DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
20 May 2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishida et al. (US 2002/0075605) in view of Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449).
Nishida et al. (US 2002/0075605) teach a suspension assembly (10A, see FIG. 1, for instance) comprising a load beam (11) including a proximal end terminating in a hinge (33); a gimbal assembly (15) mounted to the load beam; a base plate (13) including a distal end (22) connected to the hinge and including a first opening (upper-most 23, for instance); and a first PZT actuator (includes upper-most 40, for instance) disposed in the first opening and including first (52) and second (53) opposing ends that are mounted to first and second opposing ends of the first opening (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance) [as per claim 1]; wherein the suspension assembly further comprises the distal end of the base plate including a second opening (lower-most 23, for instance); and a second PZT actuator (includes lower-most 40, for instance) disposed in the second opening and including first (52) and second (53) opposing ends that are mounted to first and second opposing ends of the second opening (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance) [as per claims 2-4 and 7-9]; wherein the first opening is not fully enclosed by the base plate (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance); and the second opening is not fully enclosed by the base plate (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance) [as per claim 6].
Nishida et al. (US 2002/0075605), however, remains silent as to “wherein the first PZT actuator comprises: an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of the base plate than a second side, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at the second side of the first PZT actuator, PZT material disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the first PZT actuator, and a first electrode and a second electrode configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator” as per claim 1, “wherein the second PZT actuator comprises: an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator, PZT material disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator, and a first electrode and a second electrode configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator” as per claim 2, “wherein: the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator” as per claim 3, “wherein: the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator” as per claim 4, “wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators: the PZT material in the active region is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; and the PZT material in the inactive region is not disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode” as per claim 7, “wherein each of the first and second PZT actuators comprises: a middle layer of the PZT material; a top layer of the PZT material disposed over the middle layer of PZT material; a bottom layer of the PZT material disposed under the middle layer of PZT material; wherein in the active region, the first electrode has a first portion disposed over the top layer of PZT material, and a second portion disposed between the middle layer of the PZT material and the bottom layer of the PZT material; and wherein in the active region, the second electrode has a first portion disposed between the top layer of the PZT material and the middle layer of the PZT material and a second portion under the bottom layer of the PZT material as per claim 8, and “wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators: no portion of the first electrode is disposed in the inactive region; and no portion of the second electrode is disposed in the inactive region” as per claim 9.
Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449) teach that a first PZT actuator (4000, see FIG. 37, for instance) comprising an active region (adjacent 4042) extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator (see FIG. 40, for instance) and disposed at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of a suspension (4150) than a second side (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance), an inactive region (adjacent 4046 in FIG. 37, and adjacent 4047 in FIG. 40, for instance) extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance) and disposed at the second side of the first PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance), PZT material (4040) disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the first PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 37, for instance), and a first electrode (4032) and a second electrode (4042) configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator (by the electrode arrangement shown in FIGS. 37 and 40, for instance) [as per claim 1]; a second PZT actuator (another 4000, as shown in FIG. 40, for instance) comprising an active region (adjacent 4042 in FIG. 37, for instance) extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance), an inactive region (adjacent 4046 in FIG. 37, and adjacent 4047 in FIG. 40, for instance) extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance), PZT material (4040) disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 37, for instance), and a first electrode (4032) and a second electrode (4042) configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator (by the electrode arrangement shown in FIGS. 37 and 40, for instance) [as per claim 2]; wherein the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator (as shown in alternative embodiment of FIG. 51, for instance) [as per claim 3]; wherein the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 37, for instance) [as per claim 4]; wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators, the PZT material in the active region is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; and the PZT material in the inactive region is not disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (as shown in FIG. 37, for instance) [as per claim 7]; wherein each of the first and second PZT actuators (see FIGS. 31-32, for instance) comprises a middle layer (3130) of the PZT material; a top layer (3140) of the PZT material disposed over the middle layer of PZT material; a bottom layer (3120) of the PZT material disposed under the middle layer of PZT material; wherein in the active region, the first electrode has a first portion (3142) disposed over the top layer of PZT material, and a second portion (3126) disposed between the middle layer of the PZT material and the bottom layer of the PZT material; and wherein in the active region, the second electrode has a first portion (3132) disposed between the top layer of the PZT material and the middle layer of the PZT material and a second portion (3124) under the bottom layer of the PZT material [as per claim 8]; and wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators, no portion of the first electrode is disposed in the inactive region; and no portion of the second electrode is disposed in the inactive region (as shown in alternative embodiment of FIG. 51, for instance) [as per claim 9], is a notoriously old and well known PZT actuator configuration in the suspension assembly art.