DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statement filed on 8/13/2024 is under compliance and has/have been accepted.
Response to Amendment
In response to preliminary amendment filed on 8/13/2024, claims 1- 44 are cancelled and claims 45- 63 are added as a new claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that does use the word “means,” hence interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for receiving” and “means for performing” in claim 63.
The specification discloses corresponding structure (paragraph [0062]) and that may be implemented in hardware” (paragraph [0093]. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 53 which is depend upon claim 45, wherein claim 45 states, “….a second periodicity for transmission or reception during the non-active period…”; now refer to claim 53, “wherein the terminal device applies the second periodicity from a first occasion of the first periodicity in the non-active period, from a last occasion of the first periodicity in the active period, or from a switching boundary from the active period to the non-active period”; which are confusing to understand since first periodicity here runs in non-active period which is contrast with claim 45.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 45- 46, 52- 53, 55- 56, 62- 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US Pub. No. 20240267984 A1) in view of Cheng et al. (US Pub. No. 2026/0046973 A1).
Regarding claim 45, Jeon teaches a terminal device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal device (see Fig. 3, UE as a terminal) at least to perform:
receiving, from a network device, a configuration for discontinuous transmission or reception of a cell supported by the network device, the configuration for discontinuous transmission or reception defining a discontinuous transmission or reception pattern including an active period and a non-active period (see Fig. 10, see [0107] a UE (e.g., 114) is provided from a serving gNB (e.g., 102) by a higher layer signaling one or multiple set of cell DTX/DRX parameters (incl. at least periodicity, start slot/offset, and on-duration) …. At 1020, the UE receives an indication from the serving gNB one or more indexes from the set of configured cell DTX/DRX parameters via L1, L2, or higher layer signaling…; further see [0108]… at 1010, a UE is provided from a serving gNB by a higher layer signaling one or multiple sets of cell DTX/DRX parameters per serving cell or per group of serving cells. Cell DTX/DRX configuration parameters include at least periodicity, start slot/offset, and on-duration. A first subset of cell DTX/DRX parameters can be shared between DTX and DRX and a second subset of DTX/DRX parameters can be separately configured, if provided.), a first periodicity for transmission or reception during the active period, and a second periodicity for transmission or reception during the non-active period (see [0133] Cell DTX configuration may be: a duration for the period of the DTX cycle; at least one from {cycleStartOffset, slotOffset, onDurationTimer, inactivityTimer}, there can be two sets of parameters, a first for long cycle (i.e. first periodicity) and a second for short cycle (i.e. second periodicity)—the short cell DTX cycle is triggered when the UE receives signaling, e.g., PDCCH providing DCI indicating PDSCH reception, during a long cell DTX on-duration; further see same paragraph [0133] about indications for whether or not at least one of SSB, SI (e.g., SIB1 or SIBx where x>1), msg2/msg4/msgB, paging (e.g., short paging message in PDCCH and/or paging message in PDSCH), DL RS, or PDCCH providing DCI with CRC that is not scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI is present only in the DTX on-duration (i.e. active period); if indicated ‘not’, the at least one of the signals/channels can be transmitted outside of the on-duration (i.e. non-active period) and the UE can expect to receive those signals/channels accordingly. In one instance, the indication can be for whether or not at least one of SSB, SI (e.g., SIB1 or SIBx where x>1), msg2/msg4/msgB, paging (e.g., short paging message in PDCCH and/or paging message in PDSCH), DL RS, or PDCCH providing DCI with CRC that is not scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI can be present outside the DTX on-duration);
receiving, from the network device, an indication to activate the discontinuous transmission or reception in the cell (see [0114] At 1020, the UE receives an indication from the serving gNB for one or more indexes from the set of configured cell DTX/DRX parameters via L1, MAC CE, or RRC signaling for the activation of cell DTX/DRX configurations provided by higher layer signaling. The L1, MAC CE, or RRC signaling can be also used by the serving gNB for deactivation of an activated cell DTX/DRX configuration by indicating a predefined or configured codepoint, e.g., ‘0’. When the UE is provided only one set of cell DTX/DRX parameters, then bit value ‘1’ in the indication indicates activation of the cell DTX or cell DRX,,);
performing reception or transmission of a signal or channel in the first periodicity during the active period (see [0116] At 1030, once the UE is activated a certain cell DTX/DRX configuration either by Type 1 or Type 2 signaling, the UE operates according to the activated cell DTX/DRX configuration; further see Fig. 9 wherein on-duration is when gNB transmission and receptions are enabled; see [0096, 0102]; further see [0133- 0134]... Similar to cell DTX operation, there can be two sets of parameters, a first for long cycle and a second for short cycle. The short cell DRX cycle is triggered when the UE is indicated to transmit signaling, e.g., UE receives PDCCH providing DCI indicating PUSCH transmission, during long cell DRX on-duration….; see [0134].); and
performing reception or transmission of the signal or channel in the second periodicity during the non-active period.
