Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-11 are currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowman et al. 20180155046 in view of Minelli 20240110514.
Regarding independent claim 1, Bowman teaches an aircraft system (100 Fig. 1) comprising:
an aircraft engine (108 Fig. 3);
a fuel system (200 Fig. 2 [0024]) having a fuel tank (230 Fig. 3), a fuel delivery system fluidly connecting the fuel tank to the aircraft engine (fuel delivery system is from 230 to 338 to 108 in Fig. 3; per [0035] first aircraft engine 108 receives and/or is fed fuel from first feed fuel tank 230 during operation of aircraft 100), and an auxiliary loop (auxiliary loop from inlet at hot tank 202 to 334 to 304 to 308 to 322 to 306 to 312 to outlet at hot tank 202 in annotated Fig. 3) extending between an inlet (labeled in annotated Fig. 3) and an outlet (labeled in annotated Fig. 3), wherein the inlet and the outlet are each in fluid communication with the fuel tank (inlet and outlet of auxiliary loop are fluidly connected to fuel tank 230 via first valve 322 in a position allowing fuel to flow to cold tank 204 per [0034] and cold tank 204 provides fuel to fuel tank 230 via second valve 328 in a position allowing fuel to flow to fuel tank 230 per [0035] as seen in annotated Fig. 3; inlet and outlet of auxiliary loop are also fluidly connected to fuel tank 230 via third valve 334 in a position to bypass fuel to flow from hot tank 202 to fuel tank 230 per [0036] as seen in annotated Fig. 3; controller 400 shown in Fig. 4 controls the flow of fuel through the aircraft 100 and heat source thermal management system 300 in Fig. 3 and 400 controls first pump 310, second pump 316, first valve 322, second valve 328, third valve 334, and/or other devices to circulate the fuel between the hot tank 202 and the cold tank 204 and/or supply fuel to the first engine 108 and/or the second engine 110 per [0039]);
an electrical power system (per [0031] in Fig. 3, heat source 302 is an electrical power system); and
a thermal management system ([0011] describes a heat source thermal management system is shown in Fig. 3) comprising:
a thermal fluid loop (cooling loop 314 in Fig. 3, i.e., thermal fluid loop; per [0033] 314 includes one or more heat exchangers, pumps, valves, and/or other suitable components to cool heat source 302);
a heat source heat exchanger (electrical power system 302 is a heat source which transfers heat to thermal fluid loop 314 in Fig. 3 and per [0033], i.e., 302 is a heat source heat exchanger) in thermal communication with the thermal fluid loop (302 transfers heat to 314, i.e., 302 is in thermal communication with the thermal fluid loop);
a heat sink heat exchanger (per [0033] thermal fluid loop 314 includes one or more heat exchangers to cool heat source 302, i.e., includes one or more heat sink heat exchangers) in thermal communication with the thermal fluid loop (one or more heat sink heat exchangers is in thermal communication with 314 in order to cool 302 per [0033]); and
a fuel heat sink (heat source cooling system 312 in Fig. 3; per [0033] the heat source cooling system 312 which includes 314 is operatively coupled to the heat source 302 to transfer heat from the heat source 302 to the fuel, thereby cooling the heat source 302 as the fuel passes along the second fuel path 306 and through 312) in selective thermal communication with the thermal fluid loop (in Fig. 3 and per [0033] fuel heat sink heat exchanger 312 includes thermal fluid loop 314 to cool heat source 302 and 314 includes valves, which enable selective flow of fluid in thermal fluid loop 314 and accordingly selective thermal communication with the flow of fuel within 312), the fuel tank, or both,
the fuel heat sink in fluid communication with the auxiliary loop independently of the fuel delivery system during at least a first operating condition (fuel heat sink 312 is in fluid communication with auxiliary loop in annotated Fig. 3 independently of the fuel delivery system during at least a first operating condition with first valve 322 in a position preventing fuel flow to cold tank 204 per [0034] and third valve 334 in a position preventing bypass fuel flow to first feed fuel tank 230 per [0036]).
Bowman does not explicitly teach the aircraft engine is a gas turbine engine, the electrical power system is an electric drive assembly comprising a component module, the heat source heat exchanger in thermal communication with the component module, the heat sink heat exchanger is an airflow heat sink heat exchanger and further configured to be in thermal communication with a cooling airflow during operation of the gas turbine engine; and the heat source cooling system 312 is a fuel heat sink heat exchanger.