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the first PZT actuator of Nishida et al. (US 2002/0075605) comprise an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of the base plate than a second side, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at the second side of the first PZT actuator, PZT material disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the first PZT actuator, and a first electrode and a second electrode configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; the second PZT actuator of Nishida et al. (US 2002/0075605) comprise an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator, PZT material disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator, and a first electrode and a second electrode configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator; wherein the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator; wherein the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator; wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators, the PZT material in the active region is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; and the PZT material in the inactive region is not disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; each of the first and second PZT actuators of Nishida et al. (US 2002/0075605) comprising a middle layer of the PZT material; a top layer of the PZT material disposed over the middle layer of PZT material; a bottom layer of the PZT material disposed under the middle layer of PZT material; wherein in the active region, the first electrode has a first portion disposed over the top layer of PZT material, and a second portion disposed between the middle layer of the PZT material and the bottom layer of the PZT material; and wherein in the active region, the second electrode has a first portion disposed between the top layer of the PZT material and the middle layer of the PZT material and a second portion under the bottom layer of the PZT material; and wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators, no portion of the first electrode is disposed in the inactive region; and no portion of the second electrode is disposed in the inactive region, as taught/suggested by Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449). The rationale is as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have had the first PZT actuator of Nishida et al. (US 2002/0075605) comprise an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of the base plate than a second side, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at the second side of the first PZT actuator, PZT material disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the first PZT actuator, and a first electrode and a second electrode configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; the second PZT actuator of Nishida et al. (US 2002/0075605) comprise an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator, PZT material disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator, and a first electrode and a second electrode configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator; wherein the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator; wherein the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator; wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators, the PZT material in the active region is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; and the PZT material in the inactive region is not disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; each of the first and second PZT actuators of Nishida et al. (US 2002/0075605) comprising a middle layer of the PZT material; a top layer of the PZT material disposed over the middle layer of PZT material; a bottom layer of the PZT material disposed under the middle layer of PZT material; wherein in the active region, the first electrode has a first portion disposed over the top layer of PZT material, and a second portion disposed between the middle layer of the PZT material and the bottom layer of the PZT material; and wherein in the active region, the second electrode has a first portion disposed between the top layer of the PZT material and the middle layer of the PZT material and a second portion under the bottom layer of the PZT material; and wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators, no portion of the first electrode is disposed in the inactive region; and no portion of the second electrode is disposed in the inactive region, as taught/suggested by Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449), since such is a notoriously old and well known PZT actuator configuration in the suspension assembly art as shown by Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449), and selecting a known PZT actuator configuration on the basis of its suitability for the intended use is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto et al. (US 6,731,472) in view of Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449).
Okamoto et al. (US 6,731,472) teach a suspension assembly (20B, see FIG. 6, for instance) comprising a load beam (61) including a proximal end terminating in a hinge (76); a gimbal assembly (31) mounted to the load beam; a base plate (60) including a distal end connected to the hinge and including a first opening (71); and a first PZT actuator (includes lower-most 30, for instance) disposed in the first opening and including first (30a) and second (30b) opposing ends that are mounted to first and second opposing ends of the first opening (as shown in FIG. 6, for instance) [as per claim 1]; wherein the suspension assembly further comprises the distal end of the base plate including a second opening (opposite 71); and a second PZT actuator (includes upper-most 30, for instance) disposed in the second opening and including first (30a) and second (30b) opposing ends that are mounted to first and second opposing ends of the second opening (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance) [as per claims 2-4 and 7-9]; wherein the first opening is fully enclosed (by lower-most 70) by the base plate (as shown in FIG. 6, for instance); and the second opening is fully enclosed (by upper-most 70) by the base plate (as shown in FIG. 6, for instance) [as per claim 5].