But Jeon teaches second periodicity; but silent about a second periodicity in the non-active period and performing reception or transmission of the signal or channel in the first as well as second periodicity during the active and non-active period respectively.
However Cheng teaches in [0032] about a UE can receive a configuration for a long cell DTX/DRX cycle and a configuration for a short cell DTX/DRX cycle comprising one or more ON durations during the long cycle OFF duration (i.e. non-active period here). The configurations for the long and short cycles can be received via, e.g., a system information block (SIB) or dedicated RRC signaling; further see Fig. 2 see [0031]..In the present example, during the OFF duration 206 (i.e. non-active period) of the long DTX/DRX cycle 202, five short DTX/DRX cycles 208 are configured, each comprising a short ON duration 210 (i.e. 210 is repeating see Fig. 2 as second periodicity) and a short OFF duration 212; further refer to [0029]… During the short ON durations (i.e. example Fig. 2 #210s) of the short DTX/DRX cycles, some UL/DL transmissions for high priority traffic (e.g., URLLC traffic) can be allowed. Same way refer to Fig. 3 wherein 310 activated periods are shown (i.e. short ON durations); also refer to Fig. 5 (i.e. 510s as the short ON durations); further see [0032].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Jeon to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein having a second periodicity in the non-active period and performing reception or transmission of the signal or channel in the first as well as second periodicity during the active and non-active period respectively; greater way power saving technique can be implemented in the communication system; see Cheng see [0026].
Regarding claim 46, Jeon in view of Cheng teaches as per claim 45, wherein the configuration for discontinuous transmission or reception further defines at least one of the following:
one or more signals or channels to be transmitted or received during the active period, and
one or more signals or channels to be transmitted or received during the non-active period; as already discussed above Jeon see [0116] At 1030, once the UE is activated a certain cell DTX/DRX configuration either by Type 1 or Type 2 signaling, the UE operates according to the activated cell DTX/DRX configuration; further see Fig. 9 wherein on-duration is when gNB transmission and receptions are enabled; see [0096, 0102].
Regarding claim 52, Jeon in view of Cheng teaches as per claim 45, wherein the configuration for discontinuous transmission or reception further indicates a starting point or defines a rule for determining the starting point from which the second periodicity is applied, or the starting point or the rule for determining the starting point is pre-defined at the terminal device; Cheng in context with [0031- 0032] refer to [0035] If the short DRX cycle for gNB Rx is configured and activated for one or more UEs, the gNB will turn on its PA and RF for Rx during the short DRX ON durations. During these short cell DRX ON durations the UE can be allowed to transmit some traffics, e.g., high priority traffic, on the UL, to be described below. If the short cycle for gNB Tx is configured, the gNB will turn on its PA and RF for Tx during the short ON durations. During these short cell DTX ON durations, the UE may expect to receive some traffics, e.g., high priority traffic, on the DL, to be described below.
