Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-2 of the remarks, filed 9/9/2026, with respect to the prior art not teaching and/or suggesting the amended claim limitations of “a driver residing in an I/O stack of a hypervisor” and “intercept, by the driver residing in the I/O stack of the hypervisor” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Austruy states in p14 “Where a component is implemented as software, it can be implemented as a standalone program, but can also be implemented in other ways, for example as part of a larger program, as a plurality of separate programs, as a kernel loadable module, as one or more device drivers”. Austruy further states in p26 “wherever a component of the present invention is implemented as software, the component can be implemented as a script, as a standalone program, as part of a larger program, as a plurality of separate scripts and/or programs, as a statically or dynamically linked library, as a kernel loadable module, as a device driver, and/or in every and any other way known now or in the future to those of skill in the art of computer programming.”
This, pretty much, unequivocally suggests that “a driver residing in an I/O stack of a hypervisor” could have been used, and thus obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been able to implement. However, if any doubt still exists, Chopra makes it even more clear in C6:20-40 “The OS stack 300 may include, for example, a multipath input/output (MPIO) layer 310, disk driver(s) 320 (e.g., Small Computer System Interface (SCSI), Internet Small Computer System Interface (ISCSI), etc.), a volume manager 330, physical file system 340, filter driver 350 (e.g., file system filter driver, change block tracking driver), virtual file system 360, operating system 370, and/or an application layer 380. In various embodiments, the file system filter driver 350 may include functionality (e.g., algorithms) which enable it to intercept and/or track writes to data on a physical file system 340…”.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Austruy (US 2009/0240904) in view of Chopra (US 11,099,946) and Atkisson (US 2012/0198175).
In regards to claims 1 and 10, Austruy teaches
one or more devices comprising one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: (fig. 1 CPU(s) 110)
intercept,[by the driver residing in the I/O stack of the hypervisor], a first write operation generated by a virtual machine to store data in a first sector, (¶16 and fig. 1 teaches the VM or application within a VM can modify (i.e. write) data to the virtual disk 101, i.e. to a first location/block/sector)
wherein the virtual machine (VM) is executed using a hypervisor and comprises a virtual hard disk file; (¶28 and fig. 1 shows virtual machine monitor (i.e. hypervisor) implements virtual machine 103, which comprises virtual disk 101)
determine an identity of the first sector based on the first write operation; (¶16 teaches that a bitmap can keep track of which blocks have been written (i.e. the block/sector can be determined/identified/located)
record that data in the first sector has changed; (¶16 teaches that a modification bitmap can keep track of which blocks have been written (i.e. record which blocks/sectors have been changed/modified)
receive an instruction to execute an incremental backup operation of the virtual machine, (¶17 teaches the user can perform an incremental backup of the virtual disk)
in response to receiving the instruction to execute the incremental backup operation:
performing the incremental backup operation as a snapshot operation using a volume snapshot service (¶17 teaches the user can perform an incremental backup of the virtual disk and this causes the system to perform the synchronization operation by using synchronization component 107 of the virtualization component 108 (i.e. a volume snapshot service). The synchronization operation is further described in ¶23-25 where the modified blocks (identified by the modification bitmap) are copied to the target copy of the virtual disk (i.e. the backup)
Austruy may not explicitly teach
a driver residing in an I/O stack of a hypervisor;
intercept, by the driver residing in the I/O stack of the hypervisor, a first write;
intercept, by the driver, VSS freeze and thaw events to control when to pause and resume tracking changes to the virtual hard disk file,
wherein the instruction to execute the incremental backup operation was initiated according to a schedule specified in an information management policy assigned to the virtual machine, wherein the information management policy comprises a set of parameters for performing backup operations on data assigned to the information management policy;
upon completion of the incremental backup operation of the VM, generate a change block data structure to track disk changes made after the incremental backup operation was initiated.
Austruy does suggest in p14 “Where a component is implemented as software, it can be implemented as a standalone program, but can also be implemented in other ways, for example as part of a larger program, as a plurality of separate programs, as a kernel loadable module, as one or more device drivers” and in p26 “wherever a component of the present invention is implemented as software, the component can be implemented as a script, as a standalone program, as part of a larger program, as a plurality of separate scripts and/or programs, as a statically or dynamically linked library, as a kernel loadable module, as a device driver, and/or in every and any other way known now or in the future to those of skill in the art of computer programming.”
However, Chopra teaches at least C3:31-61 a backup agent 120 may perform backup operations, such as incremental backups according to backup schedule information (i.e. according to a schedule). The backup schedule, configuration information, and/or other backup-related information (i.e. collectively an information management policy) is stored in the backup data repository and is used by the backup server to direct the backup agent. Fig. 5 and C7:12-39 and also C3:1-24 shows that the tracked blocks changed 540 are tracked are in relation to the last backup operation. C6:20-40 also states “The OS stack 300 may include, for example, a multipath input/output (MPIO) layer 310, disk driver(s) 320 (e.g., Small Computer System Interface (SCSI), Internet Small Computer System Interface (ISCSI), etc.), a volume manager 330, physical file system 340, filter driver 350 (e.g., file system filter driver, change block tracking driver), virtual file system 360, operating system 370, and/or an application layer 380. In various embodiments, the file system filter driver 350 may include functionality (e.g., algorithms) which enable it to intercept and/or track writes to data on a physical file system 340…”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Chopra and the suggestions of Austruy to modify the system of Austruy in order to perform incremental backups according to a schedule which is part of a backup configuration information (i.e. an information management policy) associated with the system and/or virtual machine, and to have include change block tracking (CBT) structures associated with each backup (full and incremental), along with using a driver in the OS (hypervisor) I/O stack to intercept writes. The motivation for such modification is that these enhance the performance of the system by making periodic scheduled backups and tracking the changes made with each backup, and that one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective fillings date could have made these modifications and obtained predictable results.
