Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowman et al. 20180155046 in view of Minelli 20240110514.
Regarding independent claim 1, Bowman teaches an aircraft system (100 Fig. 1) comprising:
an aircraft engine (108 Fig. 3);
a fuel system (200 Fig. 2 [0024]) having a fuel tank (204 Fig. 3) and a fuel delivery system fluidly connecting the fuel tank to the aircraft engine (per [0035] and Fig. 3, first aircraft engine 108 receives and/or is fed fuel from the first feed tank 230 during operation of aircraft 100 and fuel tank 204 is fluidly connected with first feed tank 230 via second bypass 324);
an electrical power system (per [0031] in Fig. 3, heat source 302 is an electrical power system); and
a thermal management system ([0011] describes a heat source thermal management system is shown in Fig. 3) comprising:
a thermal fluid loop (cooling loop 314 in Fig. 3, i.e., thermal fluid loop; per [0033] 314 includes one or more heat exchangers, pumps, valves, and/or other suitable components to cool heat source 302);
a heat source heat exchanger (electrical power system 302 is a heat source which transfers heat to thermal fluid loop 314 in Fig. 3 and per [0033], i.e., 302 is a heat source heat exchanger) in thermal communication with the thermal fluid loop (302 transfers heat to 314, i.e., 302 is in thermal communication with the thermal fluid loop);
a heat sink heat exchanger (per [0033] thermal fluid loop 314 includes one or more heat exchangers to cool heat source 302, i.e., includes one or more heat sink heat exchangers) in thermal communication with the thermal fluid loop (one or more heat sink heat exchangers is in thermal communication with 314 in order to cool 302 per [0033]); and
a fuel heat sink (heat source cooling system 312 in Fig. 3; per [0033] the heat source cooling system 312 which includes 314 is operatively coupled to the heat source 302 to transfer heat from the heat source 302 to the fuel, thereby cooling the heat source 302 as the fuel passes along the second fuel path 306 and through 312) in selective thermal communication with the thermal fluid loop (in Fig. 3 and per [0033] fuel heat sink heat exchanger 312 includes thermal fluid loop 314 to cool heat source 302 and 314 includes valves, which enable selective flow of fluid in thermal fluid loop 314 and accordingly selective thermal communication with the flow of fuel within 312), the fuel tank, or both,
the fuel heat sink in fluid communication with the fuel tank independently of the fuel delivery system during at least a first operating condition (312 is in fluid communication with fuel tank 204 independently of the fuel delivery system during a first operating condition when second valve 328 is in a first position preventing fuel in the cold tank 204 from flowing into first feed tank 230 via second bypass 324 per [0035]).
Bowman does not explicitly teach the aircraft engine is a gas turbine engine, the electrical power system is an electric drive assembly comprising a component module, the heat source heat exchanger in thermal communication with the component module, the heat sink heat exchanger is an airflow heat sink heat exchanger and further configured to be in thermal communication with a cooling airflow during operation of the gas turbine engine; and the heat source cooling system 312 is a fuel heat sink heat exchanger.