Regarding claim 53, Jeon in view of Cheng teaches as per claim 45, wherein the terminal device applies the second periodicity from a first occasion of the first periodicity in the non-active period, from a last occasion of the first periodicity in the active period, or from a switching boundary from the active period to the non-active period; Cheng teaches that the second cell ON-OFF pattern has at least one ON duration during the OFF duration of the first cell ON-OFF pattern (see claim 1). Further in Figs. 2, 3 and 5, the short DTX/DRX cycles (208, 308, 508), each with a short ON duration (210, 310, 510), are configured within the long OFF duration (206, 306, 506) that follows the long ON duration (204, 304, 504). The OFF duration of the first pattern is the claimed non-active period, and the transition from the long ON duration to the long OFF duration is the claimed switching boundary from the active period to the non-active period. Cheng further teaches that the activation signaling indicates to the UE to activate the short cycles "in one or multiple upcoming long DTX/DRX OFF durations" ([0045]), and that the short cycles can be activated for a single long cycle or for multiple long cycles ([0042]). The UE therefore follows the second (short-cycle) ON-OFF pattern, with its second periodicity, beginning when the long OFF duration begins, that is, from the boundary where the cell switches from the active to the non-active period. Before the boundary, the UE follows the long ON duration of the first pattern, so the second periodicity takes effect at the switching boundary.
Regarding claim 55, Jeon teaches a method implemented at a terminal device, comprising (see Fig. 3, UE as a terminal):
receiving, from a network device, a configuration for discontinuous transmission or reception of a cell supported by the network device, the configuration for discontinuous transmission or reception defining a discontinuous transmission or reception pattern including an active period and a non-active period (see Fig. 10, see [0107] a UE (e.g., 114) is provided from a serving gNB (e.g., 102) by a higher layer signaling one or multiple set of cell DTX/DRX parameters (incl. at least periodicity, start slot/offset, and on-duration) …. At 1020, the UE receives an indication from the serving gNB one or more indexes from the set of configured cell DTX/DRX parameters via L1, L2, or higher layer signaling…; further see [0108]… at 1010, a UE is provided from a serving gNB by a higher layer signaling one or multiple sets of cell DTX/DRX parameters per serving cell or per group of serving cells. Cell DTX/DRX configuration parameters include at least periodicity, start slot/offset, and on-duration. A first subset of cell DTX/DRX parameters can be shared between DTX and DRX and a second subset of DTX/DRX parameters can be separately configured, if provided.), a first periodicity for transmission or reception during the active period, and a second periodicity for transmission or reception during the non-active period (see [0133] Cell DTX configuration may be: a duration for the period of the DTX cycle; at least one from {cycleStartOffset, slotOffset, onDurationTimer, inactivityTimer}, there can be two sets of parameters, a first for long cycle (i.e. first periodicity) and a second for short cycle (i.e. second periodicity)—the short cell DTX cycle is triggered when the UE receives signaling, e.g., PDCCH providing DCI indicating PDSCH reception, during a long cell DTX on-duration; further see same paragraph [0133] about indications for whether or not at least one of SSB, SI (e.g., SIB1 or SIBx where x>1), msg2/msg4/msgB, paging (e.g., short paging message in PDCCH and/or paging message in PDSCH), DL RS, or PDCCH providing DCI with CRC that is not scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI is present only in the DTX on-duration (i.e. active period); if indicated ‘not’, the at least one of the signals/channels can be transmitted outside of the on-duration (i.e. non-active period) and the UE can expect to receive those signals/channels accordingly. In one instance, the indication can be for whether or not at least one of SSB, SI (e.g., SIB1 or SIBx where x>1), msg2/msg4/msgB, paging (e.g., short paging message in PDCCH and/or paging message in PDSCH), DL RS, or PDCCH providing DCI with CRC that is not scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI can be present outside the DTX on-duration);
receiving, from the network device, an indication to activate the discontinuous transmission or reception in the cell (see [0114] At 1020, the UE receives an indication from the serving gNB for one or more indexes from the set of configured cell DTX/DRX parameters via L1, MAC CE, or RRC signaling for the activation of cell DTX/DRX configurations provided by higher layer signaling. The L1, MAC CE, or RRC signaling can be also used by the serving gNB for deactivation of an activated cell DTX/DRX configuration by indicating a predefined or configured codepoint, e.g., ‘0’. When the UE is provided only one set of cell DTX/DRX parameters, then bit value ‘1’ in the indication indicates activation of the cell DTX or cell DRX,,);
performing reception or transmission of a signal or channel in the first periodicity during the active period (see [0116] At 1030, once the UE is activated a certain cell DTX/DRX configuration either by Type 1 or Type 2 signaling, the UE operates according to the activated cell DTX/DRX configuration; further see Fig. 9 wherein on-duration is when gNB transmission and receptions are enabled; see [0096, 0102]; further see [0133- 0134]... Similar to cell DTX operation, there can be two sets of parameters, a first for long cycle and a second for short cycle. The short cell DRX cycle is triggered when the UE is indicated to transmit signaling, e.g., UE receives PDCCH providing DCI indicating PUSCH transmission, during long cell DRX on-duration….; see [0134].); and
performing reception or transmission of the signal or channel in the second periodicity during the non-active period.