the combination of Austruy and Chopra may not explicitly teach
intercept VSS freeze and thaw events to control when to pause and resume tracking changes to the virtual hard disk file,
However, Atkisson in ¶242 teaches that freeze/thaw commands can be intercepted such that storage access can be suspended (i.e. tracking is paused) while a snapshot is taking place, and once the snapshot is completed normal use of the storage can be resumed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Atkisson to improve the system of Austruy and Chopra, such that the interception of freeze/thaw commands could be used to suspend/resume storage access. One of ordinary skill in the art could have implemented this modification with a high probability of success, and would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the integrity of the snapshots being made.
In regards to claims 2 and 11, Austruy further teaches and/or makes obvious
wherein the first write operation causes a request for a translation between a virtual location in the virtual hard disk file and a physical location in a local hard disk to perform where to write the data in the local hard disk. (¶32 teaches “Executable files will be accessed by the guest OS from virtual disk 101 or virtual memory 230, which will be portions of the actual physical disk 140 or memory 130 allocated to that virtual machine. Once an application is installed within the virtual machine, the guest OS retrieves files from the virtual disk just as if the files had been pre-stored as the result of a conventional installation of the application. The design and operation of virtual machines are well known in the field of computer science.”) As such, it is well known that virtual devices use virtual addresses that are then translated (either directly or via logical addresses) to then access physical addresses of real physical hardware to read/write data.
In regards to claims 3 and 13, Austruy further teaches and/or makes obvious
parse the change block data structure; identify each entry in the change block data structure that indicates that data in a sector associated with a respective entry has changed; for each identified entry, determine an associated sector and read data from the associated sector in the virtual hard disk file; and for each identified entry, include the read data in an incremental backup. (¶23 teaches that synchronization manager iterates (i.e. parses) over all the dirty blocks referenced by the modification bitmap (i.e. the change block structure) and copies blocks that were modified as part of the synchronization (incremental backup). Note that the changed blocks would need to be read and copied to the target copy of the virtual disk during synchronization as ¶15 teaches that the backup copy can be located on another hard disk or physical computer)
In regards to claims 4, and 14 Austruy further teaches and/or makes obvious
wherein the virtual hard disk file and the change block data structure are stored in a volume of the VM. (¶32 files will be accessed by the guest OS from virtual disk 101 or virtual memory 230, which will be portions of the actual physical disk 140 or memory 130 allocated to that virtual machine. Once an application is installed within the virtual machine, the guest OS retrieves files from the virtual disk just as if the files had been pre-stored as the result of a conventional installation of the application. The design and operation of virtual machines are well known in the field of computer science.) as such, files and associated data of a VM can be stored in a volume associated the VM. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to be able to store data in any location that is capable of storing data and achieve predictable results)
In regards to claims 5 and 12, Chopra further teaches and/or makes obvious
intercept an open operation generated by the VM to open the virtual hard disk file; and
initiating a monitoring operation of the virtual hard disk file in response to intercepting the open operation. (C6:20-40 teaches that driver 350 can allow for the functionality to intercept writes to a file (i.e. the opening of a file) and to initiate change block tracking/monitoring)
In regards to claim 6, Chopra further teaches and/or makes obvious
wherein the change block data structure is associated with a first period of time. (see fig. 5 and C7:12-39 each change block event can be associated with a timestamp (period of time)
In regards to claims 7 and 15, Austruy further teaches and/or makes obvious
wherein the one or more processors is further configured to store the change block data in the VM. (¶16 teaches the VMM/hypervisor may maintain the modification bitmap (change block data). ¶33 teaches that the VMM/hypervisor may be incorporated into a virtual machine)
In regards to claims 8 and 16, Austruy further teaches and/or makes obvious
determine, an identity of the first sector based on the first write operation; determine, an entry in a change block data structure that corresponds with the first sector; and modify, the entry in the change block data structure to indicate that data in the first sector has changed. (¶16 teaches that a modification bitmap can keep track of which blocks have been written (i.e. record which blocks/sectors have been changed/modified), as such the blocks/sectors can be identified and entries in the modification bitmap modified accordingly)
In regards to claims 9 and 17, Chopra further teaches and/or makes obvious
gather data for use in performance of a second incremental backup operation at a time after the incremental backup operation. (see fig. 5 and C7:12-39 each change block event can be associated with a timestamp (period of time), which occur after a first incremental backup and are then used to perform a second incremental backup.)
EXAMINER’S NOTE
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs, figures, and/or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicants in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON W BLUST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132