Minelli teaches a gas turbine engine for an aircraft (Fig. 1; [0002]) with an improved heat management system (under Background after [0001]) comprising:
an electric drive assembly ([0445] describes in Fig. 4 box 101 represents gas turbine engine components generating heat which is removed by lubricant and components that need lubrication and cooling such as power electronics and electric machines which are part of an electrical power management/generation system including electrical machine(s), generator(s) and/or batteries; and [0045] says for sake of simplicity, in the present disclosure the term “turbomachinery bearings” includes any component of the gas turbine engine other than the power gearbox that generates heat and is cooled by the heat management system 100; per [0500] in Fig. 5 box 201 represents “turbomachinery bearings” lubricated by lubricant circuit 113, i.e., 201 is power electronics, electrical machines, generators and/or batteries which are part of an electrical power management/generation system, i.e., an electric drive assembly) comprising a component module (power electronics, electrical machine(s), generator(s) and/or batteries); and
a thermal management system comprising:
a thermal fluid loop (lubrication circuit 113 in Fig. 5; [0445] which is a pipe assembly adapted to provide a flow of lubricant, i.e., oil to components needing lubrication and cooling);
a heat source heat exchanger (per [0445] components including bearings between rotating and stationary parts and interconnecting shafts generate heat and require lubrication during operation and [0445] includes an electric machine and electric generator as components generating heat and requiring lubrication, such that parts and surfaces of the component module such as of the electric machine and generator generate heat during operation and require lubrication such that the lubricant, i.e., oil, of lubrication circuit 113 lubricates the parts and surfaces of the electric machine which transfer heat to the lubricant, i.e., the parts and surfaces are a heat source heat exchanger) in thermal communication with the component module and the thermal fluid loop (parts and surfaces such as of the electric machine and generator are in thermal communication with the component module and lubrication circuit 113, i.e., thermal fluid loop);
an airflow heat sink heat exchanger (104 in Fig. 5; [0500]) in thermal communication with the thermal fluid loop (as shown in Fig. 5, lubrication circuit 113, i.e., thermal fluid loop, flows through 104 and [0446] describes heat from 201 including the electric machine and generator is dissipated by a first heat sink 102 which is air and that 104 is an air-cooled oil heat exchanger, i.e., 104 is in thermal communication with thermal fluid loop 113 to dissipate heat from oil in 113 to air, [0047] describes in 104 a first amount of heat 111 is rejected to airflow and [0448] describes an air circuit 106 provides cooling air to 104) and further configured to be in thermal communication with a cooling airflow (per [0448] cooling air for 104 is either or both bypass air and external air) during operation of the gas turbine engine ([0317] describes the heat management system is to provide specific proportions of heat dissipated to air in a range of from 65% to 100% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed, i.e. substantially over the whole engine operational range which allows providing adequate lubrication and cooling, and [0453] describes the heat management system 100 is configured to vary the first amount of heat 111 dissipated by first heat sink 102 which is air and the second amount of heat 112 dissipated by second heat sink 103 which is fuel at different engine conditions, i.e., at different core shaft speeds, which is during operation of the gas turbine engine); and
a fuel heat sink heat exchanger (105 in Fig. 5; [0446] describes 105 as a fuel cooled-oil heat exchanger) in selective thermal communication with the thermal fluid loop (per [0505] a second lubricant bypass circuit 124 is adapted to divert a portion of lubricant away from the fuel-oil heat exchanger 105 and includes modulation devices 208 such as valves to adjust the portion of lubricant passing across 105 which allows selective thermal communication between 105 and 113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bowman such that the aircraft engine is a gas turbine engine as taught by Minelli that gas turbine engines are generally used to power aircraft to provide thrust (Minelli [0002]) and that the thermal fluid loop is a lubrication circuit, the electrical power system is an electric drive assembly comprising a component module, the heat source heat exchanger in thermal communication with the component module, the heat sink heat exchanger is an airflow heat sink heat exchanger and further configured to be in thermal communication with a cooling airflow during operation of the gas turbine engine; and the heat source cooling system is a fuel heat sink heat exchanger as taught by Minelli to provide an improved heat management system to provide specific proportions of heat dissipated to air at different percentages of core shaft maximum take-off speed depending on engine operating condition to allow providing adequate lubrication and cooling to the electric drive assembly comprising a component module including electric machines and generators and at the same time avoid fuel thermal degradation under all operating conditions (Minelli [0071-0072]).
