Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 11, 15, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harkness (10,885,343) in view of Feng (CN114095754A).
Regarding claim 1, Harkness discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to:
receive a set of video frames (205);
identify a discontinuity in the set of video frames (215);
generate one or more replacement frames associated with the discontinuity based on at least one video frame selected from among the set of video frames (220); and
provide the one or more replacement frames to a user (225).
However, Harkness does not disclose that wherein the one or more replacement frames are generated by a machine-learning model trained to create replacement frames based on contextual information, the contextual information including at least event data as now claimed.
Feng, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches that the one or more replacement frames are generated by a machine-learning model trained to create replacement frames based on contextual information, the contextual information including at least event data (note page 8-14 of the translated text).
Harkness teaches that the replacement frame can be generated by conventional trained neural network (note col. 4, lines 24-27).
Thus, in view of Feng, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include machine learning model of Feng into Harkness to perform the well known replacement frame generation based on the contextual information including the event data as claimed.
In addition, Feng does not explicitly disclose the newly included limitation: “behaviors occurring before or after an identified discontinuity”.
However, in page 9 of the translated text, Feng discloses the following:
example, if the video section to be parsed comprises a video frame C and a video frame D. the video frame C and the video frame D are the image of the human riding, the multi-mode information extracted from the video frame C by the electronic device comprises: Scene information: grassland; Role information: people and horses; The position information of the role: a pixel position in the video frame; The posture information of the role: Two water chestnut (“water chestnut” is incorrection translation; it should be “horseshoes”) falls on the ground, and two horseshoes are not on the ground. The multi- modality information extracted from the video frame D by the electronic device includes: Scene information: grassland; Role information: people and horses; The position information of the role: a pixel position in the video frame; The posture information of the role: The four water chestnut (horseshoes) falls on the ground. the electronic device according to the multi-mode information of the video frame C and the video frame D from the plurality of scenario events matching the target scenario event is used for representing character movement event. The semantic information of the video segment to be parsed generated according to the target scenario event is: People ride on the grassland and run on the grassland.
step 1043, according to the semantic information, determining the second number of video frame to be supplemented between two adjacent display of the second video frame.
According to above passages, the people whose riding horses and running on the grassland can be interpreted as behavior of the people because riding and running are being performed by the people. Thus, above quoted passages meet the “behavior” limitation as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Harkness discloses to generate the one or more replacement frames, the at least one processor is configured to: provide at least one video frame selected from among the set of video frames to a generative machine-learning model; and receive the one or more replacement frames from the generative machine-learning model (note col. 5, lines 42-50).
Regarding claim 4, Harkness discloses that the generative machine-learning model is camera-specific (205 and 210).
Regarding claims 8, 9, 11, 15, 16 and 18, see similar rejections as set forth above.
Claim(s) 3, 7, 10, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harkness (10,885,343) in view of Feng (CN114095754A), further in view of Klein et al. (2021/0049409).
Regarding claim 3, Harkness does not disclose that the generative machine-learning model is trained using video frames collected by two or more imaging devices that have an overlapping field of view; however, Harkness does teach that the replacement frames may be generated by a generative network (col. 5, lines 48-50).
Klein, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches that when more than two or more cameras shares an overlapping field of view, video frames and any information or attributes generated from one camera can be provided and utilized by other cameras to train and/or improve a machine-learning model to classify and detect objects in image data or video frames (par. 16, 24, 29 and 31). In other words, missing frames of one camera can be generated based on information from another camera by using the machine-learning model (par. 51). This is more precise than by just using one camera alone.
Thus, in view of Klein, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Klein into the combination of Harkness and Feng so that the machine learning model could be improved by utilizing overlapping video frames generated from two or more cameras.
Regarding claim 7, Harkness does not disclose that the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an input from the user, the input providing a quality indication for the one or more replacement frames; however, Harkness does teach that the replacement frames may be generated by a generative network (col. 5, lines 48-50).
Klein teaches a labeled training data, such as image and/or video data annotated by humans (par. 16). The annotated data can be used to indicate quality of the video frames generated. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Klein into Harkness to perform the well known functions as claimed.
Regarding claims 10, 14, and 17, see similar rejections as set forth above.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 12, 13, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harkness (10,885,343) in view of Feng (CN114095754A), further in view of Reda et al. (2021/0067735).
Regarding claim 5, Harkness does not disclose that to generate the one or more replacement frames, the at least one processor is configured to: provide audio data to a generative machine-learning model. Reda, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches that the audio data is provided to the generative machine-learning model (note par. 80).
Therefore, knowing that audio is required in the missing frames of Harkness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Reda into Harkness so that the audio data could be generated through the machine-learning model.
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Harkness or Feng does not disclose that the machine-learning model is trained by applying a loss function to compare predicted output values with target output values as claimed. Reda, teaches such training (note par. 66 and steps 508, 510 and 514). By applying a loss function on the ML model training, dropped or missing frames can be replaced properly (note par. 66). Thus, in view of Harkness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Reda into the combination of Harkness and Feng so that the quality of replacement frame(s) could be further improved.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, see rejection to claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In view of the additional interpretations of Feng as set forth to claim 1, the new “behavior” limitation is still met by Feng. As a result, the rejection is maintained.
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422