But Jeon teaches second periodicity; but silent about a second periodicity in the non-active period and performing reception or transmission of the signal or channel in the first as well as second periodicity during the active and non-active period respectively.
However Cheng teaches in [0032] about a UE can receive a configuration for a long cell DTX/DRX cycle and a configuration for a short cell DTX/DRX cycle comprising one or more ON durations during the long cycle OFF duration (i.e. non-active period here). The configurations for the long and short cycles can be received via, e.g., a system information block (SIB) or dedicated RRC signaling; further see Fig. 2 see [0031]..In the present example, during the OFF duration 206 (i.e. non-active period) of the long DTX/DRX cycle 202, five short DTX/DRX cycles 208 are configured, each comprising a short ON duration 210 (i.e. 210 is repeating see Fig. 2 as second periodicity) and a short OFF duration 212; further refer to [0029]… During the short ON durations (i.e. example Fig. 2 #210s) of the short DTX/DRX cycles, some UL/DL transmissions for high priority traffic (e.g., URLLC traffic) can be allowed. Same way refer to Fig. 3 wherein 310 activated periods are shown (i.e. short ON durations); also refer to Fig. 5 (i.e. 510s as the short ON durations); further see [0032].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Jeon to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein having a second periodicity in the non-active period and performing reception or transmission of the signal or channel in the first as well as second periodicity during the active and non-active period respectively; greater way power saving technique can be implemented in the communication system; see Cheng see [0026].
Regarding claim 56, Jeon in view of Cheng teaches as per claim 55, wherein the configuration for discontinuous transmission or reception further defines at least one of the following:
one or more signals or channels to be transmitted or received during the active period, and
one or more signals or channels to be transmitted or received during the non-active period; as already discussed above Jeon see [0116] At 1030, once the UE is activated a certain cell DTX/DRX configuration either by Type 1 or Type 2 signaling, the UE operates according to the activated cell DTX/DRX configuration; further see Fig. 9 wherein on-duration is when gNB transmission and receptions are enabled; see [0096, 0102].
Regarding claim 62, Jeon in view of Cheng teaches as per claim 45, wherein the configuration for discontinuous transmission or reception further indicates a starting point or defines a rule for determining the starting point from which the second periodicity is applied, or the starting point or the rule for determining the starting point is pre-defined at the terminal device (Cheng in context with [0031- 0032] refer to [0035] If the short DRX cycle for gNB Rx is configured and activated for one or more UEs, the gNB will turn on its PA and RF for Rx during the short DRX ON durations. During these short cell DRX ON durations the UE can be allowed to transmit some traffics, e.g., high priority traffic, on the UL, to be described below. If the short cycle for gNB Tx is configured, the gNB will turn on its PA and RF for Tx during the short ON durations. During these short cell DTX ON durations, the UE may expect to receive some traffics, e.g., high priority traffic, on the DL, to be described below); or
the terminal device applies the second periodicity from a first occasion of the first periodicity in the non-active period, from a last occasion of the first periodicity in the active period, or from a switching boundary from the active period to the non-active period; or
the second periodicity is configured with a separate offset relative to a reference time point, and the second periodicity is greater than or equal to the first periodicity.