Okamoto et al. (US 6,731,472), however, remains silent as to “wherein the first PZT actuator comprises: an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of the base plate than a second side, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at the second side of the first PZT actuator, PZT material disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the first PZT actuator, and a first electrode and a second electrode configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator” as per claim 1, “wherein the second PZT actuator comprises: an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator, PZT material disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator, and a first electrode and a second electrode configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator” as per claim 2, “wherein: the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator” as per claim 3, “wherein: the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator” as per claim 4, “wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators: the PZT material in the active region is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; and the PZT material in the inactive region is not disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode” as per claim 7, “wherein each of the first and second PZT actuators comprises: a middle layer of the PZT material; a top layer of the PZT material disposed over the middle layer of PZT material; a bottom layer of the PZT material disposed under the middle layer of PZT material; wherein in the active region, the first electrode has a first portion disposed over the top layer of PZT material, and a second portion disposed between the middle layer of the PZT material and the bottom layer of the PZT material; and wherein in the active region, the second electrode has a first portion disposed between the top layer of the PZT material and the middle layer of the PZT material and a second portion under the bottom layer of the PZT material as per claim 8, and “wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators: no portion of the first electrode is disposed in the inactive region; and no portion of the second electrode is disposed in the inactive region” as per claim 9.
Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449) teach that a first PZT actuator (4000, see FIG. 37, for instance) comprising an active region (adjacent 4042) extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator (see FIG. 40, for instance) and disposed at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of a suspension (4150) than a second side (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance), an inactive region (adjacent 4046 in FIG. 37, and adjacent 4047 in FIG. 40, for instance) extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance) and disposed at the second side of the first PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance), PZT material (4040) disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the first PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 37, for instance), and a first electrode (4032) and a second electrode (4042) configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator (by the electrode arrangement shown in FIGS. 37 and 40, for instance) [as per claim 1]; a second PZT actuator (another 4000, as shown in FIG. 40, for instance) comprising an active region (adjacent 4042 in FIG. 37, for instance) extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance), an inactive region (adjacent 4046 in FIG. 37, and adjacent 4047 in FIG. 40, for instance) extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance), PZT material (4040) disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 37, for instance), and a first electrode (4032) and a second electrode (4042) configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator (by the electrode arrangement shown in FIGS. 37 and 40, for instance) [as per claim 2]; wherein the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator (as shown in alternative embodiment of FIG. 51, for instance) [as per claim 3]; wherein the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 37, for instance) [as per claim 4]; wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators, the PZT material in the active region is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; and the PZT material in the inactive region is not disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (as shown in FIG. 37, for instance) [as per claim 7]; wherein each of the first and second PZT actuators (see FIGS. 31-32, for instance) comprises a middle layer (3130) of the PZT material; a top layer (3140) of the PZT material disposed over the middle layer of PZT material; a bottom layer (3120) of the PZT material disposed under the middle layer of PZT material; wherein in the active region, the first electrode has a first portion (3142) disposed over the top layer of PZT material, and a second portion (3126) disposed between the middle layer of the PZT material and the bottom layer of the PZT material; and wherein in the active region, the second electrode has a first portion (3132) disposed between the top layer of the PZT material and the middle layer of the PZT material and a second portion (3124) under the bottom layer of the PZT material [as per claim 8]; and wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators, no portion of the first electrode is disposed in the inactive region; and no portion of the second electrode is disposed in the inactive region (as shown in alternative embodiment of FIG. 51, for instance) [as per claim 9], is a notoriously old and well known PZT actuator configuration in the suspension assembly art.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the first PZT actuator of Okamoto et al. (US 6,731,472) comprise an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of the base plate than a second side, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at the second side of the first PZT actuator, PZT material disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the first PZT actuator, and a first electrode and a second electrode configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; the second PZT actuator of Okamoto et al. (US 6,731,472) comprise an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator, PZT material disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator, and a first electrode and a second electrode configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator; wherein the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator; wherein the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator; wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators, the PZT material in the active region is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; and the PZT material in the inactive region is not disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; each of the first and second PZT actuators of Okamoto et al. (US 6,731,472) comprising a middle layer of the PZT material; a top layer of the PZT material disposed over the middle layer of PZT material; a bottom layer of the PZT material disposed under the middle layer of PZT material; wherein in the active region, the first electrode has a first portion disposed over the top layer of PZT material, and a second portion disposed between the middle layer of the PZT material and the bottom layer of the PZT material; and wherein in the active region, the second electrode has a