Double Patenting
Claims 43-62 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,10,6,7,7,9 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,061,307. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 43 is generic to all that is recited in claim 1 of the patent. Non-transitory computer readable media is implicit to a computing device of claim 1 of the patent. That is, claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent. Similarly claims 44-62 are obvious over claims 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,10,6,7,7,9 respectively of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 43-45, 47 and 53-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a0(1) as being anticipated by Kotter et al. (US 2005/0182590 A1) hereafter Kotter.
Regarding claim 43, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses all the elements particularly at fig. 1, claim 1, Abstract and ¶0021-0022 discloses a system comprising: one or more sensors 16 configured to detect an electromagnetic field of one or more objects [ferromagnetic object] and to output electrical signals representative of the electromagnetic field; and a computing device [14, 24] operably connected to the one or more sensors; non-transitory computer readable media operably connected to the computing device, the non-transitory computer readable media having stored thereon computer-readable instructions that, upon execution by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: process the electrical signals [using 14]; generate signatures for one or more moving conductive objects based on the electrical signals [at 24,26], the electromagnetic field and/or magnetic flux [¶0022]; determine whether one or more moving conductive objects detected by the one or more sensors meets a predetermined electromagnetic field profile based on the electrical signals [comparing data 22 with a database]; and/or generate a notification in response to determining that one of the objects meet the predetermined electromagnetic field profile [¶0022, particularly last line of ¶0022].
Regarding claim 44, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses all the elements particularly at fig. 1, claim 1, Abstract and ¶0039 discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the one or more sensors comprise three sets of paired sensors [¶0037, see 50 and 52 for set of pairs of 58].
Regarding claim 45, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses all the elements particularly at fig. 1, claim 1, Abstract and ¶0021,¶0036, ¶0038, ¶0070 discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the one or more sensors are arranged to collect components of the magnetic field flux [magnetic field B].
Regarding claim 47, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses all the elements particularly at fig. 1, claim 1, Abstract and ¶0039 discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the one or more sensors comprise paired sets of sensors [58 with 60 in horizontal direction].
Regarding claim 53, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the sensor(s) is/are configured to detect signals at frequencies that are not attenuated by walls or metallic sheets, such that placement of the sensors inside metallic or non-metallic enclosures or hidden behind walls yield signatures from electromagnetic fields of firearms, IEDs and knives from the one or more objects [implicit to weapons detection, see ¶0034].
Regarding claim 54, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the signatures for one or more moving conductive objects are generated using a Pythagorean sum of the x-axis, y-axis and z-axis [implicit to 3-D analyzer 26].
Regarding claim 55, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses the system of claim 54, wherein the signatures being representative of a potential weapon type [¶0006, ¶0008 and ¶0034].
Regarding claim 56, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses all the elements particularly at fig. 1, claim 1, Abstract and ¶0021-0022 discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the determining whether the one or more objects meets a predetermined electromagnetic field profile is based on one or both of (i) the signatures [¶0031], and/or (ii) a sensor floor noise to the signals coming from the sensors and/or paired sensors.
Regarding claim 57, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses all the elements particularly at fig. 1, claim 1, Abstract and ¶0021-0022, ¶0060-0061 discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the computing device is configured to determine whether each of the one or more objects meets a predetermined profile based on one or both of: a predetermined electromagnetic field profile; and/or a location in space .
Regarding claim 58, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses all the elements particularly at fig. 1, claim 1, Abstract and ¶0021-0022 discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the computing device is configured to determine whether each of the one or more objects meets a predetermined profile based on motion of the object [¶0031, ¶0061].
Regarding claim 59, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses all the elements particularly at fig. 1, claim 1, Abstract and ¶0021-0022 discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the computing device comprises a frequency filter 68 configured to substantially remove electrical signals from the electrical signals output by the one or more sensors that are outside a predetermined range of frequencies.
Regarding claim 60, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses all the elements particularly at fig. 1, claim 1, Abstract and ¶0021-0022 discloses the system of claim 43, further comprising an image capture device [“image device”, see ¶0079].
Regarding claim 61, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses all the elements particularly at fig. 1, claim 1, Abstract and ¶0021-0022 discloses the system of claim 60, wherein the computing device is configured to control the image capture device to capture an image of one of the objects and provide the image to a user in response to a determination that a representation of the electromagnetic field of the one of the objects meets the predetermined electromagnetic field profile [see ¶0080-81]..
Regarding claim 62, Kotter at fig. 1-3 discloses all the elements particularly at fig. 1, claim 1, Abstract and ¶0021-0022 discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the computing device is further configured to determine whether each of the one or more objects meets a predetermined profile based on visual classification of the object [using image device, see ¶0079-81].
Claim(s) 49-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotter as applied to claim 47 above, and further in view of Scott (US 2001/0029433 A1).
Regarding claim 49, Kotter discloses all the elements particularly at fig. 1, claim 1 and ¶0021-0022 discloses the system of claim 1 with the one or more sensors [coil (not shown) of magnetic gradiometer, magnetic sensors or magnetometers 16 (structure of it), ¶0038]. Kotter is silent about the one or more sensors comprise a first induction coil and a second induction coil. Use of inductance coil is old and well-known in the art to measure the magnetic field in a current sensor or a hall sensor or a magnetic sensor. Scott at ¶0047, ¶0062 and ¶0064 discloses the current sensor with induction coils (portions of 62 as shown) at fig. 3-6 to measure the magnetic field for detecting the current difference between the two conductors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the sensor of Kotter with the coil of Scott to measure the magnetic field.
Regarding claim 50, Scott discloses the system of claim 49, wherein each of the induction coils are wound around a high permeability and/or air core [60, ¶0060].
Regarding claim 51, Scott discloses the system of claim 49, wherein the first induction coil and the second induction coil of each sensor pair are wound and/or connected to: produce outputs that are representative of a detected magnetic flux therein [fig. 3].
Regarding claim 52, Scott discloses the system of claim 49, wherein the first induction coil and the second induction coil of each sensor pair are wound and/or connected to: collect magnetic flux with opposite currents within each of the pair of coils [fig. 6].
Claim(s) 46 and 48-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotter as applied to claims 43 and 47 respectively above, and further in view of Tomita et al. (US 5601081), hereafter Tomita.
Regarding claims 46 and 49, Kotter discloses wherein the one or more sensors comprise a gradiometer [58, ¶0038-0039]. Kotter is silent about wherein the one or more sensors comprise a three-axis gradiometer (collects the flux in one of each of an x-axis, a y-axis and/or a z-axis for claim 48) and the sensor pairs comprise a first induction coil and a second induction coil. A three-axis gradiometer or the sensor pairs comprise a first induction coil and a second induction coil are old and well known magnetic field sensors to measure the magnetic field. Tomita at lines 13-24 of column 8 discloses each magnetic field sensors S consist of a pair of coils for detecting a magnetic field component of the object. Tomita at lines 36-59 of column 13 discloses use of a three-axis gradiometer to detect magnetic field having gradients that passively suppresses far field signals (see “noise components may be suppressed.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use coils or gradiometer as taught by Tomita as sensor(s) of Kotter to measure magnetic fields of the object.
Conclusion
/PARESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
June 13, 2026