DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-10 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-10, 16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (US 20200039143) in view of KR 101715587B1, hereinafter KR’587 translation attached.
Regarding Claim 1 Turner discloses three-dimensional (3D) printing system configured to manufacture a 3D article comprising: a build vessel configured to contain a photocurable liquid (Figure 1, [0014], photocurable liquid-8, vessel-6), the build vessel including: a lower wall having an opening with an opening width along a lateral X-axis (Figure 1, [0015], opening-10); and a transparent sheet that closes the opening; a build platen having a lower surface in facing relation with the transparent sheet and having a platen width along the lateral X-axis (Figure 1, [0015], transparent sheet-12, platen-20), the platen width is greater than the opening width (Figure 1); a projection light engine below the build vessel (Figure 1, [0017], light engine-26); a movement mechanism; a controller configured to: operate the movement mechanism to provide positioning of a first lateral end of the build platen over the build plane and to position a lower face of the 3D article coplanar with the build plane (Figure 1, [0019]-[0020], controller-36); and concurrent with imparting relative motion, operate the projection light engine to selectively and temporally irradiate the build plane and to selectively harden a layer of the photocurable liquid over the lower face of the 3D article over a lateral area that is larger than the lateral area of the build plane ([0019]-[0020]; the light engine-27 selectively applies light energy through transparent sheet-12 to selectively polymerize proximate to the lower face-24 ); the build plane having a lateral width along the lateral X-axis that is less than or equal to the opening width (Figure 1-2, [0019], build plane-32 lateral width is less than the opening-10 on both sides along the horizontal-axis; the examiner is interpreting the lateral width as the width that is scanned by the light bar-27 at one point along the horizontal/X- axis) .
Turner didn’t particularly disclose that projection light engine configured to project pixelated radiation up to a build plane that is less than one millimeter above the transparent sheet. However, Turner did disclose that light guide-30 maintains a proper spacing between the build plane and the transparent sheet-12 , which is H and that being controlled by the controller ([0017], [0020]), therefore to maintain the optimum distance so that light engine configured to project pixelated radiation up to a build plane that is less than one millimeter above the transparent sheet as claimed can be achieved by routine experimentation.
"A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Further Turner specifically didn’t disclose that controller operate the movement mechanism to impart relative motion between the build platen and the build plane along the lateral X-axis. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, KR’587 discloses that the controller can move the build platen and the build plane in the lateral X/horizontal-axes (Figures 1-4, [0025], build platen-130, build plane is formed along the container-110, translation).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Turner’s teaching with that of KR’587 teaching of the relative motion between the build platen and the build plane along the lateral X-axis for the purpose of selective photocuring of the resin along the container lateral axes.
Regarding Claim 2 Turner discloses wherein an upper surface of the lower wall of the build vessel has a floor length along the lateral X/horizontal -axis, the floor length is at least two times the opening width (Figure 1 showing that upper surface-14 which is measure of the floor length is more than the twice of the opening-10 which is at the edges of the transparent sheet-12, Figure annotated ).
Regarding Claim 3 Turner r discloses wherein the floor length is at least three times the opening width (Figure 1 showing that upper surface-14 is more than the thrice of the opening-10, Figure annotated ). "[I]t is well established that patent drawings do not define the precise proportions of the elements and may not be relied on to show particular sizes if the specification is completely silent on the issue."). However, the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2125 II
Regarding Claim 4 Turner discloses wherein the floor length is at least four times the opening width (Figure 1 showing that upper surface-14 is more than the four times of the opening-10, Figure annotated ) . "[I]t is well established that patent drawings do not define the precise proportions of the elements and may not be relied on to show particular sizes if the specification is completely silent on the issue."). However, the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977) See MPEP 2125 II
Regarding Claim 5 Turner discloses wherein the lower wall of the build vessel has a floor length along the lateral X/horizontal-axis and a floor width along the lateral Y/ horizontal -axis (Figure 1, [0014], lower wall-16), floor length is at least two times the opening width (Figure 1 , showing that upper surface-14 which is measure of the floor length is more than the twice of the opening-10 which is at the edges of the transparent sheet-12, Figure annotated ). Further re: the opening has an opening length along the lateral Y-axis, the opening length is at least 70 percent of the floor width (Figure annotated)
"[I]t is well established that patent drawings do not define the precise proportions of the elements and may not be relied on to show particular sizes if the specification is completely silent on the issue."). However, the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2125 II.
Regarding Claim 6 Turner discloses wherein the floor length is at least three times the opening width (Figure 1 showing that upper surface-14 is more than the thrice of the opening-10, Figure annotated ). "[I]t is well established that patent drawings do not define the precise proportions of the elements and may not be relied on to show particular sizes if the specification is completely silent on the issue."). However, the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2125 II.
Regarding Claim 9 , Turner disclose that wherein the movement mechanism is configured to impart vertical movement ([0020]) but didn’t specifically disclose that movement mechanism is configured to impart lateral movement to the build platen. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, KR’587 discloses that the controller can move the build platen and the build plane in the lateral X/horizontal -axes (Figures 1-4, [0025], build platen-130, build plane is formed along the container-110, translation).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Turner’s teaching with that of KR’587 teaching of the build platen and the build plane along the lateral X/horizontal-axis for the purpose of selective photocuring of the resin along the container lateral axes.