first portion disposed between the top layer of the PZT material and the middle layer of the PZT material and a second portion under the bottom layer of the PZT material; and wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators, no portion of the first electrode is disposed in the inactive region; and no portion of the second electrode is disposed in the inactive region, as taught/suggested by Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449). The rationale is as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have had the first PZT actuator of Okamoto et al. (US 6,731,472) comprise an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of the base plate than a second side, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at the second side of the first PZT actuator, PZT material disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the first PZT actuator, and a first electrode and a second electrode configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the first PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; the second PZT actuator of Okamoto et al. (US 6,731,472) comprise an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the second PZT actuator, PZT material disposed in the active region and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator, and a first electrode and a second electrode configured to cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the active region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator, and configured to not cause active expansion and contraction of the PZT material in the inactive region of the second PZT actuator in response to voltage differentials applied to the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator; wherein the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator; wherein the inactive region of the first PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the first PZT actuator; and the inactive region of the second PZT actuator lacks at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode of the second PZT actuator; wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators, the PZT material in the active region is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; and the PZT material in the inactive region is not disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; each of the first and second PZT actuators of Okamoto et al. (US 6,731,472) comprising a middle layer of the PZT material; a top layer of the PZT material disposed over the middle layer of PZT material; a bottom layer of the PZT material disposed under the middle layer of PZT material; wherein in the active region, the first electrode has a first portion disposed over the top layer of PZT material, and a second portion disposed between the middle layer of the PZT material and the bottom layer of the PZT material; and wherein in the active region, the second electrode has a first portion disposed between the top layer of the PZT material and the middle layer of the PZT material and a second portion under the bottom layer of the PZT material; and wherein for each of the first and second PZT actuators, no portion of the first electrode is disposed in the inactive region; and no portion of the second electrode is disposed in the inactive region, as taught/suggested by Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449), since such is a notoriously old and well known PZT actuator configuration in the suspension assembly art as shown by Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449), and selecting a known PZT actuator configuration on the basis of its suitability for the intended use is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishida et al. (US 2002/0075605) in view of Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449), the applicant argues that Nishida et al. (US 2002/0075605) in view of Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449) do not teach nor suggest “an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of the base plate than a second side, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at the second side of the first PZT actuator.”
This argument, however, in not found to be persuasive as Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449) teach an embodiment (see FIG. 40, for instance) where an active region (adjacent 4042) extends between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator (4000) and is disposed at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of a suspension (4150) than a second side (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance), and an inactive region (adjacent 4047) extends between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and is disposed at the second side of the first PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance).
When applying the above teaching(s) in FIG. 40 of Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449) to Nishida et al. (US 2002/0075605), a person of ordinary skill would necessarily dispose the active region at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of the suspension and dispose the inactive region at the second side of the first PZT actuator as taught by Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449), and thus also dispose the active region at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of the base plate and dispose the inactive region at the second side of the first PZT actuator as suggested by Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449).
With respect to the rejection of claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto et al. (US 6,731,472) in view of Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449), the applicant argues that Okamoto et al. (US 6,731,472) in view of Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449) do not teach nor suggest “an active region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of the base plate than a second side, an inactive region extending between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and disposed at the second side of the first PZT actuator.”
This argument, however, in not found to be persuasive as Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449) teach an embodiment (see FIG. 40, for instance) where an active region (adjacent 4042) extends between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator (4000) and is disposed at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of a suspension (4150) than a second side (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance), and an inactive region (adjacent 4047) extends between the first and second opposing ends of the first PZT actuator and is disposed at the second side of the first PZT actuator (as shown in FIG. 40, for instance).
When applying the above teaching(s) in FIG. 40 of Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449) to Okamoto et al. (US 6,731,472), a person of ordinary skill would necessarily dispose the active region at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of the suspension and dispose the inactive region at the second side of the first PZT actuator as taught by Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449), and thus also dispose the active region at a first side of the first PZT actuator closer in proximity to a center of the base plate and dispose the inactive region at the second side of the first PZT actuator as suggested by Glaess et al. (US 11,205,449).
Conclusion
/CRAIG A. RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688