DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant cancelled claims 11-20 in the reply on 21 January 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 21 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant added new claims 21-30 in the reply filed on 21 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2023066405 to Yin et al. (Yin).
Regarding claim 21, Yin discloses a brush cleaning system for cleaning a substrate (machine translation as provided by Applicant, see paragraph 7), comprising: a plurality of cleaning rollers configured to contact the substrate (Fig. 2, generally and at parts 54); and a first cleaning position defined by a first pair of cleaning rollers of the plurality of cleaning rollers (see Fig. 2, generally and at parts 54); a second cleaning position defined by a second pair of cleaning rollers of the plurality of cleaning rollers (see Fig. 2, generally and at parts 54), wherein: when the substrate is positioned in the first cleaning position, a first cleaning roller of the first pair of cleaning rollers is configured to clean a first side of the substrate and a second cleaning roller of the first pair of cleaning rollers is configured to clean a second side of the substrate (see substrate and rollers, Fig. 2, generally and at parts 54); and when the substrate is positioned in the second cleaning position, a first cleaning roller of the second pair of cleaning rollers is configured to clean a first side of the substrate and a second cleaning roller of the second pair of cleaning rollers is configured to clean a second side of the substrate (see substrate and rollers, Fig. 2, generally and at parts 54).
Regarding claim 23, Yin discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of cleaning rollers is a cylindrical cleaning roller (Fig. 2, parts 54).
Regarding claim 24, Yin discloses further comprising a substrate support configured to support and rotate the substrate while the substrate is positioned in the first cleaning position or the second cleaning position (Fig. 1, at parts 3; machine translation, paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 25, Yin discloses at least one actuator configured to rotate at least one of the plurality of cleaning rollers (machine translation, paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 26, Yin discloses further comprising at least one fluid delivery device configured to direct a cleaning fluid toward the substrate during cleaning (Fig. 1, part 22; paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 27, Yin discloses wherein the at least one fluid delivery device is further configured to direct the cleaning fluid toward at least one of the plurality of cleaning rollers (wherein one of ordinary skill realizes that the fluid delivery device directs fluid toward the substrate and the roller is contacting the substrate therefore the fluid is directed toward the roller; see machine translation, paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 28, Yin discloses further comprising a controller configured to control rotation of the plurality of cleaning rollers and movement of the substrate between the first cleaning position and the second cleaning position (machine translation, paragraphs 46 and 47)
Regarding claim 29, Yin discloses wherein first cleaning roller of the first pair of cleaning rollers is configured to rotate in a clockwise direction and the second cleaning roller of the first pair of cleaning rollers is configured to rotate in a counterclockwise direction when the substrate is in the first cleaning position (machine translation, paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 30, Yin discloses wherein first cleaning roller of the second pair of cleaning rollers is configured to rotate in a clockwise direction and the second cleaning roller of the second pair of cleaning rollers is configured to rotate in a counterclockwise direction when the substrate is in the second cleaning position (machine translation, paragraph 48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023066405 to Yin et al. (Yin) in view of JP H10256207 A to Yamazaki.
Regarding claim 1, Yin discloses a brush cleaning system for cleaning a substrate (machine translation as provided by Applicant, see paragraph 7), comprising: a tank (Fig. 1, part 1); a first cylindrical roller (see Fig. 2, generally and at parts 54), a second cylindrical roller (see Fig. 2, generally and at parts 54), and a third cylindrical roller disposed in the tank (see Fig. 2, generally and at parts 54); a first cleaning position defined between the first cylindrical roller and the second cylindrical roller (see Fig. 2, generally and at parts 54); and wherein, when the substrate is disposed in the first cleaning position, the first cylindrical roller is configured to clean a first side of the substrate and the second cylindrical roller is configured to clean a second side of the substrate (see Fig. 2, generally and at parts 54). Yin does not disclose a second cleaning position defined between the second cylindrical roller and the third cylindrical roller, and when the substrate is disposed in the second cleaning position, the second cylindrical roller is configured to clean the second side of the substrate and the third cylindrical roller is configured to clean the first side of the substrate.
Yamazaki discloses a brush cleaning system for cleaning a substrate (machine translation as provided by Applicant, paragraph 0001) a first cylindrical roller (Fig. 1, at parts 4), a second cylindrical roller (Fig. 1, at parts 4), and a third cylindrical roller disposed (Fig. 1, at parts 4); a first cleaning position defined between the first cylindrical roller and the second cylindrical roller (Fig. 1, at parts 4); and a second cleaning position defined between the second cylindrical roller and the third cylindrical roller (Fig. 1, at parts 4), wherein, when the substrate is disposed in the first cleaning position, the first cylindrical roller is configured to clean a first side of the substrate and the second cylindrical roller is configured to clean a second side of the substrate (Fig. 1, at parts 4), and when the substrate is disposed in the second cleaning position, the second cylindrical roller is configured to clean the second side of the substrate and the third cylindrical roller is configured to clean the first side of the substrate (Fig. 1, at parts 4) all in order to achieve the predictable result of cleaning the substrate thereof (see machine translation, paragraph 1).
