DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 6/11/2026. Claims 1 – 20 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 9-10, 12-13, and 18 – 20 were amended. The previous objection to the abstract is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 13-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The examiner agrees the primary reference JP 2014-3071 (Kasai) fails to teach the amended subject matter of claim 1. Claim 1 is currently rejected under 35 USC 103 over JP 2014-3071 (Kasai) in view of US 2020/0150061 (Kriele)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2014-3071 (Kasai) in view of US 2020/0150061 (Kriele).
Regarding claim 1, Kasai teaches an apparatus for inspecting insulation of a separator for a battery (apparatus of Figs. 1-2 for inspecting a separator to be tested 1 of a battery; see Figs. 1, 2; see [0002], [0009]-[0010]), the apparatus comprising:
an upper metallic member; a lower metallic member under the upper metallic member, and configured to press the separator with the upper metallic member (a roughly cylindrical metal hard member 4 that sandwiches the separator to be tested 1 and the conductive elastic plate electrodes 2 and 3, and a metal hard member 5 that is larger than the roughly cylindrical metal hard member 4; see Figs. 1, 2; see [0002], [0009]-[0010]); and
a source meter electrically connected to the upper metallic member and to the lower metallic member, and configured to apply a voltage and/or current between the upper metallic member and the lower metallic member, and to measure resistance and/or current between the upper metallic member and the lower metallic member corresponding to the insulation of the separator (ammeter 9 and 9 V DC power source are connected to the upper and lower conductive members 4, 5 and measures the current to determine a load resistance of the separators; see Figs. 1, 2; see [0002], [0019]).
Kasai fails to teach a pressing frame having a plurality of resilient members configured to press the upper metallic member and the lower metallic member, the resilient members comprising variable springs.
Kriele teaches a pressing frame having a plurality of resilient members configured to press the upper metallic member and the lower metallic member, the resilient members comprising variable springs (housing 2 comprises springs and pre-tensioned screws 13; see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of a frame comprising variable springs to press upper and lower metallic members a taught in Kriele into Kasai in order to gain the advantage of springs which are a known means for applying a desired pressure to a battery wherein the springs may be adjusted to provide adjust the desired pressure when compressing a battery for testing.
Regarding claim 2, Kasai teaches wherein a shape of the upper metallic member and the lower metallic member is a column extending in a first direction (roughly cylindrical metal hard member 4 and roughly cylindrical metal hard member 5 are cylindrical, i.e. columnar, and extend in a direction aligned with arrows in Fig. 2; see Figs. 1-2; see [0009]).
Regarding claim 13, Kasai fails to teach wherein each of the upper metallic member and the lower metallic member have a shape of a rectangular plate extending in a first direction, however, it would be an obvious matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant to change the shape of the metallic member from a circle to a rectangle a matter of choice. One of ordinary skill in the art would find changing the metallic member from a circle as shown in Kasai to a rectangle as shown in Figs. 4-5 of Kriele without providing any new or unexpected results or requiring any undue experimentation.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2014-3071 (Kasai) in view of US 2020/0150061 (Kriele), and in further view of US 2019/0324089 (Kang).
Regarding claim 20, Kasai fails to teach wherein the upper metallic member has a bar shape extending in a first direction, and comprises a plurality of upper metallic members spaced apart from each other in a third second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction, and wherein the lower metallic member has a bar shape extending in the first direction, comprises a plurality of lower metallic members under the upper metallic members and spaced apart therefrom in an upward-downward direction that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction and to the third second direction.
Kang teaches wherein the upper metallic member has a bar shape extending in a first direction, and comprises a plurality of upper metallic members spaced apart from each other in a third second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction, and wherein the lower metallic member has a bar shape extending in the first direction, comprises a plurality of lower metallic members under the upper metallic members and spaced apart therefrom in an upward-downward direction that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction and to the third second direction (upper and lower pressing jigs 110, 120 include protrusions 111, 121 corresponding to a bar shape in a configuration as claimed; see Figs. 1-6; see p0052]-[0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Kang into Kasai in order to gain the advantage of protrusion which press torn or damaged portions of the separator to cause a short to detect a defect which is not detected when the entire outer surface of the electrode assembly is pressed. .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-12 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest further comprising: an upper fixed shaft extending through a central axis of the upper metallic member; and a lower fixed shaft extending through a central axis of the lower metallic member, wherein the source meter contacts, and is electrically connected to, the upper fixed shaft and the lower fixed shaft, in combination with all other limitations of claims 1 and 2.
Claims 4-12, definite and enabled by the specification, are allowed through a dependence on allowed claim 3.
Claims 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest further comprising: an upper insulating cover covering an outside of the upper metallic member, and spaced apart from the upper metallic member; and a lower insulating cover covering an outside of the lower metallic member, and spaced from the lower metallic member. As best understood by the examiner, the insulating covers cover the outside of the electrically charged metallic member, which may improve safety. See [0090] of the specification as filed 8/12/2024. The limitations as claimed would not be obvious in combination with all other limitations of parent claims 1 and 13.
Claims 15-16, definite and enabled by the specification, are allowed through a dependence on objected claim 14.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest wherein the upper metallic member further comprises an upper protrusion protruding and extending from opposite side walls thereof in the first direction, and wherein the lower metallic member further comprises a lower protrusion protruding and extending from opposite side walls thereof in the first direction. The limitations are illustrated in Fig. 5 disclosed in [0084] and [0092] of the specification as filed 8/12/2024 to provide electrical connections to the source meter as well as couple to the adjustable springs and pressing frame.
Claims 18-19, definite and enabled by the specification, are allowed through a dependence on objected claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN L YENINAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858