Regarding claim 63, Jeon teaches an apparatus (see Fig. 3, UE as an apparatus) comprising:
means for receiving, from a network device, a configuration for discontinuous transmission or reception of a cell supported by the network device, the configuration for discontinuous transmission or reception defining a discontinuous transmission or reception pattern including an active period and a non-active period (see Fig. 10, see [0107] a UE (e.g., 114) is provided from a serving gNB (e.g., 102) by a higher layer signaling one or multiple set of cell DTX/DRX parameters (incl. at least periodicity, start slot/offset, and on-duration) …. At 1020, the UE receives an indication from the serving gNB one or more indexes from the set of configured cell DTX/DRX parameters via L1, L2, or higher layer signaling…; further see [0108]… at 1010, a UE is provided from a serving gNB by a higher layer signaling one or multiple sets of cell DTX/DRX parameters per serving cell or per group of serving cells. Cell DTX/DRX configuration parameters include at least periodicity, start slot/offset, and on-duration. A first subset of cell DTX/DRX parameters can be shared between DTX and DRX and a second subset of DTX/DRX parameters can be separately configured, if provided.), a first periodicity for transmission or reception during the active period, and a second periodicity for transmission or reception during the non-active period (see [0133] Cell DTX configuration may be: a duration for the period of the DTX cycle; at least one from {cycleStartOffset, slotOffset, onDurationTimer, inactivityTimer}, there can be two sets of parameters, a first for long cycle (i.e. first periodicity) and a second for short cycle (i.e. second periodicity)—the short cell DTX cycle is triggered when the UE receives signaling, e.g., PDCCH providing DCI indicating PDSCH reception, during a long cell DTX on-duration; further see same paragraph [0133] about indications for whether or not at least one of SSB, SI (e.g., SIB1 or SIBx where x>1), msg2/msg4/msgB, paging (e.g., short paging message in PDCCH and/or paging message in PDSCH), DL RS, or PDCCH providing DCI with CRC that is not scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI is present only in the DTX on-duration (i.e. active period); if indicated ‘not’, the at least one of the signals/channels can be transmitted outside of the on-duration (i.e. non-active period) and the UE can expect to receive those signals/channels accordingly. In one instance, the indication can be for whether or not at least one of SSB, SI (e.g., SIB1 or SIBx where x>1), msg2/msg4/msgB, paging (e.g., short paging message in PDCCH and/or paging message in PDSCH), DL RS, or PDCCH providing DCI with CRC that is not scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI can be present outside the DTX on-duration);
means for receiving, from the network device, an indication to activate the discontinuous transmission or reception in the cell (see [0114] At 1020, the UE receives an indication from the serving gNB for one or more indexes from the set of configured cell DTX/DRX parameters via L1, MAC CE, or RRC signaling for the activation of cell DTX/DRX configurations provided by higher layer signaling. The L1, MAC CE, or RRC signaling can be also used by the serving gNB for deactivation of an activated cell DTX/DRX configuration by indicating a predefined or configured codepoint, e.g., ‘0’. When the UE is provided only one set of cell DTX/DRX parameters, then bit value ‘1’ in the indication indicates activation of the cell DTX or cell DRX,,);
means for performing reception or transmission of a signal or channel in the first periodicity during the active period (see [0116] At 1030, once the UE is activated a certain cell DTX/DRX configuration either by Type 1 or Type 2 signaling, the UE operates according to the activated cell DTX/DRX configuration; further see Fig. 9 wherein on-duration is when gNB transmission and receptions are enabled; see [0096, 0102]; further see [0133- 0134]... Similar to cell DTX operation, there can be two sets of parameters, a first for long cycle and a second for short cycle. The short cell DRX cycle is triggered when the UE is indicated to transmit signaling, e.g., UE receives PDCCH providing DCI indicating PUSCH transmission, during long cell DRX on-duration….; see [0134].); and
means for performing reception or transmission of the signal or channel in the second periodicity during the non-active period.