Regarding claim 2, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and teaches the thermal management system comprises an active control switch valve selectively fluidly connecting the fuel heat sink heat exchanger to the thermal fluid loop (as discussed above in claim 1, Bowman teaches the thermal fluid loop 113 includes valves and Minelli teaches a second lubricant bypass circuit 124 is adapted to divert a portion of lubricant away from the fuel-oil heat exchanger 105 and includes modulation devices 208 such as valves to adjust the portion of lubricant passing across 105 which allows selectively fluidly connecting 105 with 113; in addition, [0071] of Minelli describes at 65% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed from 60% to 100% of the heat generated by the component module including electric machines and generators is dissipated to the first heat sink (the remainder of the heat generated by the component module including electric machines and generators being dissipated to the second heat sink such that at 100% of heat being dissipated by air, none of the lubricant would be in thermal communication with fuel in 105).
Regarding claim 3, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and Bowman further teaches the fuel system further comprises an auxiliary loop (loop from fuel tank 204 along fuel path 306 through valve 328 to 312 to fuel tank 202 to fuel path 304 through 334, 308 and 322 and back to fuel tank 204 as shown by flow arrows in Fig. 3) extending between an inlet (labeled in annotated Fig. 3) and an outlet (labeled in annotated Fig. 3), wherein the inlet and the outlet are each in fluid communication with the fuel tank (inlet and outlet are in fluid communication with fuel tank 204 in annotated Fig. 3) during at least the first operating condition (when valve 328 is in first position, i.e., at first operating condition, fuel does not flow to first feed tank 230 via bypass 324 per [0035] and when valve 322 is in first position fuel does not bypass fuel tank 204 via bypass 318 per [0034] such that fuel flows into auxiliary loop inlet and through auxiliary loop and back to outlet), and wherein the inlet and the outlet are each in fluid communication with the fuel heat sink exchanger during at least the first operating condition (as shown in annotated Fig. 3, fuel flows from labeled inlet of auxiliary loop to fuel heat sink heat exchanger at 312 via 306 to fuel tank 202 and the fuel flows back from fuel tank 202 to 308 via 304 to labeled outlet of auxiliary loop at fuel tank 204 during first operating condition, such that the inlet and the outlet are each fluidly connected to fuel heat sink heat exchanger at 312 during at least the first operating condition as claimed since fuel from inlet at 204 flows into 312 and fuel from 312 loops back to outlet at 204 via intervening elements).
Regarding claim 4, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and Bowman further teaches the fuel system further comprises an auxiliary fuel pump (pump 316, pump 310 in Fig. 3; [0034], [0032]) in fluid communication with the auxiliary loop for providing a flow of fuel (pump 316 flows cooled fuel, i.e., provides a flow of fuel, from the cold fuel tank 204 to heat source cooling system 312 per [0034] and pump 310 flows fuel, i.e., provides the flow of fuel stored in hot fuel tank 202 through the fuel cooling system 308 and into cold tank 204 per [0032]) through the auxiliary loop (pump 316, pump 310 provide a fuel flow through auxiliary loop in Fig. 3) during at least the first operating condition (when valve 328 is in first position and valve 322 is in first position as described above in claim 3).
Regarding claim 6, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and teaches the component module comprises a battery, a fuel cell, an electric machine, power electronics, or a combination thereof (as discussed above in claim 1, Bowman teaches an electrical power system as the heat source 302 in Fig. 3 and Minelli teaches an electrical power system comprising a component module including power electronics, electrical machine(s), generator(s) and/or batteries in [0445]).
Regarding claim 7, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and Minelli further teaches the thermal management system comprises a thermal management system (TMS) pump in fluid communication with the thermal fluid loop for providing a flow of thermal fluid through the thermal fluid loop (per [504] modulation device 208 in the lubricant circuit 113, i.e., thermal fluid loop, may be one or more pumps, one or more flow control valves, or any other suitable devices adapted to vary the lubricant mass flow rate across the heat exchangers 104, 105).