Minelli teaches a gas turbine engine for an aircraft (Fig. 1; [0002]) with an improved heat management system (under Background after [0001]) comprising:
an electric drive assembly ([0445] describes in Fig. 4 box 101 represents gas turbine engine components generating heat which is removed by lubricant and components that need lubrication and cooling such as power electronics and electric machines which are part of an electrical power management/generation system including electrical machine(s), generator(s) and/or batteries; and [0045] says for sake of simplicity, in the present disclosure the term “turbomachinery bearings” includes any component of the gas turbine engine other than the power gearbox that generates heat and is cooled by the heat management system 100; per [0500] in Fig. 5 box 201 represents “turbomachinery bearings” lubricated by lubricant circuit 113, i.e., 201 is power electronics, electrical machines, generators and/or batteries which are part of an electrical power management/generation system, i.e., an electric drive assembly) comprising a component module (power electronics, electrical machine(s), generator(s) and/or batteries); and
a thermal management system comprising:
a thermal fluid loop (lubrication circuit 113 in Fig. 5; [0445] which is a pipe assembly adapted to provide a flow of lubricant, i.e., oil to components needing lubrication and cooling);
a heat source heat exchanger (per [0445] components including bearings between rotating and stationary parts and interconnecting shafts generate heat and require lubrication during operation and [0445] includes an electric machine and electric generator as components generating heat and requiring lubrication, such that parts and surfaces of the component module such as of the electric machine and generator generate heat during operation and require lubrication such that the lubricant, i.e., oil, of lubrication circuit 113 lubricates the parts and surfaces of the electric machine which transfer heat to the lubricant, i.e., the parts and surfaces are a heat source heat exchanger) in thermal communication with the component module and the thermal fluid loop (parts and surfaces such as of the electric machine and generator are in thermal communication with the component module and lubrication circuit 113, i.e., thermal fluid loop);
an airflow heat sink heat exchanger (104 in Fig. 5; [0500]) in thermal communication with the thermal fluid loop (as shown in Fig. 5, lubrication circuit 113, i.e., thermal fluid loop, flows through 104 and [0446] describes heat from 201 including the electric machine and generator is dissipated by a first heat sink 102 which is air and that 104 is an air-cooled oil heat exchanger, i.e., 104 is in thermal communication with thermal fluid loop 113 to dissipate heat from oil in 113 to air, [0047] describes in 104 a first amount of heat 111 is rejected to airflow and [0448] describes an air circuit 106 provides cooling air to 104) and further configured to be in thermal communication with a cooling airflow (per [0448] cooling air for 104 is either or both bypass air and external air) during operation of the gas turbine engine ([0317] describes the heat management system is to provide specific proportions of heat dissipated to air in a range of from 65% to 100% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed, i.e. substantially over the whole engine operational range which allows providing adequate lubrication and cooling, and [0453] describes the heat management system 100 is configured to vary the first amount of heat 111 dissipated by first heat sink 102 which is air and the second amount of heat 112 dissipated by second heat sink 103 which is fuel at different engine conditions, i.e., at different core shaft speeds, which is during operation of the gas turbine engine); and
a fuel heat sink heat exchanger (105 in Fig. 5; [0446] describes 105 as a fuel cooled-oil heat exchanger) in selective thermal communication with the thermal fluid loop (per [0505] a second lubricant bypass circuit 124 is adapted to divert a portion of lubricant away from the fuel-oil heat exchanger 105 and includes modulation devices 208 such as valves to adjust the portion of lubricant passing across 105 which allows selective thermal communication between 105 and 113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bowman such that the aircraft engine is a gas turbine engine as taught by Minelli that gas turbine engines are generally used to power aircraft to provide thrust (Minelli [0002]) and that the thermal fluid loop is a lubrication circuit, the electrical power system is an electric drive assembly comprising a component module, the heat source heat exchanger in thermal communication with the component module, the heat sink heat exchanger is an airflow heat sink heat exchanger and further configured to be in thermal communication with a cooling airflow during operation of the gas turbine engine; and the heat source cooling system is a fuel heat sink heat exchanger as taught by Minelli to provide an improved heat management system to provide specific proportions of heat dissipated to air at different percentages of core shaft maximum take-off speed depending on engine operating condition to allow providing adequate lubrication and cooling to the electric drive assembly comprising a component module including electric machines and generators and at the same time avoid fuel thermal degradation under all operating conditions (Minelli [0071-0072]).
Regarding claim 2, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and teaches the thermal management system comprises an active control switch valve selectively fluidly connecting the fuel heat sink heat exchanger to the thermal fluid loop (as discussed above in claim 1, Bowman teaches the thermal fluid loop 113 includes valves and Minelli teaches a second lubricant bypass circuit 124 is adapted to divert a portion of lubricant away from the fuel-oil heat exchanger 105 and includes modulation devices 208 such as valves to adjust the portion of lubricant passing across 105 which allows selectively fluidly connecting 105 with 113; in addition, [0071] of Minelli describes at 65% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed from 60% to 100% of the heat generated by the component module including electric machines and generators is dissipated to the first heat sink (the remainder of the heat generated by the component module including electric machines and generators being dissipated to the second heat sink such that at 100% of heat being dissipated by air, none of the lubricant would be in thermal communication with fuel in 105).
