Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda – US 20170153172.
As per claim 1, Ikeda teaches a processing system, comprising:
a processing chamber 401 defining a processing region 411 (fig.7 and [0075]);
a foreline 101 coupled with the processing chamber 401, the foreline 101 defining a fluid conduit (fig.7 and fig.1 and [0075]: hollow member 101 corresponds to “foreline/fluid conduit”);
a plasma trap provided within an interior of the foreline, the plasma trap configured to charge and trap at least some particles in the fluid conduit 101 ([0074-0076] and fig.7 and fig.1: a plasma is generated using a processing gas introduced into the processing chamber 401; the exhaust space 412 within the exhaust portion 414 of foreline 101, a gas (exhaust gas) containing particles P negatively charged by plasma flows within space 412; the particles P negatively charged are confined within space 412 of foreline 101 for a period of time; thus “a plasma trap provided within an interior of the foreline; the plasma trap configured to charge and trap at least some particles in the fluid conduit”); and
a particle detector 200 to measure a quantity of particles trapped in the plasma trap ([0066; 0077-0078] and abstract: the particle measuring instrument 200, various instruments such as, for example, a laser particle counter (LPC); thus “a particle detector to measure a quantity of particles trapped in the plasma trap”).
As per claim 8, Ikeda teaches an outlet pump 201 coupled to a distal end of the fluid conduit ([0077] and described fig.7: pump coupled to a distal end of the fluid conduit via particle detector 200; thus “an outlet pump coupled to a distal end of the fluid conduit”), the outlet pump 201 configured to expunge the fluid out of the foreline 101 ([0077]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ikeda and further in view of Jiang – US 20160300696 A1.
As per claim 9, Ikeda does not explicitly teach a metal coil 1 wound around an outside surface of a foreline/tube 2 comprising an electrically insulating material ([0018]: pyrex glass of tube 2 is an electrically insulating material); and an RF source coupled to the metal coil 1 for generating plasma within the foreline 2 ([0018]).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify foreline 101 of Ikeda with teachings of Jiang to include a metal coil wound around an outside surface of the foreline comprising an electrically insulating material; and an RF source coupled to the metal coil for generating plasma within the foreline, for generating plasma source design for downstream plasma cleaning ([0002]).
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Doughty – US 7605389 and further in view of Prance – US 20150279642.
As per claim 10, Doughty teaches a method, comprising: electrostatically charging, through a plasma source, particles in a medium, to form charged particles (col.3, lines 55-67: charging particles through interactions with plasma such as electron or ion attachment; and col.7, lines 43-46: Particles entering into the charging region 210 via gas stream medium 106 acquire a charge by charge attachment will distribute in the trap region according to their energy; thus “electrostatically charging, through a plasma source, particles in a medium, to form charged particles”);
trapping the charged particles in a chamber 202 for a time period (figs.1-2 and col.6, lines 12-28: The trapping region 212 is established within the charging region 210; Over time, the enhancement in local particle density increases further as all particles entering the trapping region 212 are localized in the trap region 212 volume; thus “trapping the charged particles in a chamber for a time period”);
turning off the plasma source to release the charged particles to flow into a conduit 618 (col.5, lines 39-41: trapping region can be dumped by reversing or modifying the applied potentials or by removal of the driving source of the plasma; fig.6 and col.10, lines 15-25: extractor electrode 604 is positioned adjacent to the trapping region 612 and the output port 614. The extractor electrode 604 is biased by a power supply 619 so that particles trapped in the trapping region 612 are expelled towards the extractor electrode 604; the particles in the trapping region 612 through the output port 614 along the path 618; thus “turning off the plasma source to release the charged particles to flow into a conduit”);
collecting at least some of the charged particles released in the conduit 618 onto a conductive medium 604 (fig.6).
Doughty does not explicitly teach measuring an electric current produced by the charged particles collected on the conductive medium.
Prance teaches charged particles impinging on electrode 14; the electrode 14 then collects such charged particles, generating a standard electron current in a conductor for supply as input to the electrometer 12 ([0046] and fig.1).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify conductive medium or extractor electrode 604 of Doughty with teachings of Prance to include measuring an electric current produced by the charged particles collected on the conductive medium, for sensing and measuring ionic current generated by charged particles ([0001]).
As per claim 11, Doughty further teaches trapping the charged particles for a first period of time in the chamber 202; and releasing, at termination of the first period of time, the charged particles into the conduit/path 618 (fig.5B).
As per claim 12, Doughty further teaches a diameter of the charged particles is less than or larger than 100nm (col.2, lines 65-67 and col.3, lines 1-3).
As per claim 13, Doughty further teach a particle concentration of the charged particles is less than 400 particles/cm3 (fig.5A: small number of particles are trapped in the trapping region; there are 100 particles detected; col.9, lines 57-59: microplasma charging sources generate relatively small volume microplasmas that are on order of a few cubic centimeters or less; thus “a particle concentration of the charged particles is less than 400 particles/cm3”).
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Doughty – US 7605389 and in view of Prance – US 20150279642, and further in view of Ikeda – US 20170153172.
As per claim 14, Doughty teaches a method, comprising: providing a plasma trap 210 in a conduit 202; charging particles in the plasma trap 210 (col.3, lines 56-58 and fig.5B); releasing the charged particles (fig.5B); collecting at least some of the charged particles on a conductive medium 604 (fig.6).