Therefore, as evidenced by Yamasaki, the roller configuration as claimed is merely an obvious rearrangement of parts in view of the prior art to Yin that has not been shown to modify the operation of the device and would have been an obvious design choice all in order to achieve the predictable result of cleaning both sides of the wafer/substrate thereof. See MPEP 2144.04, VI, C.
Regarding claim 2, Yin in view of Yamasaki is relied upon as above in claim 1. Yin discloses a first support roller for supporting the substrate in the first cleaning position and a second support roller for supporting the substrate in the second cleaning position (see Fig. 1, at parts 3; machine translation, paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 3, Yin in view of Yamasaki is relied upon as above in claim 1. Yin discloses wherein the first cylindrical roller is configured to rotate in a clockwise direction and the second cylindrical roller is configured to rotate in a counterclockwise direction when the substrate is in the first cleaning position (machine translation, paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 4, Yin in view of Yamasaki is relied upon as above in claim 1. Yin discloses wherein the second cylindrical roller is configured to rotate in a clockwise direction and the third cylindrical roller is configured to rotate in a counterclockwise direction when the substrate is in the second cleaning position (machine translation, paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 5, Yin in view of Yamasaki is relied upon as above in claim 1. Yin discloses further comprising a first sprayer configured to direct a cleaning fluid toward the first side of the substrate and a second sprayer configured to direct the cleaning fluid toward the second side of the substrate when the substrate is in the first cleaning position (machine translation, paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 6, Yin in view of Yamasaki is relied upon as above in claim 5. Yin discloses that the housing contains multiple partitioned chambers and each partitioned chamber is equipped with a spray system to spray liquid towards the substrate (see machine translation, paragraph 28) wherein one of ordinary skill realizes further comprising a third sprayer, and when the substrate is in the second cleaning position, the third sprayer is configured to direct a cleaning fluid toward the first side of the substrate and a second sprayer is configured to direct the cleaning fluid toward the second side of the substrate.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Yin in view of Yamasaki is relied upon as above in claim 6. Yin discloses wherein the first sprayer directs cleaning fluid toward the first cylindrical roller when the substrate is in the second cleaning position and wherein the third sprayer directs cleaning fluid toward the third cylindrical roller when the substrate is in the first cleaning position (wherein one of ordinary skill realizes that the fluid delivery device directs fluid toward the substrate and the roller is contacting the substrate therefore the fluid is directed toward the roller; see machine translation, paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 9, Yin in view of Yamasaki is relied upon as above in claim 6. Yin discloses wherein each of the first, second, and third sprayers includes at least two nozzles (see machine translation, paragraph 28; Fig. 1, part 22).
Regarding claim 10, Yin in view of Yamasaki is relied upon as above in claim 1. Yin in view of Yamasaki may not disclose wherein at least one of the first cylindrical roller and the third cylindrical roller are positioned at an angle from 3° to 15° relative to the substrate.
However, Yin and Yamasaki both disclose multiple arrangements of roller positions all in order to achieve the predictable result of cleaning a substrate/wafer thereof (see Yin, Figs. 1-3, generally, machine translation, paragraph 7; and Yamasaki, Figs. 1a-b, 5b, machine translation, paragraph 0001).
Therefore, the angle of the cylindrical rollers relative to the substrate is merely an obvious rearrangement of parts, as evidenced by Yin and Yamasaki, that has not been shown to modify the operation of the device and would have been an obvious design choice all in order to achieve the predictable result of cleaning a wafer/substrate thereof.
Regarding claim 22, Yin is relied upon as above in claim 21. Yin does not disclose or make obvious wherein at least one of the plurality of cleaning rollers is shared between the first pair of cleaning rollers and the second pair of cleaning rollers.
Yamazaki discloses a brush cleaning system for cleaning a substrate (machine translation as provided by Applicant, paragraph 0001) a first cylindrical roller (Fig. 1, at parts 4), a second cylindrical roller (Fig. 1, at parts 4), and a third cylindrical roller disposed (Fig. 1, at parts 4); a first cleaning position defined between the first cylindrical roller and the second cylindrical roller (Fig. 1, at parts 4); and a second cleaning position defined between the second cylindrical roller and the third cylindrical roller (Fig. 1, at parts 4), wherein, when the substrate is disposed in the first cleaning position, the first cylindrical roller is configured to clean a first side of the substrate and the second cylindrical roller is configured to clean a second side of the substrate (Fig. 1, at parts 4), and when the substrate is disposed in the second cleaning position, the second cylindrical roller is configured to clean the second side of the substrate and the third cylindrical roller is configured to clean the first side of the substrate (Fig. 1, at parts 4) all in order to achieve the predictable result of cleaning the substrate thereof (see machine translation, paragraph 1).
Therefore, as evidenced by Yamasaki, the roller configuration as claimed is merely an obvious rearrangement of parts in view of the prior art to Yin that has not been shown to modify the operation of the device and would have been an obvious design choice all in order to achieve the predictable result of cleaning both sides of the wafer/substrate thereof. See MPEP 2144.04, VI, C.
Conclusion
BENJAMIN LEE OSTERHOUT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/BENJAMIN L OSTERHOUT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711