Regarding claim 9, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and Minelli further teaches the first operating condition is a takeoff operating condition (per [0045] the heat management system may be configured to provide the first amount of heat 111 and the second amount of heat 112 such that a proportion of heat generated by the component module of the electric drive assembly and dissipated to air is greater than A NH +B, and less than 1, wherein A is equal to −1.15, B is equal to, or greater than, 1.48, and NH is a core shaft speed expressed as a proportion of the core shaft maximum take-off speed and is in the range of from 0.65 to 1, such that at maximum take-off speed NH is equal to 1 and the proportion of heat generated and dissipated to air is greater than .33 and less than 1, and the remaining proportion of heat generated and dissipated to fuel is less than .67 but greater than zero, meaning at take-off, a proportion of heat is dissipated to fuel flow in fuel heat sink heat exchanger 105 and fuel flow from fuel tank 204 of Bowman Fig. 3 is enabled to flow to heat source cooling system 312 which includes fuel heat sink heat exchanger 105 as modified in view of Minelli when valve 328 is in first position in first operating condition).
Regarding claim 10, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and Bowman further teaches the fuel heat sink heat exchanger is thermally disconnected from the thermal fluid loop, the fuel tank, or both during at least a second operating condition (at a second operating condition when valve 328 is in a second position the second bypass 324 may direct substantially all of the fuel flowing from the cold fuel tank 204 to the first feed tank 230 and/or second feed tank 220 per [0035] and valve 322 is in a second position, the first bypass 318 may direct substantially all of the cooled fuel from fuel cooling system 308 in Fig. 3 to bypass cold fuel tank 204 and flow into heat source cooling system 312, which includes fuel heat sink heat exchanger 105 as modified in view of Minelli, per [0034], such that the fuel heat sink heat exchanger 105 is thermally disconnected from cold fuel tank 204).
Regarding claim 11, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and Bowman further teaches the second operating condition is a cruise operating condition ([0030] describes first engine 108 may be supplied with fuel from one or more fuel tanks 204, 226, 228, 230, 232 and 234 on the left side 210 of the aircraft 100 and/or the fuel tank 214 to control or manage a center of gravity of the aircraft 100 and controlling and managing the center of gravity of the aircraft is done at all operational phases of flight for stability and control of the aircraft including at a cruise operating condition).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowman et al. 20180155046 in view of Minelli 20240110514 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of O’Connor et al. 20210340907.
Regarding claim 8, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above but is silent regarding the fuel tank is a liquid fuel tank.
O’Connor teaches a gas turbine engine (100 Fig. 1) for an aircraft ([0050] describes gas turbine engine 100 in Fig. 1 is for an aircraft) which uses liquid fuel from a fuel tank ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fuel tank in the invention of Bowman in view of Minelli be a liquid fuel tank as taught by O’Connor as suitable for use on an aircraft having a gas turbine engine.
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Under 103 Rejections on page 6 of Remarks, Applicant argues that combining Bowman and Minelli in the rejection of claim 1 does not have a reason to combine the known elements in the fashion claimed. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, as in the previous and current 103 rejection of claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the teachings of Minelli to modify the invention of Bowman to provide an improved heat management system to provide specific proportions of heat dissipated to air at different percentages of core shaft maximum take-off speed depending on engine operating condition to allow providing adequate lubrication and cooling to the electric drive assembly comprising a component module including electric machines and generators and at the same time avoid fuel thermal degradation under all operating conditions (Minelli [0071-0072]).
On page 7 of Remarks, Applicant argues that the above reason is irrelevant since Bowman already satisfies this need. To support this, Applicant cites [0004] of Bowman and a recitation from [0037] regarding fuel flow from feed tank 230 to first engine 108 while the fuel is used to cool systems or fluids employed on aircraft 100 and that the fuel may be used to cool a generator, oil, etc., such that Bowman already describes providing lubrication. However, as shown in Fig. 3 of Bowman, fuel from first feed tank 230 flows to first heat exchanging system 338 for cooling heat source(s) 336 which may be components or fluids such as a generator, oil, etc. as listed in [0037], but these components/fluids are distinct from heat source heat exchanger 302 which is an electrical power system per [0031] cooled via cooling loop 314 and that 314 may include one or more heat exchangers for additional cooling per [0033], i.e., a heat sink heat exchanger.