But Jeon teaches second periodicity; but silent about a second periodicity in the non-active period and performing reception or transmission of the signal or channel in the first as well as second periodicity during the active and non-active period respectively.
However Cheng teaches in [0032] about a UE can receive a configuration for a long cell DTX/DRX cycle and a configuration for a short cell DTX/DRX cycle comprising one or more ON durations during the long cycle OFF duration (i.e. non-active period here). The configurations for the long and short cycles can be received via, e.g., a system information block (SIB) or dedicated RRC signaling; further see Fig. 2 see [0031]..In the present example, during the OFF duration 206 (i.e. non-active period) of the long DTX/DRX cycle 202, five short DTX/DRX cycles 208 are configured, each comprising a short ON duration 210 (i.e. 210 is repeating see Fig. 2 as second periodicity) and a short OFF duration 212; further refer to [0029]… During the short ON durations (i.e. example Fig. 2 #210s) of the short DTX/DRX cycles, some UL/DL transmissions for high priority traffic (e.g., URLLC traffic) can be allowed. Same way refer to Fig. 3 wherein 310 activated periods are shown (i.e. short ON durations); also refer to Fig. 5 (i.e. 510s as the short ON durations); further see [0032].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Jeon to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein having a second periodicity in the non-active period and performing reception or transmission of the signal or channel in the first as well as second periodicity during the active and non-active period respectively; greater way power saving technique can be implemented in the communication system; see Cheng see [0026].
Claim(s) 47, 54 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US Pub. No. 20240267984 A1) in view of Cheng et al. (US Pub. No. 2026/0046973 A1) and in further view of Wang et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0345901 A1)
Regarding claim 47, Jeon in view of Cheng teaches as per claim 45, Jeong teaches about first and second periodicity associated with active and non-active periods respectively as discussed above but fails to specifically state about wherein the first periodicity and the second periodicity are configured with a common offset relative to a reference time point, and the second periodicity is N times of the first periodicity where N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, so that transmission or reception occasions of the second periodicity overlaps with transmission or reception occasions of the first periodicity; however Wang teaches in Fig. 4 and [0163-0166] about the second periodicity 440 of the sidelink beam sweep occasions 425 may include an integer multiple of active durations 430 of the DRX cycle of the Rx UE 115. In particular, the second periodicity 440 of beam sweep occasions 425 may be an integer multiple of short/long DRX cycles configured at the Rx UE. For instance, as shown in the first resource allocation scheme 405-a, the second periodicity 440 may configure beam sweep occasions 425 (e.g., first beam sweep occasion 425-a, second beam sweep occasion 425-b) every other active duration 430 of the DRX cycle, such that the second periodicity 440 is two times the length of the first periodicity (e.g., second periodicity 440 is two times of the DRX cycle). Additionally, or alternatively, the second periodicity 440 may configure beam sweep occasions 425 every third active duration 430 (e.g., three times the first periodicity 410), every fourth active duration 430, and the like. Moreover, as noted previously herein, the configuration for the sidelink beam sweep procedures (e.g., second periodicity 440 of the sidelink beam sweep procedures) may be configured/or updated via signaling from a base station 105, negotiation between the Tx UE 115 and the Rx UE 115, or both; see [0166] (i.e. common offset: By anchoring the second periodicity 440 (beam sweeps) directly to the start of the first periodicity 410 (DRX active cycle), both periodicities share a baseline reference timing and offset to ensure the alignment happens correctly) (i.e. overlapping: see Fig. 4, #410 and 440). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Jeon in view of Cheng to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first periodicity and the second periodicity are configured with a common offset relative to a reference time point, and the second periodicity is N times of the first periodicity where N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, so that transmission or reception occasions of the second periodicity overlaps with transmission or reception occasions of the first periodicity; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 54, Jeon in view of Cheng teaches as per claim 45, here Jeon teaches wherein the second periodicity is configured with a separate offset relative to a reference time point. See Jeon [0133], which provides two sets of cell DTX parameters, a first set for the long cycle and a second set for the short cycle. Each set includes at least one of {cycleStartOffset, slotOffset, onDurationTimer, inactivityTimer}. See also [0107]-[0108], where each cell DTX/DRX configuration includes periodicity, start slot/offset and on-duration. The offset of the second (short-cycle) set is configured separately from that of the first (long-cycle) set. An offset is, by definition, measured relative to a reference time point, such as the start of the cycle or frame timing. Cheng likewise configures the short-cycle ON-OFF pattern separately from the long-cycle pattern (Cheng [0031]-[0032], Figs. 2, 3, 5). But Jeon in view of Cheng does not expressly teach that the second periodicity is greater than or equal to the first periodicity.