Regarding claim 4, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and Bowman further teaches the fuel system further comprises an auxiliary fuel pump (pump 310 in Fig. 3; [0032]) in fluid communication with the auxiliary loop (pump 310 is in fluid communication with auxiliary loop) for providing a flow of fuel (pump 310 provides a flow of fuel from hot tank 202 per [0032]) through the auxiliary loop (pump 310 provides a fuel flow through auxiliary loop in annotated Fig. 3) during at least the first operating condition (as discussed above in claim 1 during at least first operating condition with first valve 322 in a position preventing fuel flow to cold tank 204 per [0034] and third valve 334 in a position preventing bypass fuel flow to first feed fuel tank 230 per [0036], pump 310 provides fuel through auxiliary loop).
Regarding claim 6, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and teaches the component module comprises a battery, a fuel cell, an electric machine, power electronics, or a combination thereof (as discussed above in claim 1, Bowman teaches an electrical power system as the heat source 302 in Fig. 3 and Minelli teaches an electrical power system comprising a component module including power electronics, electrical machine(s), generator(s) and/or batteries in [0445]).
Regarding claim 7, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and Minelli further teaches the thermal management system comprises a thermal management system (TMS) pump in fluid communication with the thermal fluid loop for providing a flow of thermal fluid through the thermal fluid loop (per [504] modulation device 208 in the lubricant circuit 113, i.e., thermal fluid loop, may be one or more pumps, one or more flow control valves, or any other suitable devices adapted to vary the lubricant mass flow rate across the heat exchangers 104, 105).
Regarding claim 9, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and Minelli further teaches the first operating condition is a takeoff operating condition (per [0045] the heat management system may be configured to provide the first amount of heat 111 and the second amount of heat 112 such that a proportion of heat generated by the component module of the electric drive assembly and dissipated to air is greater than A NH +B, and less than 1, wherein A is equal to −1.15, B is equal to, or greater than, 1.48, and NH is a core shaft speed expressed as a proportion of the core shaft maximum take-off speed and is in the range of from 0.65 to 1, such that at maximum take-off speed NH is equal to 1 and the proportion of heat generated and dissipated to air is greater than .33 and less than 1, and the remaining proportion of heat generated and dissipated to fuel is less than .67 but greater than zero, meaning at take-off, a proportion of heat is dissipated to fuel flow in fuel heat sink heat exchanger 105 and fuel flow from hot tank 202 of Bowman annotated Fig. 3 into auxiliary loop is enabled to flow to third valve 334 to fuel cooling system 308 to first valve 322 to heat source cooling system 312 which includes fuel heat sink heat exchanger 105 as modified in view of Minelli in first operating condition with first valve 322 in a position preventing fuel flow to cold tank 204 per [0034] and third valve 334 in a position preventing bypass fuel flow to fuel tank 230 per [0036]).
Regarding claim 10, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and Bowman further teaches the fuel heat sink heat exchanger is thermally disconnected from the thermal fluid loop, the fuel tank, or both during at least a second operating condition (during at least a second operating condition when first feed fuel tank 230 receives fuel from one or more fuel tanks 226, 228, 232 and 234 on the left side 210 of the aircraft 100 and/or the fuel tank 214 as described in [0030], heat source cooling system 312, which includes fuel heat sink heat exchanger 105 as modified in view of Minelli, is thermally disconnected from first feed fuel tank 230).
Regarding claim 11, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above and Bowman further teaches the second operating condition is a cruise operating condition ([0030] describes first engine 108 may be supplied with fuel from one or more fuel tanks 226, 228, 232 and 234 on the left side 210 of the aircraft 100 and/or the fuel tank 214 to control or manage a center of gravity of the aircraft 100 and controlling and managing the center of gravity of the aircraft is done at all operational phases of flight for stability and control of the aircraft including at a cruise operating condition).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowman et al. 20180155046 in view of Minelli 20240110514 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of O’Connor et al. 20210340907.
Regarding claim 8, Bowman in view of Minelli teaches all that is claimed above but is silent regarding the fuel tank is a liquid fuel tank.
O’Connor teaches a gas turbine engine (100 Fig. 1) for an aircraft ([0050] describes gas turbine engine 100 in Fig. 1 is for an aircraft) which uses liquid fuel from a fuel tank ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fuel tank in the invention of Bowman in view of Minelli be a liquid fuel tank as taught by O’Connor as suitable for use on an aircraft having a gas turbine engine.
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the current 103 rejection of currently amended claim 1 relies on a new interpretation of prior art of record Bowman et al. 20180155046 Fig. 3 with fuel tank 230 reading on the claimed fuel tank in light of the newly recited limitations added to claim 1.
Applicant does not argue the dependent claims.
Conclusion
/A.J.H./ /GERALD L SUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Examiner, Art Unit 3741