DETAILED ACTION
Claims 58-66 and 68-79 of the claim set filed 9/9/2026 are pending. Claims 1-57 and 67 are cancelled. Claims 66, 68 and 73-77 are withdrawn. Thus, claims 58-65, 69-72, and 78-79 are being examined on the merits herein.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of Group I, claims 58-72 as well as new claims 78-79, in the reply filed on 9/9/2026 is acknowledged. Thus, claims 73-77 are withdrawn as being directed to non-elected Inventions.
Applicants further elected with traverse the species of fusogen to be a pH-dependent fusogen (thus claim 66 is withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected species), said pH-dependent fusogen to be VSV-G, and the mutations in VSV-G to be K47Q and R354Q. In regards to the targeting moiety, Applicants elected the species of targeting moiety to comprise a protein tag fused to a transmembrane domain, and a receptor, an antibody, or an antigen-binding fragment bound to the protein tag for binding to a target cell of interest. Applicants noted if a further species election is necessary for the targeting moiety, Applicants have elected a SNAP tag fused to a transmembrane domain and a secretion signal from VSV-G and an antibody bound to the SNAP tag (thus claims 68 is withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected species).
The traversal is on the grounds that there is no serious burden upon the office to examine all of the claims together. This is not found persuasive because as noted in the OA filed 7/16/2026, the individual groups of inventions would require a search of their individual CPC code classification along with a unique text search specific to each group of invention. The previously filed OA additionally noted in regards to the election of species that the inventions require different fields of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries) and the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention.
As such, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Thus, claims 66, 68 and 73-77 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 58-65, 69-72, and 78-79 will be examined on the merits herein.
Priority
A claim for benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(f) or under 35
U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(a)-(c), 386 (a) or 386(c) has been made. The effective filing date of the
present application is 2/15/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/15/2024, 9/5/2024, and 9/9/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 79 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 79 recites the limitation “wherein the pH-dependent fusogen”. Claim 79 depends from claim 78 which depends from claim 58 in which there is no mention of a pH-dependent fusogen. Said pH-dependent fusogen limitation is found in claim 63. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Thus, the claim is properly rejected as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 58-63 and 70-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (Yang et al., PNAS (2006) 103(31); PTO 892) in view of Kasaraneni (Kasaraneni et al., MBio (2017) 8(6); PTO 892). Claim 61 is rejected as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kasaraneni as evidenced by Akhrymuk (Akhrymuk et al., J Virol (2018) 92(23); PTO 892).
Claim 58 requires a targeted delivery vehicle comprising 4 components:
(1) a vesicle with a lipid bilayer,
(2) a fusogen embedded in said lipid bilayer,
(3) a targeting moiety embedded in said lipid bilayer wherein the targeting moiety is separate and different from the fusogen,
wherein the targeting moiety comprises:
(a) a protein tag fused to a transmembrane domain, and
(b) a receptor, an antibody, or an antigen-binding fragment bound to the protein tag for binding to a target cell of interest, and
(4) a cargo within the vesicle.
Yang teaches targeting pseudotyped lentiviral vectors to specific cell types in vivo. Yang teaches an efficient method to target lentivirus-mediated gene transduction (i.e., cargo) (i.e., DNA, i.e., claim 71) to a desired cell type. Yang teaches said method involves the incorporation of antibody and fusogenic protein as two distinct molecules into the lentiviral surface (abstract; Fig 5). As seen in Fig 5, lentiviral vectors comprise a lipid bilayer (i.e., the lentiviral surface) which forms a vesicle carrying the cargo (introduction, 1st paragraph; graphical abstract). Thus, Yang teaches the incorporation of antibody and fusogenic protein as two distinct molecules into the lipid bilayer of the lentiviral vector.