However Wang teaches a second periodicity (440) of occasions that is an integer multiple of a first periodicity (410), including two, three and four times the first periodicity (Wang [0165]-[0166], Fig. 4, claim 25). The integer multiple may be of short or long DRX cycles ([0166]). Occasions of the second periodicity are positioned within, or just prior to, the active durations of the first periodicity ([0168]-[0169]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Jeon in view of Cheng to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein second periodicity is greater than or equal to the first periodicity; greater way resources can be managed/utilized where wake-up timing can be reduces to improve power savings in the communication system; see wang [0098, 0169].
Regarding claim 57, Jeon in view of Cheng teaches as per claim 55, Jeong teaches about first and second periodicity associated with active and non-active periods respectively as discussed above but fails to specifically state about wherein the first periodicity and the second periodicity are configured with a common offset relative to a reference time point, and the second periodicity is N times of the first periodicity where N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, so that transmission or reception occasions of the second periodicity overlaps with transmission or reception occasions of the first periodicity; however Wang teaches in Fig. 4 and [0163-0166] about the second periodicity 440 of the sidelink beam sweep occasions 425 may include an integer multiple of active durations 430 of the DRX cycle of the Rx UE 115. In particular, the second periodicity 440 of beam sweep occasions 425 may be an integer multiple of short/long DRX cycles configured at the Rx UE. For instance, as shown in the first resource allocation scheme 405-a, the second periodicity 440 may configure beam sweep occasions 425 (e.g., first beam sweep occasion 425-a, second beam sweep occasion 425-b) every other active duration 430 of the DRX cycle, such that the second periodicity 440 is two times the length of the first periodicity (e.g., second periodicity 440 is two times of the DRX cycle). Additionally, or alternatively, the second periodicity 440 may configure beam sweep occasions 425 every third active duration 430 (e.g., three times the first periodicity 410), every fourth active duration 430, and the like. Moreover, as noted previously herein, the configuration for the sidelink beam sweep procedures (e.g., second periodicity 440 of the sidelink beam sweep procedures) may be configured/or updated via signaling from a base station 105, negotiation between the Tx UE 115 and the Rx UE 115, or both; see [0166] (i.e. common offset: By anchoring the second periodicity 440 (beam sweeps) directly to the start of the first periodicity 410 (DRX active cycle), both periodicities share a baseline reference timing and offset to ensure the alignment happens correctly) (i.e. overlapping: see Fig. 4, #410 and 440). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Jeon in view of Cheng to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first periodicity and the second periodicity are configured with a common offset relative to a reference time point, and the second periodicity is N times of the first periodicity where N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, so that transmission or reception occasions of the second periodicity overlaps with transmission or reception occasions of the first periodicity; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 51, 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US Pub. No. 20240267984 A1) in view of Cheng et al. (US Pub. No. 2026/0046973 A1) and in further view of Beale et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0055108 A1)
Regarding claim 51, Jeon in view of Cheng teaches as per claim 45, but Jeon is silent about wherein the second periodicity for transmission or reception during the non-active period is indicated by one or more occasions of the first periodicity to be skipped during the non-active period; however Beale states in [0104] about an example of resource pool configuration in a sidelink BWP 100. Each instance of the resource pool 101 (labeled A to G) consists of four sub-channels 102 and ten slots 104 starting from the second slot of the resource pool periodicity, where the resource pool periodicity 106 is sixteen slots; i.e. the start of each instance of the resource pool 101 is sixteen slots from the start of the previous resource pool instance; now refer to [0131] FIG. 14 shows long DRX 121 and short DRX 141 functionality applied to the sidelink at the resource pool level; i.e. short DRX 141 functionality is applied to the example of FIG. 13. Due to PSCCH 131 activity during the DRX_ON 122 phase of the long DRX cycle 121, the inactivity timer 132 runs for the duration of resource pool instances B and C. Once the inactivity timer 132 expires, due to there being no PSCCH during the running of the inactivity timer, the UE enters a short DRX phase 141, whereby the UE monitors some instances of the resource pool and does not monitor other instances. After the short DRX phase 141, the UE goes to sleep until the DRX_ON 122 phase at the start of the next long DRX cycle 121; further see [0135] “D” entry. