DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
At least claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12085332. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least claim 11 is anticipated by claims 1, 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12085332.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Upadhye (US 6571564).
Regarding claim 1,
Referring to Fig. 5, Upadhye teaches a thermally controllable cupholder (e.g. a bottle containing a beverage, see abstract), comprising: a beverage receptacle 48 having a drain hole (e.g. the hole for drain passageway 36), wherein the drain hole connects the beverage receptacle to a drain passageway 36; and a Peltier 22 (e.g. a cooling unit comprising a thermoelectric module, see claims 24-25) situated at least partially beneath the beverage receptacle 48, wherein the Peltier is configured to change a temperature of the beverage receptacle (see col 4, lines 23-25).
Regarding claim 2,
Upadhye teaches wherein the beverage receptacle has a support surface 51 configured to support a weight of a beverage.
Regarding claim 3,
Upadhye teaches wherein the drain hole is located in the support surface.
Regarding claim 4,
Upadhye teaches wherein the Peltier is located completely beneath the support surface.
Regarding claim 5,
Upadhye teaches a fan located at least partially beneath the beverage receptacle (see col 8, lines 60-62, claim 25).
Regarding claim 7,
Upadhye teaches an outer casing 28 and an interstitial space (not labeled) between the beverage receptacle and the outer casing.
Regarding claim 8,
Upadhye teaches comprising a light source 78 configured to cylindrically disburse light around the beverage receptacle (e.g. wherein sources 78 are cylindrically shaped; see also col 10, lines 10-15 wherein a nightlight may “ring” around the unit).
Regarding claim 9,
Upadhye teaches wherein the drain passageway is configured to attach to a drain tube which leads to a bilge (e.g. is capable of being attached to a drain tube which leads to a bilge).
Regarding claim 10,
Upadhye teaches a heat sink having a plurality of cooling fins (see col 8, lines 30-35; claims 24-25).
Regarding claim 11,
Upadhye teaches a thermally controllable cupholder (e.g. a bottle containing a beverage, see abstract), comprising: a beverage receptacle 48 having a drain hole (e.g. the hole for drain passageway 36), wherein the drain hole connects the beverage receptacle to a drain passageway 36; and a fan 22 (e.g. a cooling unit comprising a fan, see claims 24-25) situated at least partially beneath the beverage receptacle, wherein the fan is configured to change a temperature of the beverage receptacle (see col 4, lines 23-25).
Regarding claims 12-15, 17-20,
The subject matter of claims 12-15, 17-20 are directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claims 2-5, 7-10 and has been addressed in the rejection of claims 2-5, 7-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Upadhye.
Regarding claim 6,
Upadhye does not teach wherein the Peltier is located at least partially between the fan and the beverage receptacle.
It is noted that it has been held that claims which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of a particular element were unpatentable because shifting the position of the particular element would not have modified the operation of the device. It has been further held that particular placement of an element was an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04 VI C). Here, claim 6 reads on the prior art except with regard to the relative positions of the Peltier, the fan and the beverage receptacle and is unpatentable because shifting the position of the particular element would not have modified the operation of the device (e.g. for cooling of heating of a beverage in the beverage receptacle. Further, the particular placement of said elements is an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 16,
The subject matter of claim 16 is directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claim 6 and has been addressed in the rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dalton, Allen, Revelis, Liptak, Carnagie teach thermally controllable cupholder with drains,
Park, Doi teaches a thermally controllable cupholder with a thermoelectric module, a heat sink, and a fan.
Childress teaches a perforated heat sink.
/Steve S TANENBAUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763