Fig 5, Yang
FM = Fusogenic Molecule
The fusogen is constructed by modifying viral envelope proteins (claim 59) so that they lack the ability to bind to their cognate receptor (i.e., modified to not have a targeting function, i.e., “blind”, i.e., claim 60) but still retain the ability to trigger pH-dependent membrane fusion (i.e., the fusogen is a pH-dependent fusogen, i.e., claim 63). Yang teaches Sindbis virus glycoproteins as the modified viral envelope protein (p11479, Results 1st paragraph). Thus, Yang teaches the specificity of such a lentiviral vector is solely determined by the antibody (i.e., claim 60), which is chosen to recognize a specific surface antigen of the desired cell type. This specific binding then induces endocytosis of the surface antigen, bringing the lentivirus into an endosome. There, the fusogen responds to the low pH environment (i.e., claim 63) and mediates membrane fusion, allowing the virus core to enter the cytosol (Abstract). Thus, Yang teaches a pseudotyped lentiviral vector (i.e., claim 72).
Yang teaches using CD20 as a target antigen for human B cells (i.e., claim 70) (Abstract). Yang teaches the construction of a membrane-bound antibody for targeting which comprises anti-CD20 antibody with the human membrane-bound IgG constant region (i.e., a transmembrane domain) (p11480, construction of a membrane-bound antibody).
Thus, in regards to claim 58, Yang teaches a targeted delivery vehicle comprising:
(1) a vesicle with a lipid bilayer (i.e., a lentiviral vector),
(2) a fusogen embedded in said lipid bilayer (i.e., FM, i.e., a viral envelope protein),
(3) a targeting moiety embedded in said lipid bilayer wherein the targeting moiety is separate and different from the fusogen,
wherein the targeting moiety comprises:
(a)
(b) an antibody (i.e., CD20)
(4) a cargo (i.e., gene of interest) within the vesicle.
Yang does not teach a targeting moiety comprising a protein tag fused to a transmembrane domain and an antibody bound to the protein tag.
Kasaraneni teaches a simple strategy for the creation of lentiviral vectors specific to any desired target cells. As shown in Fig 1, Kasaraneni teaches SpyTag (shown in red) is inserted into an engineered Sindbis virus envelope protein (mustard yellow/orange) which is binding-deficient but fusion-competent (i.e., blinded) and displayed on the lentivirus surface to create Sindbis virus-SpyTag pseudoparticles (Sind-SpyTag-pp). Thus, Kasaraneni teaches a protein tag, i.e., SpyTag, is fused to a transmembrane domain, i.e., the Sindbis virus envelope protein. The SpyTag serves as the covalent anchoring site for a target-cell-specific cell-binding protein (CBP) (shown in Fig 1 as DARPin, color blue) that is fused to a truncated SpyCatcher (yellow). Target-cell-specific lentiviruses are created by mixing the Sind-SpyTag-pp and CBP-SpyCatcher in vitro (Abstract; Fig 1). Kasaraneni teaches to enable the use of commercially available monoclonal antibodies (MAbs) as the CBP, they developed a convenient click chemistry-based approach to conjugate MAb-derived Fab fragments to a variant SpyCatcher truncated protein. Kasaraneni teaches the ability to create cell-specific lentiviral vectors through chemical conjugation of a CBP should make this approach generalizable to any antibody, giving it broad utility for a wide range of research and clinical applications (Abstract).
Fig 1, Kasaraneni
Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Yang and Kasaraneni. Yang teaches the initial platform of a targeted lentiviral vector delivery vehicle in which said vehicle comprises a fusogen which is modified to not have a targeting function (i.e., is “blind”) but retains the ability to perform pH-dependent membrane fusion and further teaches a targeting moiety comprising an antibody fused to a transmembrane domain. Kasaraneni teaches a similar system which is generalizable to any antibody. Thus, a POSITA would have been motivated to combine said teachings in order to have a convenient “click-chemistry” based approach in which any antibody of interest can be easily and quickly attached to a lentiviral vector. A POSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining said teachings due to both Yang and Kasaraneni teaching of targeted lentiviral delivery vehicles via the use of “blind” fusogens and antibody targeting moieties.