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Beale with the teachings of Jeon in view of Cheng to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the second periodicity for transmission or reception during the non-active period is indicated by one or more occasions of the first periodicity to be skipped during the non-active period; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 61, Jeon in view of Cheng teaches as per claim 55, but Jeon is silent about wherein the second periodicity for transmission or reception during the non-active period is indicated by one or more occasions of the first periodicity to be skipped during the non-active period; however Beale states in [0104] about an example of resource pool configuration in a sidelink BWP 100. Each instance of the resource pool 101 (labeled A to G) consists of four sub-channels 102 and ten slots 104 starting from the second slot of the resource pool periodicity, where the resource pool periodicity 106 is sixteen slots; i.e. the start of each instance of the resource pool 101 is sixteen slots from the start of the previous resource pool instance; now refer to [0131] FIG. 14 shows long DRX 121 and short DRX 141 functionality applied to the sidelink at the resource pool level; i.e. short DRX 141 functionality is applied to the example of FIG. 13. Due to PSCCH 131 activity during the DRX_ON 122 phase of the long DRX cycle 121, the inactivity timer 132 runs for the duration of resource pool instances B and C. Once the inactivity timer 132 expires, due to there being no PSCCH during the running of the inactivity timer, the UE enters a short DRX phase 141, whereby the UE monitors some instances of the resource pool and does not monitor other instances. After the short DRX phase 141, the UE goes to sleep until the DRX_ON 122 phase at the start of the next long DRX cycle 121; further see [0135] “D” entry. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Beale with the teachings of Jeon in view of Cheng to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the second periodicity for transmission or reception during the non-active period is indicated by one or more occasions of the first periodicity to be skipped during the non-active period; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claims 48- 50 and 58- 60 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Ly et al. (US Pub. No. 2026/0247480 A1) teaches about A user equipment (UE) may receive a first indication that a network entity is operating in a discontinuous operation mode, which may be a discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode, a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode, or both, which includes both active and inactive periods. The UE may then receive a second indication that a set of symbols or slots is allocated for synchronization signal block (SSB) reception or random access transmission, where the set of symbols or slots at least partially overlaps with the inactive period. The UE may then extend the active period to overlap the set of symbols or slots based on Active Period Non-active Period Active Period at least one of the set of symbols or slots being within a thresh-of Cell DTX/DRX of Cell DTX/DRX of Cell DTX/DRX old quantity of symbols or slots from the active period, and may communicate via SSB reception or random access transmission during the extended active period.; see abstract.
Reference Elazzouni et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0373502 A1) teaches about UE discontinuous reception (DRX) timing in association with a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration and/or a cell DRX configuration (“cell DTX/DRX configuration”). Some aspects more specifically relate to modifying one or more UE DRX timers in association with a cell DTX cycle and/or a cell DRX cycle (“cell DTX/DRX cycle”). For example, in some aspects, a UE may modify UE DRX timers to maintain a number of activity states in association with the cell DTX/DRX configuration. For example, the UE may maintain a UE active time, a UE DRX inactive time, a cell DTX non-active time, a cell DRX non-active time, and/or a cell DTX/DRX non-active time in association with the cell DTX/DRX configuration; see abstract.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479