Regarding Claim 10 wherein the movement mechanism is configured to impart vertical movement of the build platen and the projection light engine with the build vessel and the projection light engine in fixed relation to each other along the X-axis ([0020]) but did not state that movement mechanism is configured to impart lateral movement to the build vessel.
In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, KR’587 discloses that the controller can move the build platen and the build plane in the lateral X/horizontal -axes (Figures 1-4, [0025], build platen-130, build plane is formed along the container-110, translation).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Turner’s teaching with that of KR’587 teaching of the build platen and the build plane along the lateral X/horizaontal-axis for the purpose of selective photocuring of the resin along the container lateral axes.
Regarding Claim 16 Turner discloses three-dimensional (3D) printing system configured to manufacture a 3D article comprising: a build vessel configured to contain a photocurable liquid (Figure 1, [0014], photocurable liquid-8, vessel-6), the build vessel including : a lower wall having a floor length and width along mutually perpendicular X-axis and Y-axis respectively (Figure 1, [0015], lower surface-15), the lower wall defining an opening with an opening width along the lateral X axis that is less than a third of the floor length (Figure 1 showing that upper surface-14 is more than the thrice of the opening-10) and an opening length along the lateral Y-axis that is at least 70% of the floor width ( Figure annotated above ); and a transparent sheet that closes the opening (Figure 1 transparent sheet-12, [0015]); a build platen having a lower surface in facing relation with the transparent sheet and having a platen width along the lateral X-axis, the platen width is greater than the opening width (Figure 1, ); a projection light engine below the build vessel and configured to project pixelated radiation up to a build plane that is less than one millimeter above the transparent sheet (Figure 1, [0017], light engine-26), the build plane having a lateral width along the lateral X-axis that is less than or equal to the opening width Figure 1-2, [0019], build plane-32 lateral width is less than the opening-10 on both sides along the horizontal-axis; the examiner is interpreting the lateral width as the width that is scanned by the light bar-27 along the horizontal/X- axis)at one point a movement mechanism; a controller configured to: operate the movement mechanism to provide positioning of a first lateral end of the build platen over the build plane and to position a lower face of the 3D article coplanar with the build plane (Figure 1, [0019]-[0020], controller-36); and concurrent with imparting relative motion, operate the projection light engine to selectively and temporally irradiate the build plane and to selectively harden a layer of the photocurable liquid over the lower face of the 3D article over a lateral area that is larger than the lateral area of the build plane ([0019]-[0020]; the light engine-27 selectively applies light energy through transparent sheet-12 to selectively polymerize proximate to the lower face-24) . Further Turner specifically didn’t disclose that controller operate the movement mechanism to impart relative motion between the build platen and the build plane along the lateral X-axis. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, KR’587 discloses that the controller can move the build platen and the build plane in the lateral X/horizontal-axes (Figures 1-4, [0025], build platen-130, build plane is formed along the container-110, translation).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Turner’s teaching with that of KR’587 teaching of the relative motion between the build platen and the build plane along the lateral X-axis for the purpose of selective photocuring of the resin along the container lateral axes.
Regarding Claim 19 , Turner disclose that wherein the movement mechanism is configured to impart vertical movement ([0020]) but didn’t specifically disclose that movement mechanism is configured to impart lateral movement to the build platen. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, KR’587 discloses that the controller can move the build platen and the build plane in the lateral X/horizontal -axes (Figures 1-4, [0025], build platen-130, build plane is formed along the container-110, translation).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Turner’s teaching with that of KR’587 teaching of the build platen and the build plane along the lateral X/horizontal-axis for the purpose of selective photocuring of the resin along the container lateral axes.
Regarding Claim 20, Turner discloses wherein the movement mechanism includes a first movement mechanism configured to position the build platen with respect to the Z-axis (Figure 1, [0014]-[0016]) and a second movement mechanism configured to move the build platen and the projection light engine together and in fixed relationship to each other with respect to the X-axis (Figure 1, [0014], [0119], [0020]).
Claim(s) 7-8, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (US 20200039143) in view of KR101715587B1, hereinafter KR’587 translation attached further in view of Childers (US 20200039142)
Regarding Claim 7-8, 17-18 wherein the controller is configured to selectively harden a layer of the photocurable liquid over the lower face of the 3D article ([0020]) but didn’t disclose that controller is configured to selectively harden a layer of the photocurable liquid over the lower face of the 3D article over a lateral area that is at least 50% larger than the lateral area of the build plane. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Childers, teaches a 3 D printing system comprising a support scaffold-28 driven by actuator-34 moves to different lateral position to allow the light engine-22 to reach the entire build plane-26 (Figure 1, [0033], [0034]); therefore the claim limitation that controller is configured to selectively harden a layer of the photocurable liquid over the lower face of the 3D article over a lateral area that is at least 50% larger or 100% larger than the lateral area of the build plane is met.
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Turner’s teaching with that of Childers teaching of the scaffold moving to different lateral positions to allow the light engine to reach the entire build plane for selectively curing layers of the resin over a laterally extending build plane ([0014], [0033]).
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741