Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20230197619 to Loh et al. (Loh).
Regarding Claim 1, Loh teaches in Fig. 3 at least, a semiconductor package comprising:
a package substrate 106 comprising a first voltage substrate wire 350;
an interposer substrate 110 disposed on the package substrate and comprising a first voltage interposer wire 222-2;
a first semiconductor chip 112 mounted on a top surface of the interposer substrate; and
a voltage control chip 118-2 disposed on the top surface of the interposer substrate and laterally spaced apart from the first semiconductor chip,
wherein the first semiconductor chip is electrically connected to the voltage control chip through the first voltage substrate wire, and wherein the first semiconductor chip is electrically connected to the voltage control chip through the first voltage interposer wire (through 222-2 and 350 simultaneously, although each do not connect directly or separately).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh.
Regarding Claim 2, Loh teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that a thickness of the first voltage substrate wire is greater than a thickness of the first voltage interposer wire. However, the thickness of a wire directly affects its current carrying capability and is therefore a result effective variable that may be optimized by the person of ordinary skill (MPEP 2144.05(II)(B)).
Regarding Claim 6, Loh teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a second semiconductor chip mounted on the top surface of the interposer substrate and laterally spaced apart from the first semiconductor chip and the voltage control chip, wherein the package substrate further comprises a second voltage substrate wire, the interposer substrate further comprises a second voltage interposer wire, and the second semiconductor chip is electrically connected to the voltage control chip through the second voltage substrate wire and the second voltage interposer wire. However, this arrangement amounts to a mere duplication of parts absent a showing that a new or unexpected result is produced, and one does not appear on the record (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
Regarding Claim 7, Loh teaches the semiconductor package of claim 6, but does not explicitly teach that a thickness of the second voltage substrate wire is greater than a thickness of the first voltage interposer wire (see above rejection of Claim 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Loh teaches the semiconductor package of claim 6, but does not explicitly teach that the second voltage substrate wire is connected to the first voltage substrate wire, and the second voltage interposer wire is connected to the first voltage interposer wire. However, the person of ordinary skill may readily come to such an arrangement after duplication of parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9, and 10-20 are allowed or objected to as allowable if rewritten in independent form.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The cited prior art does not teach the capacitor as required by the indicated claims.
Conclusion
/EVREN SEVEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812