As discussed in the 103 rejection, cooling loop 314 of Bowman reads on the thermal fluid loop of claim 1 and that an electrical power system which is heat source heat exchanger 302 is in thermal communication with 314. Bowman teaches one or more heat exchangers in thermal communication with thermal fluid loop 314 but doesn’t explicitly teach limitations including the electrical power system 302 is an electric drive assembly comprising a component module, the heat source heat exchanger 302 in thermal communication with the component module, the heat sink heat exchanger is an airflow heat sink heat exchanger and further configured to be in thermal communication with a cooling airflow and that heat source cooling system 312 is explicitly a fuel heat sink heat exchanger.
Minelli is relied upon as teaching what Bowman does not explicitly teach including an electric power system is an electric drive assembly comprising component modules such as power electronics, electrical machine(s), generator(s) and/or batteries per [0045] and [0050] and teaches in Fig. 5 a lubrication loop 113, i.e., a thermal fluid loop, for cooling and lubricating the electric drive assembly and components of 201, a heat source heat exchanger which are surfaces of the electric drive assembly generating heat which are in thermal communication with components such as electrical machines or generators which are also in thermal communication with thermal fluid loop 113, heat sink heat exchanger 104 in Fig. 5 which is an airflow heat exchanger with cooling air 106 in heat exchange with 113 to provide cooling of 113 per [0448] and a fuel heat sink heat exchanger 105 in Fig. 5 which cools 113 with fuel per [0446].
In particular, Bowman does not explicitly teach an airflow heat exchanger and the reason to combine the teachings of Minelli with Bowman is to provide specific proportions of heat dissipated to air at different percentages of core shaft maximum take-off speed depending on engine operating condition to allow providing adequate lubrication and cooling to the electrical power system which is an electric drive assembly comprising a component module including electric machines and generators and at the same time to avoid fuel thermal degradation under all operating conditions (Minelli [0071-0072]).
Applicant additionally argues on page 7 of Remarks that Bowman already describes cooling “electric drive assembly comprising a component module including electric machines” because heat source 302 may be an electrical power system that is cooled by heat source cooling system 312 such that there is no reason for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bowman with Minelli. However, as discussed above, Bowman does teach thermal loop 314 in Fig. 3 may include one or more heat exchangers for cooling in addition to 312 per [0033] and Minelli teaches a similar thermal fluid loop 113 in Fig. 5 which includes an airflow heat exchanger 104 in addition to a fuel heat exchanger 105 for cooling lubricant in thermal fluid loop 113 so as to also use air for cooling and vary the amount of heat dissipated to air during various operating conditions to adequately cool the lubricant while not overheating the fuel during all operating conditions, such that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bowman in view of Minelli.
Therefore, the 103 rejection of claim 1 using Bowman in view of Minelli is proper and reasonable.
Applicant argues on page 8 regarding claim 3, that Bowman does not teach the newly added limitations, but as discussed above in the 103 rejection of claim 3, Bowman does teach the new limitations in claim 3 as shown in in annotated Fig. 3 of Bowman, fuel flows from labeled inlet of auxiliary loop to fuel heat sink heat exchanger at 312 via 306 to fuel tank 202 and the fuel flows back from fuel tank 202 to 308 via 304 to labeled outlet of auxiliary loop at fuel tank 204 during first operating condition, such that the inlet and the outlet are each fluidly connected to fuel heat sink heat exchanger at 312 during at least the first operating condition as claimed since fuel from inlet at 204 flows into 312 and fuel from 312 loops back to outlet at 204 via intervening elements. Fuel flows via the auxiliary loop in Fig. 3 such that components along the loop are all fluidly connected.
Applicant does not argue the rest of the dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/A.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/LORNE E MEADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741