Additionally, both Yang and Kasaraneni teach of Sindbis virus glycoproteins (i.e., claim 62) (Yang p 11479 Results 1st paragraph; Kasaraneni Fig 1). As is well known, and as is evidenced by Akhrymuk, Sindbis virus is of the family Togaviridae (i.e., claim 61) (Abstract).
Thus, Yang and Kasaraneni make obvious claim 58-63 and 70-72 and therefore said claims are properly rejected.
Claims 64 and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kasaraneni and further in view of Nikolic (Nikolic et al., Nature Communications (2018) 9:1029; PTO 892).
As noted supra, Yang and Kasaraneni teach the targeted delivery vehicle of claim 63. Yang and Kasaraneni do not teach of VSVG as the experimental glycoprotein (VSVG is taught as a control) but teach of Sindbis virus as the experimental fusogen glycoprotein.
Nikolic teaches the structural basis for recognition of LDL-receptor family members by VSV glycoprotein. Nikolic teaches mutating residues of VSV-G abolished VSV infectivity (Abstract). Nikolic teaches pseudotyped VSVG mutants and specifically teaches VSVG mutants K47Q and R354Q are not able to sustain viral infection (i.e., said mutants are affected in their binding ability) (p7 last paragraph – p8 top of page). Nikolic teaches said mutants retain their fusion properties similar to wildtype VSVG (p8 2nd column 1st paragraph). Nikolic teaches as the fusion activity of the mutants is unaffected, the loss of infectivity of pseudotypes bearing a mutant glycoprotein can be safely attributed to their disability to recognize a cellular receptor (p9 2nd column 1st paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA, before the EFD of the claimed invention, to make a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. It would have been obvious to substitute the modified viral Sindbis glycoprotein of Yang in which said glycoprotein is modified to be “blind”, i.e., to not be able to bind to its cognate receptor, while still retaining the ability to fuse, with the modified viral VSVG glycoprotein of Nikolic comprising either the mutant K47Q or R354Q in which said glycoprotein is modified to be “blind”, i.e., to not be able to bind to its cognate receptor, while still retaining the ability to fuse. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully substituting said glycoproteins for pseudotyping a targeted delivery vehicle. Substitution of one element for another known in the field is considered to be obvious, absent a showing that the result of the substitution yields more than predictable results. See KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc 82 USPQ2d 1385 (US 2007) at page 1395.
Therefore, claims 64 and 65 are obvious and are properly rejected.
Claim 69 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kasaraneni and further in view of Hussain (Hussain et al., Nature Protocols (2019) 14; PTO 892).
As noted supra, Yang and Kasaraneni teach the targeted delivery vehicle of claim 58. Yang and Kasaraneni do not teach wherein the protein tag is SNAP but rather teach wherein the protein tag is SpyTag.
Hussain teaches SNAP-tag technology applications and specifically teaches the generation of antibody conjugates (Fig 1). Further, Hussain teaches SNAP-tag-based antibody conjugates for antibody-nanocarrier conjugates, i.e., such as targeted delivery vehicles, i.e., such as lentiviral vectors (Fig 2). Hussain teaches the SNAP-tag is a highly promising research tool for targeted drug delivery (p3103 last paragraph).
Fig 2, Hussain
[AltContent: rect]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA, before the EFD of the claimed invention, to make a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. It would have been obvious to substitute the protein tag of Yang/Kasaraneni (i.e., SpyTag) with the protein tag of Hussain (i.e., SNAP) for the purpose of conjugating an antibody to a targeted delivery vehicle as taught by all. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully substituting said protein tags for conjugating an antibody to a targeted delivery vehicle. Substitution of one element for another known in the field is considered to be obvious, absent a showing that the result of the substitution yields more than predictable results. See KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc 82 USPQ2d 1385 (US 2007) at page 1395.
Therefore, claim 69 is obvious and is properly rejected.
Claims 78 and 79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kasaraneni and further in view of Hussain and Nikolic.
