DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending in this application and have been examined in response to application filed on 08/13/2024.
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS: JAPAN 2023-148489 09/13/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because as to claim 1, an “apparatus” is being recited; however, it appears that the apparatus would reasonable be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art as software per se. After the word apparatus, different controlling “units” are disclosed, however the disclosed “units” do not provide any hardware information that regards the apparatus. It appears that such would reasonable be interpreted the “units” as representative of the software which causes the functions to occur.
Claims 2-9 are rejected similarly because they do not include any hardware devices associated with the apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Park, (US 2023/0086055 A1).
As to INDEPENDENT claim 1, Park discloses an information processing apparatus comprising: a display control unit configured to display, in an online meeting in which a plurality of users participate by using a plurality of user terminals connected through a network, an icon display area in each of the user terminals, the icon display area displaying a list of an icon of each of the users ([0064]; an interface for a video conference between participants are displayed in video tiles); and
a virtual image generation unit configured to display a virtual image on an icon of at least one of the plurality of users, the virtual image being in common in each of the user terminals (fig.5A; [0065]; a virtual image overlay is displayed over the video tiles).
As to claim 2, Park discloses wherein the virtual image is a virtual object image, and the information processing apparatus further comprises a virtual image control unit configured to move the virtual object image from above an icon in which the virtual object image is displayed onto a different icon, in each of the user terminals (fig.5A; [0065]; the virtual object image moves between users).
As to claim 3, Park discloses, wherein the virtual image control unit is configured to move the virtual object image in accordance with an operation of at least one of the plurality of users (fig.5A; [0065]; the movement of the virtual object image is based on user gestures).
As to claim 4, Park discloses wherein the virtual object image is an object which is recognized from a content of utterances of a user participating in the online meeting ([0060], [0062]; the virtual object can be generated verbally).
As to claim 5, Park discloses a voice control unit configured to reproduce, in a user terminal of a user having an icon in which the virtual object image is displayed, a voice associated with the virtual object image ([0060], [0062]; the virtual object can be generated verbally.
As to INDEPENDENT claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
As to INDEPENDENT claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Libin (US 11,539,918 B1).
As to claim 8, Park discloses wherein the virtual image generation unit is configured to display the virtual image on an icon of at least one of the plurality of users based on a situation of …of the users participating in the online meeting ([0062]; the virtual object displays on different user icons based on user inputs). Park does not expressly disclose …utterances…
In the same field of endeavor, Libin discloses voice gesturing (col.7, l50-55; voice commands for controlling virtual objects are disclosed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Park and Libin before him prior to the effective filling date, to modify the collaborative user interface taught by Park to include voice commands taught by Libin with the motivation being to provide users with multiple ways to perform human-machine interfacing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HAOSHIAN SHIH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179