivity module is configured to communicate with the device via a short range radio frequency networking communication (see at least [0012] of Brusco, note the vehicle is turned off when charging | [0024] of Brusco, note a driver could communicate their request for battery status via their Bluetooth electronic device (32) while the vehicle is charging and off).
Regarding claim 11, Brusco discloses a connectivity system (see at least Figure 1 | [0024]), comprising:
a device (see at least Figure 1, item 32 | [0024] note the electronic device 32 could be a cellphone, laptop, tablet, watch, electronic wristband, key fob); and
a wheeled device (see at least Figure 1, item 10 | [0011] note while the electric vehicles 10 illustrated in Figure 1 are cars, the term electric vehicles may include cars, trucks, motorcycles, mopeds, bicycles, buses, etc.) comprising:
a wheel (see at least Figure 1 | [0011] note a truck could comprise a garbage truck that utilizes fork arms to engage the lift channels of a dumpster, or a mechanical arm to engage a trash can);
a prime mover configured to drive the wheel (see at least [0011] note the electric motor); and
a connectivity module communicably coupled with the wheeled device (see at least Figure 1, item 15 | [0014] note the controller 15 | [0024] note the controller 15 includes a transmitter 30), wherein the connectivity module is configured to:
receive, from the device, a selection of an attribute of a component of the wheeled device (see at least Figure 1, item 32 | [0024] note the driver of vehicle 10 may use a cellphone 32 to select a button that requests a battery status of a battery of the vehicle 10);
determine a threshold measure associated with the selected attribute (see at least [0016] note at least one threshold measure is determined);
receive, via a sensor, a measure associated with the selected attribute of the component of the wheeled device (see at least Figure 1, item 17 | [0014] note the controller 15 receives the charge of the battery from the sensor(s) 17);
compare the received measure and the threshold measure associated with the selected attribute of the component of the wheeled device (see at least [0016] note the controller 15 compares the received battery charge to at least one threshold measure); and
provide, based on the comparison, an indication in accordance with an indicator characteristic representing a status of the component of the lift device (see at least [0016] note the controller 15 can control a light 22 to emit a green color if the received battery charge is between 60-80%).
However, Brusco does not specifically disclose a fleet; a lift device, comprising: an implement; a prime mover configured to drive the implement.
It is known to monitor various types of vehicles. For example, Bernstein teaches a system that monitors a fleet; and a lift device, comprising: an implement; a prime mover configured to drive the implement (see at least Figure 1, item 12 | [0019-0022] note the manufacturing company uses a connectivity module (12) to monitor at least the battery of a car, truck or tractor, which utilize implements such as a mower deck, front end loader, backhoe, pallet fork, etc. | [0031] note the indication can be electronic, visual, audible, etc.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Bernstein into Brusco. This provides a known alternative vehicle that can be used in place of, or in addition to, Brusco’s vehicle while providing predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the lift device further comprises an indicator communicably coupled to the connectivity module, and wherein the indicator is configured to provide the indication representing the status of the component of the lift device (see at least Figure 1, items 15, 16, 18 and 22 of Brusco | [0014] of Brusco).
Regarding claim 13, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the indicator is a lighting device and the indication is at least one of the lighting device in a solid on state, a solid off state, a flashing state, or a strobe state (see at least [0016-0017] of Brusco, note solid on and flashing states).
Regarding claim 14, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the connectivity module is configured to determine the threshold measure via a control system of the lift device (see at least [0020-0021] of Brusco, note the threshold measure is determined via the touchscreen interface and GPS of the vehicle, such as a navigation system).
Regarding claim 15, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the attribute of the component is a power level of a battery of the lift device (see at least [0016] of Brusco, note blue emitted light can indicate a 100% power level of a battery).
Regarding claim 16, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the connectivity module is configured to provide the indication to the device, and wherein the indication is a graphical interface status icon that the device displays (see at least [0024] of Brusco, note the message can include symbols and words | [0021] of Brusco, note symbols | [0018] of Brusco, note logo and symbol).
Regarding claim 17, Brusco discloses a method for providing a status of a component of a wheeled device (see at least Figure 1, item 10 | [0011] | [0014]), comprising:
receiving, from a device, a selection of an attribute of the component of the wheeled device (see at least Figure 1, item 32 | [0024] note the driver of vehicle 10 may use a cellphone 32 to select a button that requests a battery status of a battery of the vehicle 10);
determining a threshold measure associated with the selected attribute (see at least [0016] note at least one threshold measure is determined);
receiving, via a sensor, a measure associated with the selected attribute of the component of the wheeled device (see at least Figure 1, item 17 | [0014] note the controller 15 receives the charge of the battery from the sensor(s) 17);
comparing, via a connectivity module, the received measure and the threshold measure associated with the selected attribute of the component of the wheeled device (see at least [0016] note the controller 15 compares the received battery charge to at least one threshold measure); and
providing, via an indicator and based on the comparison, an indication in accordance with an indicator characteristic representing the status of the component of the wheeled device (see at least [0016] note the controller 15 can control a light 22 to emit a green color if the received battery charge is between 60-80%).
However, Brusco does not specifically disclose a lift device.
It is known to monitor various types of vehicles. For example, Bernstein teaches a system that monitors a lift device (see at least Figure 1, item 12 | [0019-0022] note the connectivity module (12) monitors at least the battery of a car, truck or tractor, which utilize implements such as a mower deck, front end loader, backhoe, pallet fork, etc. | [0031] note the indication can be electronic, visual, audible, etc.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Bernstein into Brusco. This provides a known alternative vehicle that can be used in place of, or in addition to, Brusco’s vehicle while providing predictable results.
Regarding claim 18, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein the indicator is a lighting device, and wherein providing the indication representing the status of the component of the lift device includes providing at least one of the lighting device in a solid on state, a solid off state, a flashing state, or a strobe state (see at least [0016-0017] of Brusco, note solid on and flashing states).
Regarding claim 19, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein providing the lighting device in the solid on state indicates the status of a battery of the lift device is fully charged (see at least [0016] of Brusco, note blue emitted light can indicate a 100% power level of a battery).
Regarding claim 20, Brusco in view of Bernstein teach wherein comparing the received measure and the threshold measure associated with the attribute of the component of the lift device includes determining at least one of a fuel level of the lift device, a battery power level of the lift device, an ignition status of the lift device, or an operation status of the lift device (see at least [0016] of Brusco, note red, orange, green or blue emitted light indicates a battery power level).
Conclusion
/BRIAN WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689