As noted supra, Yang and Kasaraneni teach the targeted delivery vehicle of claim 58. Further, and as noted supra, Hussain teaches the incorporation of a SNAP tag. Please see above (claim 69) for the discussion regarding a simple substitution of the SpyTag of Kasaraneni for the SNAP tag of Hussain. Thus, Yang, Kasaraneni, and Hussain teach a SNAP tag inserted into a binding-deficient fusion-competent (blinded) Sindbis virus protein. (See Fig 1 Hussain above with a simple substitution of the SpyTag for a SNAP tag.)
Further, and as noted supra, (please see claims 64 and 65), Nikolic teaches binding-deficient fusion-competent (blinded) VSVG glycoproteins.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA, before the EFD of the claimed invention, to make a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. It would have been obvious to substitute the binding-deficient fusion-competent (blinded) Sindbis glycoprotein of Yang/Kasaraneni/Hussain with the binding-deficient fusion-competent (blinded) VSVG glycoprotein of Nikolic for the purpose of fusing a protein tag to a transmembrane domain (i.e., glycoprotein). The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully substituting said glycoproteins for fusing a protein tag. Substitution of one element for another known in the field is considered to be obvious, absent a showing that the result of the substitution yields more than predictable results. See KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc 82 USPQ2d 1385 (US 2007) at page 1395.
Thus, the teachings of Yang/Kasaraneni/Hussain/Nikolic teach a targeting moiety which comprises a VSVG glycoprotein embedded in the lentiviral vector lipid bilayer (via the transmembrane domain of the glycoprotein) which comprises a SNAP tag fused to said VSVG glycoprotein.
Further, Nikolic teaches (Fig 1a) VSVG includes a signal peptide (i.e., “sp”, i.e., a secretion signal).
Fig 1A, Nikolic
Thus, the teachings of Yang/Kasaraneni/Hussain/Nikolic teach wherein the targeting moiety comprises a SNAP tag fused to a transmembrane domain and a secretion signal from VSV-G (i.e., claim 78).
Additionally, and as noted supra in regards to claim 65, Nikolic teaches VSVG proteins comprising K47Q or R354Q mutations. Nikolic does not teach a double mutant of K47Q/R354Q. However, as noted in the discussion of claim 65, Nikolic teaches both mutants abolish infectivity while retaining fusion. Thus, the two mutations have the same effect.
Combination of multiple products (i.e., K47Q and R354Q VSVG mutations) (i.e., claim 79), each known to have the same effect to produce a final product having the same effect is prima facie obvious. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Thus, claims 78 and 79 are obvious and are properly rejected.
Claim 79 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kasaraneni, Hussain and Nikolic and further in view of Mali (US 20250263738 A1, published 8/21/2025, EFD 4/2/2021; PTO 892).
Claims 58 and 78 are rejected above over Yang, Kasaraneni, Hussain and Nikolic. Claim 79 is alternatively rejected as set forth below.
Yang in view of Kasaraneni, Hussain and Nikolic teach the target delivery vehicle of claim 78. Further, and as noted supra in regards to claim 78, Nikolic teaches the VSVG mutants K47Q and R354Q. Nikolic teaches both mutants abolish infectivity while retaining fusion. Thus, the two mutations have the same effect.
Nikolic does not teach a double mutant of K47Q and R354Q.
Mali teaches a double mutant VSVG plasmid (K47Q and R354Q) to produce a lentiviral particle. Mali teaches the double mutant VSVG retains the ability to promote fusion of the lentiviral particles to the target cells but is devoid of native receptor binding capabilities [0205] (i.e., is “blind”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA, before the EFD of the claimed invention, to make a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. It would have been obvious to substitute the binding-deficient fusion-competent (blinded) single VSVG mutant of Nikolic with the binding-deficient fusion-competent (blinded) double VSVG mutant of Mali for the purpose of having a “blind” VSVG fusogen. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully substituting said VSVG glycoprotein mutants. Substitution of one element for another known in the field is considered to be obvious, absent a showing that the result of the substitution yields more than predictable results. See KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc 82 USPQ2d 1385 (US 2007) at page 1395.
Thus, the claim is obvious and is properly rejected.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE R SMALL/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/EVELYN Y PYLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633