Doughty does not explicitly teach a conduit of a processing chamber; charging particles in the plasma trap for a predetermined period of time; releasing the charged particles after the predetermined period of time; a metal plate; measuring an electric current produced by the charged particles collected on the metal plate.
Since Doughty teaches a trapping region that is periodically. The particle detector is operated in a mode where the particles in the trapping region 212 (FIG. 2) are periodically “dumped” so that all particles exit, either to a physical trap, or to some exhaust port. The graph 550 shows an accumulation time period 552 where particles accumulate in the trap (col.9, lines 1-9 and fig.5B), Fig.5B shows a predetermined period of time for accumulating charged particles in trap; and particles dumped from trap after the predetermined period of time. Fig.5B also shows that releasing/dumping the charged particles and charging particles in the plasma trap do not occur at the same time, it would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify fig.5B of Doughty to include charging particles in the plasma trap for a predetermined period of time; releasing the charged particles after the predetermined period of time; for periodically “dumped” so that all particles exit, either to a physical trap, or to some exhaust port (col.9, lines 1-9).
Modified Doughty does not explicitly teach a conduit of a processing chamber; a metal plate; measuring an electric current produced by the charged particles collected on the metal plate.
Prance teaches charged particles impinging on metal of disc/plate electrode 14; the electrode 14 then collects such charged particles, generating a standard electron current in a conductor for supply as input to the electrometer 12 ([0046, 0091] and fig.1).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify conductive medium or extractor electrode 604 of Doughty with teachings of Prance to include a metal plate; measuring an electric current produced by the charged particles collected on the metal plate, for sensing and measuring ionic current generated by charged particles ([0001]).
Modified Doughty does not explicitly teach a conduit of a processing chamber.
Ikeda teaches a processing system, comprising:
a processing chamber 401 defining a processing region 411 (fig.7 and [0075]);
a foreline 101 coupled with the processing chamber 401, the foreline 101 defining a fluid conduit (fig.7 and fig.1 and [0075]: hollow member 101 corresponds to “foreline/fluid conduit”);
a plasma trap provided within an interior of the foreline, the plasma trap configured to charge and trap at least some particles in the fluid conduit 101 ([0074-0076] and fig.7 and fig.1: a plasma is generated using a processing gas introduced into the processing chamber 401; the exhaust space 412 within the exhaust portion 414 of foreline 101, a gas (exhaust gas) containing particles P negatively charged by plasma flows within space 412; the particles P negatively charged are confined within space 412 of foreline 101 for a period of time; thus “a plasma trap provided within an interior of the foreline; the plasma trap configured to charge and trap at least some particles in the fluid conduit”); and
a particle detector 200 to measure a quantity of particles trapped in the plasma trap ([0066; 0077-0078] and abstract: the particle measuring instrument 200, various instruments such as, for example, a laser particle counter (LPC); thus “a particle detector to measure a quantity of particles trapped in the plasma trap”).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and/or combine a conduit 202 of modified Doughty with teachings of Ikeda to include a conduit of a processing chamber, for measuring and managing fine particles in real time within a chamber inside the substrate processing apparatus ([0004]).
As per claim 15, Doughty teaches generating plasma in the plasma trap using at least one of a capacitive coupling (CCP) mode or an inductive coupling (ICP) mode of the plasma trap (col.9, lines 57-60).
As per claim 16, Prance teaches the metal plate 14 covers at least 50% of an area within the conduit 24 ([0045] and fig.1).
As per claim 17, modified Doughty does not explicitly teach activating an outlet pump at termination of the predetermined period of time to release the charged particles onto the metal plate.
Ikeda teaches a pump configured to guide the gas containing the particles to the particle measuring instrument ([0032]).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify releasing/dumping step of modified Doughty with teachings of Ikeda to include activating an outlet pump at termination of the predetermined period of time to release the charged particles onto the metal plate, to guide the gas containing the particles to particle measuring instrument ([0032]).
As per claim 18, Prance teaches the metal plate 14 comprises at least one of nickel, copper, gold, silver, platinum, stainless steel, or other conductive materials ([0091]).
As per claim 19, Prance teaches separating, using a metal mesh 26, ions and electrons in the plasma from passing to the metal plate 14 (abstract and [0045-0046]).
As per claim 20, Doughty teaches a diameter of the charged particles is less than 100nm or a particle concentration of the charged particles is less than 400 particles/cm3 (col.2, lines 65-67 and col.3, lines 1-3: Doughty teaches a diameter of the charged particles is a range of 50nm; thus “a diameter of the charged particles is less than 100nm or a particle concentration of the charged particles is less than 400 particles/cm3”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per claim 2, claim 2 includes the radio frequency source configured to apply an RF signal to the first ring electrode and the second ring electrode to generate a plasma in a region between the first ring electrode and the second ring electrode, when in combination with the remaining limitations in the claim 2 distinguish the present invention from the prior arts.
Claims 4-7 are also objected because they are dependent on claim 2 as set forth above.
As per claim 3, claim 3 includes a first insulating material between the first ring electrode and an inner annulus of the foreline; and a second insulating material between the second ring electrode and the inner annulus of the foreline, when in combination with the remaining limitations in the claim 1 distinguish the present invention from the prior arts.
Conclusion
/TRUONG D PHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855